anyone ever been addicted ...

Tatie

Hamesick Radge
To prescription painkillers?
iv been on co-codamol for bout a year now because of my hip . Operation is now done and new hip a sucess but , now time to stop taking the tablets.
This is day 2 without tablets and ots fekin awful!! It would appear i have a dependecy .
Anymore had similar?

Can you take ibuprofen? That'll help with the pain/headaches.

It won't help with the opioid dependency. I've never been addicted but I've been through periods of using them regularly and the only way I reckon works is cold turkey, same with fags.

You can also stop cold turkey then say I'll have two (or whatever, low dose) once a day, either at night time or in the morning, whenever it's best for you. Break it down like that. This is just my own thoughts on it.

Go to your doctor, or pharmacist, and explain how you feel. They'll be able to sort you properly :-)

Thanks for your input lads . Just don't know what to do for the best .
I'm actually embarrassed by the position i find myself in . Probably to embarrassed to go to doctor.
As i say its been 2 days, but a long dark 2 days. Am normally such a bubbly chap tae !

Can you take ibuprofen? That'll help with the pain/headaches.

It won't help with the opioid dependency. I've never been addicted but I've been through periods of using them regularly and the only way I reckon works is cold turkey, same with fags.

You can also stop cold turkey then say I'll have two (or whatever, low dose) once a day, either at night time or in the morning, whenever it's best for you. Break it down like that. This is just my own thoughts on it.

when you used them regular, did you just stop no problem mate ?

I'm actually embarrassed by the position i find myself in . Probably to embarrassed to go to doctor.
As i say its been 2 days, but a long dark 2 days. Am normally such a bubbly chap tae !

TOO EMBARRASSED!

Doctors shove their fingers up folks bums!

Seriously, when I was in the business addiction to prescription drugs was a real concern for loads of very good reasons. The GPs I spoke to saw it as a happy ending when someone was properly weaned off.

Its sorta contradictory to improve your quality of life with the hip replacement while becoming a miserable git because of this.

They're a shower of miserable bastards too most of the time so go make your doctors day and make him/her smile :-) ... For your own good.

Tatie, man, dinnae be embarrassed.

While I've never had a dependency issue, as someone who did a lot of recreational drugs in my 20s I never used to get how people got addicted to painkillers. That was until I threw my back out in the worst way playing squash one time and the doc gave me industrial strength codeine tablets...

..and I was like "whoa - this stuff is goooood" :giggle:

Seriously - it's perfectly understandable. The things make you feel good, after all. Get yersel along to the quack, dude. You'll feel a whole lot better about it for having at least discussed it with a health professional. :thumbgrin

TOO EMBARRASSED!

Doctors shove their fingers up folks bums!

Seriously, when I was in the business addiction to prescription drugs was a real concern for loads of very good reasons. The GPs I spoke to saw it as a happy ending when someone was properly weaned off.

Its sorta contradictory to improve your quality of life with the hip replacement while becoming a miserable git because of this.

They're a shower of miserable $#@!s too most of the time so go make your doctors day and make him/her smile :-) ... For your own good.

a would jack mate but my wife, who is a nurse, reckons just stopping is the way to go . That's what i mean , don't know what to do for the best .

Normally I wouldn't advocate ignoring Mrs T but I'll take the chance. Go to the Doc mate and ask for advice.

Failing that, I've got about 200 co-codamol that the Docs gave me. To be honest I thought they were pretty shit and didnt touch pain.

Normally I wouldn't advocate ignoring Mrs T but I'll take the chance. Go to the Doc mate and ask for advice.

Failing that, I've got about 200 co-codamol that the Docs gave me. To be honest I thought they were pretty $#@! and didnt touch pain.

lol mate . Think il need to go see doc tbh .

Jack's advice is the best; go to your doc, this is the last thing in the world you should feel embarrassed about!

I love codeine, makes me feel all warm & fuzzy but you soon build up a tolerance and it becomes boring. I find it takes a few days of cold turkey to get over it. I don't have experience of taking them for a long period or for chronic pain. I did go out with a lassie that tore a disk when exercising and got the 60/500 in Oz and could only get the 30/500 when over here and that caused problems because that's half the codeine and if you're used to double it's pish. My sister had a bad back too, she was on dihydrocodeine, the nightmare/dream-come-true with them is that you can pretty much take as many as you want due to the lack of paracetamol, took her years to get off them. So tough when she had a repeat prescription.

In summary; don't listen to me. Go to your doctor (listen to that last bit).

Failing that, I've got about 200 co-codamol that the Docs gave me. To be honest I thought they were pretty shit and didnt touch pain.

I'll take them off your hands for, possibly the dodgiest, donation to charity!

Jack's advice is the best; go to your doc, this is the last thing in the world you should feel embarrassed about!

I love codeine, makes me feel all warm & fuzzy but you soon build up a tolerance and it becomes boring. I find it takes a few days of cold turkey to get over it. I don't have experience of taking them for a long period or for chronic pain. I did go out with a lassie that tore a disk when exercising and got the 60/500 in Oz and could only get the 30/500 when over here and that caused problems because that's half the codeine and if you're used to double it's pish. My sister had a bad back too, she was on dihydrocodeine, the nightmare/dream-come-true with them is that you can pretty much take as many as you want due to the lack of paracetamol, took her years to get off them. So tough when she had a repeat prescription.

In summary; don't listen to me. Go to your doctor (listen to that last bit).

I'll take them off your hands for, possibly the dodgiest, donation to charity!

ha ha ha , ( dub the dealer).
Got an appointment this very efternin .

Been to quack . UTTER WASTE O TIME am sorry to say . Told her how i was and she associated my withdrawal wi my infection in my scar ( which is being treated) . Told me i shouldn't have stopped taking my painkillers.

Would hardly let me speak . I'm gutted!!

That's $#@! Tatie. There's nothing worse than coming out of the docs surgery feeling more pissed off than when you went in. Not sure how painkillers treat a scar infection but there you go.

she totally ignored WHY i went and concentrated on my wound , which is being treated.
MRS T won an award for her wound care WH , and she says its much better than it was . IV only been taking the antibiotics for 2 days ffs . All doctor said was i shouldn't have stopped taking them and that was that .

The whole point is , I WANT TO STOP TAKING THEM but im struggling. Needless to say , MRS T ain't a happy bunny.

Sorry for ranting wannabe .

she totally ignored WHY i went and concentrated on my wound , which is being treated.
MRS T won an award for her wound care WH , and she says its much better than it was . IV only been taking the antibiotics for 2 days ffs . All doctor said was i shouldn't have stopped taking them and that was that .

The whole point is , I WANT TO STOP TAKING THEM but im struggling. Needless to say , MRS T ain't a happy bunny.

Sorry for ranting wannabe .
Get a second opinion from another doctor or get to one of the clinics.

I had a few doses of morphine after an accident years ago and I could see what all the fuss is about, oot ma nut for days.

To prescription painkillers?
iv been on co-codamol for bout a year now because of my hip . Operation is now done and new hip a sucess but , now time to stop taking the tablets.
This is day 2 without tablets and ots fekin awful!! It would appear i have a dependecy .
Anymore had similar?

Quite the opposite here mate. Been on prescription painkillers for two weeks now and can't wait to get off them cos they're bunging me up and I have to take laxatives too now - also on antibiotics for an infection. Tried stopping the painkillers but too painful and I'm dying for a right good shite! :cry

Get a second opinion from another doctor or get to one of the clinics.

I had a few doses of morphine after an accident years ago and I could see what all the fuss is about, oot ma nut for days.

a might just do that mate . Got 2 doses o morphine after ma op and a Ken what your saying.

Quite the opposite here mate. Been on prescription painkillers for two weeks now and can't wait to get off them cos they're bunging me up and I have to take laxatives too now - also on antibiotics for an infection. Tried stopping the painkillers but too painful and I'm dying for a right good $#@!e! :cry

now i defo understand what your saying mate . I'm also on antibiotics for my wound infection. Should stop the painkillers asap mate because in the long run it's a nightmare in my experience.

Morphine is magic. I woke up after an op still well under the influence and started running round the ward trying to get all the other guys to come to the party then hid under a bed with my bottle of 'gin' when the nurses started chasing me. I don't even drink gin! Apparently it was hilarious :-)

Hoppy! Get yourself back to the docs, after the wound has cleared up. Try another doc too. Maybe the reason you got an appointment so quickly was because none of the regular patients like her, it happens.

Morphine is magic. I woke up after an op still well under the influence and started running round the ward trying to get all the other guys to come to the party then hid under a bed with my bottle of 'gin' when the nurses started chasing me. I don't even drink gin! Apparently it was hilarious :-)

Hoppy! Get yourself back to the docs, after the wound has cleared up. Try another doc too. Maybe the reason you got an appointment so quickly was because none of the regular patients like her, it happens.

just canny believe she wouldn't really discuss THEE reason i was there jacko mate . What an utter letdown .

Sounds like she bullied you a bit there Mr T. Doctors are like that, Ive got sore legs and the Doc sent me for an x-ray which showed nothing [no surprise there if the problem isnt in a bone because thats what the x-ray shows]. The Doctor gave me gel to rub on my legs and made an appointment to see their physio [who is useless so I didnt go] despite my telling her I didnt want an appointment and explaining why. I'm going to go back and tell her I want a proper scan but she will try to steer me back toward the physio.

I know exactly what your saying mate . All I wanted was to be told was how best to come off the meds , but this joker gave me a letter to go the ERI so some random nurse can have a look at ma wound , which I told her, and she knew, that it is being treated with antibiotics.
I fekin dispare sometimes mate .

Dub, it took me 4 years of pestering the quacks to send me for an MRI scan due to serious back pain. Some days I could hardly walk up a flight of stairs and I was a liability on the front line in my job. I had also gone privately to a chiropractor and hospital physio without success.
Turned out, after getting the scan, a spinal disc is fucked (without getting too technical) and I'm now off front line duties.

Dub, it took me 4 years of pestering the quacks to send me for an MRI scan due to serious back pain. Some days I could hardly walk up a flight of stairs and I was a liability on the front line in my job. I had also gone privately to a chiropractor and hospital physio without success.
Turned out, after getting the scan, a spinal disc is $#@!ed (without getting too technical) and I'm now off front line duties.

that's how i started mate . Back pain , x-ray , told it's wear and tear and given painkillers.

Was on morphine, tablet and liquid for about 6 months earlier this year. Back pain disappeared a few weeks after radiotherapy so stopped the morphine. BAD move! Lasted a week before the missus dragged me back to the doctor and got me told to get back on it and come off it gradually. Freaky times. Now off it thankfully. Not sleeping as well though!:smoke:

totally get what your saying mate . How long did it take to gradually come off it ? If you don't mind me asking.

I was on 8 X 30mg a day plus as much liquid as I wanted. He cut the liquid right away, then a week on 4 X 30, a week on 2 X 30 then a week on 2 X 10. The next week was 1 X 10 then every second day. All in all I reckon 7 or 8 weeks. I have only relapsed twice and had a swig when I couldn't sleep and the ibuprofen and paracetamol were just not doing the business. Been three weeks now though so fair happy. Good luck.

it's the sleep or lack of it and the boredom because im not working that gets me down . Good luck to you also mate .

Start playing Candy Crush. That'll keep you occupied for weeks! :thumbgrin

ha ha ha ha . What e terrible idea WH . Every time I

I go on FB , there's requests from folk about that game.

V V annoying but cheers for the thought pal .

WHat about Solitaire then? I could play that for hours. :)

I think MD should visit you more pal , lol . You've to much time on your hands . Kinda like me i suppose.

I have been watching all the antique stuff on telly . Quite like that.

I think MD should visit you more pal , lol . You've to much time on your hands . Kinda like me i suppose.

I have been watching all the antique stuff on telly . Quite like that.

Why am I getting dragged into this? :giggle:

lol . Only in a good way mate . If WH has got time for they heed nippin games , she should spend that time wi a young chap like yesel D . Lol .

Can you tell am bored oot ma nut .