Book Shops in Edinburgh

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
Due to me being a little put off by Amazon and their tax tomfoolery, I've not used them for about a year (must cancel that Prime pish).

However, I still like books. Where's good for new/second hand book in auld reekie?

Waterstones I can find easy enough but they just feel like a high street amazon. And what's the fucking deal with having toys in a book shop?! Really annoying.

I'm specifically looking for a copy of The Stranger by Camus.

Pretty sure you'd get that in Blackwell's. It will almost certainly be included in some undergraduate reading list or other, so you may well find a copy in charity bookshops / second hand bookshops in Newington / the Bridges area.

Due to me being a little put off by Amazon and their tax tomfoolery, I've not used them for about a year (must cancel that Prime pish).

However, I still like books. Where's good for new/second hand book in auld reekie?

Waterstones I can find easy enough but they just feel like a high street amazon. And what's the $#@!ing deal with having toys in a book shop?! Really annoying.

I'm specifically looking for a copy of The Stranger by Camus.

www.tillsbookshop.co.uk

Or Southside Books, two doors up from Blackwells on South Bridge, is very good indeed.:Bible:

They are both very "literary" second-hand bookshops. You'll defo get the Camus in Southside.

Cheers, guys. Blackwells is what used to be Jimmy Thins, eh?

Will check that wee book shop out. It's tiny, eh? Not been in but it used to be a skate shop, doubt it's got any bigger!

What about that one on the west port, between the pubic triangle and the Grassmarket?

Blackwell on South Bridge is the best bookshop in Edinburgh and the most likely to stock a title such as you're looking for. Of course, if they don't have it they will happily order it for you.

Just up from Blackwell, heading out of town, is a second hand book shop with a good stock -- don't recall it's name.

There are little clusters of second hand book shops at the West Port and on Buccleuch Street. Worth a visit.

A second hand book shop I haven't visited for some years but when I did found was very good is McNaughtons in Haddington Place. Down in the basement on the Gayfield Square side. A very large stock a fairly priced.

Blackwells order many of their books from Abe books an online American bookstore, you might wanna check them out

The charity shops can be good for books unless you have something specific you are after. I like the rush of finding something on a shelf for 50p. Happened a few months ago, I wanted to read a couple of Jack London books and found a nice hardback version for cheap.

I enjoy a wander along South Clerk Street to Newington in the search for a book. The oxfam book shop there is small but set out very well with a good selection of books.

I agree. There's also a 2nd hand book shop on buccleuch st and the Bethany shop further along.

There's some hidden gems in that area in general Jimmy :thumbgrin Once you've attained a good wee book there's always a decent pub at hand or the meadows for a seat, weather permitting.