Australia World Cup squad

Hibs Martin Boyle and former striker Jason Cummings both named in Australia's World Cup squad..
Two other former Hibs players Jackson Irvine and Jamie McLaren also included.

From getting on the stage at the Open Goal Hydro show, steaming and dressed as The Joker, then getting let go by Dundee as a result… to going to play at a World Cup. Some turnaround for the Cumdog, brilliant.

Really seems to be loving life too.
Good for him, wee radge.

It's funny how, out of the 3 ex-hibees, we weren't that fussed when they became ex-hibees.

I’d have kept both Cummings and Maclaren, poachers are hard to find and they were both good ones. Reckon they’d both score for fun in the current Hibs team.

Wasn’t arsed about Irvine leaving though.
I was wrong in that we were'nt not fussed when Cummings left, just that we accepted it as inevitable. I'd agree though, that he could do well in the current squad.

I'm not sure about McLaren though. He as never that great without a decent partner, although his back trouble obviously didn't help him toward the end of his time with us.

It's funny how, out of the 3 ex-hibees, we weren't that fussed when they became ex-hibees.
Think we were all sad to see the Cumdog go, the thinking at the time was that he'd "outgrown" Hibs and deserved his move. McLaren I was a bit 'meh' about leaving, as he never hit the heights of his first spell with us. Jackson Irvine I was delighted to see go mainly based on the back of his woeful cup final performance and bad miss in that game!

Excellent!

"Clubs stand to make US$10,000 (around £8714 at the time of writing) for each day the relevant player remains with their national team at the World Cup – including the official preparation period which starts on November 10."

"FIFA is not only rewarding the clubs sending players to the World Cup but all the clubs the relevant player was registered with in the two years prior to the competition. This means that not only do Hibs earn compensation from Martin Boyle’s involvement with Australia but they will also bank the same amount for Jackson Irvine, who spent the second half of the 2020/21 season at Easter Road on a short-term deal and played 21 times, scoring once."

I was wrong in that we were'nt not fussed when Cummings left, just that we accepted it as inevitable. I'd agree though, that he could do well in the current squad.

I'm not sure about McLaren though. He as never that great without a decent partner, although his back trouble obviously didn't help him toward the end of his time with us.

Aye with Cummings there was an air of inevitability about his departure.

Maclaren definitely needed a strike partner, but to me there was no doubt he could score goals. Reckon he’d have found the net regularly playing with Kukharavych.

Aye with Cummings there was an air of inevitability about his departure.

Maclaren definitely needed a strike partner, but to me there was no doubt he could score goals. Reckon he’d have found the net regularly playing with Kukharavych.
Cummings and Irvine had decided they were leaving.
McLaren was unlucky enough to have a back injury and a manager having a melt down after our midfield left.

Excellent!

"Clubs stand to make US$10,000 (around £8714 at the time of writing) for each day the relevant player remains with their national team at the World Cup – including the official preparation period which starts on November 10."

"FIFA is not only rewarding the clubs sending players to the World Cup but all the clubs the relevant player was registered with in the two years prior to the competition. This means that not only do Hibs earn compensation from Martin Boyle’s involvement with Australia but they will also bank the same amount for Jackson Irvine, who spent the second half of the 2020/21 season at Easter Road on a short-term deal and played 21 times, scoring once."

My reading of the compensation is that it will be shared pro rata where a player has played for more than 1 club in the last 2 years.
Hibs owned Boyle most of the last 2 years and Irvine a small part of the last 2 years.
Hearts have 3 present players in the squad.
If Austrailia get knocked out in the group stages there will be £170k compensation for each player whether they play or not.

Based on that £170k per player and pro-rated for time with each club:
Hearts: £213k (Devlin £113k, Atkinson £71k, Rowley £28k)
Hibs: £156k (Boyle £120k, Irvine £35k)