Bees

I thought they were running out but there were about 50 or so of them [difficult to count the buggers because they keep moving] buzzing around a neighbour's tree [flavour unknown - I'm not and Arborist] that overhangs in to my garden. There aren't any flowers on the tree so not sure what they are getting out of it.

There must be experts here who have played bee manager or something that could explain it. Perhaps Ryan could tell me that these are our new bee overlords and I should wake the fukk up before it's too late, or something.

I thought they were running out but there were about 50 or so of them [difficult to count the buggers because they keep moving] buzzing around a neighbour's tree [flavour unknown - I'm not and Arborist] that overhangs in to my garden. There aren't any flowers on the tree so not sure what they are getting out of it.

There must be experts here who have played bee manager or something that could explain it. Perhaps Ryan could tell me that these are our new bee overlords and I should wake the fukk up before it's too late, or something.
It’s maybe cold comfort Dub, but it’s a good thing. Bees have been dying off with allegedly catastrophic effects, though I can’t mind what they are :giggle

In terms of your local concern however, calling in some ‘napalm on the tree line’ seems to be the way to go.

It’s maybe cold comfort Dub, but it’s a good thing. Bees have been dying off with allegedly catastrophic effects, though I can’t mind what they are :giggle

In terms of your local concern however, calling in some ‘napalm on the tree line’ seems to be the way to go.

I was actually pleased to see the blighters EEG. I had my chainsaw in hand and was going to prune the tree back a bit until I spotted them so obviously I didn't. Because they are supposed to be dying off I was surprised and delighted in equal measure to see such a large group of them. If they were wasps I'd have had the flamethrower out but bees are good guys.

Another thing my failing synapses cannot piece back together is the answer to the eternal question ‘what are wasps good for’?

But I did look into it once, and there is something. Allegedly.

Suffice to say, some truths are just to inconvenient and when you light em up I’ll be beside you tossing some frag grenades.

• Haha
Reactions: Dub
I suspect its a swarm looking for somewhere to call home.

I had a group of wild bees flew up my disconnected overflow and made themselves comfy in my loft. Not as much of an issue as you might think as they eventually moved on. I've not blocked off my bee hole.

Aldi or Lidl have come up with selling juice for bees! It's probably just sugarelly watter - water with sugar, not feckin sweeteners 😆.

You can help bees, particularly at this time of year, by putting out some sugarelly watter. Something like a shallow soup plate but chuck a few pebbles in to make it easier for them to access your juice 😉. They canny swim!

Another thing my failing synapses cannot piece back together is the answer to the eternal question ‘what are wasps good for’?

Suffice to say, some truths are just to inconvenient and when you light em up I’ll be beside you tossing some frag grenades.
I believe wasps keep the aphid population under control

Bees dying off is more likely to bring down civilization more than all the crap stuff you come up with!

How high were these bees?

Perhaps. But not as quickly.
In your opinion.

No Bees and we're fucked in a very, very short time. Maybe not even years.

You, on the other hand, have been predicting the demise of civilization - probably since before you joined the Bounce!

In your opinion.

No Bees and we're fucked in a very, very short time. Maybe not even years.
Years after the demise of bees, let’s see how long thar takes.
You, on the other hand, have been predicting the demise of civilization - probably since before you joined the Bounce!
Yes. And in the late zeros I estimated it would take around 30 years. So about half way there give or take. I also stated Britain was among least likely to go versus France for example. Less confident of that now, but on balance I’ll stick with it. Never saw America coming at the time so not exactly mystic Meg.

That failing aside I see nothing to persuade me I was wrong, and while I appreciate I’m setting up your next salvo here, I can’t help notice that those who disagree have shifted from ‘wtf you’re mental’ to ‘you’re wrong / talking pish’. That’s telling.

Can we get back to bees now rather than the usual pish?

bees are sound. mon the bees.
I used to affect this big lebowski attitude to bees, insisting that if you don’t fck with them they won’t fuck with you.

Overplaying my hand, I attempted to demonstrate this to various quailing women, children and guardian reading men, by casually removing a bee inhabited glass at a bbq with my hand over the top.

And promptly got knifed by the wee fecker.

Which, I think, vindicates Hobbes. :coffee1:

I believe wasps keep the aphid population under control
Wasps are good for pest control , a bit pollination and provide food for other animals. The aphids are used to feed their larvae. Big problems for farmers if all the wasps disappeared.
Wasps feed around 14,000 Tonnes of insects to their larvae in the UK each year, farmers would need a lot of pesticide to keep up with that.

In answer to your question...killing!!

Bees are good. Wasps are *&*^.
My sis in law heard screaming. A man and woman were covered in a swarm of the bastards. She ran in, waving her arms etc. They were stinging all over, in hair and clothes. Couple blue lighted to hospital. Sis in law got one sting only, on her finger. Brave as fuck tho.
She never hears how the couple got on.
This was 2022 in Chelmsford

My sister has 4 hives in her garden, she has a lavender field too so I get a regular consignment of County Cork lavender infused honey.

Yes, I’m aware how pretentious that sounds.

Mon the bees 🐝

This is my actual lottery win dream 😅

Highlands, lavender and bees!

According to the mighty @Tiger Prima the tree in question is a Cotoneaster Franchetii Bois. It now has little flowers, so clearly the bees ken ye ken. And they are back today with some of their mates.

Hattie will confirm this. When you are up a ladder painting windows you have the paint pot in one hand, brush in the other.

Using your knees to stay on the rungs.

A bee comes up has a wee look the goes.

But bastard wasps are evil as fuck. Try hitting them with the brush and it just annoys them more.

So bees ok. Wasps Huns/Merricks.

Hattie will confirm this. When you are up a ladder painting windows you have the paint pot in one hand, brush in the other.

But bastard wasps are evil as fuck. Try hitting them with the brush and it just annoys them more.

Shocking behaviour.

Should have 3 points of contact on a leader at all times.

Happened tae me in Crawfurd Road Jimmy, fuckin wee bastard stung me right in my ear. I could be wrong but he might have been a union wasp because I didnae have a painters card.:coffee1:

Still living in your head rent free I see....

Here there's an idea. Train attack wasps for folk working outside their chosen job.

When I think back about some of the work we done years ago. Dangerous as fuck.

But bees are decent things. Mon the bees.

Years ago I played at the Scottish show at Prestonfield House. I was due on stage to play and grabbed my hairy hat. There was a bee inside it which stung me and left it's arse wriggling about in my middle finger which swelled to twice it's normal size as I played my set (badly!).

First time I'd had a bee in my bonnet.