British multi-billionaires guilty of basic slavery

Hattie

Well done the swiss courts, a truly disgusting show of abuse by these scumbags.
Just why are some people so despicable and take massive advantage of people?
Truly is a horrible world sometimes
But top marks to the judge

My kids used to do summer jobs for catering firms. Some of the tales they came back with from kids hired to cater to weddings etc from some of these super rich Indian families boggle the mind. I mean it’s staggeringly obscene - hundreds of millions spunked on single events. Even in its desiccated state, it wouldn’t be tenable in our culture, never mind if we had absolute poverty next door as they do.

One of these families has an entire luxury tower block as its home in one of the Indian cities (among loads dotted around the world natch), with floors that produce artificial snow and all kinds of bollocks like that. Shanty towns on the next block; no fucks given.

Values are not universal no matter what those befuddled by our cant of the day would like to believe.

One of these families has an entire luxury tower block as its home in one of the Indian cities (among loads dotted around the world natch), with floors that produce artificial snow and all kinds of bollocks like that. Shanty towns on the next block; no fucks given.

Values are not universal no matter what those befuddled by our cant of the day would like to believe.
You’re right about it being obscene.
It puzzles me, why would anybody live their life like that, enslaving people for their own gain is bad enough, but when you could actually help so many people with untold happiness who work for them when they have enough money to probably enrich the lives untold for anyone that works for them while they still make millions every single day, is truly bewildering and obscene
£40 billion and they still abuse and enslave their personal staff in their own household?
That really is the very pits of society.
I’m sure we all on here, would gladly, in that situation of having a good wealth never mind billions, would look after the very people who look after you!
But paying these people 10% of the basic wage they should be getting literally beggars belief
It’s a sad world indeed

You’re right about it being obscene.
It puzzles me, why would anybody live their life like that, enslaving people for their own gain is bad enough, but when you could actually help so many people with untold happiness who work for them when they have enough money to probably enrich the lives untold for anyone that works for them while they still make millions every single day, is truly bewildering and obscene
£40 billion and they still abuse and enslave their personal staff in their own household?
That really is the very pits of society.
I’m sure we all on here, would gladly, in that situation of having a good wealth never mind billions, would look after the very people who look after you!
But paying these people 10% of the basic wage they should be getting literally beggars belief
It’s a sad world indeed
I’ll not labour the point because it just winds people up, but the bottom line is that values are not universal. In many cultures, and in line with evolution tbh, wealth is seen as good thing, and demonstrates how great the wealth holder is. In India specifically you then have the caste system on top of that which makes the class system look like a tea party.

That said, there is a flipside. I got to carry the bags at a meeting with the top brass at one of the big Indian IT companies (itself part of massive group that does heavy industry as well). It will stay with me till the day I die. These people were so obviously miles better equipped for the c21 than our British mob. Engaged not only in - naturally - their business interests, but in nation building. Prepared to take on things that don’t pay back for decades, against a bunch of dupes who think quarter to quarter. Put those things together and the latter give it all to the former, one quarter at a time.

India is the future imho, perhaps even more than a China nobbled by their single child policy. But in that future, good luck to the Dalits and so on.

I’ll not labour the point because it just winds people up, but the bottom line is that values are not universal. In many cultures, and in line with evolution tbh, wealth is seen as good thing, and demonstrates how great the wealth holder is. In India specifically you then have the caste system on top of that which makes the class system look like a tea party.

That said, there is a flipside. I got to carry the bags at a meeting with the top brass at one of the big Indian IT companies (itself part of massive group that does heavy industry as well). It will stay with me till the day I die. These people were so obviously miles better equipped for the c21 than our British mob. Engaged not only in - naturally - their business interests, but in nation building. Prepared to take on things that don’t pay back for decades, against a bunch of dupes who think quarter to quarter. Put those things together and the latter give it all to the former, one quarter at a time.

India is the future imho, perhaps even more than a China nobbled by their single child policy. But in that future, good luck to the Dalits and so on.
I wonder if that’s because pre churchill theft which decimated their country, they are not starting to see the fruits of their labour coming to fruition for their country.
But certainly not going into that’s debate about Churchill and India, it’s just a thought

I wonder if that’s because pre churchill theft which decimated their country, they are not starting to see the fruits of their labour coming to fruition for their country.
But certainly not going into that’s debate about Churchill and India, it’s just a thought
Again it will wind up some, but I don’t think so. They would be nowhere near where they are - economically, technologically etc - without British colonialism. The west exported modernity to the world alongside a lot of bad shit. Without it they’d still be ruled by Islamic colonialism and pretty much pickled in a medieval state. Remember we didn’t displace indigenous rule but other colonialists whose conquest of India is estimated by some to be the bloodiest episode in human history.

A key difference - maybe the key difference - is they are proud of their country and civilisation and want it to prosper, and they are (quite literally) young and full of vigour. We hate ourselves (it sometimes seems) and are certainly old and decrepit. I fucking loved India when I was there. It was just teeming with ‘life force’ for want of a better way of putting it. Yeah a lot of it’s still a shit hole, but they are very definitely on the up. We’ve had the up and are, I fear, fat, old and lazy.

They educate properly instead of producing blue haired dribblers, they think long term instead of quick win pocket filling for suits, they aren’t constrained by our concerns for the less able. They have a fundamental problem with innovation, which is still an asset western culture has on its side except we give it all away to line those pockets. But they are so much more ‘fit’ in a Darwinian sense then we are. And there’s over a billion of them, mostly young and fertile.

A key difference - maybe the key difference - is they are proud of their country and civilisation and want it to prosper, and they are (quite literally) young and full of vigour. We hate ourselves (it sometimes seems) and are certainly old and decrepit.

a lot of truth to the parts in bold which I see here in the USA. Seems a lot of university kids leave college with tens of thousands of dollars of debt to pay for a worthless degree and the notion that the USA is more than the third reich

Anyway, storm clouds are gathering all over the globe. It will be interesting to see what happens here November 2024.

Basic greed and abuse of power. Very, very human and happens at all levels of society. These guys just have a disproportionate amount of money and power. There plenty out there who enjoy being awful to other people and historically those are the ones who get into these positions of power.

On the point about the disparities in India of wealth, easy to ignore the shanty towns if you don't actually consider those living in them as being fully human. See also the caste system.

I am really rather surprised any jurisdiction had the actual bravery to prosecute people that rich.

And I see that education is getting a bashing again and young people are the problem in the West. Was the same 20 years ago.

Basic greed and abuse of power. Very, very human and happens at all levels of society. These guys just have a disproportionate amount of money and power. There plenty out there who enjoy being awful to other people and historically those are the ones who get into these positions of power.

On the point about the disparities in India of wealth, easy to ignore the shanty towns if you don't actually consider those living in them as being fully human. See also the caste system.

I am really rather surprised any jurisdiction had the actual bravery to prosecute people that rich.

And I see that education is getting a bashing again and young people are the problem in the West. Was the same 20 years ago.

The side effects of an ever increasing population without the development to go along with it, development for the majority not just the elite. Modi pushing nationalism and religion to try and stay in power is not a great look. Plenty of very highly educated young people apparently largely responsible for cutting his majority down to size though. But they must "hate" their country though!

It's a very relevent thought Stu.

The partition. Only read a little about it but a friend of mine had family caught up in it and they had to leave rapidly. A rather vicious civil war that ended up on religious lines and yes still seeing the after effects in Kashmir and the rise in Hindu religious nationalism being pushed by Modi as an election tactic. There are a lot of Muslims in India and hate crimes are common. Nasty mix of religion and tying the idea of being Indian to being Hindu which is obviously worrying to many as it is then a hop, skip and a jump to real trouble.

Humans eh? Tedious and repeating the same BS over and over and over again......

iI think there's a particularly British/western European thing about not flaunting wealth too much. In the US Open Tennis a big deal is made a out presenting the winners with a cheque and how much it they have won. You won't get that at Wimbledon. At the Superbowl the owner is presented with the trophy. Can you imagine that at the Scottish Cup?

I highlighted this sort of thing here on the Bounce years ago. But it was happening here in the UK, it's never not been happening. All sorts of nationalities are at it and next to nothing is done about it.

How and why do some people treat fellow human beings in such a disgusting manner?

They don't see their victims as human beings or the lowest of the low and not worthy of human status.

The side effects of an ever increasing population without the development to go along with it, development for the majority not just the elite. Modi pushing nationalism and religion to try and stay in power is not a great look. Plenty of very highly educated young people apparently largely responsible for cutting his majority down to size though. But they must "hate" their country though!
When I was in India I was baffled by why we seemed to be on dirt tracks one minute then gleaming roads the next, in a piecemeal fashion. The taxi driver then explained the dirt roads were on public land and the good ones on patches of land owned by corporations who had built them.

They have disparities that are hard to conceive of compared to over here. But they are coming up fast. One night I was stood on a balcony having a fag and I noticed all these wee sparks in the (pitch) dark sky. Was beginning to think the heat and bevvy was getting to me till I realised it was welders working on a high rise that was sprouting. They must have been up there working through the night in near total darkness. Mental, but it also struck me in terms of the pace. The place was almost growing before my eyes.

This was before the Modi era.

Unsurprised to learn it was Britain’s fault again.

In reality the Muslim population of northern parts of the subcontinent was as a result of colonialism and a series of caliphates, which the Raj displaced. I suspect some ‘reordering’ was inevitable when the Brit empire withdrew, it’s not like they replaced a prior Indian system. Strikes me as a bit like communist imperialism in the Balkans. Once it withdraws the locals carve things up and old enmities are straight back to the fore.

Its always Britain's fault, never mind it was muslim moghuls that invaded and ruled cruelly before we even got there , all the inter tribal and the religious shite that went on before we added our twopence worth

There's a war on knowledge these days. I mean it's always been the stock in trade of the far left, but it's spreading a lot wider. Lots of folk seem not only ignorant of, but actively disinterested in understanding history versus consuming ideological narratives.

I don't know, Trump and Farage doing a pretty good job of it.

Unsurprised to learn it was Britain’s fault again.
Am I wrong Martin but is this an affirmation of British Imperialisms role in sectarian partition or a .....here we go again knocking Britain? It's sometimes difficult to tell.
Since you've championed the progressive role of British Imperialism in the past, I guess that it may be the latter. I may be wrong.
Words are important,

That's as logical as saying the slavery and deaths carried out by Astecs and Incas, which they did negates Spain and Portugals Colonial and Imperialist bloody endeavours Tony.
I would expect there are folk in Madrid and Lisbon saying 'It's always Spain/Portugals fault'.
They same nonsense will be said about Imperialist actions by the USA, Netherlands, Belgium and also China and Russia.

I don't know, Trump and Farage doing a pretty good job of it.
Agreed on Trump. Not sure on Farage though I'm sure he's capable of it.

They don't run education, the arts or media though. The widespread ignorance of history that has been inculcated isn't really from them.

Kind of related but I have had a few experiences at work of what I assume is an Indian cultural thing where how they treat you depends on a pecking order/hierarchy.

We had a bunch of Indians from our Dubai office over for client acceptance testing. I was helping them set up for it then was taken aback when their project manager started barking orders at me like I was a piece of shit. The next day he was all nicey nicey towards me after he had discovered I was a senior engineer.

I guess we can all be guilty of this behaviour to an extent but this was extreme. Whatever happened to treating all people equally and “as you find them”?

Am I wrong Martin but is this an affirmation of British Imperialisms role in sectarian partition or a .....here we go again knocking Britain? It's sometimes difficult to tell.
Since you've championed the progressive role of British Imperialism in the past, I guess that it may be the latter. I may be wrong.
Words are important,
I'm saying that prior to Britain rocking up, India was ruled by Muslim colonialists. That colonialism had also spread Islam among Northern Indian populations. There never was a prior harmonious Indian settlement; it was always likely that this would blow up when the force of empire withdrew.

We absolutely do need to stop patronising brown people. They are every bit as capable of fucking things up for their own reasons as white people are. They simply are not puppets jumping brainlessly only in response to things whitey does. It's 2024 ffs put this stuff in the bin.
That's as logical as saying the slavery and deaths carried out by Astecs and Incas, which they did negates Spain and Portugals Colonial and Imperialist bloody endeavours.
I would expect there are folk in Madrid and Lisbon saying 'It's always Spain/Portugals fault'.
They same nonsense will be said in Imperialist USA, Netherlands, Belgium and also China and Russia.
Yes, it's exactly as logical. Too many people are encouraged to believe western colonialism is some unique evil when it was often just displacing other barbaric colonialism or empire.

And yes there will be such people in Spain or Portugal because as you well know, sewing this misleading impression is about trying to undermine the west today, in the hope it will eventually fall and the revolutionary utopia achieved.

Kind of related but I have had a few experiences at work of what I assume is an Indian cultural thing where how they treat you depends on a pecking order/hierarchy.

We had a bunch of Indians from our Dubai office over for client acceptance testing. I was helping them set up for it then was taken aback when their project manager started barking orders at me like I was a piece of shit. The next day he was all nicey nicey towards me after he had discovered I was a senior engineer.

I guess we can all be guilty of this behaviour to an extent but this was extreme. Whatever happened to treating all people equally and “as you find them”?
I found French engineers/supervisors in the oil industry a bunch of arrogant twats in the main. Dismissive of any input from others.
Don't get me even started on the Yanks!

Yup. It's brutal watching the caste system at work in meetings. Higher caste folk will just cut lower caste folk dead. Capitalism is eroding the system slowly but old habits die hard.

I used to have steam coming out my ears in such meetings and it was all I could do not to tell the high caste boys to go fuck themselves.

Your last bit; that's a Christian / western thing.

I'm saying that prior to Britain rocking up, India was ruled by Muslim colonialists. That colonialism had also spread Islam among Northern Indian populations. There never was a prior harmonious Indian settlement; it was always likely that this would blow up when the force of empire withdrew.

We absolutely do need to stop patronising brown people. They are every bit as capable of fucking things up for their own reasons as white people are. They simply are not puppets jumping brainlessly only in response to things whitey does. It's 2024 ffs put this stuff in the bin.

Yes, it's exactly as logical. Too many people are encouraged to believe western colonialism is some unique evil when it was often just displacing other barbaric colonialism or empire.

And yes there will be such people in Spain or Portugal because as you well know, sewing this misleading impression is about trying to undermine the west today, in the hope it will eventually fall and the revolutionary utopia achieved.
Put this stuff in the bin is utterly disendegious mate. If society and I don't include workers caught up in Imperialist endevours to earn a crust, cannot be learned, makes a nonsense of trying to adjust and avoid some utterly horrendous 'mistakes'.
Some of the mouthpieces of the ruling class, in MSM internationally and yes undoubtably some so called Academics particularly the post modernist drivellers will say otherwise.
Closer to your generation, I read that excellent article again and I clicked on one of the red links.
I remember reading it at the time a few years back that clearly outlined to me anyway the role of British Imperialism in Ireland.
The role of Revolutionary Socialist James Connolly, Larkin, is counterposed with Sinn Fein and the Catholic Church.
Dinnae get upset about the Church's reactionary role.
Decades later the same Church has had more heinous crimes to contend with on every continent of the World.

Put this stuff in the bin is utterly disendegious mate. If society and I don't include workers caught up in Imperialist endevours to earn a crust, cannot be learned, makes a nonsense of trying to adjust and avoid some utterly horrendous 'mistakes'.
What am I arguing be consigned to the bin is treating black and brown people as stooges whose every mistake is the fault of whitey. Grant them agency of their own already.

and spare me from the implication that mouthpieces for the most destructive ideology in history, albeit a dissenting wing, are really interested in the plight of these people over trying to bring down a system they despise. There is no example of actually existing communism that was better than the British empire at its worst.
Some of the mouthpieces of the ruling class, in MSM internationally and yes undoubtably some so called Academics particularly the post modernist drivellers will say otherwise.
Closer to your generation, I read that excellent article again and I clicked on one of the red links.
I remember reading it at the time a few years back that clearly outlined to me anyway the role of British Imperialism in Ireland.
The role of Revolutionary Socialist James Connolly, Larkin, is counterposed with Sinn Fein and the Catholic Church.
Dinnae get upset about the Church's reactionary role.
Decades later the same Church has had more heinous crimes to condend with on every continent of the World.

Good Hibs man Connolly etc. But I think its safe to conclude that for all the faults of De Valera et al, it is for the best that it was not Connolly's vision that prevailed. He didn't have the benefit of seeing how it played out in practice and I'm not sure he'd be keen on that at all. We don't have that excuse.

What am I arguing be consigned to the bin is treating black and brown people as stooges whose every mistake is the fault of whitey. Grant them agency of their own already.

and spare me from the implication that mouthpieces for the most destructive ideology in history, albeit a dissenting wing, are really interested in the plight of these people over trying to bring down a system they despise. There is no example of actually existing communism that was better than the British empire at its worst.

Good Hibs man Connolly etc. But I think its safe to conclude that for all the faults of De Valera et al, it is for the best that it was not Connolly's vision that prevailed. He didn't have the benefit of seeing how it played out in practice and I'm not sure he'd be keen on that at all. We don't have that excuse.
De Valera, you have no understanding of Connolly and his position or what he stood for whatsoever.
What's your position about the Catholic Church's reactionary involvement?

Words are important,

That's as logical as saying the slavery and deaths carried out by Astecs and Incas, which they did negates Spain and Portugals Colonial and Imperialist bloody endeavours Tony.
They same nonsense will be said about Imperialist actions by the USA, Netherlands, Belgium and also China and Russia.

Nobody's denying we done some not very nice shit Gordon, but the way some folk talk its like we invented not very nice shit.
We send millions in aid tae India while they're firing rockets intae space, they've got mair millionaires than any other fucker but its our fault.
Nah fuck it, they've had lots of years tae fuck up their ain country.

De Valera, you have no understanding of Connolly and his position or what he stood for whatsoever.
Aye OK. I know what happened every single time socialism was put into practice back then and beyond.
What's your position about the Catholic Church's reactionary involvement?

What do you mean by reactionary involvement? We are back into the vocabulary of an ideology, I need a bit of translation .

Nobody's denying we done some not very nice shit Gordon, but the way some folk talk its like we invented not very nice shit.
We send millions in aid tae India while they're firing rockets intae space, they've got mair millionaires than any other fucker but its our fault.
Nah fuck it, they've had lots of years tae fuck up their ain country.
Your spot on in some ways ma pal. There is no such thing as foreign aid pal. Over decades so called foreign aid has been a prerequisite for International companies supplying goods that the receiving counties inevitably pay for. The IMF so called ' loans' always come with the caviat that recipients will have to introduce austerity measures to punters that had fuck all to do with their recipient countries.

Aye OK. I know what happened every single time socialism was put into practice back then and beyond.

What do you mean by reactionary involvement? We are back into the vocabulary of an ideology, I need a bit of translation .
Read the article again. The
Catholic Church were a fucking disgrace.

Well done the swiss courts, a truly disgusting show of abuse by these scumbags.
Just why are some people so despicable and take massive advantage of people?
Truly is a horrible world sometimes
But top marks to the judge
In places like India...Slavery is alive and well.

So they just think it's ok to bring their customs here.

Read the article again. The
Catholic Church were a fucking disgrace.

I tried reading it and it's full of jibberish about revolutions and counter revolution as if they're talking about Russia rather than Ireland.

The Catholic Church in Ireland was certainly divided over these matters and the Church in Rome less sympathetic still.

Many reasons for that;

- antipathy to the radicalist revolutionary strain, which I think history has vindicated to all but communists given the 200 years of carnage and oppression sparked in 1789

- non conformance with just war principles as it didn't look winnable. Wrong on that score.

- involvement of secret societies, an absolute no no for Catholicism for reasons more continental in origin, ranging from freemasons (very different to the small businessman / hun clubs of here, as you know) to various mafias

- a desire to convert Britain - optimistic

- an opposition to bloodshed

However there were plenty sympathisers and participants as well. As you've noted yourself recently folk don't fit into boxes neatly tarrable with one brush. And of course among the lay population the rebels were at least as much Catholic nationalists- more representative of the people - as revolutionaries. Pearse on one hand, Connolly on the other, to personify it.

Communist pamphleteers would be better sticking to preaching on Marxist scripture if they are unable to look at the world without trying to bend and squash every event into their schemes.

I found French engineers/supervisors in the oil industry a bunch of arrogant twats in the main. Dismissive of any input from others.
Don't get me even started on the Yanks!
Same in construction. I was in Kuwait in the 80s and there were 4 french plasterers spraying plaster on ceilings. They used a 4 foot hardwood straight edge to roughly level between coats. Along with 2 colleagues I witnessed an arab (cheap Egyptian labour) walk by and accidently knocked over a tub which had a small amount of plaster left in it. The nearest French guy to him grabbed him by the throat, threw him acoss the floor and when another Egyptian fried to intervene another French guy smashed his straight edge across his head which split open, pouring blood. All of the other arab workers (who look on Egyptians as a lower caste) all pretended to see nowt. I went over and tried to stop the bleeding and the French guy who had hit him started shouting and pushing me off so I decked him and as his pals decided to get into the act my 2 colleagues rushed over and the French guys suddenly decided to revert to their national past time and performed a hasty retreat. A Danish guy rang for an ambulance from the site office (no mobiles back then) and the paramedics reported the incident to the Police. An American floorlayer came across and told us we should not have got involved. He said there was a pecking order and we had to stop the 'ayrabs' from getting too uppity - he actually said 'uppity'. One of my colleagues told him to fuck off back to Alabama. The polis arrived (Syrians - the Kuwaitis don't soil their hands with work) and arrested the Egyptians. We told one of the polis what had happened (I somehow forgot to mention the decking part) and they released the Egyptians and took the French thug away.

The next day the French thug was back on site with the smuggest face you could imagine. He had been let of with a warning while the Egyptian needed 14 stitches in his head wound. Friends of mine who worked there about 4 years ago said things were pretty much still the same.

Same in construction. I was in Kuwait in the 80s and there were 4 french plasterers spraying plaster on ceilings. They used a 4 foot hardwood straight edge to roughly level between coats. Along with 2 colleagues I witnessed an arab (cheap Egyptian labour) walk by and accidently knocked over a tub which had a small amount of plaster left in it. The nearest French guy to him grabbed him by the throat, threw him acoss the floor and when another Egyptian fried to intervene another French guy smashed his straight edge across his head which split open, pouring blood. All of the other arab workers (who look on Egyptians as a lower caste) all pretended to see nowt. I went over and tried to stop the bleeding and the French guy who had hit him started shouting and pushing me off so I decked him and as his pals decided to get into the act my 2 colleagues rushed over and the French guys suddenly decided to revert to their national past time and performed a hasty retreat. A Danish guy rang for an ambulance from the site office (no mobiles back then) and the paramedics reported the incident to the Police. An American floorlayer came across and told us we should not have got involved. He said there was a pecking order and we had to stop the 'ayrabs' from getting too uppity - he actually said 'uppity'. One of my colleagues told him to fuck off back to Alabama. The polis arrived (Syrians - the Kuwaitis don't soil their hands with work) and arrested the Egyptians. We told one of the polis what had happened (I somehow forgot to mention the decking part) and they released the Egyptians and took the French thug away.

The next day the French thug was back on site with the smuggest face you could imagine. He had been let of with a warning while the Egyptian needed 14 stitches in his head wound. Friends of mine who worked there about 4 years ago said things were pretty much still the same,
The brotherhood of man in all it's glory!

Props for standing up to Jean Claude.

Pretty much everyone is more racist than the brits, much as we are told the opposite.

The brotherhood of man in all it's glory!

Props for standing up to Jean Claude.

Pretty much everyone is more racist than the brits, much as we are told the opposite.
We spoke to the French quartet a few times before they finished and left site and a nastier bunch you could't find. They told us that the French consider themselves superior in every way to every other nationality and that history proved this beyond doubt. I'm not sure I believed him. :grinning-smiley-045: