could someone recommend fifa vs pes to me please?

egb_hibs

Looking for a view on which to go for; if anyone can comment please bear in mind what I'm looking for;

I don't have the time to spend hours mastering it, and i also want to play for the kids who are small so again i'm opting for simplicity. My understanding is that PES is generally considered to have richer gameplay, but if that comes at the price of being more complicated to play, I'd prefer the simpler option.

Can anyone comment based on this criteria?

In my opinion PES appeals more to the footballing mind, FIFA to the arcade button-basher. The real PES fans I know are mostly football fans who tend not to have much interest in other games, while FIFA is more popular with those into games in general and not necessarily into football itself. I dont think its that much trickier to master than fifa, and infinitely more rewarding. That said, I havent played either for a few years so im not up to speed on recent versions.

I was a PES fan for years. Although FIFA had the more realistic graphics, PES had the real football gameplay, holding up the ball, beating offside traps, dummies etc.

For years I argued for PES over FIFA, Now however, I can't believe I'm saying it, FIFA beats PES. It beat PES in FIFA 09 now FIFA 10 is even better.

The arcade, button bashing, pinball of FIFA is gone. EA Sports have obviously studied PES, taken the essence of the game, but most importantly, have improved it. PES is kinda standing still.

PES is still a great game. FIFA however has overtaken it. Two great football games but if PES is 8/10, FIFA is 9.5/10.

As far as complexity is concerned, nothing really separates them. I would guess your kids' pals would be more likely to be familiar with FIFA rather than PES.

I agree with HH, although I haven't played this years PES. FIFA 09 beat last years PES hands down though IMO.

In my opinion PES appeals more to the footballing mind, FIFA to the arcade button-basher. The real PES fans I know are mostly football fans who tend not to have much interest in other games, while FIFA is more popular with those into games in general and not necessarily into football itself. I dont think its that much trickier to master than fifa, and infinitely more rewarding. That said, I havent played either for a few years so im not up to speed on recent versions.

No offence mate, but you couldn't be much further off.

Fifa has become the game to play for football fans, more realistic, easy to pick up and plenty fun to be had.

PES definitely was the dominant game for years but in the last couple of version has taken about 50 steps backwards, the gameplay is terrible, its nothing like real football anymore, its dire.

Only one option and its Fifa. Take this from a person who wouldn't touch Fifa with a barge pole for years. 10/10 for me.

Fifa has become the game to play for football fans, more realistic, easy to pick up and plenty fun to be had.

PES definitely was the dominant game for years but in the last couple of version has taken about 50 steps backwards, the gameplay is terrible, its nothing like real football anymore, its dire.

Only one option and its Fifa. Take this from a person who wouldn't touch Fifa with a barge pole for years. 10/10 for me.

Ive heard this from a few folk - as I said, I havent played either for years (since about 2005), so have no clue about recent developments.

Wouldnt mind playin the new FIFA if they have copied the gameplay of PES, as the graphics were always a step ahead.

PES 2008 used from game for a fiver ...best footie game out the lot of them,canny go wrong. But if you have a spare 40 sheets then go for Fifa 10.:laff: Not much help a know :laff:

I got fifa 2009 for 4.99 the other day in Game at the gyle. I'm not really a fan of gaming and all that jazz but if I were to compare the two Fifa would win as it has Hibs on it. Pro ev doesn't.

PES 6/2008 were class, PES 2009 was a bit meh in comparison to FIFA 2009. FIFA 2010 is the de-facto footie game at the mo tbh. the "be a pro" mode would be great fun online but the servers aren't up to much (certainly on XBOX live). It's all jumpy and juddery, like trying to play Doom on a 386 (for those old enough to remember Doom or 386's!)

I'd agree on Fifa, main reason being that PES decided to include a licensed Hearts team this year (along with the Sheep because of their inclusion in the Europa league).

I can play both games but can't beat winning the Cup with Hibs on FIFA:Sparkle_Cool:

They've both became increasingly complex and neither would be easy for anyone under 7 or 8 to pick up imo.

Best fitba game ever gameplay wise is the old Sensible Soccer. Totally intuitive controls etc, loads of fun, and easy to pick up. Didn't even know that it had been re-released in 2006, but give it a bash. There's a few copies on ebay for different platforms.

I've only ever really liked FIFA, but even FIFA was hit and miss, it seemed like every other year was good followed by a crap follow up (my favourites were FIFA 98 and 2006).

I think the last time I played PES was 04 and I just found it impossible to score and never reall got what the fuss was about it.

Who remembers Sensible Soccer on the Amiga? Now THAT was a classic. :glassraise:

Ive heard this from a few folk - as I said, I havent played either for years (since about 2005), so have no clue about recent developments.

Wouldnt mind playin the new FIFA if they have copied the gameplay of PES, as the graphics were always a step ahead.

If you can mate, have yourself a shot of Fifa10, its brilliant.

Was it FIFA 99 where you could dive? There was nothing more satisfying than mastering the art of going down like a ton of bricks and being awarded a penalty.

They've both became increasingly complex and neither would be easy for anyone under 7 or 8 to pick up imo.

Best fitba game ever gameplay wise is the old Sensible Soccer. Totally intuitive controls etc, loads of fun, and easy to pick up. Didn't even know that it had been re-released in 2006, but give it a bash. There's a few copies on ebay for different platforms.
agree with that. I'm kicking myself for not buying it a year or so ago when i saw it implemented as one of these games embedded in a joystick you just plug into your telly.

I would agree with that. I was always a pes lover myself but the new fifa is the dugs.

I don't agree about it being too complex for under 8's if my sisters two are anything to go by. Wee beggars have taken me to the wire a few times over the festive holidays.

The graphics and gameplay on fifa 10 are a dream for the experienced footballing gamer.

Oh and was it mentioned we are on it this time? Sweet as!

If its the bairns first foray into football games why not opt for an earlier version, to give them a taster, see if they like the genr first. They don't always and it would be a shame to spend 40 sheets on a game that will languish on the shelf.

Mind you once you get into it you'll suddenly find bags of time to play it.:laff:

i agree 100 million %

You wont get an answer on this one guy, it splits people down the middle.
For me the FIFAs are incredibly frustrating and the only computer game that puts me in a bad mood. PES is fun. People will tell you that PES isn't realistic, that's why it's fun. You can skin people and score belters.

I had the same bother a while back. So i went tae the video place (blockbusters?) and hired baith for the week.
FIFA 10 hands down.
Canny be Hibs on pes.

Looking for a view on which to go for; if anyone can comment please bear in mind what I'm looking for;

I don't have the time to spend hours mastering it, and i also want to play for the kids who are small so again i'm opting for simplicity. My understanding is that PES is generally considered to have richer gameplay, but if that comes at the price of being more complicated to play, I'd prefer the simpler option.

Can anyone comment based on this criteria?

get pes 2008 or pes6 if you are just looking for something fun and simple (pes6 being my favourite) for the kids

the new football games really have moved on, and if you're not looking to spend 10 hours mastering the flicks and tricks, it can be frustrating. It has become so realistic that the immediate fun of the games has gone - basically there is no modern arcadey football game, everything is so hyper-realitic that you have to be very good at video-games to make the players do what you want.

Ive personally always been a Fifa man, but in recent years playing Pro Ev at Friend's Houses, I do think Pro Ev has better gameplay. Although I always prefer the way Fifa is layed out, its season mode etc.

fifa seems to be more popular but PES is better imo, i can see what people mean about hibs being in fifa and not PES but if hibs finish 3rd or higher this season they will be in PES 2011

not played pes but fifa is amazing especially if you have live :yeah:

thanks for all the advice chaps. i reckon fifa 2010 or - for the reasons ayegudyin gives - pes 6. thanks again.

Hold on, in retrospect...
...you might be thoroughly disappointed by pes6 and I don't want to be responsible!

I have fifa 10 and I think its great, some of my friends have the new pes and they love it. I have played football games since sensible soccer was the best thing on the market, and my reasons for loving pes6 might come from a reaction to certain changes that have taken place during the natural progression of the genre, and the fact that pes has become stagnant over the last few years.

Its like me saying desert island dizzy is the best platform game, simply because I remember having the most fun playing it when i was 6.

no doubting Fifa10 is a very good game, and i'm sure your kids would love it. I would say give either of the new games a shot, its not like you're going to hate them.