Another indicstor we are getting old.

Davy

Young folks haven't heard of words like Olonker and bamboo and instead have replaced them for new words, which I heard on the radio but forgot them almost immediately. Except foe a Karen that is which I have heard of, but had little idea what it meant. Bit of a nosey busybody or something like that.

So do you feel old when you overhear youngsters on a bus, at the gym etc? And @Doc Shrink, remember you have a restraining order so this isn't an invitation to visit playgrounds

I was hit by the double whammy of working in a new culture (Oz) in my late 30s and dealing with the young team workforce.

They’re irritatingly positive (I think this more an Aussie thing) but on the flip side utterly petrified of the phone - making or receiving calls - one benefit of working in the cesspit that is sales means that stuff doesn’t phase you so having the confidence to do that with a Scottish accent means you can become astonishingly respected in the workplace having actually achieved nada 😅

I was hit by the double whammy of working in a new culture (Oz) in my late 30s and dealing with the young team workforce.

They’re irritatingly positive (I think this more an Aussie thing) but on the flip side utterly petrified of the phone - making or receiving calls - one benefit of working in the cesspit that is sales means that stuff doesn’t phase you so having the confidence to do that with a Scottish accent means you can become astonishingly respected in the workplace having actually achieved nada 😅
Apparently it's a micro aggression to call someone without messaging first!

According to the splendid Blue Lights series on BBC , on the contacting a girl or boy you fancy by text is weak, phoning direct is strong.
Fucked if I know, 50 years ago at the dancing with words inaudible due to the music, it was a simple body language on the floor with one or the other slinking away during a dance. Message heard load and clear.

According to the splendid Blue Lights series on BBC , on the contacting a girl or boy you fancy by text is weak, phoning direct is strong.
Fucked if I know, 50 years ago at the dancing with words inaudible due to the music, it was a simple body language on the floor with one or the other slinking away during a dance. Message heard load and clear.

I saw that. Assumed the writers were a) young uns or b) advised by young uns. Will check in with young uns as to veracity.

PS Blue Lights was great and I think the characters had really moved on.

Who remembers the first time they were called mister?

Late teens and a laddie shouted "kick the baw back mister". 😔

I get talked to with the polite version of 'you' (u) instead of the everyday one (jij or je) by all and sundry (like tu and vous in French).

And am beginning to dislike youngsters who don't use the polite one.... 😠

Haarlem
What would be the equivelant over here in Edinburgh?

🤣 ah right. So how do the Dutch say here you ya *&*^

We've no got a pub in Moredun anymore mate.
The Robins Nest but that's full of Inch cvnts 😉

You'll need to explain to be fair as whatever whooshed has whooshed me by.

Does it still have the skittle alley?

Na that went years ago. The auld bar is now the food bit and the lounge is now the bar.

All we have is the Nest ot Mitchell's up in Gilmerton.

What you said was fine in English. You only have one 'you' in most forms of English. Respect is given by other ways of addressing folk.

You would never normally say, 'do fück off my dear sir', or 'please accept my apologies, ya wee shïte'. I guess every lingo has its rules to show respect and disrespect based on... random linguistic and cultural memes?

but on the flip side utterly petrified of the phone - making or receiving calls - one benefit of working in the cesspit that is sales means that stuff doesn’t phase you

This is me 😅

35 now, started in this at 30.
Hated answering the phone, so thought everyone hated it.

Now I'll phone anyone about anything!

No idea what Olonker is?
Bamboo is a plant! How do you make a new word for that!?

One thing I notice myself doing is saying things like’go on son’at the football. I remember saying to someone back in the day‘I’m not your fucking son!’now I’m doing it.I’ve also got a guy serving me in Scotmid Restalrig Road calls me’Sir’; I feel like saying’I’ve not been knighted and would turn it down if I were asked‘thankfully the guy seems to have given up.

These def were the best means of communication

Young folks haven't heard of words like Olonker and bamboo and instead have replaced them for new words, which I heard on the radio but forgot them almost immediately. Except foe a Karen that is which I have heard of, but had little idea what it meant. Bit of a nosey busybody or something like that.

So do you feel old when you overhear youngsters on a bus, at the gym etc? And @Doc Shrink, remember you have a restraining order so this isn't an invitation to visit playgrounds
When your blind as a bat without reading glasses, insist on predictive text and use tiny keys on your phone , then think it is a good idea not to proof read before you send. 🫥

Plonker I am in a world of bampots

Wow predictive text almost sent tampons for bampot. That would be another type of insult 😆

My brother has a copy of first time anal....on vhs😂... sent me a what's app saying is this any good to you.... if that's not a sign of getting old I don't know what is

One thing I notice myself doing is saying things like’go on son’at the football. I remember saying to someone back in the day‘I’m not your fucking son!’now I’m doing it.I’ve also got a guy serving me in Scotmid Restalrig Road calls me’Sir’; I feel like saying’I’ve not been knighted and would turn it down if I were asked‘thankfully the guy seems to have given up.
You’re a 24x7 kinda guy Moaty!