Dan Fae Edinburgh phones Saturday Kitchen...

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Living in Glasgow, with weedge in-laws, I'll stand up for a sing-song east coast dialect over a nasal, 3000mph, incomprehensible drill to the ear drums any day.

But each tae there ain likes ken?

Living in Glasgow, with weedge in-laws, I'll stand up for a sing-song east coast dialect over a nasal, 3000mph, incomprehensible drill to the ear drums any day.

But each tae there ain likes ken?
Spot on gadgy.

What east coast dialect is sing-song then? Totes agree re nasality but west coast accent is known for its up and doon sing-songiness*.

*New word alert

What east coast dialect is sing-song then? Totes agree re nasality but west coast accent is known for its up and doon sing-songiness*.

*New word alert

We'll I'm a Fifer, and from my former neck of the woods, its not so much going up at the end of a sentence but the over-enunciation of every vowel that gives the accent a bounciness IMO. Always found "working class" Edinburgh to be similar sounding but a bit faster.