Characters you see about town

Findlayhibby

There is something quite entreaging about some characters you might see about town.Now I'm quite well awair that come the end of 2004 when I ended up in the Royal Ed,when I was let out of the ward for say half an hour, then an hour, then two etc and you had caught me walking around Morningside 's Charity Shops you might have thought 'strange guy'and you would have been correct, but I see no harm in talking about the folk you see about.
Anyhow I was thinking about this guy last night.Let me describe him; ok ;he's tallish,looks like he shaves his own head, because you can quite often see some of his cuts. He wears a dark Crombie style coat, which has seen better days, and he usually wears black clothes. Nothing wrong with that, I used to be a bit of a Goph.
Now he looks kind of East European,and I have been told he is Polish and it appears he lives in one of those B&B's in Vanbourgh Place because he often gets on a 25 there when I'm on it.Also when he gets off at the other end it looks like he heads for the Links Tavern.
The thing that draws the attention of the onlooker is his strange gait,he walks very slowly and stiffly as if he might be in pain but is trying hard not to show it, also he holds his Crombie in a strange manner as if concealing something within,is it a gun?a sword? a table leg? a massive stiffie?who knows?
Anyway he doesn't appear to have employment as I often see him get on the 25 as I am and I'm on income support,most of his time seems to be mouching about in the fag trays at the Waverley and such and picking up dog ends.Anyway does anyone know this guy?Has anyone spoken to him?What is his story?What about other characters you see?

Moaty, this sounds too much like a crimewatch wanted person appeal, particularly the summing up.Even if I knew who and where he was, there's nae way I'd grass him up

Two that stick out to me growing up in Leith. Rasta Man. I think everyone probably saw him wandering about Leith at some point. The other was the old guy that dressed as a cowboy. He was a really cool auld gadget.
[automerge]1611415884[/automerge]
Anyone mind this boy around Leith a good few years ago?

View attachment 4245

Think he’s long since retired to the great saloon in the sky! ☹️

Ha! I was just writing about him and then you posted this. Quality!!!

Two that stick out to me growing up in Leith. Rasta Man. I think everyone probably saw him wandering about Leith at some point. The other was the old guy that dressed as a cowboy. He was a really cool auld gadget.

There was a thing about Rasta man in the news the other week, cannae mind what though.

You see alot of characters down towards Cables Wynd, one in particular is a Alky who screams his lungs off most days of the week around the area too the delight of the locals ?

Gordon “Got a pound” fae Restalrig. Sad what happened to him. Used to see him in the bookies or Bottomshop now and again. Harmless fella.

Arthur, and someone painted a massive mural of him on Arthur Street.
Hes doing good.
There's also a bench in his honour by the carpet shop. Last I heard he was well and living in a care home. I can't say which one as I was sworn to secrecy and have forgotten anyway!

There is something quite entreaging about some characters you might see about town.Now I'm quite well awair that come the end of 2004 when I ended up in the Royal Ed,when I was let out of the ward for say half an hour, then an hour, then two etc and you had caught me walking around Morningside 's Charity Shops you might have thought 'strange guy'and you would have been correct, but I see no harm in talking about the folk you see about.
Anyhow I was thinking about this guy last night.Let me describe him; ok ;he's tallish,looks like he shaves his own head, because you can quite often see some of his cuts. He wears a dark Crombie style coat, which has seen better days, and he usually wears black clothes. Nothing wrong with that, I used to be a bit of a Goph.
Now he looks kind of East European,and I have been told he is Polish and it appears he lives in one of those B&B's in Vanbourgh Place because he often gets on a 25 there when I'm on it.Also when he gets off at the other end it looks like he heads for the Links Tavern.
The thing that draws the attention of the onlooker is his strange gait,he walks very slowly and stiffly as if he might be in pain but is trying hard not to show it, also he holds his Crombie in a strange manner as if concealing something within,is it a gun?a sword? a table leg? a massive stiffie?who knows?
Anyway he doesn't appear to have employment as I often see him get on the 25 as I am and I'm on income support,most of his time seems to be mouching about in the fag trays at the Waverley and such and picking up dog ends.Anyway does anyone know this guy?Has anyone spoken to him?What is his story?What about other characters you see?

I say hello to him and speak to him as lives near me, he’s English, harmless guy and often to be found in the bottom shop when open

Reactions: NGP
I sometimes see this guy on a 25 bus, sometimes I don't see him but he sees me ...

I have seen this guy walking about Restalrig, usually say aright as we pass..

Rasta man was homeless through choice.

I know his bank manager.

He had thousands in the bank.

That's why he never begged.

Anyone mind this boy around Leith a good few years ago?

View attachment 4245

Think he’s long since retired to the great saloon in the sky! ☹️
He was known as Wee John he lived in the one of the hostel around the grasmarket. He daily came into The Black Bull asking for 2ps and a box of matches didn’t think he drank though cos we never saw him drunk. He always uses to point his fingers and say Bang Bang!
He was also in a photo shoot for my mates boutique in the grassmarket it was called Traders just across from The Highlander. That was back in early 90s so sadly I think he’s ridden his last rodeo.
[automerge]1611433519[/automerge]
Fuck sake Moaty if Isa ever comes out of Still Game there’s an opening for you there boy.

Arthur the 'Rasta' just had his birthday the other day.He's being looked after in a care home,his dreads have gone as I don't think he particularly wanted to keep them.He's a nice guy,always polite when you talked to him,just needed some help.
[automerge]1611434535[/automerge]
Another guy I see often is what I call 'always walking guy' you usually see him walking along Dalry/ Gorgie way.He's about my age mid 50's,he's going bald on top but is growing it long-which reminds me must get a haircut.Anyway he's out in all weathers never seems to have a jacket and just seems to power walk past everybody,never seen him take a rest and just stand at a bus stop.Now I know other people have noticed him because he's been in the local paper sights and has been interviewed.All he's really said is it's just me I like to walk.

What about the big unit that wore the shorts and (leather?) waistcoat, bare arms with big headphones on who used to patrol the pavements - with a purpose - around Waverley Bridge and George IV bridge when I worked there 4-5 year back.

Looked Eastern European maybe and def not to be messed with but never seemed to bother anyone.

He was known as Wee John he lived in the one of the hostel around the grasmarket. He daily came into The Black Bull asking for 2ps and a box of matches didn’t think he drank though cos we never saw him drunk. He always uses to point his fingers and say Bang Bang!
He was also in a photo shoot for my mates boutique in the grassmarket it was called Traders just across from The Highlander. That was back in early 90s so sadly I think he’s ridden his last rodeo.
[automerge]1611433519[/automerge]

Fuck sake Moaty if Isa ever comes out of Still Game there’s an opening for you there boy.
Did you work in The Black Bull? I worked there from 1990 as a pot washer until 94 behind the bar. Remember John well, year later and I was working on junction street he would come in to my shop there! Annoyed me when folk called him cowboy Joe, his name was John.

I didn’t work in there but I used to go in every Friday night with my flat mate at the time Alec (who was a jambo by the way)his sister Joan Farwell was from Gilmerton and used to be the cook. Mark Briggs was the manager Janet, Lorna and Immy were barmaids The other barmaid Susan became Mrs Green Juventine she consoled me the night Argentina knocked out Italy in Italia 90. Proud to say we’re still together after all these years and being opposite sides of the bar she’s seen me at my worst.
Loved that pub it always had a buzz about it and Joan’s steak pie was to die for.

I mind of a boy in the 80s and 90s you used to seee round the clubs...he was skinny as a rake and used to dress in what I can only describe as a new romantic style. Used to dance on his own as if he was doing some sort of Brazilian martial art on the dance floor. Seemed happy enough so folk used to leave him to it as far as I remember.

What about the big unit that wore the shorts and (leather?) waistcoat, bare arms with big headphones on who used to patrol the pavements - with a purpose - around Waverley Bridge and George IV bridge when I worked there 4-5 year back.

Looked Eastern European maybe and def not to be messed with but never seemed to bother anyone.
Still doing it.

I mind of a boy in the 80s and 90s you used to seee round the clubs...he was skinny as a rake and used to dress in what I can only describe as a new romantic style. Used to dance on his own as if he was doing some sort of Brazilian martial art on the dance floor. Seemed happy enough so folk used to leave him to it as far as I remember.
Nice guy, was at Taste every weekend. As you say, was perfectly happy being left to his own devices. Think he was/is a ballet dancer?
[automerge]1611477532[/automerge]
I didn’t work in there but I used to go in every Friday night with my flat mate at the time Alec (who was a jambo by the way)his sister Joan Farwell was from Gilmerton and used to be the cook. Mark Briggs was the manager Janet, Lorna and Immy were barmaids The other barmaid Susan became Mrs Green Juventine she consoled me the night Argentina knocked out Italy in Italia 90. Proud to say we’re still together after all these years and being opposite sides of the bar she’s seen me at my worst.
Loved that pub it always had a buzz about it and Joan’s steak pie was to die for.
No way! I worked for Joan first and loved her, thought she was the soundest person. Mark was possibly the driest person I’ve ever met but decent enough. When Mark left Janet ( Jeanette?) became manager. Was my first job I had and it was an education. Pretty much lived there and all the other pubs knew me and turned a blind eye to my under age drinking! I’m afraid to say I can’t remember your wife, but if you ever see Joan or Janet please send them my love, I think about them quite a bit and tried to find them on social media but no joy. Agree about the steak pie btw!
Jock Wallace was Joan’s uncle eh?

Nice guy, was at Taste every weekend. As you say, was perfectly happy being left to his own devices. Think he was/is a ballet dancer?

No way! I worked for Joan first and loved her, thought she was the soundest person. Mark was possibly the driest person I’ve ever met but decent enough. When Mark left Janet ( Jeanette?) became manager. Was my first job I had and it was an education. Pretty much lived there and all the other pubs knew me and turned a blind eye to my under age drinking! I’m afraid to say I can’t remember your wife, but if you ever see Joan or Janet please send them my love, I think about them quite a bit and tried to find them on social media but no joy. Agree about the steak pie btw!
Jock Wallace was Joan’s uncle eh?
Susan was about 5’3” with really short black hair she worked there from May 90 till February 91 when we all left to work in Jersey for a couple of years. Think Joans brother Alec is still out there unfortunately we lost touch. Joans maiden name was Selcraig there were a few of them from Gilmerton.
There always used to be fights with the soda stream and bar staff getting dunked in the plastic bottle bins filled with ice and water as an initiation. Also remember big fuck off pizza showing up on a regular basis from Mammas up the road.
Pints of Stella and Grolsh had a lot to answer for. I remember standing at the bar one night just wearing a pair of boxer chatting to this bird quite the thing. Like I said before my wife has seen me at my worst ?

Was a wee thin guy that had combed back hair and ponytail and beard that looked like a wee cavalier used tae wander around the south side and morningside areas. He walked at a hundred miles an hour and always carried plastic bags. No about during the day now so dinnae ken if he‘s still around.

Thats the one..now you come to mention it I think my brother had a chat with him once in Yip Yap and he mentioned he was a ballet dancer. I saw him not long ago striding purposefully along cannonmills and remembered him.

A distinctive guy remember him from the clubs early / mid 90s
[automerge]1611490904[/automerge]
Any of the Porty folks remember Mac One?

I was brought up in Restalrig and I remember Gordon. He was a nice lad, completely harmless.
No idea whatever happened to him.
If it’s the same guy he became an actuary for Standard Life and has a big place at Barnton.

A distinctive guy remember him from the clubs early / mid 90s
[automerge]1611490904[/automerge]
Any of the Porty folks remember Mac One?

I remember seeing him at the venue a lot. I remember being melted on mushrooms one night, I was standing next to a speaker mesmorised by this dude ballet dancing to aphex twin :3:

Another guy I see around a lot is the guy that has something to do with the second hand clothes store half way up Leith Walk.I think he's got a Bowie/Rod thing going on.He has white silvery hair done up spikey,usually has some kind of tartan suit on and favours a long leather overcoat.I often see him hanging outside his shop or perusing the clothes sections in Charity shops looking for his latest find.I'm sure he has a photo of himself in his shop window.No idea of his name.

Another guy I see often is what I call 'always walking guy' you usually see him walking along Dalry/ Gorgie way.He's about my age mid 50's,he's going bald on top but is growing it long-which reminds me must get a haircut.Anyway he's out in all weathers never seems to have a jacket and just seems to power walk past everybody,never seen him take a rest and just stand at a bus stop.Now I know other people have noticed him because he's been in the local paper sights and has been interviewed.All he's really said is it's just me I like to walk.
Funnily enough I refer to him as 'the running man' as when I first started to notice him he would always be jogging. They years must be catching up on him as whenever I see him on Slateford Road he is as you say power walking.