Brits - tragic toe curling pesh

egb_hibs

I've been enduring this as Mrs egb and the jnr egbs are watching. But enough is enough. Seeing all those docile slebs stand up on command for that plum kanye west is nauseating. Then he his whole act is yet another contribution to playing up the black Man as gangsta pish, despite all his gobbling off. What a feckin walloper.

As there has been no formal instruction to sit down, somewhere Haruki will be standing obediently in his living room still.

Russell Crowe kept his jaiket on so he could get the fuck out of there as soon as he'd presented the award.

Seemingly Madonna has just fallen off the stage. Saw a picture last week of her at a party where her dress had no seat, ie butt cheeks were on full display. Total fanny.

Already on youtube. Absolute classic. She was meant to unhook her dress but didn't manage it, so when her dancing troupe yanked her dress, they literally yanked her off stage

I don't know anything about Kim's husband's musical abilities but his personality and talent for designing clothes leaves a lot to be desired. I hope the person at Adidas responsible for getting Kanye in as a designer is out of a job.

Madonna thinks...i know, i`ll stand on some stairs wearing a massive cape with an industrial fan giving it the beans, right in front of me......what could possibly go wrong?

:popcorn3:

Guys watching this and other crap like X Factor and BB make me laugh, fuckin grow a pair eh :laff:

Guys watching this and other crap like X Factor and BB make me laugh, $#@!in grow a pair eh :laff:

Well said big guy.... I mean the fitba was oan
Still, at least [MENTION=10494]MikeyPaget1875[/MENTION] enjoyed it

Kanye is alright if you don't take him seriously.

I'm more worried about the takeover of chart music by posh people.

Kanye is alright if you don't take him seriously.

I'm more worried about the takeover of chart music by posh people.
Pop music is for young folks really and I don't give much a toss about any of it: it's taken far too seriously by grown men sometimes. However you're right about the last bit and even more so for what it means in more imortant terms than pop music. its a small symptom of the results of the progressive experiment.

I digress though; Kanye remains and egotistical erch. But the saddest thing that pushed it over the edge for me was the docile servility of all the rest of them standing to attention for his cheap hard man act. I seem to recall he's demanded wheelchair bound people stand for him before

Oh for a Jarvis cocker to puncture this wallop these days.

Pop music is for young folks really and I don't give much a toss about any of it: it's taken far too seriously by grown men sometimes. However you're right about the last bit and even more so for what it means in more imortant terms than pop music. its a small symptom of the results of the progressive experiment.

I digress though; Kanye remains and egotistical erch. But the saddest thing that pushed it over the edge for me was the docile servility of all the rest of them standing to attention for his cheap hard man act. I seem to recall he's demanded wheelchair bound people stand for him before

Oh for a Jarvis $#@!er to puncture this wallop these days.
I remember an NME campaign in the late 90s that predicted this. A change in the benefits system meant that someone couldn't claim to be a musician while claiming the dole, you had to go out and seek work. They said it meant only privileged folk would be able to take years out unpaid to write their first few albums.

It's sadly came true. Compare that Brits last night to the Oasis takeover 20 year ago. Music is out there but it's kids spreading their work over YouTube and small gigs. Britpop will be the last era for working class guitar bands to claim the mainstream unless someone comes along to shake music to the core.

I remember an NME campaign in the late 90s that predicted this. A change in the benefits system meant that someone couldn't claim to be a musician while claiming the dole, you had to go out and seek work. They said it meant only privileged folk would be able to take years out unpaid to write their first few albums.

It's sadly came true. Compare that Brits last night to the Oasis takeover 20 year ago. Music is out there but it's kids spreading their work over YouTube and small gigs. Britpop will be the last era for working class guitar bands to claim the mainstream unless someone comes along to shake music to the core.

To be fair though, who would be daft enough to tell the doll they were a musician if they weren't making a living from it?

That said, I don't deny their is a posho-pop-problem at the moment.

Kanye West is a wanker who takes himself far too seriously. Overrated musically as well, a Netto J Dilla.

All modern mainstream music is awful these days, At least back in the 90s we had good music blowing up, in all genres, now its just dull instantly disposable nonsense banged out asap to make a quick buck.

Kanye West is a wanker who takes himself far too seriously. Overrated musically as well, a Netto J Dilla.

All modern mainstream music is awful these days, At least back in the 90s we had good music blowing up, in all genres, now its just dull instantly disposable nonsense banged out asap to make a quick buck.

Same in the 60's and 70's mate.....

Boom Bang a Bang - Lulu

Dynamite - Mud

Bang Bang - Cher

Boom Boom - John Lee Hooker

It was already over by then, oasis were the exception amongst their contemporaries, just as Kasabian are now. Late 80s, 90 / 91 was the end of working class bands being other than the exception in guitar music.

I'm not persuaded by the theory you mention - not sure many good bands come from the approach they describe.

I actually recall them being active in trying to squash oiks who didn't tug their forelocks and pay homage to their student grant world view (after initial patronising - one incredibly cringeworthy piece on north side sticks with me after all these years)

Happy Monday's meanwhile were a case in point in terms of their thought police hatchet jobs. No wonder half of them ended up at the guardian. An underlying thing at the time was the horror as tons of 'scallys' started spoiling their festivals for them - which to be fair was a fair complaint in part.

In short, NME are part of the Middle class takeover you describe.

It was already over by then, oasis were the exception amongst their contemporaries, just as Kasabian are now. Late 80s, 90 / 91 was the end of working class bands being other than the exception in guitar music.

I'm not persuaded by the theory you mention - not sure many good bands come from the approach they describe.

I actually recall them being active in trying to squash oiks who didn't tug their forelocks and pay homage to their student grant world view (after initial patronising - one incredibly cringeworthy piece on north side sticks with me after all these years)

Happy Monday's meanwhile were a case in point in terms of their thought police hatchet jobs. No wonder half of them ended up at the guardian. An underlying thing at the time was the horror as tons of 'scallys' started spoiling their festivals for them - which to be fair was a fair complaint in part.

In short, NME are part of the Middle class takeover you describe.
Nah not giving you that. Oasis grabbed the tabloid headlines but there were plenty of working class bands in the mid 90s from all over the UK. Cast, Ocean Colour Scene, Stereophonics, Ash, The Verve, Super Furry Animals, Supergrass, Manic Street Preachers, The Charlatans, The Seahorses, Embrace, Reef - they all had top 10 hits. Today even a mega sized posh guitar band like coldplay struggle to get some singles in the charts at all.

most of those bands originate in the era I mentioned and 100% of the decent ones. Of the remainder supergrass are hardly from the proletariatian vanguard

Edit - nor are super furry animals, while I am suspicious over reef but don't know

Kanye West is a $#@! who takes himself far too seriously. Overrated musically as well, a Netto J Dilla.

Well played sir.

(with apols to aggie, I just saw...)

most of those bands originate in the era I mentioned and 100% of the decent ones. Of the remainder supergrass are hardly from the proletariatian vanguard

Edit - nor are super furry animals, while I am suspicious over reef but don't know
Zero of those bands reached their creative peak before the mid 90s (except the Charlatans single 'The Only One I Know, that's a topper.) You must have googled the Furry Animals cos doubt their dads even know what class they're in. Will give you it anyway and swap those for pulp, shed 7 and space. This is only bands that had big top ten singles mind. Lower down the charts you had Hurricane #1 , Northern Uproar, Mansun, Shack, Supernaturals, Kenickie, loads of bands that filled the first few T in the Parks and Melody Maker pages. Just because you weren't there didn't mean it didn't happen. I missed the boat on The Libertines, doesn't mean I can't appreciate the wee kickstart they gave guitar bands in the 2000s.

Class had a major part to play. Compare the toilet Britain was when the Tories won in 1992 compared to 2010. The Manchester the Gallagher's grew up in would be like a different planet for a kid kicking about Deansgate now. Those lads picked up their guitar to get the fuck out of there and the condition gave them plenty to write about. No wonder they all harked backed to the 60s stylistically, it must have seemed like a bygone utopia of colour and fun compared to the run down industrial dump they were in. They had no hope or no future. Nowadays even the poorest kids have access to every single piece of recorded music ever written, every film, can order food without leaving the house by pressing their phone 6 times, can contact 1000s of their 'friends' in a click, have gadgets that were the stuff of sci fi films in the 90s, consoles with insane graphics that let you play and talk to people all over the world. Where's the hunger to commit to buying expensive instruments, amps, hiring a room every week and practicing for hours 5 nights a week?

Where your lads from 1990 are to thank is the aspirational quality they had. Liam must have looked at Ian Brown and said 'he's like me, I can do that'. Now kids aim to be plums like Joey Essex and these Geordie Shore twats that wax their eyebrows, get pissed and display absolutely no skills or talent. Working Class kids don't want to be rock stars any more they just want to be 'famous'.

I don't know where next batch will come from. You can't look West. Noel famously wrote 'I wanna Live Forever' after hearing Nirvana sing 'I hate myself and want to die.' Which American bands are speaking to kids here, either as inspiration or to rebel against? There's nothing.

Hip Hop and dance is the world's global sound now and will be for years unless someone can rise up with attitude, charisma and songs to grab pop music by the bollocks again.

I did look up the super furrys to confirm but the cut of their jib made me suspicious - as for super grass ffs just look at them - archetypal student grants of that day, surprised you made that mistake. Of the new list of bargain bin material you cite as evidence, again the better ones go back to the era I mention, while i am sceptical of some of the others but can't be arsed checking, the mid 90s was exactly when welts like blur were in the vanguard of the sons of the aga who now dominate. As for gurning, self pitying tosh like nirvana and its UK equivalents, that was an earlier wave in the process. (Good for Noel, I didn't know that or if I idid I'd forgotten)

When people reached their peak is subjective and less vital to your own point than when they emerged, because it is the cultural changes and conditions that produced them and stopped producing them in which we are interested, no?

I'm not buying your theory as being pivotal. I am certain you are tight on some component parts, but I think the collapse of family and community under pc assault, the hounding of any one who didn't tow the line -not just pop stars after all, the working class have been hounded from the media and entertainment much more widely unless they're safe stuff for the Mums like ant and dec - the funnelling of so many into uni where they get pummelled with the same old muesli middle class world view and turned into James blunts... I think these are more important elements.

you end up with an atomised, deracinated, conformist, consumerist mush which does not produce new fashions either - although I have to say these beardies are certainly new but then that's imported from the U.S. ( which is always an utter tragedy when british people do that, with our own rich history). And the adult world is little better, conformist pc identikit thinking thought-policed by censors a thousand times more ruthless and effective than your Mary whitehouses. Pc kills everything and certainly creativity.

All that is left to do is consume reissues and computer produced formulas forever.

Just to back up your last point. I read an interesting interview with the director of that film Boyhood where they shot the same cast over 10 years. He said he was delighted with how it turned out but was a bit gutted how little had changed between 2004-14 in terms of fashion and culture, the cast wore the same costumes the entire recording. He said that was unthinkable for a guy who grew up between 1954-64. Same could also be said for 64-74, 84-94. Since the millennium little or nothing, (male especially ) teenagers look exactly the same now as they did in 2000.

And ''Lads" nowadays are wearing exactly what folk wore in 1980. No more imagination, no one upmanship. Even the UK, and i used this term very loosely, Ultras copy what everyone else does. The internet has made everyone lazy.

to put that in perspective, its equivalent to those people in 1980 dressing like people from 1945. if they'd been similarly backward looking everybody would have been at the football in demob suits.

Well I think you sound like a lot of old farts. "It were better in my day, we had proper clobber, and none of this boom boom boom music, there was proper tunes made by white people with guitars." ;)

I totally get the same feeling re clothes/fashions but I have a terrible feeling we might just not be as alive to the nuances of youth culture as we were when younger.

Well I think you sound like a lot of old farts. "It were better in my day, we had proper clobber, and none of this boom boom boom music, there was proper tunes made by white people with guitars." ;)

I totally get the same feeling re clothes/fashions but I have a terrible feeling we might just not be as alive to the nuances of youth culture as we were when younger.
There is a thriving youth culture. They just live it out in cyberspace.

Not saying guitar pop music was better in my day (even tho it was) but you can't deny for a second there was more of it.

There is a thriving youth culture. They just live it out in cyberspace.

Not saying guitar pop music was better in my day (even tho it was) but you can't deny for a second there was more of it.

Yeah I agree. I think music's become more cerebral (which is not IMO a good thing). Partly that's the posh thing you mention above, and partly it's down to there being less money in it. Michael Wolfe wrote this brilliant thing about 10 years ago about how the music biz would start to look like the book trade - cleverer, less visceral, less exciting - purely because it would resemble it financially. I reckon he was spot on.

We need more musical airport novels!

Back to your point on us being old farts - certainly correct, and as I said somewhere above, pop is a young persons thing and it's a bit unbecoming for old duffers to get too worked up about it.

However, i think it would be demonstrably true - if anyone could be bothered to demonstrate it - that youth fashion has substantially died a death, certainly in respect of 'youth movements'. Whether its good or bad I think its clearly the case. To be fair to these young blades strutting about with their beards and tweeds, they do represent something new. Something a bit shit, but still new - albeit taken from the mercs which is embarrassing. But thats about the first thing truly new I can think of since the 80s. Everything else just variations on previous themes, and minor variations at that.

Back to music - there is also the grim underlying possibility that within the simple format of the guitar driven pop song, that everything had been done that can be done. But I'm sticking with my class analysis; the ascent of the bourgeois left has driven the working class back downstairs (in the upstairs downstairs sense) - pop music is just one relatively trivial manifestation.

I've been enduring this as Mrs egb and the jnr egbs are watching. But enough is enough. Seeing all those docile slebs stand up on command for that plum kanye west is nauseating. Then he his whole act is yet another contribution to playing up the black Man as gangsta pish, despite all his gobbling off. What a feckin walloper.

As there has been no formal instruction to sit down, somewhere Haruki will be standing obediently in his living room still.

Like a paranoid, hate fuelled hun I trawl the internet in search of any mention of my name or the one I worship, the one God above all Gods, Kanye! (peace be his name). The sword of Kanye shall fall upon thee infidel Eegie!The streets of Leith, where all Hibs supporters are probably from, shall run with the blood of the one they call Eegie! The prophet Haruki has spoken! Thou shall not insult the one they call Kanye! (Peace be his name).

Thus it was written in the book of Kanye lyrics then thus it shall be! I quoteth;

"I sent this girl a picture of my d'ck, don't know what it is about females, but and I'm not too good at that sh't"

and

"Something on some of this realest sh't. Something, something.Yeah, that's my b'tch."

And other such misogynistic p'sh.

The time for Kanyehad is approaching! The time is here! Arise oh mighty brothers of the Kanye faith! The hateful non-believers of the West, eh, East of Scotland have mocked us for too long! I pronounce a fatwa on the one they call Eegie! Death to the haters! Death to the Eegie! They worship their false idols like Jason Cummings or whoever plays for Hibs these days! Kanyehad! Kanyehad! The blood will flow from the infidels! Fish sticks shall no longer be mocked I tell thee! The Karishidan one with the ridiculous arse shall be worshiped! Death to the Eegie!

Caveat : I still think My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a great piece of music. I wouldn't put it above (or anywhere near) Beet's 9th for example, Kanye's a fkn imbecile, and I'm not exactly known for my supercool tastes in modern music but it's quite highly thought of by people who take such things a lot more seriously than I ever could. And I didn't watch The Brits, being way too old to give a f#ck what musicians/celebrities say or do.