Beckham retires

Hammi

Cable Selling Radge
As it says on the tin.

Maybe get a job at united? Or just carry on his ambassadorial work?

At least we`ll all be spared those quality insights from Clive Tyldesley and Adrian Chiles. Classics like...

" David Beckhams Paris St Germain ", and my personal favourite...." do you think that Barcelonas midfield will be starstruck with Beckham on the pitch? "

:coffee:

At least we`ll all be spared those quality insights from Clive Tyldesley and Adrian Chiles. Classics like...

" David Beckhams Paris St Germain ", and my personal favourite...." do you think that Barcelonas midfield will be starstruck with Beckham on the pitch? "

:coffee:

Aye I heard that, and I thought about quoting it, but couldn't think of a way to introduce it..
He's arguably the most recognizable person on the planet.

Can't help but think his wife decides where he goes though...

LA, Madrid, Milan, Paris... All fashion capitals of the world :hmmm

Aye I heard that, and I thought about quoting it, but couldn't think of a way to introduce it..

It could have been his choice. He's a far more successful model than she is.

That line was a stomach-turning yet laugh out loud classic. I was about to say that i didn`t know how the rest of the panel kept their faces straight.......but, yes i do know how. They are all as fuckin arrogant as each other.

Beckham was a very good if somewhat overrated footballer who epitomised the modern game in England since Sky Television took over control of the game down there in 1992. He was an excellent captain for England and served Man United well in a fine young team in the late 1990's. I just often felt that the star status he achieved in the game was more down to how he looked rather than the footballing attributes he actually had. Fergie saw through the phoney image and punted him out of Old Trafford when he realised he was no further use to the club. I have no doubt we will be seeing his smug coupon regularly on TV punditry from now on...so glad I got rid of Sky Sports at the New Year.

Paul Scholes was a better player than Beckham. Maybe if he was a media whore he might get the credit he deserves.

Scholes, Giggs, Keane were all better than Beckham imo but none of them got hooked up to a spice girl.

" Brand Beckham " was created and the media went wild.....his celebrity status was far greater than his footballing ability imo.

One thing I'll say about Becks is, he always gave 100% and was a model professional.

So when he petulantly kicked out at a player because he had been fouled [leading to over the top claims in the engerland meedja that he had cost them the world cup [Or Euro's cant recall which]]- that was a model of professionalism?

C'mon Dub.

The boy made a wee typo.
Clearly he meant to say Becks was a professional model not a model professional.

Beckham retires -- yeh, and in more braking news Elvis is found dead.

I wish people would stop dragging up these ancient old threads from about 10 years ago.

Beckham retires -- yeh, and in more braking news Elvis is found dead.

I wish people would stop dragging up these ancient old threads from about 10 years ago.

:dunno:

I think that was a
whoosh.gif
moment.

He had his silly moments, and fair share of red cards. What I meant is he always trained hard, and looked after himself. Half the players these days are cooked by the age of 30, he maintained a high level up until the age of 38.

A high level in us of A?
Sorry no offence mate, but the day he went there was the day he retired from top level football, his missus had long taken over his career.

A high level in us of A?
Sorry no offence mate, but the day he went there was the day he retired from top level football, his missus had long taken over his career.

In fairness, while he was there he came back and played for Milan a couple times, Italian football has it's faults but it's still a decent standard, made around 30 appearances in 2 short loan spells.
He's kept himself in good shape but should have retired after leaving LA, will have made a fortune in Paris despite his ''playing for free''

A high level in us of A?

I agree the standard is no better than the SPL. I'm sure money was a huge factor in him playing in the MLS, and he wanted to help the league grow. Like Henry when he moved, both could have walked in to any mid table EPL team. I recall Henry going on loan to Arsenal and doing a job, along with Donovan having a very successful loan spell at Everton.
I'm not a huge Beckham fan, I just respect that he always gave 100% and gave it is all.

Beckham hardly touched the clown that had just flattened him. The sending off was way over the top.

I could swing for the heavens and miss, it's still an offence though :dunno:
You can't lash out regardless of how hard you connect.

Beckham was a very good if somewhat overrated footballer who epitomised the modern game in England since Sky Television took over control of the game down there in 1992. He was an excellent captain for England and served Man United well in a fine young team in the late 1990's. I just often felt that the star status he achieved in the game was more down to how he looked rather than the footballing attributes he actually had. Fergie saw through the phoney image and punted him out of Old Trafford when he realised he was no further use to the club. I have no doubt we will be seeing his smug coupon regularly on TV punditry from now on...so glad I got rid of Sky Sports at the New Year.

Here's hoping. Preferably (un)dressed in his billboard attire :smug:.

The best right-footed passer I've ever seen. He could place the ball anywhere.
Despite the moves, he seems to have loved playing and has maintained a good level at 38.
I thought he should've become a centre-mid.

Despite the moves, he seems to have loved playing and has maintained a good level at 38.

He did, didn't he?

Much earlier in his career, I meant.

Ah, sorry.
I do agree, but you can't replace those crosses. Yorke said on that fantasy 11 program that he would never have scored as many goals as he did without him. He's done amazingly well for himself and deserves credit for that.

Ah, sorry.
I do agree, but you can't replace those crosses. Yorke said on that fantasy 11 program that he would never have scored as many goals as he did without him. He's done amazingly well for himself and deserves credit for that.

He often crossed from very deep. Can you ever remember him using the wing or having to beat his man?
He never had to, which is my point. I think he would've been even more important in a team if he was playing centre-mid.

The only other playmaker I can think of that comes close is Francesco Totti of AS Roma (different kind of player - but a great passer).

He often crossed from very deep. Can you ever remember him using the wing or having to beat his man?
He never had to, which is my point. I think he would've been even more important in a team if he was playing centre-mid.

The only other playmaker I can think of that comes close is Francesco Totti of AS Roma (different kind of player - but a great passer).

Tbh I cant remember much of him from anywhere, never liked English football as a lad and I didn't have Sky for most of the time anyway.

I'm a fan of Totti though, him and Del Piero are of a similar mould, a playmaker from the front. Trequartista I think they call it?

I take it you didn't see Zidane, Nedved, Scholes, Figo, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho, Totti, Deco, Juninho (Lyon) or Bergkamp?
All are much more talented and better at passing, right footed contemporaries of Beckham.

I take it you didn't see Zidane, Nedved, Scholes, Figo, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho, Totti, Deco, Juninho (Lyon) or Bergkamp?
All are much more talented and better at passing, right footed contemporaries of Beckham.

I seen everyone of those, I preferred most of them to Beckham too.

I'm confused, I thought you said Beckham was the best right footed passer?
I'm not trying to have a go but to say Beckham was the best at any part of the game is very blinkered.
I forgot to mention Riquelme and Mendieta in my original post.

A lot of those guys played in much the same era. Spoilt with great footballers un those days

I'm confused, I thought you said Beckham was the best right footed passer?
I'm not trying to have a go but to say Beckham was the best at any part of the game is very blinkered.
I forgot to mention Riquelme and Mendieta in my original post.

I can barely recall Riquelme and Mendieta, just from the World Cup.

Theo Walcott was/is the fastest player in the World, I still prefer many similar players to him.

I can see you'll not let me be to my valid opinion, so I'll leave it at that.

Think folks being a bit harsh on Beckam here. You don't play for Man Utd, Real Madrid and Milan plus get over 100 caps unless you are a very good player. He also massively raised the profile of fitba in the US. His wife is a proper pain though.

Think folks being a bit harsh on Beckam here. You don't play for Man Utd, Real Madrid and Milan plus get over 100 caps unless you can shift a hell of a lot of replica tops. He also massively raised the profile of fitba in the US. His wife is a proper pain though.

Slightly different reading. :077:

In fairness, he was a decent player. Could deliver a great cross from wide angles and ping a very commendable dead ball. And ... em ... :hmmm

I kind agree with Chris Waddle's exaggeration, he's not in the top 1,000 players of the last 40 years.

But I bet he's in the top 1 earners!

Slightly different reading. :077:

In fairness, he was a decent player. Could deliver a great cross from wide angles and ping a very commendable dead ball. And ... em ... :hmmm

I kind agree with Chris Waddle's exaggeration, he's not in the top 1,000 players of the last 40 years.

But I bet he's in the top 1 earners!

Haha, aye slightly different. Any time I saw him I thought he was very good. I think it became fashionable to not like Beckham.