Basketball

Fritz

Has anyone ever watched this shite? Thought i`d watch a bit of live college stuff on BT Sport. Can say that with the obvious exception of cricket, it must be the most boring piece of 'sporting' pish on the planet. The biggest cheers (and the whoops and hollers) seem to come when someone actually fails tae score. It`s fuckin awful...

Has anyone ever watched this $#@!e? Thought i`d watch a bit of live college stuff on BT Sport. Can say that with the obvious exception of cricket, it must be the most boring piece of 'sporting' pish on the planet. The biggest cheers (and the whoops and hollers) seem to come when someone actually fails tae score. It`s $#@!in awful...

I suspect that like perhaps with cricket you may not be fully attuned to the subtleties of what's going on? Football's quite boring if you've never seen it before and have no context to understand what's happening.

Not a criticism by the way. I have no idea how basketball works and it looks mystifying and therefore goes straight over my head. I doubt c100 million people would be obsessed by something that was genuinely dull though.

I suspect that like perhaps with cricket you may not be fully attuned to the subtleties of what's going on? Football's quite boring if you've never seen it before and have no context to understand what's happening.

Not a criticism by the way. I have no idea how basketball works and it looks mystifying and therefore goes straight over my head. I doubt c100 million people would be obsessed by something that was genuinely dull though.

I'm the same with Rugby Union. I think its a load of tosh, a lot of my mates like it. When it's on the box in the pub they will cheer and argue etc about scores and penalties and the like and they seem to understand what is going on. A ruck for example is probably a complex animal, to me it looks like a load of yobs piling on top of each other.

I was like this, couldn't stand it. Then a while back I watched a game with a mate of mine who played U19 for Wales years ago, and it started to make sense a bit. You begin to see what they are actually trying to achieve and where the skill lies etc. After a bit you identify with certain players and the sort of 'soap opera' that surrounds any sport.

Having said that I still find it aesthetically very far below cricket or football and it's so complicated that I usually need someone like my mate on hand to explain half of it if I'm to watch a match.

Basketball can be brilliant to watch at it's best end to end madness, I'm not really into it but I have seen some brilliant quarters, never a full game of it.
The fitness aspect behind it is brilliant as well btw, not to be underestimated as athletes at all, even giants like Shaq.

The skill players like Larry Bird, Magic Johnson or Michael Jordan displayed when I was really into basketball was incredible.

Whether it's the pros or college, I've never watched an entire game . I think you're as well watching the last five, ten minutes of a game as that is when it gets interesting and the winner is usually decided.

Great game to play. The skill and fitness level required is huge. Understand regards watching it (Especially pro game) and how it may turn folk off. Must be the second most taught team sport in Scottish Schools after fitba.

It's huge in London, I think also the second biggest participatory sport in schools.

I reckon during my time at Porty it rivalled football. Alot to do with The PE dept of the time being mad for basketball and not so much for football, plus we were the base for the school team and the city team.We won everything we entered for 4 years straight I think?

Rugby league is the game to watch Dubster.

No 3 minute scrum setting, no line out , not many hold ups at all in fact!

Non stop brutality, with quite a bit of skill too.!:applause:

Rugby league is the game to watch Dubster.

No 3 minute scrum setting, no line out , not many hold ups at all in fact!

Non stop brutality, with quite a bit of skill too.!:applause:

Agreed mate. I much prefer League.

Understand the nuances,even have a qualification in it!playing it is immensely enjoyable.

I'd rather listen to Coldplay than watch it!

I reckon during my time at Porty it rivalled football. Alot to do with The PE dept of the time being mad for basketball and not so much for football, plus we were the base for the school team and the city team.We won everything we entered for 4 years straight I think?

Still very much the case. Porty still a hotbed of the game, with Gillespies, Boroughmuir and St Thomas' churning out good players and teams.

I reckon during my time at Porty it rivalled football. Alot to do with The PE dept of the time being mad for basketball and not so much for football,

that's putting it mildly..don't think a single PE teacher when I was there knew the basics of football..

the head of PE once gave me as offside 10 yards inside my own half in an 11s game then sent me off for questioning the decision!!

basketball is a decent enough game to play

Whatever happened to volleyball?

Used to be really popular at St Aug's back in the day. Mind you, we did have a teacher who played for Scotland, even went to see them play (and lose to) England in an exciting game at Meadowbank, I think it was, once.

Still more popular over here than basketball - but no evidence for that, just anecodtal.

More visual fun than basketball (which I agree is fun to play).

Or no??

I've started going about with a lassie from Porty and Basketball is still a huge focus there. There's a Portobello club players fall into after school. She left 14 years ago and still plays for an Edinburgh club (think they play Portobello at the weekend coincidently).

Going back to the original post. I like all sports but I didnae have Basketball up there as one I'm in tae. Went and watched an amateur game here and the tactics, plays and footwork were actually worth taking in. By the end of the game ye would've thought I was at a Hibs game 'Second balls yours!!!'.

Used to be really popular at St Aug's back in the day. Mind you, we did have a teacher who played for Scotland, even went to see them play (and lose to) England in an exciting game at Meadowbank, I think it was, once.

Still more popular over here than basketball - but no evidence for that, just anecodtal.

Or no??

Not one game of Volleyball for me there between 97-03. Hammy didnae keep it in the curriculum obviously.

Or no??

We didnae have a beach at Gracemount
And the thought of Mr McLeland in a bikini makes me gag.

Think it's a great participation sport - fitness and skill, as you say, and limited special equipment required. It's also quite 'cool', which is a plus for getting teenagers involved. I've been to see a few pro-games, though, and the gamesmanship stop-start thing, with coaches calling stoppages every few seconds, absolutely does my head in. As an aside, I reckon if you're freakishly tall, you've got a good chance of being scouted in the street, and getting a high-level game, because each team at that level is almost entirely made up of people who are much bigger than anyone I've ever met. With strangely spindly lower legs...:hmmm

Or no??

I was once dragged screaming into an international volleyball tournament. And had to be dragged back out again, because it was FAB.:yeah: Also a good participation sport, and much more fun to watch than basketball.

that's putting it mildly..don't think a single PE teacher when I was there knew the basics of football..

the head of PE once gave me as offside 10 yards inside my own half in an 11s game then sent me off for questioning the decision!!

I'll tale a punt on that being the big aussie guy, McConnell? Can just imagine the conversation and your incredulity :applause:

I've started going about with a lassie from Porty and Basketball is still a huge focus there. There's a Portobello club players fall into after school. She left 14 years ago and still plays for an Edinburgh club (think they play Portobello at the weekend coincidently).

Going back to the original post. I like all sports but I didnae have Basketball up there as one I'm in tae. Went and watched an amateur game here and the tactics, plays and footwork were actually worth taking in. By the end of the game ye would've thought I was at a Hibs game 'Second balls yours!!!'.

You have fine taste in ladies there, Mr P. Bet she's attractive, intelligent and has great wit. :applause:

Or no??

Ronnie Hamilton?

I'll tale a punt on that being the big aussie guy, McConnell? Can just imagine the conversation and your incredulity :applause:

You have fine taste in ladies there, Mr P. Bet she's attractive, intelligent and has great wit. :applause:

Aye, she's barry M. However if she doesnae take to the Hibees then it's back to the drawing board :lol:

As it always ends up like 82-79 I wonder why they don't just play the last 5 minutes and save time.

One of the Science teachers at Porty was and still is (even though now retired) a driving force for basketball there (Brian Findlay?). He is a coach and on the committee of the Edinburgh Basketball Club team.

Ask C about his experiences of football at school (but don't tell Broonieboy what he says) :wink:

One of the Science teachers at Porty was and still is (even though now retired) a driving force for basketball there (Brian Findlay?). He is a coach and on the committee of the Edinburgh Basketball team.

Ask C about his experiences of football at school (but don't tell Broonieboy what he says) :wink:

Busiest goalkeeper in Edinburgh......every Saturday am!!!!

Live updates: Trail Blazers coach Billups, Miami's Rozier among over 30 arrested in two federal gambling-related investigations.​

Members and associates of organized crime groups were also among those charged in two separate illegal gambling-related cases announced by officials Thursday.

• Miami Heat guard Terry Rozier, Portland Trail Blazers coach Chauncey Billups and former NBA player Damon Jones were among those arrested and allegedly involved in one of the schemes.
  • The Lucchese, Bonanno, Gambino and Genovese mafia families were allegedly involved in backing rigged poker games to scam victims out of hundreds of thousands of dollars, officials announced.