Benidorm

I've never been....but I quite fancy a week in the sun around about September time probably on my own. I know people who have been to Benidorm who reckon it's a got a bit of everything, good beaches, bars and hotels. Sounds quite good, but apparently there is a quieter part of the place which I would probably prefer to be honest.

Anyone who has been recommend any decent but fairly cheap hotels ? I've never booked a holiday online before so if anyone has any sites they can recommend as well I would appreciate it.

Make sure you get somewhere in the poniente or old town, given your requirements. Off the top of my head, there's on called Mar Ola right on the beach that might suit

Benidorm has turned into a bit of a stag weekend capital, you ever been to lanzarote? Sounds like your cup of tea - always decent weather, volcano walks, quaint wee harbour restaurants, nice beaches, hardly any drunken bam pots, budget airlines fly there, pubs showing Scottish football. Would recommend it.

Thanks for that

I've never been....but I quite fancy a week in the sun around about September time probably on my own. I know people who have been to Benidorm who reckon it's a got a bit of everything, good beaches, bars and hotels. Sounds quite good, but apparently there is a quieter part of the place which I would probably prefer to be honest.

Anyone who has been recommend any decent but fairly cheap hotels ? I've never booked a holiday online before so if anyone has any sites they can recommend as well I would appreciate it.

I would recommend a trip to Frutin travel to talk through your holiday requirements and let these fine people do the work for you.

Posieden Playa on the Poniente beach is a lovely hotel. We stayed in the Fiesta Park, Not far from Poniente beach, at easter, hotel was ok but didnae fancy the grub much. Much quieter at that end of Beni and if you fancy a night "on it" it's no that far a walk to the square. Best taxi it back tho, took us an hour more to walk back than it took us to walk there. Nae idea why.:lookaround:
But as Dub said, Fruitin Travel is the place to go .

Altea is just up the road from benidorm. Found that to be a decent spot to stay for a week.

Would agree with Proclaimer re: Lanzarote. An underrated island imo. The boy Cesar Manriques work there is lovely...Mirador Del Rio and Jameos Del Agua especially.

Benidorm and the Costa Blanca is pretty underrated by folk who mibbe think it's too 'touristy'. The old town is lovely, the prom and the beach are immaculate and places like Altea,Calpe and Denia are all nice wee places.Like most places folk fly into, Alicante is always overlooked...like Malaga or Girona or Reus.

Don't forget to look up Sticky Vicky.

Yes.

Literally.
:giggle:

It's Mark II sticky isn't it? She retired her vag allowing her daughter to assume the position?:surp@

Altea is just up the road from benidorm. Found that to be a decent spot to stay for a week.

Another vote for Altea which whilst only a few miles along the coast is night and day compared to Benidorm. It has managed to maintain it's Spanish 'character' and is hardly built up at all. That's not to say the place is dead as it has a thriving tourism industry and plenty of great bars and restaurants down by the seafront.

There's also a regular, quick bus along to Benidorm so you can take a trip and take in all those things that makes Benidorm (in)famous.