Can you work it out

egb_hibs

Read about this in the guardian - all over book face apparently so the more fashionable will already have seen. If you haven't, can you crack it without reference to google?

It's from a maths test for 14/15 year olds in Singapore. I couldn't work it out and even given the answer it too a while for me to understand it!

11074363_983395611695415_1433084490996968987_n.jpg

Read about this in the guardian - all over book face apparently so the more fashionable will already have seen. If you haven't, can you crack it without reference to google?

It's from a maths test for 14/15 year olds in Singapore. I couldn't work it out and even given the answer it too a while for me to understand it!

11074363_983395611695415_1433084490996968987_n.jpg

I am assuming that ALbert and Bernard dont collude with each other and swap info. That would be too easy. Otherwise, I'm stumped.

What was the answer Eeeg.

I am assuming that ALbert and Bernard dont collude with each other and swap info. That would be too easy. Otherwise, I'm stumped.

What was the answer Eeeg.

Wisnae May 19 or June 18.

Too tiring to take it further...........

Right this is more logic than maths but still doing my tits in. Can't be on 18th or 19th or Bernard would have known straight away. So that leaves 8 possibilities. Can't see how kid can say he didn't know at first but does after Albert's statement if he was given date of 14th, 15th, 16th or 17th?? Nippy.

Tis July 16th

You can relax now auld yin

Thanks.

Although I think everyone is missing the point here.

Albert and Bernard obviously have a reason for questioning Cheryl on her age.

No doubt it's to see if she is 'legal'.

So they really want the year of her birth and not the day and month, unless of course they are certain that she is 'on the cusp' of being legal.

As usual, the puzzle could have been made a lot easier by the simple addition of a pic of Cheryl.

Tis July 16th

You can relax now auld yin

I'm normally ok at this kind of stuff but I'm stumped as to how you reach the answer. Can you explain for this poor dummy please boss.

Why can't it be May 16th?

It doesn't make any sense to me Proccie. If there was only one 16th date available it might but until SKII comes back and explains, we're in the same boat [for once ] :wink:.

It's a matter of deduction and probabilities that is fairly long winded. At the risk of the wrath of EGB...here's the official exam board solution :wink:
singapore-logic-question.jpg

That's as clear an explanation as I've seen - just as well if its the official one lol

The bit that initially melted my head is the last bit, which even here is explained in a fashion that had me scratching my head.

I couldn't work out how Albert narrows it down from August 15 or 17 to July 16; I couldn't see which information was exchanged to enable this last step.

But that is to confuse the reader's perspective with Albert's who already knew it was July and only ever needed July 14 eliminated.

who set this question, donald rumsfeld :surp@

how could albert or bernard know what the other one does or doesn't know

and if bernard was only telt a date then how did he know it after albert said he didnae know nothing

then they both say they know what each other knows

are they vulcans?

I knew it wisnae July 14, cos thats my birthday. :detective:

Lies, ya Bastille ye :tuttut:

It was my mammy's birthday and you're no having it :giggle:

Brilliant! Funnily enough thats exactly what my mammy used tae call me, ya wee bastille, she wisnae a swearer haha.

edited to add : Cannae believe you said that , brought back great memories , Cheers!

Brilliant! Funnily enough thats exactly what my mammy used tae call me, ya wee bastille, she wisnae a swearer haha.

edited to add : Cannae believe you said that , brought back great memories , Cheers!

Yer still no getting the birthday mind. :rascal: