Climate change.

Findlayhibby

Might as well talk about it because I'm sure now it's happening. The world has a huge problem a pandemic which they can't contain and a climate problem which they can't contain. I speak to SNP people and a lot of them are still in the 'It's Scotland's Oil' camp. A position as short sighted as fossil fuels .I was at a demo against Campo two weeks ago. Sturgeon seems to want to distance herself from it .I'm afraid a 'It's all Westminster's fault' dusnae cut it. We have to say we're not for it and will do everything we can to say we're going to try and stop it.

Bury your head in the sand if you want mate. Oil and gas ain’t going anywhere for the next 50 years.
We can ( and do ) try to make a replacement fuel, for the future, we can cut our footprint year on year. But if you think planes are going to stop flying, if you believe electric cars are going to meet our standards, if plastic is going to be taken out production , anytime soon, then I would like to hear how the world can hope to achieve this.
i.e. Where is all the electric coming from to power all these cars? The grid is about maxed out at present , every town would need a nuclear power plant to produce the energy we consume for our cars, vans, buses trains , heating etc.

Climate change is definitely happening and anyone with eyes an ears can see it without any environmental expert telling us. We are going to suffer extremes in weather in the years and decades to come. We already are in many parts of the world as we can see every night on TV, and it's getting closer to home.

As TH says though, the damage has been done. You can't really put the toothpaste back in the tube. Cars, planes, trains, gas fires and boilers...they have all been invented many years ago and many millions of people use them as they were part of societies advancing. To now force these countries to get rid of all that and massively reduce usage when they have now completely became dependent on them without any proper alternative which can provide the same at the same cost, is unrealistic and cannot be achieved. For the amount of energy the world now requires there is really no alternative source, and certainly not what has been suggested by many strong environmentalists.

So we have a major problem on our hands, and something massive has to be achieved at COP 26 in Glasgow in November. Sorry, I just don't have a clue what they are going to do given the requirements of advanced nations versus the absolute priority in slowing down global warming. We do however owe it to our children and grandchildren, and the generations to come, to do something. It's the biggest threat to humanity there has been for thousands of years.

Driving will shortly only be for those privileged enough to be able to afford an electric car. Edinburgh council's proposed LEZ (low emission zone) will see petrol cars older than 2005 and diesel cars registered before 2015 barred from entering the zone. My 2002 petrol Audi passed its mot today with flying colours but in the next couple of years will not get me to work and back due to this proposed legislation. Sod finishing a 12hr shift and having to cycle home even more so if it's raining cats and dogs.

"Our proposed LEZ will operate continuously, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, all year round. Automatic Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) cameras, linked to a national vehicle licencing database, will be used to monitor vehicles driving in the zone. They will detect vehicles which do not comply with the minimum emission standards. The majority of vehicles currently driving through the city centre already meet these standards.

If a driver with a vehicle that does not meet set standards for exhaust emissions drives into the LEZ area, they will receive a a fine (penalty charge)."

Seems more like a plan to get bums on the seat of buses and trams.

Driving will shortly only be for those privileged enough to be able to afford an electric car. Edinburgh council's proposed LEZ (low emission zone) will see petrol cars older than 2005 and diesel cars registered before 2015 barred from entering the zone. My 2002 petrol Audi passed its mot today with flying colours but in the next couple of years will not get me to work and back due to this proposed legislation. Sod finishing a 12hr shift and having to cycle home even more so if it's raining cats and dogs.

"Our proposed LEZ will operate continuously, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, all year round. Automatic Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) cameras, linked to a national vehicle licencing database, will be used to monitor vehicles driving in the zone. They will detect vehicles which do not comply with the minimum emission standards. The majority of vehicles currently driving through the city centre already meet these standards.

If a driver with a vehicle that does not meet set standards for exhaust emissions drives into the LEZ area, they will receive a a fine (penalty charge)."

Seems more like a plan to get bums on the seat of buses and trams.
Edinburgh should put a 5 mile fence around the centre and just ban cars anyway. It has to be the most car unfriendly city I have been in ( well maybe behind the white hole that is London)
Unless extreme circumstances dictate , I take the train and walk from Waverley to ER. Even in the pishing rain and gales it is a better option.

Edinburgh should put a 5 mile fence around the centre and just ban cars anyway. It has to be the most car unfriendly city I have been in ( well maybe behind the white hole that is London)
Unless extreme circumstances dictate , I take the train and walk from Waverley to ER. Even in the pishing rain and gales it is a better option.
Its a pain in the arse for sure , how do businesses on Leith Walk survive with all these tram works ?? I might be asking which buses go down London Rd soon and using my bus pass

Creating the batteries for cars is every bit as harmful to the environment isn't it?
And they need to be replaced every x years so there will always be millions of them in production at any one time.
Granted the cars in the city will be less harmful to people in the city. But overall environmental impact won't be all that different. (There are differing studies in fairness)

Plus the parts required to create these batteries are still ripped from the planet.

Edinburgh needs to do alot of work to get the infrastructure in place to support EV's full time still too.

I'll sell you chargers if you need them 🤓

Edinburgh city centre banning petrol and diesel cars to combat climate change is like trying to stop last years’ California wildfires with a glass of water.

Combatting climate change requires a drastic course of action from the most pollutant countries (China, USA, India being the current top 3) which is pretty unachievable due to financial, social and welfare pressures.

Bit of a defeatist thread this. There's hunners of ways to change our dependency on fossil fuels. The tides generate more energy than you could shake a stick at. String some tidal generators between existing oil rigs, use the energy to extract hydrogen from the water, pump it ashore in existing pipelines, whack it in hydrogen fuel cell cars. That might not work, dunno, but there's really no limit to human ingenuity when we actually focus on solving problems. Pretty sure the covid vaccine was developed within about three days of receiving the genome sequencing of the virus.

Far too many folk are throwing their hands up in the air and saying it’s too late so let’s do nothing. But there’s many many things that can be done that would make an impact: cut out meat and dairy (or make it a once in a while treat). Folk could stop driving 4x4s and drive cars with tiny engines like fiat twinairs. We can stop building masses of concrete buildings (many of which are not actually needed). We can build many more wind farms and change the culture of work so if there are going to be periods when the wind doesn’t generate enough watts we take the day off and go to the beach. We can cut all subsidies for the oil industry. We can take trains not planes. We can buy locally produced food instead of shipping inferior shit around the globe. We can stop buying masses of clothes - my dad had two suits, a kilt and a couple pairs of ‘slacks’. We can stop tolerating the myth that plastic packaging gets recycled. I could go on…

And if all else fails...

Let's face it Angus, you know that Sturgeon and the SNP beaurocracy as opposed to the rank and file members and supporters, are akin to New Labour in managerial terms and Liberal in action. As I have said before numerous times over the years on here and outwith I support any reform that benefited workers and their families whether right wing Blairite Labour or liberal SNP. To do otherwise would be utterly crass. Understanding the process in a Capitalist economy context is not crass, it is economically savvy by the Capitalist class to afford such reforms to a safe pair of hands .
The cry as you put it that 'it's the Tory Governments fault ', rings utterly hollow with me if the Scottish Government, SNP controlled Councils, Labour controlled Councils and tacitly the Labour Party or new Blairism under Starmer say we canae help making these brutal cuts to services, putting folk out of work, closing community facilities . After all it's the Tory Governments fault. No fight , no organised resistance, with some splendid exceptions.
I am old enough to remember the radical left Lothian Regional Councillors, all off whom are a bit older than me now, who had the balls and Socialist belief to fight back. Unfortunately this present SNP/Labour mob couldnae fight sleep. Ask anyone in Leith.
I support the opposition you are putting up mate and support you 100%.
Ten years ago Socialist Appeal , which Starmer has obliged Tony Blair and the uber Blairite, millionaire Lord Mandelson the gutless agent of Capitalism @@$@, has expelled Socialists on the one hand and welcomed right wing Tory Bercow on the other, says it all.

Anyway this appeared in Socialist Appeal over 10 years ago. I have re read it tonight and is spot on. Enjoy .

Not really related to Climate Change per say but more to what you're alluding to, I read a piece by George Kerrevan the other day ;about the left in power in Edinburgh. Fought to change everything that the Tory party were putting through with the brave fight of Alex Wood et al back in 84. He showed all the positive moves Labour had pushed through(I got a job as a scaffie through Creating Jobs Improving Services) in fact marched to defend them(perhaps you were on it?) they brought in Zero Tolerance, a Nuclear Free Edinburgh,quite a few other things we could be proud of, but it folded, eventually in Edinburgh, then Sheffield and the GLC and last but not least Liverpool.
Kerrevan says he'd read his Gramsci in fact they all had, you work within the given limitations inside the council and through an activity at one time a war of manoeuvre at others a war of defence. Thing is another friend Spike Wilson says that in actual fact Kerrevan was part and parcel of the pact that stabbed Wood and co in the front. Whatever, just an aside.
But thing is with Cop 26 or whatever it's called waiting for some sort of massive shift from any of the establishment parties I wouldn't hold my breath. A few people have mentioned some of the moves we could put in place, but as per usual it's not going to happen unless there is a massive campaign by people power.

Alex Woods, a brilliant comrade, recruited me to Militant, of which I will be eternally greatful for, Kerevan was a delegate to Edinburgh Trades Council, a member of the IMG (Internationalist Marxist Group ) I was a delegate from Leith Docks. Long story short the 'Marxists' Woods and Kerevan got on the blind road of Nationalism and joined the SNP. Could never work out whether the Nationalist road was the goal or opportunism.
Maybe both.

Not really related to Climate Change per say but more to what you're alluding to, I read a piece by George Kerrevan the other day ;about the left in power in Edinburgh. Fought to change everything that the Tory party were putting through with the brave fight of Alex Wood et al back in 84. He showed all the positive moves Labour had pushed through(I got a job as a scaffie through Creating Jobs Improving Services) in fact marched to defend them(perhaps you were on it?) they brought in Zero Tolerance, a Nuclear Free Edinburgh,quite a few other things we could be proud of, but it folded, eventually in Edinburgh, then Sheffield and the GLC and last but not least Liverpool.
Kerrevan says he'd read his Gramsci in fact they all had, you work within the given limitations inside the council and through an activity at one time a war of manoeuvre at others a war of defence. Thing is another friend Spike Wilson says that in actual fact Kerrevan was part and parcel of the pact that stabbed Wood and co in the front. Whatever, just an aside.
But thing is with Cop 26 or whatever it's called waiting for some sort of massive shift from any of the establishment parties I wouldn't hold my breath. A few people have mentioned some of the moves we could put in place, but as per usual it's not going to happen unless there is a massive campaign by people power.

Tell me Angus , is that the same Councillor Spike Wilson, Labour (sic) who moved a Resolution, which I opposed vigorously to
deselect a Socialist MP and locally respected in Leith over many decades with his work not only in his workplace in Parsons Peebles, Ron Brown MP.

Spike Wilson, outrageously gave siccour and pathetic reason for Ron to be deselect because of News of the World shite as billionaire owners of the press have done for generations. I was in Ron's house with my comrade Eddy Donachy and we experienced the full shite of Murdoch assassination. Headline Ron Brown hard left , had my child. Guff.
As his beautiful Socialist wife May said....Miraculous conception. We've had the snip for several years.

The MSM are shite.

Fatty Dodds an nonentity in Leith politics was the man to second this rediculous proposition. I remember the the MSM cameras after the gig at the fit of the Walk.

Just asking likes Angus .....was that the same Labour Gadgie Councillor Spike Wilson who moved the resolution to remove Broon for sexual impropriety that.....irony of irony crashed the a good guy in UK or Scottish politics.

Mover ..Spike Wilson
Seconded.. Walter Dodds

Sexual inpropriety Ron....you are a bad boy.

I had much genuine discussion with comrade Ron over many decades. Quality.

AN Edinburgh councillor who embezzled thousands of pounds from a prostitute's support group of which he was treasurer, has officially lost his seat.

Derick Wilson, Labour member for Leith Harbour Ward of Edinburgh City Council, has not attended a council meeting for more than six months. Accordingly, he ceased to be a member of the authority from August 14, a report to yesterday's council meeting said. Officials could also attempt to reclaim half of his #6000 yearly allowance.

Wilson, 37, pled guilty earlier this year to embezzling #4750 from Scottish HIV Action. The money has since been repaid. He was placed on probation for one year and ordered to carry out 180 hours of community service.

And yer pal ruined Ron Browns life dispite the flaws we all have.
Angus get a fucking grip amigo.

BIG G SUNNY LEITH

Didn't know all that about Spike.I know him because he became friends with Steve.I have never been involved with the machinations within Labour.

For anyone interested.There is a climate change festival going on at the Links just now. Think it goes on until about 6 ish.You can go around the stalls, take down QR codes, sign petitions, buy sustainable nappies and jam, learn how to make jewellery out of inner tubes, go and get your bike fixed ,or you can go and tell everybody it's a waste of time and we're doomed.

Folk whinging on I Love Leith about the number of folk who went in their cars leaving nowhere for the residents to park :22:

Not to mention totally embarrassing situations.
I had to get some professional help after @1875 shared with the Bounce world that I’d pished his car seats a couple of times. I was totally embarrassed.
Couple of sessions with another Shrink and I was totally cured.

Pished all over his car seats, and genuinely couldn’t give a fuck.

Climate change is cyclical - though I'm happy to concede that we humans have contributed substantially to the speed of this particular cycle.

What I can't agree with is some of the 'save the planet' brigade guff I've read recently (I try to ignore as much as I can but you always see some!). The latest being some Guardian columnist twat declaring they feel too guilty to take a holiday flight ever again.

Here's my take: The Planet will be fine - barring a catastrophic meteor strike/nuclear Armageddon.
It's been here for billions of years and will continue to. It's us humans, a mere blink of an eye in terms of the Planet's history that'll be fucked.
Boo hoo - everyone reading this, their children and grandchildren will all be deid before that day comes - so pardon me for not caring about some hypothetical future generations I'll never know.

I just wish the save the planet lobby would actually admit what they mean is save the humans - whilst they agree that the population explosion over recent decades is a massive contributor to climate change, it's a pity they never seem to follow the argument to it's logical conclusion.

What we need is some sort of virus that could reduce the population by about 99% .......🤭(*not like the 99% survival rate "gates" virus! Apologies to the resident Bounce crackpot, those figures were for illustration only)

And whilst I'm having such alcohol induced moments of scientific genius here's a question to ponder:
How much faster has the poor climate been forced to change due to the massively increased consumption of single use plastic bags?

That's right - A LOT - thanks a million you dog owners for scooping that poop and killing all our futures!!

'mon the cats 🐈‍⬛

It’s the cats that are killing the planet.
And killing humans. And dogs.
PM Aryan if you want the details,

I think he may be spot on this time. I don’t like cats, and have no pics of them.

Open goal there lads and lassies. Tap in.

It’s the cats that are killing the planet.
And killing humans. And dogs.
PM Aryan if you want the details,

I think he may be spot on this time. I don’t like cats, and have no pics of them.

Open goal there lads and lassies. Tap in.
Aye. No likee the pussy cat. Sleekit, evil looking bastards with claws sharp enough to shred the skin from your hands.
Few years back my son & his missus said they were getting a cat. Newly married, he decided he'd best humour her( daft c$nt!)
They get this tortoiseshell little turd of a thing about the size of a tennis ball.
'Awwwww , he's cute' was the cry.
I said 'give it 6 months'.
One evening a few months later when we visited , the thing was doing that tail up , sliding its arse against my leg caper.
I thought .....OK give it a chance'.......so I bent down to stroke it.
The fucker bit me.
One thing about them though, they canna half shift when ye hit it on the napper with a cup.
7 years on it avoids me.
But I'm watching the c%nt.
Just in case.

Climate change is cyclical - though I'm happy to concede that we humans have contributed substantially to the speed of this particular cycle.

What I can't agree with is some of the 'save the planet' brigade guff I've read recently (I try to ignore as much as I can but you always see some!). The latest being some Guardian columnist twat declaring they feel too guilty to take a holiday flight ever again.

Here's my take: The Planet will be fine - barring a catastrophic meteor strike/nuclear Armageddon.
It's been here for billions of years and will continue to. It's us humans, a mere blink of an eye in terms of the Planet's history that'll be fucked.
Boo hoo - everyone reading this, their children and grandchildren will all be deid before that day comes - so pardon me for not caring about some hypothetical future generations I'll never know.

I just wish the save the planet lobby would actually admit what they mean is save the humans - whilst they agree that the population explosion over recent decades is a massive contributor to climate change, it's a pity they never seem to follow the argument to it's logical conclusion.

What we need is some sort of virus that could reduce the population by about 99% .....🤭(*not like the 99% survival rate "gates" virus! Apologies to the resident Bounce crackpot, those figures were for illustration only)

And whilst I'm having such alcohol induced moments of scientific genius here's a question to ponder:
How much faster has the poor climate been forced to change due to the massively increased consumption of single use plastic bags?

That's right - A LOT - thanks a million you dog owners for scooping that poop and killing all our futures!!

'mon the cats 🐈‍⬛

You make some good points but I wouldn't be so certain that it won't affect us badly in our lifetimes. Reality is we don't know where some of the tipping points will be. I read the other day that they've (the boffins) found the first signs of Gulf Stream collapse which would make things pretty chilly in this part of the world. Could be only a few years away, they just don't know.

Just been having a wee Sunday browse around the t'interweb.
Personally i don't think net zero will ever happen......

Cities’ zero emissions (over) ambition faces reality check.

City leaders admit that decarbonizing by 2030 may not be a realistic target.

As part of an EU-funded scheme announced earlier this year, a clutch of 100 EU cities and 12 from outside the bloc pledged to reach climate neutrality by the end of the decade and signed up to receive EU support to achieve that goal.

Copenhagen, a city known for its ambitious climate plans, this summer announced it was abandoning a previous bid to achieve carbon neutrality by 2025 — a bet it had hoped to win with an aggressive overhaul of its heating, transport and building systems.

The plan involved rolling out more cycling lanes, retrofitting homes on a large scale and replacing coal-fired electricity with biomass.

For years, the city made major strides toward that goal.

But in August, local authorities told residents the target was out of reach.

A city plant that used household garbage to produce power failed to secure funding to build a carbon capture and carbon storage (CCS) facility to sequester its emissions — a key component of the overall plan.

With one of the world's greenest cities struggling to make it to zero, many say the chances for other urban centers are looking slim.

That's bad news, as cities are key emitters.

Globally, they account for more than 70 percent of CO2 emissions.

And if all else fails...

I read that study twice yesterday and my head still hurts!

We are destroying the environment with all the plastic that all these government companies wrap your food in.
And these stupid face nappies that they made people wear.

But there is no evidence at all of climate change....there is climate cycles however,which is completely different.

When I grew up...we were expecting an ice age(must of blinked and missed that one).

If you haven't realised yet,all the government's are in lockstep with World Economic Forum.
You know the organisation that the Nazi himself Klaus Schwab is incharge of!
Do your research as to how his family made so much money!

Check out his advisor Yuval Noah Harari too.

That guy is one sick,narcissistic,psychopath.

I challenge people to research these 2 loonatics....them you may actually look at alot of things differently.

What they have told you is going to happen over the past few years....is exactly the cards they have been playing!

You'll own nothing...and you'll be happy. 👍

We are destroying the environment with all the plastic that all these government companies wrap your food in.
And these stupid face nappies that they made people wear.

But there is no evidence at all of climate change....there is climate cycles however,which is completely different.

When I grew up...we were expecting an ice age(must of blinked and missed that one).

If you haven't realised yet,all the government's are in lockstep with World Economic Forum.
You know the organisation that the Nazi himself Klaus Schwab is incharge of!
Do your research as to how his family made so much money!

Check out his advisor Yuval Noah Harari too.

That guy is one sick,narcissistic,psychopath.

I challenge people to research these 2 loonatics....them you may actually look at alot of things differently.

What they have told you is going to happen over the past few years....is exactly the cards they have been playing!

You'll own nothing...and you'll be happy. 👍
One Flew Over The Bounce.

Goto Tesco or Asda.

Your vegetables are wrapped in it.

Last time I checked too....CO2 was good for the planet.
Helps the plants flourish.

There was an experiment not long ago in an enclosed area where they turned up the CO2.

The plants absolutely flourished!

Were all made of Carbon...and they want to get rid of Carbon!

Waking up yet?

Last points I'll add is since when did Klaus Schwab become a member of Cop26?
As he did give the usual speech to his minions.

The attendees obviously are really concerned about the whole scam...they only took 400 private jets to the venue.

Why do the same figures always benefit from this Climate hoax and plandemics?

Anything Clotshill Bill and Anal Schwab get their grubby little hands on....don't believe.

Buy Gold,Buy Silver,Buy Food,Buy Bottled Water.....Cause these narcissists have manufactured all the problems we are about to face!

The shelves are already getting emptier!

Take Care and wake the fuck up!

The UK already has less carbon emissions than it did in 1900. If we achieve net zero by 2030 that total gain will be wiped out by a mere 5% rise in Chinese emissions - which they're on course to go way past by that date.

I'm not sure it's worth the misery and cost (which will land much more on those in poverty) to just get offset by somebody else.

So Ursula Von den Leyden is in Canada visiting Trudeau. They were at the military base in Kingston Ontario.

My pal stays beside the newly opened bridge over the river. Obviously the bridge gets closed down because the two mentioned are important.

65 SUVs were in the motorcade. Doing their bit to save the planet 🤣🤣