Agree or disagree?

hibadelic

Football forums were better when they were the preserve of lazy office staff and geeks. Discuss...

For the record I think they were.

You mean it's not any more?

Fuck, I better get some work done then

It's a total exaggeration anyway but you know what I'm saying ie. not so long ago when few people had internet connections in their houses, the chat was of a far higher quality.

Agree. Probably a bit of the rose-tinteds coming in but some of the best days were the very early ones. Part of that was that for me it was so great to be suddenly able to tune in to what fans back home (and all over the world) were thinking and saying.

Many things are so much superior now but I kind of miss those days.

I don't really have a great frame of reference, having only read messageboards this decade, but I reckon most forums - of any description - would be improved if you removed half the quality posters but also most of the lobotomised fuckheads. Which I imagine is how it was way back when.

Itz bcoz mr ppl uz txt spk n cnt spl words propa

LOLZ

Seriously though, everyone these days has an internet connection so we get thoughts from idiots, nutjobs and immature people (obviously some younger posters cant help this) which just adds nothing but annoyance to the board, leaving to better posters leaving and an irreversible downwards spiral of quality.

Apologies for the text speak

On behalf of those who are neither lazy office staff or geek, I wholeheartedly apologise for ruining this, and other, fine website.

Suicide.jpg

What a fucking picture BOB!

I'm no really sure what else to add I'm afraid.

The bounce, particularly the cowshed is a great place for anyone to come IMO.

It's not cliquey, your pish chat is generally tolerated until you get out of line and put the bounce in jeopardy and there's a wide variety of opinions on offer.

I dunno what the bounce or other forums were like back in the day - I mind there used to be a ticker that recorded the amount of time it had been online - I do know that I gravitated here because the 606 forums that I stumbled across on the BBC when I was looking for other hibs chat from those in the know and the watch this space moments were full of mindless bickering among people across all walks of scottish football.

BTW....Big up the lazy office worker and geek MASSIVE:thumbgrin

Though i suppose no intellectual prols money is as good as anyones when it comes to paying for servers etc :hmmm
I imagine the admin board is as busy as fuck these days :rollfloor:rollfloor

Though i suppose no intellectual prols money is as good as anyones when it comes to paying for servers etc :hmmm
I imagine the admin board is as busy as fuck these days :rollfloor:rollfloor

No like ye tae throw in the auld hand grenade now and again Forza :doh:hmmm

:yas: It's just like old times.

Actually, maybe it wasn't that great :lol:

Seriously, no offence meant to anyone here, there are great posters who have appeared recently of course but things have definitely changed - on the internet as a whole, not just the Bounce.

Life moves pretty fast...

No like ye tae throw in the auld hand grenade now and again Forza :doh:hmmm

Aye you've said so on numerous occasions right enough though i still don't know what it actually means . Is it grammatically correct ? :rollfloor

Itz bcoz mr ppl uz txt spk n cnt spl words propa

LOLZ

Seriously though, everyone these days has an internet connection so we get thoughts from idiots, nutjobs and immature people

And old retired farts like me, not that I am exempting myself from any of the three categories you mention!

I've seen a grand total of one messageboard not have a serious decline in the standard of posting in the last few years. And the only reason for that is that it's totally elitist and isn't open to general registration. To be able to post on the board you have to have demonstrated that you are able to write well and are interesting.

FWIW I reckon there's probably more good posts put up on here on a daily basis nowadays than 5 years ago. Unfortunately there is also about 50 times the amount of sub-literate drivel to wade through before getting to it.

The Cowshed isn't what it used to be. It's kind of made the Pie Stand redundant recently....

I used to love reading these fascinating debates on here. I'd make a brew and come on the cowshed and learn from real heavyweight debaters.

Unfortunately some of these heavyweights are gone and the ones remaining appear to have nobody to debate with.

However, the Bounce is still a very good read most days. I do feel though that particularly on Hibs it's very difficult these days to be honest if that's going to lead you to being critical.

Maybe it's just my character but i find it much easier to contribute to a moan through trying to be constructive rather than 'Yeah i agree isn't it great' threads....

It's funny because i think folk who know me or meet me would say i'm a fairly 'up' character but on here i come across as a miserable wee bastard.:rollfloor

Hibadelic will be more aware of this than i am but i would have thought that in the main most successful forums and blogs etc etc are the ones that are critical and provocative of areas of discussion?

I'm afraid Hibadelic has it nailed. The Cowshed was a very fine thing when it was inhabited solely by skiving civil servants, unemployed people who had got a PC on a benefits wangle, teachers on their lunchbreak, affluent but lonely housewives with time on their hands :madhair: and sociologists on a grant with a research brief on casuals.

Now we have the real world here. Nice, innit? :glassraise:

But you know, the people who weren't here before don't care about the past, and we have to move on. We have lost a lot of good people, and there are many more that don't post as often. Others like me appear from time to time, get pissed off and resist posting for a while. But I will keep checking in because a lot of friends and people I genuinely admire still post here.

And of course, Shrink does too :madhair:

Do you think Shrink is maybe a lonely housewife, Colin?

I've seen a grand total of one messageboard not have a serious decline in the standard of posting in the last few years. And the only reason for that is that it's totally elitist and isn't open to general registration. To be able to post on the board you have to have demonstrated that you are able to write well and are interesting.

FWIW I reckon there's probably more good posts put up on here on a daily basis nowadays than 5 years ago. Unfortunately there is also about 50 times the amount of sub-literate drivel to wade through before getting to it.

The write well thing I get and understand, but how the fook do you demonstrate you are 'interesting'?That sounds totally wank to me.

As for whether Le Bounce has gone down hill, possibly,but there is a solution available: dinnae look/post.The web is muckle offering plenty choice for everyone.

MHHM.

The write well thing I get and understand, but how the fook do you demonstrate you are 'interesting'?That sounds totally wank to me.

As for whether Le Bounce has gone down hill, possibly,but there is a solution available: dinnae look/post.The web is muckle offering plenty choice for everyone.

MHHM.
Interesting is maybe the wrong word. Able to argue points coherently is probably a better description.

The way they give people access to post on their main boards is by having a free area where members who haven't got posting rights can post stuff and then giving them full rights if they feel that person is going to add to the discussion. That way their full members don't have to wade through piles of effluent to get to the interesting stuff, but the effluent still exists on their site.

The site isn't a football one btw, it's a baseball one and here's a link to it. I'd suggest that even a quick glance at a couple of the threads on there, even if you are without any knowledge of baseball, would be pretty instructive about how dreadful the majority of stuff you get on The Bounce is nowadays...

Personally I think the rot started to set in when online discussion became possible via HyperText over TCP/IP.grandpa

Seriously though I think it's a pretty common occurence across most bulletin boards. One I used to be a member of had quite an interesting forum for debating recent news stories, politics science etc. Unfortunately I got banned from it for signing up with a "rival" forum. :rollfloor

Mind you I still occasionally read that forum and the "debating" part of it is rarely posted in and the main part is full of idiots asking their fellow internet idiots the best method to boil an egg and whether to use a single or double knot when tying their shoes:doh

IMO having been on the Bounce for a few months now the level of posting is actually pretty good though the number of really interesting threads has dropped off slightly due to some people like egb taking a break from things. Unfortunately Im not that good at starting up interesting threads myself!

Well im a fairly newcomer. But to me i think the bounce is great, I think there are many funny feckers on here and I usually have a good chuckle when reading some of the posts. Dr Shrink in particular.

Footy chat
Randomness chat.
Seriousness topic of chat.
And erm.......occational pervert chat from bouncers enjoying chat about the female species....(i.e things they would like to do to lilly allen):rollfloor:rollfloor

I think the bounce is a laugh.
BIG UP THE BOUNCE

Football forums were better when they were the preserve of lazy office staff and geeks. Discuss...

For the record I think they were.

Agree.

It's all the bairns fault. It's not even like you get the interesting bairns posting either, all of them ones are out doing the things you should be doing as a teenager, not cooped up in their rooms typing pish on forums.

Whoever declared 'broadband for all' should be shot :boxing:

Have to agree.

It wasn't long ago I could spend an entire evening reading through threads from the heavyweights. I had nowhere near the intelligence to contribute but it was, for sure, an evening's entertainment and enlightenment to read through some of the diatribes that were to and fro-ing between the likes of EGB, Colr, Wee162 and the rest.

I, for one, miss it.