Do we really think the gunts will die

RUFUS

I for one do hope so , anybody have good reason why they will and when

I don't want them to die. I'm more than happy for them to start at the bottom, but with no Derby life would be boring. Even without the Huns the league feels like it's missing something. I tell you something. You won't get the same feeling beating Killie, or Aberdeen, than you do beating the Huns, or Gunts.

This...plus I dont think they will die...maybe liquidation and 3rd div, but the league wont let them go...and whether we like it or not their fans do raise a lot of money when pressed

No they won't....

They will however face years of struggle to attain a reasonable status again in the Scottish game. I think if they survive relegation next season then Locke should get manager of the year...I think they will struggle badly for years and end up like Dundee. I can certainly see them losing ownership of The Saville Dome fairly soon. I think they will raise the cash to keep the club going over the next fortnight or so

I think they will be bought over in the next few months or so, but SPL survival next season will be very difficult especially if they don't get the sale of the club through before the end of the transfer window. The embargo will stay in place until then.

I don't want them to go under either...they are one of Scotland's bigger clubs (though not as big as they think they are), and the game up here needs it's bigger clubs to be around in the top league. Before anyone comes back about Rangers they deserve what they got as the club went bust and had to start again. If the same thing happens to Hearts then they will have to start again as well in the Third Division. If Hibs play their cards right they should dominate the game in Edinburgh for the next 6 or 7 years at least, and we should also be the main challengers to Celtic.

They wont die. Either a group of insane, wealthy types with fewer brain cells than pound coins will offer enough to satisfy their creditors and then proceed to run them on a shoestring for a number of years OR they will liquidate and be reborn in a lower league. Either way their days of reckless spending and financial doping are at an end. New rules are coming in which will ( or should ) prevent it happening again for one thing and new owners will just not have the cash to let it happen again for another. But they will not die.....they will be around (or their NewCo will be ) for a long time yet.

Like bigotry, violence, and bile?

I haven't missed Der Hun one iota, and if they languished in the lower regions for ever I'd be completely disinterested.

If the same fate befell the Gunts I think I'd get used to it without too much difficulty.

They have a shared nastiness and arrogance that means few really have much sympathy with them, but you have a heart of gold.
:wink:

I doubt if they will die though.
If they limp along as a basket case for a decade or two I can live with that.
I like to think I can compromise.
:approve:

I know what you mean about the Huns Doc, but nothing beats turning them over, especially on there own patch.
I wasn't fortunate enough to be there when Ivan put them to the sword, but we still relive that game through video.
Both Huns, and Gunts have a nasty element, but ramming down there throats is twice as sweet.

P.S my hearts on the slide, but I still have faith. :Sparkle_Cool:

I don't think they will die, they'll struggle for a while, but they won't die.

If they did die, I would miss derby day, but it wouldn't bother me, I wouldn't find the league boring, I watch Hibs no matter who they play, that excitement won't change for me. Fed up hearing folk talk about how Hibs need Hearts or how Hibs will lose support without 3 derbies a year, 3 games don't make my season. I'd go watch Hibs every week in the third division if it came to it.

I doubt many gunts will be saying the same soon enough though :gunts:

I'm 50/50. Want them to die just simply because it's the gunts. But at the same time the feeling I get going to visit my mum and dad* after we beat them is quality.

*most of my family are gunts.

Like bigotry, violence, and bile?

I haven't missed Der Hun one iota, and if they languished in the lower regions for ever I'd be completely disinterested.

If the same fate befell the Gunts I think I'd get used to it without too much difficulty.

They have a shared nastiness and arrogance that means few really have much sympathy with them, but you have a heart of gold.
:wink:

I doubt if they will die though.
If they limp along as a basket case for a decade or two I can live with that.
I like to think I can compromise.
:approve:

You saved me the bother of writing it.

But I'll witter on a bit anyway!

The death of rangers and their absence from the SPL has been wonderful and I don't look forward in any to their return, as sevco, at all.

The gunts, if they're lucky enough to phoenix as heart of west Lothian or whatever, will have a much tougher time getting back to the top - if they ever do!

IF they make it to August I'll be surprised. Our proper derbies will be/have gone forever.

1902 - 2013 - 6.2 - 1.5 - 0.7 - big team - wee team - nae team and all that.

As has been said previously, the Gunts wont die, per se. They may well be liquidated from this life and be resurrected by some well-meaning 'stalwarts'. The auld school that still attend games after they've rushed home from the factory to change into their best suit & tie.

Once liquidation kicks in they will be made to reapply to join the league again, just like the Huns last year, but it wont be as easy for them as it was the Huns. Not enough 'hertz men' in positions of power for that, even with Fat Eck or Lord Pishstains slavering on their behalf.

The Bus Shelter is the pivotal focus in all of this. If the Liths insist on holding out for top dollar on the loan/security then it will be sold of seperately to some developer(I reckon the obstacles in planning/distillery/etc will not be as difficult as is being made out), who will then do some kind of housing/retail combo on it.
As for the Gunts, they will be cast into the wilderness of lower league fitbaw, Div 3 at best, or at worse another member of the SLL alongside Spartans, Whitehill, Strollers etc. Where they play is anybody's guess. Groundshare with Livi/Dunfy/Fawkirk/Boness/Lithgae Rose?
This will be very jolly to watch as the Big Team fans turn up at some of these wee retro grounds with twirlie scarfs tied to their waistbands of their flared Lee jeans and sporting their cool looking feather-cut hairstyles in an attempt relive their glory days under Mercer.

Hibs? Well we'll just plod on, planning trips to Sweden, Ireland, Spain, Portugal, etc, hoping we can take the step up to regular european fitbaw back at Easter Road. Maybe win a cup or three along the way, and maybe, just maybe, drop the monkey off our backs.

The derby? Some ye win, some ye lose.

Exciting times ahead. :glassraise:

:bye:gunts::bye

The Bus Shelter is the pivotal focus in all of this. If the Liths insist on holding out for top dollar on the loan/security then it will be sold of seperately to some developer(I reckon the obstacles in planning/distillery/etc will not be as difficult as is being made out), who will then do some kind of housing/retail combo on it.
As for the Gunts, they will be cast into the wilderness of lower league fitbaw, Div 3 at best, or at worse another member of the SLL alongside Spartans, Whitehill, Strollers etc. Where they play is anybody's guess. Groundshare with Livi/Dunfy/Fawkirk/Boness/Lithgae Rose?
This will be very jolly to watch as the Big Team fans turn up at some of these wee retro grounds with twirlie scarfs tied to their waistbands of their flared Lee jeans and sporting their cool looking feather-cut hairstyles in an attempt relive their glory days under Mercer.

I've seen very little regarding the possibiliy of the "stadium" being sold separately and all the chat seems to be on bids for the club as a whole.....incl Savile Dome.

I just hope that the administrators are doing their job properly - on behalf of of the Liths - and exploring all avenues to get the best deal possible for the creditors.

Scare stories appearing in the record last week regarding issues with developing the piggery did nothing to help my paranoia on behind the scenes shenanigans to save them especially after their opening three home league fixtures were given. :pf:

I've seen very little regarding the possibiliy of the "stadium" being sold separately and all the chat seems to be on bids for the club as a whole.....incl Savile Dome.

I just hope that the administrators are doing their job properly - on behalf of of the Liths - and exploring all avenues to get the best deal possible for the creditors.

Scare stories appearing in the record last week regarding issues with developing the piggery did nothing to help my paranoia on behind the scenes shenanigans to save them especially after their opening three home league fixtures were given. :pf:

Re the scare stories; If the potential for disaster is so great why was T y n i e high school allowed to remain open all these years? The scare stories may be more of a ruse than a reality. I'm not saying there aren't issues but perhaps not as bad as being mooted.

I'm annoyed that they get us at home second game into the season thereby furnishing them with much needed cash. I think Hibs should arrange a glamour friendly with Watford or leamington Spa or someone for that very day leaving the gunts potless for another week or two. I can't see the SPL complaining about that as they have already allowed celtc to postpone their game against the buddies :glassraise:

Fuck knows.

I didn't think I'd see them in administration seeing as they owed the money to themselves.

Make no mistake, I want it to happen. But I want to win the euromillions too and that hasn't fucking happened yet either.

I sure hope so. I've got champagne on ice for Burbank Hibee and myself for when it happens. Fuck them and all who sail on that turgid pile of syphilitic rhinoceros shite.