• Show them how it's done, proper

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • Be a pussy til one day you go all Falling Down on the world

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
Here's a wee moan; there's this guy that cycles on my route to work when I drop off the kids, he comes off the pavement then cuts me up. I just let it pass the first time. But, when he's not managed to cut me up prior to getting to the lights, he over takes (stationary) me and then cycles as hard as his little legs (he's actually about 6" taller than me) will carry him just before the lights change. I don't think I'd mind so much if he could actually cycle at a decent speed, but I just end up being stuck behind the inept, misguidedly-competitive pr!ck 'cause I'm not really a road radge.

So, this morning, he misses his cut-me-up opportunity but pulls up beside me at the lights, and overtakes by a bikes length. I decided enough was enough and as he tried to pull away before me, I totally undertook him from the kerbside and left the twat fuming.

I expect he's either gonna be really p!ssed off the next time we meet or behave himself.

Is this behaviour car drivers experience from other drivers? I use to ride a motorbike, on which I reckon you're kinda immune from car vs. car vs. lorry pish. Never legally driven a car on the road other than lessons so unaware of the intricacies of road hate.

More importantly, should we just let these things pass us by?

Should we be more zen and let the wankers be wankers, smilingly safe in the knowledge that we are not one of them?

Thoughts?

More important things to worry about the chief,your story is one of many that makes me glad i don't drive.

You folk really need to chill out behind the wheel at times.

More important things to worry about the chief,your story is one of many that makes me glad i don't drive.

:dunno:

I reckon folk in general are wankers.Case in point:last night coming thru customs at Edinburgh airport, the exit tightens and a wee bottle neck occurs.I'm standing with jnr and slowly waiting our turn when to my right some guy in uniform is trying to squeeze into an ever decreasing spot pulling his wee trolly bag.I advised him that given his substantial girth and the ever smaller area he's trying to occupy, he's either gonna have to knock down a wall or concede he'll have to wait his turn.He tells me he's a pilot and I shouldn't speak to him like that.I tell him I don't care if he's Freddy fuckin Laker and he'll bide his time the bawbag.Queue chuckles from jnr and assorted joe publics and a red faced fat fuck pilot waiting his turn.

Folk are wanks, generally.

PHP:

I was on a bike, not in a car ;)

I read that, that you were in a car. Which made the under taking part very impressive haha

:dunno:

I reckon folk in general are wankers.Case in point:last night coming thru customs at Edinburgh airport, the exit tightens and a wee bottle neck occurs.I'm standing with jnr and slowly waiting our turn when to my right some guy in uniform is trying to squeeze into an ever decreasing spot pulling his wee trolly bag.I advised him that given his substantial girth and the ever smaller area he's trying to occupy, he's either gonna have to knock down a wall or concede he'll have to wait his turn.He tells me he's a pilot and I shouldn't speak to him like that.I tell him I don't care if he's Freddy fuckin Laker and he'll bide his time the bawbag.Queue chuckles from jnr and assorted joe publics and a red faced fat fuck pilot waiting his turn.

Folk are wanks, generally.

The pilot drives a Plane :-P

You get the impression that Pilots think it's still 1960 and they're working for Pan-Am...

I get angry at cyclists sometimes.

I afford them a lot of room but i get the feeling with all the media coverage lately that cyclists seem to think they are invincible and own the road now.

Earlier today I pass a cyclist on great junction street then stop at the lights. They then cycle up beside me and instead of staying there, pull right in front of me into the middle of the lane, the whole queue then had to go through the lights at the cyclists pace until there was a safe passing spot as the cyclist wanted a cars width to them self, piss right off ya bam.

Cyclists don't bother me as I do cycle a bit, its the ones that cycle on the pavement, then on the road, then back on the pavement and then jump thought red lights and a junctions etc that piss me off. If you're gonna use the road, then use it properly.

Agreed.

I afford them a lot of room but i get the feeling with all the media coverage lately that cyclists seem to think they are invincible and own the road now.

Earlier today I pass a cyclist on great junction street then stop at the lights. They then cycle up beside me and instead of staying there, pull right in front of me into the middle of the lane, the whole queue then had to go through the lights at the cyclists pace until there was a safe passing spot as the cyclist wanted a cars width to them self, piss right off ya bam.

That really annoyed me too, as a cyclist. You basically get bike riding road hogs, pissing off all the car drivers and by the time I have to deal with them (the car drivers) they're often already at the end of their tether.

In fact, that guy I mentioned in the OP is one of those guys. Either he's completely arrogant or he has zero spatial awareness.

Is it the done thing nowadays for cyclists to ride 2 or 3 wide when on busy roads? I always thought they were meant to be single file allowing faster moving vehicles to pass.

should've run the **** over . Two twats on scooters cut me up in Dunfermline recently , oh how i laughed when one was giving it large to me and ran straight into a car that had stopped :banana:

should've run the **** over . Two $#@!s on scooters cut me up in Dunfermline recently , oh how i laughed when one was giving it large to me and ran straight into a car that had stopped :banana:

No way? Haha that's brilliant, i'd have been pishing myself !

should've run the **** over . Two $#@!s on scooters cut me up in Dunfermline recently , oh how i laughed when one was giving it large to me and ran straight into a car that had stopped :banana:

hope you stopped and took photos and laughed after informing the arse that he was lucky he wasnt under a lorry.

Agreed.

That really annoyed me too, as a cyclist. You basically get bike riding road hogs, pissing off all the car drivers and by the time I have to deal with them (the car drivers) they're often already at the end of their tether.

In fact, that guy I mentioned in the OP is one of those guys. Either he's completely arrogant or he has zero spatial awareness.

Maybe it's a burd K :coffee:

You should have booted him of his poofy wee bike while you passed him, fuck him he can comment on your driving when he pays insurance and road tax!!!:boxing:

Cyclists piss me off.

I got stopped by the weegie police for going through a red light, if I did it was by a baws hair.

How often do cyclists brazenly break traffic red lights and even worse in my opinion pelican crossing types AND any police nearby just fecking watch them doing it!!!!!

Holyrood Park, there's a cycle path on the pavement - why the fuck don't they use it? Why the fuck do the police just follow the fuckers up the hill at 5mph?

I long for the time when cyclist A meets cyclist B head on as they race round a corner on the pavement.

If you are a good cyclist I think you're outnumbered by the idiots and the cycle Nazis.

Fully support the hope to get more people cycling. Frankly, although too many hills to be perfect, Edinburgh could do with more people on bikes. Some cyclists behave badly; significantly more car drivers behave worse, in my experience. I don't ride a bike myself so not part of some bike mafia. I would just like to see more of Edinburgh - myself included - on a bike.

I agree and I think the council should lead btw example. Like they should get on their bikes ;-)

Depends on the type of cyclist. Living in Holland I have no problem with average joes like me hoping on the bike and cycling to work/shops, but it's the wallopers who put on the tight as feck racing gear and go about pretending their Mark Canvendish that do my tits in.

There is a cycle shop and cafe just down the road from my flat and it's full of these types :giggle:

Throw some pish at them next time to add a bit of realism :giggle: