Books

Right eh no sure if this is allowed. If no can admin remove the post please.

Anyone who wants a copy of said book pm me with an email addy and i can send you an epub copy which I have on my dog and bone

Just purchased this on Amazon....

Auld Foes is the remarkable story of the world’s oldest football rivalry – Heart of Midlothian v Hibernian – interwoven with a fascinating 150-year Edinburgh history.

It's a rivalry that encompasses World Wars, class, religion and ethnicity, hooliganism and clubs on the brink.

It's a rivalry steeped in the culture and history of Edinburgh itself.

Screenshot_2023-10-25-20-12-31-70_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

Just finished reading Fear and Loathing in La Liga by Sid Lowe. It's a history of Barcelona and Real Madrid and their rivalry. A great read and overturns a lot of the myths about both clubs. Really fascinating.

Just purchased this on Amazon....

Auld Foes is the remarkable story of the world’s oldest football rivalry – Heart of Midlothian v Hibernian – interwoven with a fascinating 150-year Edinburgh history.

It's a rivalry that encompasses World Wars, class, religion and ethnicity, hooliganism and clubs on the brink.

It's a rivalry steeped in the culture and history of Edinburgh itself.

View attachment 12314
Spoiler alert: this book will end in disappointment.

I read most nights - my wife has free reign of the TV and I sit happily in my big chair in the corner of the room, bottle of red in easy reach, headphones on playing white noise (to block out her nippy TV noise) ....

But I appear to differ from most of those posting on this thread 😱

I generally (though not always) read fiction.
I'm currently working my way through Mark Greaney's Gray Man series.(former CIA black op assassin gone rouge kinda thing).

I do occasionally read non fiction stuff, the odd biography etc (Bob Mortimer's was the last one, well worth a read), some historical stuff, but generally I read for escapism/entertainment rather than ideological or educational purposes.

I read most nights - my wife has free reign of the TV and I sit happily in my big chair in the corner of the room, bottle of red in easy reach, headphones on playing white noise (to block out her nippy TV noise) ....

I'm currently working my way through Mark Greaney's Gray Man series.(former CIA black op assassin gone rouge kinda thing).

I do occasionally read non fiction stuff, the odd biography etc (Bob Mortimer's was the last one, well worth a read), some historical stuff, but generally I read for escapism/entertainment rather than ideological or educational purposes.
I like my history books. Currently most are about the war on the Eastern Front in ww2.

The slaughter was terrible. Most soviet biographies are unreadable because they are written in a Pravda style. Bigging up Stalin.

I've read a few about the Gulag system as well. Poor fuckers.

And just a wee thing when Siberia is mentioned as axis pow camps it's no really correct. Most pow camps were in European Russia.

You sound like me Brian, though I read the kindle on my iPad and with the attention span of a gnat I keep flicking to here lol.

Anyhow, if you like that sort of thing, try the books of;

Matthew Richardson - less violence / action (which I’ve gone off a bit as I get older) but more ‘intrigue’

Roger Hobbs - which is more action but absolutely brilliant. There are few authors I really love, but he was one, unfortunately he only managed a couple of books before dying of an overdose. Tbh reading between the lines he seems like a bit of a boy

Currently reading book 4 of the expanse series, having just finished the Long War books by Christian Cameron.
Whilst walking the dugs I've not long started the 1st book 9f Ian M Banks culture series.
Me and mini me are working our way through His Dark Materials and 8f I fancy a break from fiction I will switch back and forth to Simon Seabag M's The World.

Love books.

I think I recommended it before but the best novels I have read are the border trilogy by Don Winslow, a (just about) fictionalised account of Mexico’s drug wars and the inglorious history of the US on Latin America. In fact I think my write up was pretty much as follows. Sorry if I’m repeating but they are sooo good.

The first volume, which can be read stand alone, The Power of the Dog, is the stand out by a mile. It’s got the lot; Mexican cartels, the mafia, the Irish mob, CIA black ops, South American insurgencies, the (again just about fictionalised)assassination of Archbishop Romero, Opus Dei vs liberation theology, communist states black ops

It is also astonishingly violent but not for kicks - as far as I can google, just about every major incident happened. It’s angry as fck and goes like a train.

Currently reading book 4 of the expanse series, having just finished the Long War books by Christian Cameron.
Whilst walking the dugs I've not long started the 1st book 9f Ian M Banks culture series.
Me and mini me are working our way through His Dark Materials and 8f I fancy a break from fiction I will switch back and forth to Simon Seabag M's The World.

Love books.
The Expanse books are great. Have read 6 of 9. The TV adaptation is good too. Pretty faithful to the books.
I've read all of Iain M Banks SF novels. Prefer them to his mainstream fiction. Quality is more consistent. Very sad that there won't be any more.

Picked up a copy of " And Away " Bob Mortimer's autobiography in a local charity shop for 50p recently , I'd been meaning to read it since it was released but had never got around to it . It's a great read hilarious in parts his whole life is like an episode of Would I Lie To You . It should also be remembered how lucky it is that's he's still with when you consider the state he was in before his heart op . Some of the stuff about his recovery after heart surgery brought back memories to me from my surgery many years ago

New Private Eyes.Still stuck at the Linux book.
I’ve said it before Moaty, but to expand - I expect you are drawn to Linux because of the quasi socialist ethos behind it.

I get it and - if it’s any balance / consolation to what I’m about to say - it has succeeded hugely on the front in the server world (the behind the scenes computers that run the bounce for example). But that’s where it belongs. It really is not a user operating system, especially for non geeks, and especially in Debian form.

It’s really not worth it - and I say this as a Linux advocate since the 1990s where it applies. If you must stick at it, use Ubuntu.

To compare to cars, Linux is for mechanics and people who build cars, it’s not for drivers of cars.

I think I recommended it before but the best novels I have read are the border trilogy by Don Winslow, a (just about) fictionalised account of Mexico’s drug wars and the inglorious history of the US on Latin America. In fact I think my write up was pretty much as follows. Sorry if I’m repeating but they are sooo good.

The first volume, which can be read stand alone, The Power of the Dog, is the stand out by a mile. It’s got the lot; Mexican cartels, the mafia, the Irish mob, CIA black ops, South American insurgencies, the (again just about fictionalised)assassination of Archbishop Romero, Opus Dei vs liberation theology, communist states black ops

It is also astonishingly violent but not for kicks - as far as I can google, just about every major incident happened. It’s angry as fck and goes like a train.
Have you read any James Ellroy? His LA Quartet and Underworld USA trilogy are magnificent. Very dark and violent. Classic noir thrillers brought up to date.
Got the Winslow books on Kindle but not started them yet.
Currently ploughing my way through The Confusion by Neal Stephenson. Second volume of his Baroque Cycle of historical fiction.

The Choirboys by Joseph Wambaugh is about the funniest book i have i ever read.

The film though was pony

Have you read any James Ellroy? His LA Quartet and Underworld USA trilogy are magnificent. Very dark and violent. Classic noir thrillers brought up to date.
Got the Winslow books on Kindle but not started them yet.
Currently ploughing my way through The Confusion by Neal Stephenson. Second volume of his Baroque Cycle of historical fiction.
I’ve read one - the black dahlia one? Can’t remember if it’s called that but you’ll know the one I mean, as it’s based on those events. I thought it was very good but a bit dark for me (I’ve become a bit of a pussy in my dotage).

That might sound odd because the Winslow books are dark as fuck but without wanting to sound pompous, in a different way - it describes unbelievably sadistic things but in a non vicarious way. More like a journalistic account - this stuff happened and you should know. I’ll go back to Ellroy one day cos he is a great writer but I need to work up the stomach for it!

Picked up a copy of " And Away " Bob Mortimer's autobiography in a local charity shop for 50p recently , I'd been meaning to read it since it was released but had never got around to it . It's a great read hilarious in parts his whole life is like an episode of Would I Lie To You . It should also be remembered how lucky it is that's he's still with when you consider the state he was in before his heart op . Some of the stuff about his recovery after heart surgery brought back memories to me from my surgery many years ago
It's a really good read. He comes across as a thoroughly decent bloke. I was astonished that he suffered from crippling shyness.
His fishing programme with Paul Whitehouse is one of my TV pleasures. Two old friends contemplating their mortality against a background of nature porn. Marvellous!

I generally read autobiographies of people I admire, but also over the years lots of books on football and music.
God knows how many books about Hibs I have read.
Overall though, never really been a big book reader to be honest.
I'm reading a great book about English football in the 70's called "Get it on..how the 70's rocked football" by a sports journalist called Jon Spurling.

I generally read autobiographies of people I admire, but also over the years lots of books on football and music.
God knows how many books about Hibs I have read.
Overall though, never really been a big book reader to be honest.
I'm reading a great book about English football in the 70's called "Get it on..how the 70's rocked football" by a sports journalist called Jon Spurling.
If you like good football books you should try The Nowhere Men by Michael Calvin. It's about the lives of football scouts. Fascinating look into a little known about profession.
Anything by David Goldblatt is worth a read and The Far Corner by Harry Pearson is a really interesting trek round football grounds at all levels in the NE of England. It's also very funny.

For those interested in fan culture and the intersection of politics and football; Football, fascism and fandom is worth a read.

Much better than more recent books on ultras by broadsheet journalists which are a bit tedious and feel like efforts to fit things into a sociology thesis, this is much more ‘real’. Years since I read it but iirc focuses on Roma and Lazio and dispels a few myths about Lazio being the (only) fash club in Rome. I mean it was like that once but not for a long time.

It also goes beyond football and into the way that neo fascists, with ultras in the vanguard, turn people their way with community work etc. it’s from back in the 00s but provides some useful background to stuff happening now in Europe and beyond. It also might dispel some myths on how these guys operate and what they believe and why - basically far from a ‘crisis of capitalism’ it’s nationalist communism, and become ever more overtly so since the fall of the wall de-emphasised sectarian rivalries with Marxist groups.

I'm just wondering now if the reason I'm falling asleep easily whilst reading is because it's mostly non fiction these days.

Spoiler alert: this book will end in disappointment.
I've no started my copy yet but my mate read it and you are spot on.

Written by a Merrick and he said mainly plagiarised. So I'm no going to bother starting it.

I've just finished "To Kill a Mocking Bird" by Harper Lee. Don't know what all the fuss was about. Thought it was very average where nothing really happens. Cover states over 30 million sold. Not entirely sure why, maybe a book of it's time perhaps. Having recently read "Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol and Uncle Tom's Cabin" all are vastly superior. Little wonder then that Lee only produced 2 novels and understand her second "Go Set a Watchman" was rank. Give me Charles Dickens, HG Wells or Stephen King any day.
How very dare you!! 😉

Still my favourite book. The 2nd book (Go set a watchman), is basically unfinished and was written first. Publisher rejected it and told HL to go develop the Scout character more.

She did that and came back with TKAM. Never revisited the other book, so when it was discovered it was published as it was - which is why there are a few inconsistencies between the two.

Anyone into historical fiction.
The Bookseller of Inverness.

Is very enjoyable, as is most of her other stuff.

Alexander Seaton & Seeker novels are all very well researched novels.

Alistair McLean was her Uncle?

Is very enjoyable, as is most of her other stuff.

Alexander Seaton & Seeker novels are all very well researched novels.

Alistair McLean was her Uncle?
Didnt know that.
He was my go to as a youngster.
Then Desmond Bagley and Ludlum.

Just read The Fall of Hitlers Fortress City: The Battle for Konigsberg 1945.

The unbelievable slaughter on both sides. And the defenders reaping what was sown in the east.

The Soviets kept Konigsberg (now Kaliningrad) as a base for the Baltic Fleet.

Just taken delivery of this:
One for @misshibsteria 💪🫡
View attachment 14069
Worthy I’m sure but those kind of titles drive me potty, or when Scottish feminists describing themselves as besoms or whatnot. I accept this is my problem not theirs but it’s all a bit bbc Hogmanay for me.

Here the mix of more formal English and wheest is the coup de grace. The women who wouldnae wheest wouldn’t be quite so bad. With quite doing a lot of work there.

My go to in the primary school summer holidays was Enid Blyton !! 😂

Loved the Tom Sharpe books in my late teens….. probably be cancelled now.
Summer holidays was football, football and more football.
My reading started after I left school.
My school home reader got read the evening before the exam!