Full Time: Arabs 1 v 1 Hibs

Time for a visit to Dundee, the home of jute, journalism and jam. Apparently. Trips to Dundee have been rather favourable of late, and I think we could do with yet another morale boosting win to put us onto a consistent run. One game at a time, obviously, but getting the big results over the festive season could be the springboard for the rest of the season. Another massive Hibs support is on their way,

Dundee United under Jim Badlose have been patchy this season - probably where we were a couple of years ago struggling to get a consistent team around a yearly churn of transfers. However, they did pull a big result out on Wednesday against Celtic. Time will tell if that is a sign things are coming together or a hint at just what a car crash Celtic are just now.

Team news I’ve read is that Chaiwa, Obita and Rocky are all off on the African Nations Cup Jolly. Just when the Scottish weather is at its coldest. Aye, okay then.

So, a team, this is what I think SDG will do this week:

Firstly, I think he’ll stick with 3-5-2 ish. I think this is probably the formation to play.

Right Half Chris Cadden, he’s been fine lately, but a little more attacking please

Right sided centre half, O'Hora, he was excellent last week

Middle of the centre halves, Hanley, has to be with Rocky missing

Left sided centre half, Iredale, he’s been up and down of late but I think he’s an easy pick with Obita missing

Left half, with Obita on his hols, Nicky Cadden to come back in.

Defensive midfield Barlaser, hopefully back to the better version of himself.

Defensive midfielder, Josh Mulligan, this is the type of game I think he needs, and I’m sure he’ll boss the midfield.

Attacking midfielder, there can be only Jamie McGrath, our star player of the season.

Up front, I think SDG will stick with the pair from Ibrox - Ellie is a nailed on started when fit and on form, and Bowie is the only striker we’ve got who is big and physical. Is Klidje on his hols too?

Still leaves us with a strong bench - I think Hoilett, Newell, Boyle, Klidje, Campbell can all add something here.

That’s my thoughts - I’m more intersted in hearing yours.

Hibs Forever
For Mark

No sure what nick Nicky, nae Jim Davidson gags now:53:, is in so Jamie might find himself oot on the left. Back 3 pick themselves, gonni be a problem if any of them get injured.
Boyle will start I think. I'd be tempted tae play Campbell behind Bowie and Boyle.

If we are as insipid in the front five as we were against Rangers it would be a massive problem?

Time for a visit to Dundee, the home of jute, journalism and jam. Apparently. Trips to Dundee have been rather favourable of late, and I think we could do with yet another morale boosting win to put us onto a consistent run. One game at a time, obviously, but getting the big results over the festive season could be the springboard for the rest of the season. Another massive Hibs support is on their way,

Dundee United under Jim Badlose have been patchy this season - probably where we were a couple of years ago struggling to get a consistent team around a yearly churn of transfers. However, they did pull a big result out on Wednesday against Celtic. Time will tell if that is a sign things are coming together or a hint at just what a car crash Celtic are just now.

Team news I’ve read is that Chaiwa, Obita and Rocky are all off on the African Nations Cup Jolly. Just when the Scottish weather is at its coldest. Aye, okay then.

Firstly, I think he’ll stick with 3-5-2 ish. I think this is probably the formation to play.

Right Half Chris Cadden, he’s been fine lately, but a little more attacking please

Left sided centre half, Iredale, he’s been up and down of late but I think he’s an easy pick with Obita missing

Defensive midfielder, Josh Mulligan, this is the type of game I think he needs, and I’m sure he’ll boss the midfield.

Attacking midfielder, there can be only Jamie McGrath, our star player of the season.

Up front, I think SDG will stick with the pair from Ibrox - Ellie is a nailed on started when fit and on form, and Bowie is the only striker we’ve got who is big and physical. Is Klidje on his hols too?

Still leaves us with a strong bench - I think Hoilett, Newell, Boyle, Klidje, Campbell can all add something here.

Hibs Forever
For Mark
I don't think Klidje is away, and if he isn't, he should be starting ahead of Youan. We paid a lot of cash for him, and for whatever reason, SDG leaves him on the bench. Give him the entire game and see what he can actually do.

As stated before, I would rather have Campbell on that Hoilett when subs are being made. He brings energy and drive and can score goals too.

I’d bin the 352, it’s not longer effective and teams have sussed us out. I’d go 442, pace upfront and a midfield who run, can pass, and will do the defensive part when needed.

Salinger
Cadden O’Hora Hanley Iredale
Mulligan Barlaser Newell McGrath
Youan Klidje

United have struggled this season, which has surprised me a bit as I thought they played very well against Hibs in the 3-3 game at Easter Road a few months ago.
Beating Celtic should give them a lift, but watching that second half last night I think Albion Rovers would have got the better of them.
Hibs really need to be winning this game, draws are no use.
Won't help us at all having three first team players away for a few weeks, just when we need all hands to the pump.
Will be a hard game, but I think we will win.

2-0 Hibs.

Hibs Forever
For Mark
You forgot Lorraine Kelly, anyway same team as you except Klidje for Youan all day long .
KB scores regularly against tayside teams but DG will probably stick with MB & KB .
Apologies for using initials as my fingers getting sair 😩

Barlaser hasn’t been at the races recently. Is Dylan Levitt available? If so I’d try and play the sort of shape we played in Europe.

Sallinger
O’Hora Hanley Iredale
Cadden Mulligan Levitt Cadden
McGrath
Boyle/Klidje Bowie​

Barlaser hasn’t been at the races recently. Is Dylan Levitt available? If so I’d try and play the sort of shape we played in Europe.

Sallinger
O’Hora Hanley Iredale
McGrath
Boyle/Klidje Bowie​

Newell will be due a start soon too

I’d bin the 352, it’s not longer effective and teams have sussed us out. I’d go 442, pace upfront and a midfield who run, can pass, and will do the defensive part when needed.

Salinger
Youan Klidje
Definitely time for a change in formation. I’d go with that except I’d play Nicky Cadden left midfield so McGrath moves in one and Newell drops out. I’d also play Boyle instead of Youan if he’s fit

Salinger
Youan Klidje
That midfield gives me the fear . Barlasser can’t move , Newell still working to match fitness after 11 months out and McGrath running and getting stuck isn’t him.

Any team we put out has to have Mulligan in centre midfield, he's wasted on the right hand side, he's the only midfielder with a bit of drive about him. First name on the team sheet for me.

I would go :

Sallinger

O'Hora
Hanley
Iredale

C Cadden
Beardy Cadden (if fit)

Mulligan
Barlaser
McGrath

Bowie
Boyle

If Beardy isn't fit then I would change shape to 4-4-2 and go with

Sallinger

C Cadden
O'Hora
Hanley
Iredale

McGrath
Mulligan
Barlaser
Newell

Boyle
Bowie

Don't think Super Joe could play left wing back this early in his recovery from injury, but he played left midfield for years while in the English leagues so could do a job there. Josh Campbell unlucky to miss out for me, but probably my first sub on would be him.

Sallinger
O’Hora Hanley Iredale
McGrath
Boyle/Klidje Bowie​
My problem with Levitt is his inability to look up.
His first pass is usually back!