Brewdog

Of course my learned friend is that much older than me so my memory only goes back to getting 3 pints of Tartan Special and 20 Embassy Regal for £1. Heady days indeed - the bands we were both in would be earning between £20 and £30 for a pub gig and maybe £50 for a late dance in a village hall etc - life was good.
Being a nonsmoker i had more alcohol to bear for my quid.

Interesting to note that means your digs were the cost of 35 pints. Which at 6 quid these days would be £210
Tis interesting indeed. The salary > house price ratio is another. Screwed every which way

Boo hoo. Sure he'll be fine though. Loathsome prick.

That "Equity for Punks" thing always seemed like such a scam! A few of my mates got involved.

See the pub on the Cowgate has shut as a result of the liquidation. Yin on Lothian Rd and the ones at the airport and Waverley still going.

That "Equity for Punks" thing always seemed like such a scam! A few of my mates got involved.

See the pub on the Cowgate has shut as a result of the liquidation. Yin on Lothian Rd and the ones at the airport and Waverley still going.
Like this gadgie

Boo hoo. Sure he'll be fine though. Loathsome prick.

The guy is a top-tier twat. Over-reached and over-spent with everyone else's money, fucked it and walked away with tens of millions of pounds.

So grateful for these cvnts and their unchecked ability to do this. He'll be back and do it again is my bet.

For my sins I had a singular EFP share from way back (it was a Christmas present!) and mostly considered it as a discount scheme. Reduced the price of a pint in their bars from eye-wateringly expensive to merely very expensive (20% discount at one point!) and the free delivery and access to some of their more experimental beers came in handy on a few Christmases.
The first sign of them going downhill was when they started messing around with the recipe for Punk IPA (reducing it from 5.6% to 5.4%). James Watt turning out to be a grade-A twat didn't help matters and finally the way they treated their staff with the recent closure of their bars was truly awful.
They did make some decent beers before the enshittification, ironically the Aldi 'anti-establishment IPA' is closer to the original Punk IPA than the dishwasher they've been peddling to supermarkets for the last decade!

For my sins I had a singular EFP share from way back (it was a Christmas present!) and mostly considered it as a discount scheme. Reduced the price of a pint in their bars from eye-wateringly expensive to merely very expensive (20% discount at one point!) and the free delivery and access to some of their more experimental beers came in handy on a few Christmases.
The first sign of them going downhill was when they started messing around with the recipe for Punk IPA (reducing it from 5.6% to 5.4%). James Watt turning out to be a grade-A twat didn't help matters and finally the way they treated their staff with the recent closure of their bars was truly awful.
They did make some decent beers before the enshittification, ironically the Aldi 'anti-establishment IPA' is closer to the original Punk IPA than the dishwasher they've been peddling to supermarkets for the last decade!

So, basic greed really? I mean, get a decent sized company built with a strong marketing presence and goodwill and products people want to buy..... And then run it into the ground for a short term pay day?

Well, that's normal I suppose.

Innes & Gunn. Busted too. Staff at all their tapshops laid off with immediate effect yesterday.

I knew a couple of folk who worked there. One of them worked at the Bonvivant which was shut in similar circumstances. That was shut as a sacrificial lamb to keep their flagship place open, despite the BV being profitable (accounting fudge for the group) .

Edinburgh City Football Club (Social)

Please be advised that ECFC social club premises will close at the end of business on Sunday 29th March 2026.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our members and guests for supporting the club over the many years it has been in operation.
Please note that the club premises will be open for normal business until the closing day and we would be very glad to see members and guests in the club. This includes Sunday Band Sessions / Pre and Post Game Football Sessions / Darts / Dominoes all taking place as normal during March.

Please be advised that ECFC social club premises will close at the end of business on Sunday 29th March 2026.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our members and guests for supporting the club over the many years it has been in operation.
Please note that the club premises will be open for normal business until the closing day and we would be very glad to see members and guests in the club. This includes Sunday Band Sessions / Pre and Post Game Football Sessions / Darts / Dominoes all taking place as normal during March.
Reading this yesterday, was talking about of extending upwards not so long ago. Need tae find another pre-match boozer.
Only folk in the flats along the road will be happy.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

The guy is a top-tier twat. Over-reached and over-spent with everyone else's money, fucked it and walked away with tens of millions of pounds.

So grateful for these cvnts and their unchecked ability to do this. He'll be back and do it again is my bet.
Last I read he was planning to open a fish/seafood restaurant in Gardenstown in memory of his father, with the produce supplied by his late father’s boat. I don’t expect to see either him or Georgia Toffeepops gutting haddock or cleaning scallops anytime soon though.

Would love to see someone take a large haddock to his coupon

Watch this space. Was talking to someone in there when I was up for the livi game, somebody put in an offer and they seem determined tae keep it open.

Wankers

Aye but they’re sorry (and quite wealthy you’d think). I’ve seen companies go bust before and take a few others down with them - it’s amazing how a “big name” can seduce smaller businesses into over-stretching themselves.

I remember when Jamie Oliver's Italian restaurant chain went tits up and loads of small suppliers got stiffed for money they were owed while the fat-tongued twunt is still swanning about with his TV shows and cookery books.

Brewdog Co-founder James Watt announces plan to launch another beer brand (called Second Best) and promises free shares to those who lost their investments in the original company. A magnanimous gesture, I would say. Hopefully the new beer sells.

I remember when Jamie Oliver's Italian restaurant chain went tits up and loads of small suppliers got stiffed for money they were owed while the fat-tongued twunt is still swanning about with his TV shows and cookery books.
He had a restaurant in George Street , me and the ex went there once gor a meal and both of us ended up with food poisoning, never went back..