Blatant music rip offs

[video=youtube;vabnZ9-ex7o]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vabnZ9-ex7o[/video]
[video=youtube;x1U1Ue_5kq8]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1U1Ue_5kq8[/video]

Our very own Shaun McKinley, AKA @The_Proclaimer , did a superb playlist on Spotify that I still listen to today - you can search for it: "Oasis - The Rip Offs".

It's superb, and some of them are jaw-droppingly blatant!

Think I've posted this story before, but below is an interesting article about CCR front man John Fogerty being sued for plagiarising... his own work :rollfloor

The Time John Fogerty Was Sued for Ripping Off John Fogerty | Mental Floss

That's great. It reminds me of a story I read about the 80s punk band TSOL. They went through so many line-up changes that by the early 00's they had no original members left and were playing the dive circuit. Then the original band members got back together to record a new album, this resulted in the band that were still touring as "TSOL" trying to sue them for using the name.

[video=youtube;UkekqVPIc2M]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkekqVPIc2M[/video]

[video=youtube;SKAqmqVQ700]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKAqmqVQ700[/video]

:hmmm

Our very own Shaun McKinley, AKA @The_Proclaimer , did a superb playlist on Spotify that I still listen to today - you can search for it: "Oasis - The Rip Offs".

It's superb, and some of them are jaw-droppingly blatant!

Hi aggie, long time no see amigo. Nae idea what my boy had on that list. Don't do Facebook, Twitter or Spotify. It takes me all my techneanderthal time to get on here. What I do know is that most Oasis fanatics like Shaun would argue black is white, sugar is shite, that Oasis never ripped anything off. He wisnae like that.

Anyway probably not on his list is possibly the only 'rip off' in the history of popular music where someone has asked to rip it off!! It also indirectly saw Shaun and Daniel meet and speak to Noel and Liam Gallagher.

My Scouse mates Mick and John Head of the wonderful band Shack got a phone call from Noel saying that he was a big fan of their 1991 album Waterpistol and would they be ok if Oasis ripped of the track Stranger from it. Without hesitation Mick gave it Go ed la. That was that and they forgot about it. Subsequently, perhaps because the lads were so laid back about it, Noel invited Shack to support them on an upcoming tour and publish a new album on his record label. Fair play Noel.

Anyway we were guests of Mick and John after the gig and Shaun and Daniel met and spoke with the lads from Shack and Oasis including Zak Starkey, Ringos boy who was on drums that night.

Agreed rip off's......it is so much easier.....

[video=youtube;3uns2SBvijk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uns2SBvijk[/video]

[video=youtube;G-H5bUjYVPw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-H5bUjYVPw[/video]

Shack at the Oasis gig in Glasgow where my boys met Noel and Liam.

[video=youtube;vQ_b2-Yx3qU]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQ_b2-Yx3qU[/video]

[video=youtube;rinz9Avvq6A]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rinz9Avvq6A[/video]

[video=youtube;0kNGnIKUdMI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kNGnIKUdMI[/video]

Led Zeppelin Stairway to Heaven was a rip off.
The band in question took Jimmy Page to court in Los Angeles and lost. The song in question briefly resembles the opening few bars in Stairway but not anything like enough to warrant a successful plagerism case.

The Beatles : Taxman
The Jam : Start

practically identicle !

The Sweet : Blockbuster
David Bowie : The Jean Genie

The Charlatans - Here comes a soul saver
Pink Floyd - Fearless

Coldplay - some pish
Kraftwerk - Computer Love

Candy Staton / The Source - you got the love