Findlayhibby
What a time to have a name.It wasnae me I promise.I'm not the devil and I didnae go to hell.Just had a massive panic attack, been down that road before.
You are either drinking too much, or not enoughWhat a time to have a name.It wasnae me I promise.I'm not the devil and I didnae go to hell.Just had a massive panic attack, been down that road before.
The big problem is I'm not getting enough sleep.I tell myself 'tonight I'm getting to my bed at half 9' and here I am sitting up watching question time.You are either drinking too much, or not enough
Like Angus, it will all, blow over. Hang in there, you’re strong.
Radge, but strong![]()
Moaty, I am fortunate that I don’t suffer from anything like you are dealing with. However, I did used to spend years on the road on my tod with work, and sitting staring at walls in some shitty travel lodge, did really get me down, albeit in the everyday rather than clinical sense.The big problem is I'm not getting enough sleep.I tell myself 'tonight I'm getting to my bed at half 9' and here I am sitting up watching question time.
Good for you, but tbh assuming you have a smart phone, it’s much easier to just download. Audible is I think around 8 quid a month for one book per month (which are much more expensive if you just buy individually) with a bunch of free books as well. I’ve just checked and a bunch of Thomas Hardy are free once you have that membership fee sunk.That's a good idea.I've actually got a cassete player/mp3 converter.I think I've got some Sue Townsend and some Thomas Hardy.I'll dig them out.
I listen to podcasts every night before sleep. And I'm usually asleep very quickly. Love The Rest Is History.Good for you, but tbh assuming you have a smart phone, it’s much easier to just download. Audible is I think around 8 quid a month for one book per month (which are much more expensive if you just buy individually) with a bunch of free books as well. I’ve just checked and a bunch of Thomas Hardy are free once you have that membership fee sunk.
Spotify, if you have it for music, has now got a bunch of audio books as well for no additional cost (tiny range compared to audible though). That said I am aware of your socialist principles - though you should give yourself a break here - so should note that audible is the audio wing of Amazon.
This is an alternative for sure. As long as Moaty avoids all the political ones that will have him mentally compiling a response rather than nodding off !I listen to podcasts every night before sleep. And I'm usually asleep very quickly. Love The Rest Is History.
A Cowshed podcast!I could perhaps narrate a selection of my less antagonising but nonetheless windy posts. That would send somebody on a ching binge to sleep.
The greatest rock n roll album by the greatest rock n roll band.Stick some vintage bluesy rock n roll on - I'd suggest Powerage by ACDC and let your namesake rock your blues away.
I’m assuming you have a device with headphones which connects to the internet?That's a good idea.I've actually got a cassete player/mp3 converter.I think I've got some Sue Townsend and some Thomas Hardy.I'll dig them out.
Agree with this, Moaty - get Audible on a free 30-day trial and you will get 2 or 3 audiobooks to keep permanently for nowt. And sometimes they do the offer again so you can get more at no cost to you whatsoever. I'm on another 30 day trial and currently enjoying Alan Partridge "From the Oasthouse Series 1" - very funny but also relaxing.Good for you, but tbh assuming you have a smart phone, it’s much easier to just download. Audible is I think around 8 quid a month for one book per month (which are much more expensive if you just buy individually) with a bunch of free books as well. I’ve just checked and a bunch of Thomas Hardy are free once you have that membership fee sunk.
Spotify, if you have it for music, has now got a bunch of audio books as well for no additional cost (tiny range compared to audible though). That said I am aware of your socialist principles - though you should give yourself a break here - so should note that audible is the audio wing of Amazon.
Don’t get librivox, that’s an anagram of ibrox vilMoaty, I am fortunate that I don’t suffer from anything like you are dealing with. However, I did used to spend years on the road on my tod with work, and sitting staring at walls in some shitty travel lodge, did really get me down, albeit in the everyday rather than clinical sense.
What really helped me, especially with sleep which as you say makes everything 10x worse, was audiobooks. They really helped me to drift off and I didn’t spend a lot on them because I had to rewind them every day as they’d sent me to sleep and I’d literally lost the plot lol
I recommend you give it a try - and don’t ffs select some aggravator like John Pilger on the Middle East, or the selected writings of Antonio Gramsci.
Get a nice middle of the road ‘airport novel’ that doesn’t require enormous concentration and give it a try. There are free services like librivox but tbh you are better going with the professionals on audible. Alternatively, my missus who has difficulty sleeping and a bit of tinnitus which exacerbates that as it comes to the fore in the quiet, swears by these ‘asmr’ things you get on everything from YouTube to Spotify.
She listens to things like a sound recording of a steam train chuffing its way for hours, and stuff like that. When she puts it on I find some of it a pain in the hole myself - she has one of somebody polishing shoes or something which is really irritating tbh- but others like the train do me in well before her. Perhaps worth a try if the sleeping is a real problem for you.
Ooooh, we're onto something here...A Cowshed podcast!
Just search "soothing sounds" on youtube, you'll find a ... plethora!I’m assuming you have a device with headphones which connects to the internet?
There are some wonderful hypnotic/sleep inducing vids on you tube, which relax and talk you into a sleep. I was sceptical, but they worked, mostly, for me when I was struggling. I also took herbal night time capsules, which may or may not have been placebo, but they done me no harm, and I think they helped.
Getting up early, and refusing to cat nap, and burning energy, is the way forward when you want to get to bed early for a decent sleep. It sounds easy, and I’m pretty sure I’m telling you how to suck eggs, but that’s my advice for the night.
Pick your faviroute Hibs 11, I’ve never got passed number 8, it’s tiring, then you’ll fall asleep .
Sweet dreams![]()