Cocktails

egb_hibs

I’m off to the sun in a few weeks, having decided it needs to be done after this relegation season of a ‘summer’.

It’s one of the few occasions I like a cocktail; standing on a balcony overlooking the sea, resplendent in Panama hat and linen. Or workie shorts and a tee shirt. One of the above.

I tend to be a bit one note, favouring mojitos as I don’t like all the sweet concoctions. Anyone for any recommendations for mixing it up a bit, again avoiding sweet stuff?

I hate whiskey so if it’s whisky based I need that to be far back in the mix as it were.

I’m off to the sun in a few weeks, having decided it needs to be done after this relegation season of a ‘summer’.

It’s one of the few occasions I like a cocktail; standing on a balcony overlooking the sea, resplendent in Panama hat and linen. Or workie shorts and a tee shirt. One of the above.

I tend to be a bit one note, favouring mojitos as I don’t like all the sweet concoctions. Anyone for any recommendations for mixing it up a bit, again avoiding sweet stuff?

I hate whiskey so if it’s whisky based I need that to be far back in the mix as it were.
I like whisky-based cocktails like Manhattan and Old Fashioned, so I guess they're out.
Have you tried a Negroni? Sweet and bitter at the same time. Bit like grapefruit juice. I had an astonishingly good one in a Vegas restaurant earlier in the year.
I don't know if it counts as a cocktail but Aperol Spritz is very moreish in hot weather. Likewise a proper Gin & Tonic.

I like whisky-based cocktails like Manhattan and Old Fashioned, so I guess they're out.
Have you tried a Negroni? Sweet and bitter at the same time. Bit like grapefruit juice. I had an astonishingly good one in a Vegas restaurant earlier in the year.
I don't know if it counts as a cocktail but Aperol Spritz is very moreish in hot weather. Likewise a proper Gin & Tonic.
Try a Negroni made with Aperol rather than Campari.

Very nice.

Lager tops? Plenty Scottish barman have been known to say to anyone ordering this "We dinnae serve that cocktail pish in here pal"

Same with lager and lime which I sometimes used to drink as a youngster!

@egb_hibs chorry a cocktail list from the bar, rip the cocktail pages out and work your way through it! You could play at some sort of cocktail reviewer, connoisseur writing tasting notes at the side.

Not sure what you would do on day 2.

I recall hearing, 'we don't serve disco drinks in here' at the local in town which is a real ale place (but serves cider/lager/Guinness louts like me). This was at a group of freshers starting their crawl into town.

Used to be a lot of beer snottery in there. I remember a mate who managed a Sunday morning team going ahead of the lads into the pub and ordering eight various pints of ale. One guy wanted his as a lemonade shandy and the barman refused it, saying that they didn't put lemonade in their beers. Mate said he didn't want them then and immediately walked out, leaving seven full pints on the bar!

Long Island Iced Tea is the only cocktail a real man should consider drinking :giggley:

Does a Cuba Libre count? 👀 Proper job with loads of fresh lime and a decent rum etc

Did the Johnny Walker experience on Princes Street in January and was served some really nice whisky based cocktails, can’t remember the names of them all though. High ball was one I think.

Agree with Shrink a good Margarita takes some beating with the sugar around the rim 🤤

Does a Cuba Libre count? 👀 Proper job with loads of fresh lime and a decent rum etc

Did the Johnny Walker experience on Princes Street in January and was served some really nice whisky based cocktails, can’t remember the names of them all though. High ball was one I think.

Agree with Shrink a good Margarita takes some beating with the sugar around the rim 🤤

I used to sell loads of those in the Jinglin' Geordie back in the day. Much loved by some of my locals,

If you like a mojito I'd recommend a caipirinha.

It's a simple lime, sugar syrup, ice and spirit job but it's made with cachaça instead of rum which is similar but has a different kick.

Sugar?

:52:

As an ex-cocktail bartender of many years standing, I have strong feelings on this stuff! And I'm firstly assuming that we are talking about making it yourself, and that you have some basic kit; i.e. a shaker of some form, strainer, etc.

Also, pro-tip -- measurements matter -- get a jigger -- and dilution matters even more. If it's a shaken cocktail, just giving it a couple of shoogles won't cut it -- you need the ice to break down and dilute the mix, which means you have to shake it hard for a minute or so. We used to say that if you don't start to put your sex face on, you're not shaking hard enough.

As for cocktails, I've always held that the classics are classics for a reason. They're rarely bettered by all the alchemy that goes on in bars these days.

For me, a sour is my all-time favourite -- it's tart but more-ish, and if you smooth it with just a wee bit of egg white, for me it's the world's greatest cocktail -- and versatile. The most common constituent is whiskey (with an "e", as it's best made with American rye), but you can use pisco, amaretto, and a whole host of other base spirits. The recipe is simple: 2 parts whiskey/base, 1 part lemon juice, 0.5 part simple syrup (sugar syrup like Monin), a dash of Angostura bitters, and up to a half part of egg white. Shake hard with ice, strain into an ice-filled rocks glass, and enjoy. I never bother with garnishes, personally.

Another great one is a gimlet -- 2 parts gin, 2 parts lime cordial, shaken hard together and strained. Sounds a bit shit on paper, but try it — I guarantee you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

As an ex-cocktail bartender of many years standing, I have strong feelings on this stuff! And I'm firstly assuming that we are talking about making it yourself, and that you have some basic kit; i.e. a shaker of some form, strainer, etc.

Also, pro-tip -- measurements matter -- get a jigger -- and dilution matters even more. If it's a shaken cocktail, just giving it a couple of shoogles won't cut it -- you need the ice to break down and dilute the mix, which means you have to shake it hard for a minute or so. We used to say that if you don't start to put your sex face on, you're not shaking hard enough.

As for cocktails, I've always held that the classics are classics for a reason. They're rarely bettered by all the alchemy that goes on in bars these days.

For me, a sour is my all-time favourite -- it's tart but more-ish, and if you smooth it with just a wee bit of egg white, for me it's the world's greatest cocktail -- and versatile. The most common constituent is whiskey (with an "e", as it's best made with American rye), but you can use pisco, amaretto, and a whole host of other base spirits. The recipe is simple: 2 parts whiskey/base, 1 part lemon juice, 0.5 part simple syrup (sugar syrup like Monin), a dash of Angostura bitters, and up to a half part of egg white. Shake hard with ice, strain into an ice-filled rocks glass, and enjoy. I never bother with garnishes, personally.

Another great one is a gimlet -- 2 parts gin, 2 parts lime cordial, shaken hard together and strained. Sounds a bit shit on paper, but try it — I guarantee you’ll be pleasantly surprised.
Genuine question - what are you actually straining if there's only gin and lime crdial?

All the little shards of ice that are left after you shake it :)

Edit: to be clear; it’s not strictly necessary, but it makes for a nicer drink.

Same with lager and lime which I sometimes used to drink as a youngster!

@egb_hibs chorry a cocktail list from the bar, rip the cocktail pages out and work your way through it! You could play at some sort of cocktail reviewer, connoisseur writing tasting notes at the side.

Not sure what you would do on day 2.
If he follows your instructions and completes the full list on day one, day 2 would be a lost day. :grinning-smiley-045:

Great post - though I’m actually planning to be ordering them at a bar. Is there really a difference between shaking bs stirring ? What’s the science behind that I wonder?

Thanks for all the recommendations there is a bunch here to get set about. Sours, negroni, Cuba libres, capirinhas…

Sorry I cannae contemplate a White Russian though, milk makes me hurl !

For anyone who likes negronis, aperol and the likes, recommend trying amaros which are Italian herbal liquer - nothing like amaretto. Campari and aperol are like ‘lite’ versions. Some of them are eye poppingly bitter. I recommends amaro del capo as an accessible starting place if anyone wants to give it a bash. Can get from Amazon.

Perhaps you should have put ice in the recipe? :102:
Lol, I figured it was implied — pretty redundant to shake anything without it!
Great post - though I’m actually planning to be ordering them at a bar. Is there really a difference between shaking bs stirring ? What’s the science behind that I wonder?
Aeration.

Not a great lover of cocktails but I do remember (hazily) a pre-Hampden soirée in the Cabbage and Ribs being introduced to the After Eight - Bailey’s and Crème de Menthe. Not recommended after eight pints of Guinness however. Much madness ensued and that was the evening in a lap dancing bar where the phrase “talentless wanker” was first aired, much to the chagrin of the afore-mentioned talen … DJ. Next morning at the Gunner to get the bus to Hampden, greeted by the legend that is Greenman “Hey boys, whit wis that green stuff we were drinking last night? Aye After Eights, get a round in!” Meanwhile back at the Premier Inn, staff were frantically trying to remove the green and beige explosion from outside the entrance.

I normally only drink strong lager but if my arm is twisted, its Bloody Mary or Mojito. My missus found out the hard way that Long Island Ice Tea is lethal.

I've mentioned this recently - a Moscow mule, basically vodka, ginger beer, lime cordial & a slice of lime. It's also a very refreshing tall drink without the vodka.

Failing that a bloody Mary with all the works (& a wee splash of brandy).

We wet my 1st nephew's head with Guinness depth charges - a pint of Guinness with a shot of port dropped in. Tastes great but omafuckinhead!...,

I've mentioned this recently - a Moscow mule, basically vodka, ginger beer, lime cordial & a slice of lime. It's also a very refreshing tall drink without the vodka.

Failing that a bloody Mary with all the works (& a wee splash of brandy).

We wet my 1st nephew's head with Guinness depth charges - a pint of Guinness with a shot of port dropped in. Tastes great but omafuckinhead!...,

Aye a Moscow mule is lovely. Nice with a bit of fresh mint in too.