Christian

Been here too long, thinks he's somebody radge.
RIP Chris McClure Scottish legend of the 80's.
In a Blackpool hotel wi the missus in the 80's and he was 'The Turn', There was another 3 couples and us. My missus felt sorry for him and bought his CD. I dont think we ever listened tae it.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

What a legend. For some reason he popped into my head a wee while back and I googled him. A panto stalwart when I were a nipper. Do you get guys like this anymore I wonder, ie all round entertainers that are known in their own backyard but not much wider. They all probably apply for Britain’s got talent these days.

There were loads of these guys, and lassies, that done the clubs and pubs back then. A brickie I worked withs lassie sang in some of the clubs and pubs back then. She might still be daeing it.

He was brilliant. I member the Chis McLure Set, I think they were called in the 60s/ 70's and before he adapted Christian. Quality!.
The last time that I personally saw him was in a show in Glasgow called 'Please Stay' about the dancing in the in the late 60's. It was brilliant and Chis with a fucking mentalist Afro sang ' Pease Stay, which was always part of his act.
Please Stay by the Scousers The Cryin Shames was indelibly remembered by auld fuckers like me as the last 'bag off' song at the end of the night.
Never worked most times!

There were loads of these guys, and lassies, that done the clubs and pubs back then. A brickie I worked withs lassie sang in some of the clubs and pubs back then. She might still be daeing it.
That the lassie from Gracemount? She was just embarking on her career and getting good write ups.

He was brilliant. I member the Chis McLure Set, I think they were called in the 60s/ 70's and before he adapted Christian. Quality!.
The last time that I personally saw him was in a show in Glasgow called 'Please Stay' about the dancing in the in the late 60's. It was brilliant and Chis with a fucking mentalist Afro sang ' Pease Stay, which was always part of his act.
Please Stay by the Scousers The Cryin Shames was indelibly remembered by auld fuckers like me as the last 'bag off' song at the end of the night.
Never worked most times!

A Joe Meek special and coincidentally his last hit before his suicide.
Wonder what Burt Bacherach thought of the Meek production of his song.

I love the Leiber & Stoller produced Drifters original with Rudy Lewis singing lead not long after he replaced Ben E King.

I met Chris once and had a good chat with him. A very nice guy.
He loved football and said he had been a director at Motherwell.

Here's him doing his version

Never worked most times!

Chris McLure Section they were called. Spoke to him a couple of times, really nice guy as all have said.

Saw Chris Mclure at a dance up here around 1970?.
The guy I later played with was drummer for the support band.
He said Chris warmed up for about 30 minutes before going on.
This was running on the spot. Skipping.
Push ups. Sit ups etc.
A pro.
RIP Chris.