Christian Doidge

There was a piece on the news last night about JR taking over at Dumpdee Untied and he was asked if the rumours about him making a bid to get CD to Tannadeechie were true. Of course, he didn't commit to anything but just smirked and said that of course, it's inevitable that he would be linked to players of his former club. Have any of you ITK peeps heard anything more concrete?

I hope he stays. Good honest pro.

Hopefully his rest and recuperation allied with a good pre-season will get him firing on all cylinders.

I like him.
Absolutely. I'll take every sclaff, every goal off his arse, shin, shoulder, whatever. Just let's get some good service to him from midfield and he can be back in double figures soon enough.
I've changed my mind about him. Thought he was a huddy early days but he's a valuable player for us.

We sure missed him when he had covid then got injured. A fully fit doidge isca sure starter imho. Problem is we have had so much bad luck,or otherwise,im not holding my breath.

Now being reported LJ has told Doidge he's not part of his plans. Sad to see him go. A good pre season and I'm sure he still could of done a job.

Telt tae find another club
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Dundee United a likely destination,
I could be wrong but I’m no sure he’s fit enough for this level of fitba after his covid and injury. He just seemed fucked when he came back from it. If he goes tae United I’ll change my mind because JR will ken better than me

More experience being shown the door mind you in this case Doidge went from awful to good to awful again.
Now let's hope they bring in a proven experienced striker to lead the line and they don't just rely on Melkerson and the young Gambian to tide us over until Nisbet returns

Incredible is probably way out there likes.

Finding it mental all these players have left in such a short space of time. Gets me thinking folk have signed to take there place already.

Yeah, I know... But if I don't believe who will 😁

We've not wasted much time, LJ has had a week to assess and that axe is swinging.

Hello all , long time no loggy in 🙈 I think Johnson’s seen enough in a week already to decide who he wants , fair play to big doidge and the way he resurrected his hibs career after a donkey start 🤣

If his eyesights as good as it should be , we should see Hanlon et al hoofed tae , controversial obviously but it’s probably time for a full sweep 🙌🏻

Aw the best

Bod

So be it. Players come and players go. Especially when there's a new manager.

I liked him as a player, did a lot of good work off the ball. After his injury, he's struggled. I'm confident the club knows what it's doing.

Aye I think the club must doubt that he’s returned from that injury the same player. We 100% need to sign a proven striker.

I'd heard a rumour about Doidge going recently, but just thought it was load of nonsense.
Would appear not.
We need two quality strikers in.

Shame. I liked CD. He'll do well at his next club. If he goes to Dundee Utd he's better than Watt, Clarke or McNulty.

Johnson perhaps feels some of the players have got to comfortable and a clear out to freshen things up is best to bring out the best in a squad players so they are all hungry to play. I really hope there are some decent names coming in.

Far too slow. Pace and touch required. Good luck in pastures new big man.
I've never thought he was slow. As a second striker who can put themselves about and score the odd goal, a fit Doidge is easily as good as that Van Veen everyone creams their breeks over.

If we are bringing in better then fine but I think we'll see what we are missing if he goes to another Scottish club.

Chris Doidge prior to his serious injury last season was an effective striker.

Limited yes, but he got about 14 goals the season before. Much of this was due to playing up front with Kevin Nisbet and getting good service from Martin Boyle, Jamie Murphy and Josh Doig. Last summer he had a bad case of Covid which severely limited his pre-season training, then he suffered a very bad achilles tendon injury which needed rest for about a year. Instead he was rushed back far too early due to our complete lack of back-up strikers. Is it any wonder he had poor season last season ?

I think when fit he was a decent striker, good in the air (which at least one of your strikers really has to be), and a physical presence up front. I think he has probably been allowed to go because he isn't going to be able to fit in with the new managers preferred style of play. If he had still some proper mobility about him then maybe there could have been a place, but I think Johnson is looking for a similar big, physical striker, but one who is more mobile and can fit in with his preferred system of play. I just hope we have better strikers lined up because if Doidge goes we need two who are better than what we had.

I liked Doidge,
I appreciate anyone who works as hard as he does. Even when it wasn't going well and he couldn't hit the net to save himself, he dug in, kept going and worked for everyone around him.

I think he'll do well at another Scottish club.

Could be a bad move by Hibs. A player who could have extra motivation this season , as his country is in the world cup and i am sure CD would try to get noticed by his country's manager.

Chris Doidge prior to his serious injury last season was an effective striker.

Limited yes, but he got about 14 goals the season before. Much of this was due to playing up front with Kevin Nisbet and getting good service from Martin Boyle, Jamie Murphy and Josh Doig. Last summer he had a bad case of Covid which severely limited his pre-season training, then he suffered a very bad achilles tendon injury which needed rest for about a year. Instead he was rushed back far too early due to our complete lack of back-up strikers. Is it any wonder he had poor season last season ?

I think when fit he was a decent striker, good in the air (which at least one of your strikers really has to be), and a physical presence up front. I think he has probably been allowed to go because he isn't going to be able to fit in with the new managers preferred style of play. If he had still some proper mobility about him then maybe there could have been a place, but I think Johnson is looking for a similar big, physical striker, but one who is more mobile and can fit in with his preferred system of play. I just hope we have better strikers lined up because if Doidge goes we need two who are better than what we had.
I agree with all of that except the "good in the air" bit. For a tall guy I never thought he was a very convincing headerer of the ball.