Another Gun Thread

SuperTortolano

Been pondering buying a gun recently, and finally decided to set the wheels in motion. The point of this thread is, I couldn't quite believe how easy it was to purchase a gun in the States. Basically I went to the police station with my driving licence and green card, and they ran a background check. Signed a few forms, paid $5, and that was it. They gave me a piece of paper that gives me 30 days to purchase any semi automatic handgun, or Rifle. Once purchased I take it to the police station, and register it.

I was shocked, no test, questions, nothing. I have ZERO experiences with guns, but can go buy most any gun and ammo. I stopped in to one gun shop that was heaving. I asked the guy a few questions, about different calibers, and loading, but he was very short, and didn't help much. Walked out without buying anything. It looks easy when you watch it on TV, just bang in a magazine, and pull back the top piece.

Still not bought anything yet, but did take a quick class with a qualified retired cop. He showed me the basics about safety and how to shoot a gun. Shot four different guns, and some of those bastards have some kick.

Anyway the point is, they really need to change some of the gun laws. I know they are talking about banning high power rifles, but they have to start with tightening up on people buying them. The person might have a clean record, but are on medication, and serious anti depressants. There should be more in debts background checks, and some sort of test they take. Its far too easy to buy such a dangerous weapon.

Been pondering buying a gun recently, and finally decided to set the wheels in motion. The point of this thread is, I couldn't quite believe how easy it was to purchase a gun in the States. Basically I went to the police station with my driving licence and green card, and they ran a background check. Signed a few forms, paid $5, and that was it. They gave me a piece of paper that gives me 30 days to purchase any semi automatic handgun, or Rifle. Once purchased I take it to the police station, and register it.

I was shocked, no test, questions, nothing. I have ZERO experiences with guns, but can go buy most any gun and ammo. I stopped in to one gun shop that was heaving. I asked the guy a few questions, about different calibers, and loading, but he was very short, and didn't help much. Walked out without buying anything. It looks easy when you watch it on TV, just bang in a magazine, and pull back the top piece.

Still not bought anything yet, but did take a quick class with a qualified retired cop. He showed me the basics about safety and how to shoot a gun. Shot four different guns, and some of those bastards have some kick.

Anyway the point is, they really need to change some of the gun laws. I know they are talking about banning high power rifles, but they have to start with tightening up on people buying them. The person might have a clean record, but are on medication, and serious anti depressants. There should be more in debts background checks, and some sort of test they take. Its far too easy to buy such a dangerous weapon.

That really is nuts - no wonder there have been so many incidents in recent times.

Interestingly enough, New York have become the first state to tighten their laws regarding the background checks to try and prevent people with a mental illness from getting a gun.

You must live in one of the more difficult states to buy a gun.

As you know I work in health and monitor what's happening around the globe. I have trouble thinking the gun lobby can be so powerful they can outdo some of these;

Groups respond to school massacre.

Spurred by the Sandy Hook Elementary School shootings, several prominent medical groups that regard gun violence as a public health problem have issued statements and a new organization has formed to counter the National Rifle Association's ability to block remedial legislation.

**The American College of Emergency Physiciansa longtime advocate for stricter gun-control legislationcalled for a ban on both assault weapons and high-capacity ammunition cartridges as well as increased funding for mental-health services and funding for firearms injury-prevention research.

**The American Academy of Family Physicians supports strong enforcement of existing laws on the manufacture, sale and possession of guns; supporting legislation requiring the use of trigger locks; and opposing the private ownership of assault weapons.

**The American Academy of Pediatrics advocates regulation of the manufacture, sale, purchase, ownership, and use of firearms; a ban on semiautomatic assault weapons; and the strongest possible regulations of handguns for civilian use.

**The American Medical Association, which has been active in this area more than 20 years, supports appropriate legislation that would restrict the sale and private ownership of large-clip, high-rate-of-fire automatic and semiautomatic firearms, or any weapon that is modified or redesigned to operate as a large-clip, high-rate-of-fire automatic or semiautomatic weapon. The AMA also opposes state laws prohibiting physicians from asking patients about guns in their home.

**Former Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and her husband Mark Kelley, with help from New York's billionaire mayor Michael Bloomberg, have launched Americans for Responsible Solutions, a political action group intended to raise the funds necessary to balance the influence of the gun lobby and to "line up squarely behind leaders who will stand up for what's right."

If anyone can be bothered I can provide links to further information but personnally this is probably enough to get the flavor :giggle:

Even more scarier, is you can buy a pump action shotgun, with no liscence. You can walk in to a Walmart and buy one, no questions. If I want to carry a gun and get a concealed weapons permit, that's not much harder. Take an 8 hour course, and that's it. No test, just take the course with a professional.

These are the problems that should be getting tackled first. A 21 year old kid, could be LEGALLY armed, walking the street with little to no training.

Can I ask why you want to own a gun mate?

Just to keep in the house, and fire it at the gun range. I know the chances of someone breaking in to your house are slim, but if they did, they probably would be armed.
I was ałways kinda on the fence about it, but with the gun laws getting looked at, thought I'd do it now.

I know the chances of someone breaking in to your house are slim, but if they did, they probably would be armed.
I was ałways kinda on the fence about it, but with the gun laws getting looked at, thought I'd do it now.
Glad i live here,must be shit having to think like that.

Apparently gun massacres usually happen where states have stricter controls. If this is true and whatever the connection. If any, it suggests controls are not sufficient to address this.

SuperT and jarko, of you're being serious, why do you want guns - if I may be so bold?

Whenever I'm in the States I enjoy a visit to the firing range in the same way a golfist enjoys playing their sport.
I'm not into having one on me at all times though as it's more likely to bring trouble than prevent it.
I was also anti-gun up until the day I first took aim and fired.
Don't get me wrong, I'm glad we don't have a gun culture, my attitude is "when in Rome".

Main reason is for protection in the house, if there's ever an intruder. The main reason is it is highly likely he will be armed. Also there is a local gun range to practice, and shoot. That will be something different to do now and again.
The strong talks of banning guns made my mind up. Been on the fence about buying a gun for a few years. If they ban them, I would have no choice. If the ban goes through, what you already own will be grandfathered in.

don't know how available they are in the states but my hand pistol of choice would be a browning 9mm

can't push this point enough though, practice practice and practice and practice some more the basic safety rules, do it as routine, pick it up, check it is clear, clean it check it is clear, use it then check it is clear, just get in the habit so you always know what state the weapon is in, you can buy practice rounds that don't fire, practice all drills with these and not live ammo

Glad i live here,must be shit having to think like that.

You don't have to think like that :tuttut:

I've lived in the States for 16 years, never considered a gun, never felt threatened.

In fact, I'm mair concerned on my trips home that I'll get stabbed by some wee ned in Leith Walk. :fyi:

Im glad I live here, I know it's shit living like that :giggle:

I've lived in the States for 16 years, never considered a gun, never felt threatened.

In fact, I'm mair concerned on my trips home that I'll get stabbed by some wee ned in Leith Walk. :fyi:

I feel safer in Minneapolis than I do in Tranent.

I don't feel threatened, or ever think that someone will break in while I'm sleeping, but if they do, chances are they will be armed.
My mindset has changed since being here. I don't feel scared or threatened, but I am aware of the threat a gun can have. Back home if some halfwit cuts me up on the road, I'd be calling him all the wankers under the sun. Being here I've learned to let it go, on the slim chance its some armed lunatic.
Same with getting in to an argument with someone, you just never know if they have a gun. Back home the chances are slim to none, so its never an issue.

Agreed. I'm more wary of getting jumped on a night out in Edinburgh city center.
That's the point though,Worst case scenario in Edinburgh you get stabbed or jumped.
Worse case scenario in Bulletville USA is a gun to the head.

You don't get folk in Edinburgh buying big knives in case a robbery happens but in the US folk are actually buying Guns in case other folk come with Guns,where does it stop?

That's the point though,Worst case scenario in Edinburgh you get stabbed or jumped.

You don't get folk in Edinburgh buying big knives in case a robbery happens but in the US folk are actually buying Guns in case other folk come with Guns,where does it stop?

Well it stopped with me :bbb:

I don't feel threatened, or ever think that someone will break in while I'm sleeping, but if they do, chances are they will be armed.

I'm contemplating getting a firearm too. But it's not for home protection or because I feel threatened, I just feel like exercising my constitutional right. I have a baseball bat for other purposes.

My mindset has changed since being here. I don't feel scared or threatened, but I am aware of the threat a gun can have. Back home if some halfwit cuts me up on the road, I'd be calling him all the wankers under the sun. Being here I've learned to let it go, on the slim chance its some armed lunatic.

I'm the same, I rarely react if another driver does something daft. I still do occasionally but I tend not to.

I wonder how many people living in Edinburgh feel the need to buy a gun just incase a mad motha fuka breaks into their house while armed with a gun:dunno:

This place is too far gone to ban guns. What they need to do, is tighten up on who is allowed to legally own a gun. I'd suggest a 5 day course, plus full background and medical check. Also at the end of the course, there should be a written, and gun handling test. Fail it, and you can't apply for six months, and redo the test. The cost would be covered by the person taking the course.

If they start banning guns, it will play in to the criminals hands who illegally have guns.

I don't see that as being the worst case scenario. The worst case scenario I see is a bunch of neds seeing me walking along the street alone and stomping on my head until I am either in a coma or dead. I've seen some sickening CCTV footage of violence where the neds take liberties. All it takes is one punch and it could be fatal. I have more fear of that happening to me on a visit to the UK than anything in the 20 years I have been in the USA.

It is something I think about but I do not fear it. I think about being hit from a stray bullet which happens with alarming frequency in the mean streets. But I don't fear confronting a burglar in the house or give too much thought to it.

I don't buy that as the primary reason people purchase a weapon. It may be the reason they state, but I am skeptical of that claim.

This place is too far gone to ban guns. What they need to do, is tighten up on who is allowed to legally own a gun. I'd suggest a 5 day course, plus full background and medical check. Also at the end of the course, there should be a written, and gun handling test. Fail it, and you can't apply for six months, and redo the test. The cost would be covered by the person taking the course.
That seems a decent start,make the test 500 dollars or some other prohibitively high amount and it excludes half the population straight away.

If they start banning guns, it will play in to the criminals hands who illegally have guns.
We have that here already,we usually just try to arrest them or they get shot :thumbgrin

Meanwhile in Scotland we are going to probably end up with airrifles being banned or licensed.

You know because wee neds who go about shooting people with airrifles they found in their attic will really give a fuck about bans or getting a license.

Besides most of them just go out stabbing and bottling people anyways.

I guess I fall very much in the middle when it comes to banning things. I don't believe certain tools should be readily avaliable but similarly some of those which are banned out right in Scotland shouldn't be.

At the end of the day if some nutter wants to kill someone, or many people, they will do so regardless of bans.

What they need to do, is tighten up on who is allowed to legally own a gun. I'd suggest a 5 day course, plus full background and medical check. Also at the end of the course, there should be a written, and gun handling test. Fail it, and you can't apply for six months, and redo the test. The cost would be covered by the person taking the course.

I think that is a reasonable starting point. But there is no way of knowing, for certain, who are the bampots that will go on a a mass killing spree which just happened. The mass shootings are pretty rare in the grand scheme of things compared to the everyday deaths caused by guns but it is the mass shooting that get people into a lather.

the USA is the one of the very few places I have been shot at, in fact no the only place the other one was a nutter celebrating a wedding with an AK47

but saying that I don't believe I was being targeted properly in the USA it was just wild shots from an automatic weapon being fired in our general direction in a woodland area, but some of the shots were scarily close and I was only there six weeks

the USA is the one of the very few places I have been shot at, in fact no the only place the other one was a nutter celebrating a wedding with an AK47

but saying that I don't believe I was being targeted properly in the USA it was just wild shots from an automatic weapon being fired in our general direction in a woodland area, but some of the shots were scarily close and I was only there six weeks

But not as scarily as a night out in Edinburgh seemingly:coffee:

:phewa night out in edinburgh is nerve jangling:shock:

Like any other city i have drunk in tbf or read about to be honest
But i dont buy this stuff that there is more mindless violence in the UK than the good ol US of A, which it seems this thread was starting to pertain to.....

Same with getting in to an argument with someone, you just never know if they have a gun. Back home the chances are slim to none, so its never an issue.

I totally agree with your comments about driving here - my wife soon put me straight on that when I was glaring at some shady looking dude who'd honked his horn at me when driving in downtown LA. Same goes for when I'm out pushing the bairns in the stroller across a crosswalk and some erse makes a turn without checking for pedestrians. Back in Edinburgh I'd have booted the car but here I just let it go.

It's also true that there's a high chance someone breaking in would be armed but I don't agree the answer is to have your own gun. As you say, the chances of a break-in are quite slim so having a gun just means you have a potentially lethal weapon in your house that could end up getting used in a domestic dispute or a domestic accident (the bairn gets hold of it or some drunken fool visiting me from edinburgh gets hold of it would be my main worries). You may say that you would have it safely locked away so that no accidents could happen - in that case wouldn't that make it pretty useless in the scenario of an armed intruder as you wouldn't be able to get it quick enough? I'd also just be scared that at some point I'd mistake noises for an intruder and then risk blasting away the wife / kids or even the mother-in-law by accident.

Like any other city i have drunk in tbf or read about to be honest
But i dont buy this stuff that there is more mindless violence in the UK than the good ol US of A, which it seems this thread was starting to pertain to.....
aye I know I was being sarcastic:rascal: never had any bother in Edinburgh, or any other city for that matter, well none that merited a gun,

I am not a fan of guns as it happens, but if the OP wants to have one then I encourage training and safety all the way, I can't push that point enough, I used to keep an air rifle but got rid of as soon as my laddie took an interest, as I wasn't home enough to keep an eye on it all

aye I know I was being sarcastic:rascal: never had any bother in Edinburgh, or any other city for that matter, well none that merited a gun,

I am not a fan of guns as it happens, but if the OP wants to have one then I encourage training and safety all the way, I can't push that point enough, I used to keep an air rifle but got rid of as soon as my laddie took an interest, as I wasn't home enough to keep an eye on it all

Oops, never read you right there Stu:doh, my namesake:thumbgrin