A note to Block 7 in light of yesterday’s Old Firm

Cabbage&Ribs

Supersonic Radge
Yesterday saw a pitch invasion at the infirm match, the likes that hadn’t been seen in this country in just under a decade. For those of us who were there on that glorious day in May 2016, we experienced it first hand. I personally never went on the Hampden pitch but I stood behind the goal with my old man drinking every last drop of the moment in as we knew this was something to savour for the rest of our lives. May 2016 was much more violent than the scenes at Ibrox yesterday but equally as much a stain on the Scottish game. I don’t condone pitch invasions but we went on the pitch that day to celebrate and the Huns went on looking for a fight - like they did yesterday.

I was also there on Helicopter Sunday when they won the league at Easter Road. They stormed the pitch first and we let them have their moment. We went on after as we qualified for the UEFA Cup. End of story. Nae fights as far as I can remember. To this day, was the only time I’ve set foot on the hallowed turf.

I do think the Ultras bring an atmosphere to the game that has been lacking in previous years. Don’t get me wrong, Easter Road has never been the same since they knocked down the old East Terrace but that is a conversation for another day. But what I will say and this goes for other Ultras beyond our club, just because you bang your drum and make a noise, that doesn’t give you the entitlement to think you are more fanatical about Hibernian than any of the rest of us. We love this club just as much as you.

There is such a thing as Hibs Class and we ought tae stick to it. Support your team but do it the Hibs Way, as we all should by getting behind the boys when they need us. I was at a game at Parkhead not long ago and a large section of our ultras were singing songs about the Lisbon Lions not seeing 10 in a row. That is about as embarrassing as the shan Wallace Mercer chant. Aye we can all get pissed off with Hibs, often more than not, but we should be distinct from the Bigot Brothers or the Poppy Thieves across the road.

There is such a thing as Hibs Class and we ought tae stick to it. Support your team but do it the Hibs Way, as we all should by getting behind the boys when they need us.
@Cabbage&Ribs I don't really disagree with anything you've written in your post mate however the fact is that on numerous occasions we aulder ones have not really got behind the boys when the going was tough and if not for the noisy youngsters the place would have been flat as a morgue.

Yesterday saw a pitch invasion at the infirm match, the likes that hadn’t been seen in this country in just under a decade. For those of us who were there on that glorious day in May 2016, we experienced it first hand. I personally never went on the Hampden pitch but I stood behind the goal with my old man drinking every last drop of the moment in as we knew this was something to savour for the rest of our lives. May 2016 was much more violent than the scenes at Ibrox yesterday but equally as much a stain on the Scottish game. I don’t condone pitch invasions but we went on the pitch that day to celebrate and the Huns went on looking for a fight - like they did yesterday.

I was also there on Helicopter Sunday when they won the league at Easter Road. They stormed the pitch first and we let them have their moment. We went on after as we qualified for the UEFA Cup. End of story. Nae fights as far as I can remember. To this day, was the only time I’ve set foot on the hallowed turf.

I do think the Ultras bring an atmosphere to the game that has been lacking in previous years. Don’t get me wrong, Easter Road has never been the same since they knocked down the old East Terrace but that is a conversation for another day. But what I will say and this goes for other Ultras beyond our club, just because you bang your drum and make a noise, that doesn’t give you the entitlement to think you are more fanatical about Hibernian than any of the rest of us. We love this club just as much as you.

There is such a thing as Hibs Class and we ought tae stick to it. Support your team but do it the Hibs Way, as we all should by getting behind the boys when they need us. I was at a game at Parkhead not long ago and a large section of our ultras were singing songs about the Lisbon Lions not seeing 10 in a row. That is about as embarrassing as the shan Wallace Mercer chant. Aye we can all get pissed off with Hibs, often more than not, but we should be distinct from the Bigot Brothers or the Poppy Thieves across the road.
There was 100% less violence in 2016 than the weekend.

Did you even watch the footage from the weekend?

There was 100% less violence in 2016 than the weekend.

Did you even watch the footage from the weekend?
There was of course a lot more tv broadcast footage 2016 as they hung around for cup presentation
.More folk all over the pitch and individual fights/scuffles that went on for some time before plod turned the vans and cavalry round that were heading for ibrox celebrations (very prematurely!)
At Ibrox , most of the bother appeared to be around the goalmouth/18 yrd box at the celtic end .
And plod was in a bit quicker to form the thin blue line to prevent the onion bhajis getting nearer to the celts.
(which was likely a blessing for these pavement dancers)
No doubt the fancy dress zombies (not all teenagers ) looked for victims on the streets after the game .

They sing rule britannia ,yet for decades they have wrecked English city centres any time they play down there .
Notably Newcastle 1969 and Manchester 2008 when a judge described the destruction as "worse since the blitz"
This behaviour seems to be passed down the generations of the common hun
In their Orange DNA i suppose .
No one likes them .They dont care
Cancer of Scottish football and society

I am all for atmosphere and good natured banter but my dislike of the Huns, their behaviour and all they stand for and represent I suppose is doing what they want, for us to then take sides. Perhaps it’s human nature and part of our overall human development to do so, though with the likes of them, how can you remain neutral ?.I hope our Block 7 don’t get sucked into the negative ugly side of some Club’s Negative Ultra behaviour. However we can see no doubt our kids will get tarnished by association with Green brigade or filthy Bears by certain parts of the media, Block 7 need to continually show they are part of our support that promotes all the good and right things that are Hibernian and the are as Cabbage says and we know a Class above the rest.

@Cabbage&Ribs I don't really disagree with anything you've written in your post mate however the fact is that on numerous occasions we aulder ones have not really got behind the boys when the going was tough and if not for the noisy youngsters the place would have been flat as a morgue.

I hear ye amigo and would agree that the place would be dead without them. My wider point was about rising above the mentality of what a lot of Ultras from different teams do, Sunday the prime example, and doing it the Hibs way.

Mercer was a cant, l will sing that song till l die . Future generations have to be aware of what that cant tried to do and be vigilant it never happens again.

I am all for atmosphere and good natured banter but my dislike of the Huns, their behaviour and all they stand for and represent I suppose is doing what they want, for us to then take sides. Perhaps it’s human nature and part of our overall human development to do so, though with the likes of them, how can you remain neutral ?.I hope our Block 7 don’t get sucked into the negative ugly side of some Club’s Negative Ultra behaviour. However we can see no doubt our kids will get tarnished by association with Green brigade or filthy Bears by certain parts of the media, Block 7 need to continually show they are part of our support that promotes all the good and right things that are Hibernian and the are as Cabbage says and we know a Class above the rest.
Spot on Dougie.

There definitely wasn’t and like most things, you’ve missed the point of the message entirely.
It’s irelevant because the same fans entered the pitch after losing a big match, to fight those in highly exuberant spirits….
Same club
same fans
Same bigotry
Same entitlement
Same lies, its not Scottish football, id actually say its not even society, it’s these mutants that follow the hun that’s a problem. It’s these fuckin huns.
If they were in England theyd be relegated down to the Northern league with all the punishments they’d have had.
Any league in the world that isn’t blatantly biased or corrupt would’ve sorted this years ago…… and it still won’t happen.
In no can they not get full punishment, every single other team when done ANYTHING wrong, fans inc, then the SFA/SPFL make a big example of them…i will bet you they come out with new ideas, future punishments and another slap on the wrist and “next time a club fans foul they will get hammered”

It’s irelevant because the same fans entered the pitch after losing a big match, to fight those in highly exuberant spirits….
Same club
same fans
Same bigotry
Same entitlement
Same lies, its not Scottish football, id actually say its not even society, it’s these mutants that follow the hun that’s a problem. It’s these fuckin huns.
If they were in England theyd be relegated down to the Northern league with all the punishments they’d have had.
Any league in the world that isn’t blatantly biased or corrupt would’ve sorted this years ago…… and it still won’t happen.
In no can they not get full punishment, every single other team when done ANYTHING wrong, fans inc, then the SFA/SPFL make a big example of them…i will bet you they come out with new ideas, future punishments and another slap on the wrist and “next time a club fans foul they will get hammered”
By not doing anything to address the issue like would happen in England, the SFA have allowed the sectarianism, bigotry and hatred to fester for probably the best part of 100 years then profited off the byproduct of the fixture. Anything they do to address it is merely a token gesture. What about being banned from the cup, games behind closed doors or, if it was in the league, a points deduction. You are correct about the Huns always being part of the equation.

Why do they not do anything about it? Because the SFA , huns and soapdodgers need each other. The SFA need the bigots for their tv deals and keeping the fairy tale going that it’s the most exciting game of football in the universe ,and the bigots need Each other tae polarise the knuckle draggers of Scotland and Ireland and keep the hatred going.

If only people saw the bigger picture eh!! 👀
Like everyone outside the bigot infested weege and the mutant glory hunting followers.
I can’t believe that a civil country can ignore this, its racism under a different name, like our MSP’s.
Oh yeah, they say nothing because they don’t want to lose votes… what high morality our politicians have

Agree with what most of you guys are saying and there is definitely a place for the young guys in block 7, even if that drum gets on my tits, at times. It's great to see you supporting the team and brining atmosphere.

Two things though
I can't see how we can continue to have faces covered but don't know how you can legislate or prevent it. It looks sinister and conveys a negative message in my humble opinion. But in the case of "The Rangers" Spiderman masks it was comical. Time to cut the masks out, what do you have to hide?

Secondly, you have to love the Scottish media, within an hour or so the narrative was that this is a Scottish football problem, not a OF one but a Scottish one. You could not write it, protect the Ugly Sisters at all cost.

Interesting reading the forum in the days since the game on sunday. I think I mentioned before Im married into a celtic family but since I moved over here I have been following hibs. What her family and the Old firm support in general struggle to understand is the dwindling irish support for the clubs. We have moved beyond it and to see anyone rocking about in a celtic or rangers top, you always take a second look at them, they are often a bit of a scummer. Here though its hardcore bigotry and lack of self awareness. Her da cant refer to someone without following up with, "hes a good Tim" or "hes a hun but hes alright". It's fucking wild. At my stag he thought my friend was wearing a rangers top (it was a cavan GAA top, ya know a real irish team playing an irish sport)
I offered to bring them to the graves of a couple of the hunger strikers when they were over in ireland as it was only a mile up the road. They had no interest despite belting out roll of honour every game.
It's all nonsense and to be told they are more irish than me or anyone in ireland as they support celtic and not English premier league clubs is just mad.

Further fallout from the bigotfest was when the Scots top cops were called into parliament to be quizzed.

Deputy chief constable Alan Speirs also put the ultras movement on notice although it's not included in this report.

To be fair it's no like the ultras (Hibs) haven't been given sage words by fellow supporters. Sadly most, if not all, has been ignored.

Any chance of this happening in the FF?

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Two things though
I can't see how we can continue to have faces covered but don't know how you can legislate or prevent it. It looks sinister and conveys a negative message in my humble opinion. But in the case of "The Rangers" Spiderman masks it was comical. Time to cut the masks out, what do you have to hide?
I think if you are needing to wear a mask to go to the football then you’ve kind of lost the point of why you’re actually going to the football. They will see it as protection from facial recognition technology and the wider argument of why now the UK is a surveillance state.

I just hope and 🙏 that the Hertz don't get the opportunity to invade the pitch at San Siro. Them winning the league on our patch is unthinkable 🙄

Rangers fans only happy if they are trashing other peoples pitches

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I think if you are needing to wear a mask to go to the football then you’ve kind of lost the point of why you’re actually going to the football. They will see it as protection from facial recognition technology and the wider argument of why now the UK is a surveillance state.
I think there is good reason for Huns wearing face coverings.

:music: Have you seen a handsome Hun....... No!.....No!... :music: