85 Year Old Holocaust Survivor On Hunger Strike For Gaza

"In 1939, when Epstein was just 14, her parents found a way for her to escape the persecution, sending her on the Kindertransport to England. Epstein never saw her parents again; they perished in Auschwitz in 1942. After World War II, Epstein worked as a research analyst at the Nuremberg Trials of Nazi doctors who performed medical experiments on concentration camp inmates.

After moving to the US, Epstein became an activist for peace and social
justice causes. Unlike most Holocaust survivors, one of the causes she has
taken up is that of the Palestinian people. She has traveled to the West
Bank, collected material aid and now she hopes to enter Gaza."

"In 1939, when Epstein was just 14, her parents found a way for her to escape the persecution, sending her on the Kindertransport to England. Epstein never saw her parents again; they perished in Auschwitz in 1942. After World War II, Epstein worked as a research analyst at the Nuremberg Trials of Nazi doctors who performed medical experiments on concentration camp inmates.

After moving to the US, Epstein became an activist for peace and social
justice causes. Unlike most Holocaust survivors, one of the causes she has
taken up is that of the Palestinian people. She has traveled to the West
Bank, collected material aid and now she hopes to enter Gaza."
There's nothing in there to either charge her with, or exculpate her of anti-semitism.

If you think that being stuck in auschwitz by one lot of anti-semites precludes one from being or becoming one oneself, I'd question that logic; in fact i'd question that it is logic.

There's nothing in there to either charge her with, or exculpate her of anti-semitism.

If you think that being stuck in auschwitz by one lot of anti-semites precludes one from being or becoming one oneself, I'd question that logic; in fact i'd question that it is logic.

So you think a Jewish woman who escaped the Holocaust, had both parents murdered in Auschwitz, who worked at the Nuremberg Trials collating evidence regarding the worst period of anti-Semitism in history, and who is a lifelong activist for peace and justice, might be an anti-Semite? Aye, right enough.

:gaga:

So you think a Jewish woman who escaped the Holocaust, had both parents murdered in Auschwitz, who worked at the Nuremberg Trials collating evidence regarding the worst period of anti-Semitism in history, and who is a lifelong activist for peace and justice, might be an anti-Semite? Aye, right enough.

:gaga:
I didn't say that. I said there's nothing in what you quoted to say one way or another.

Were there no socialists in the Gulags? No anti semite poles in the nazi camps? Never heard of stockholm syndrome?

There are 101 reasons why your assumption that you couldn't have anti semitic sentiments because you'd been in nazi camp is a false assumption.

Which is not to say that this women has any, just that your logic doesn't hold.

If I recall correctly there was a study into the behaviour of concentration camp inmates and many of them (including Jews) displayed anti semitism and other predjudices in an effort to ingratiate themselves with their Nazi captors. So technically EGB could be right.

I do think though that the tratment of Palestinians does not sit comfortably with some Jews. I think even more would stand against it if it were not for the unholy alliance that some liberals and socialists have made with extreme Islamists.

I didn't say that. I said there's nothing in what you quoted to say one way or another.

Were there no socialists in the Gulags? No anti semite poles in the nazi camps? Never heard of stockholm syndrome?

There are 101 reasons why your assumption that you couldn't have anti semitic sentiments because you'd been in nazi camp is a false assumption.

Which is not to say that this women has any, just that your logic doesn't hold.

What he said was that it would be difficult for the Israeli Government's Propaganda Department to portray her as an anti-semite. I'd imagine it would be pretty hard for them to do that convincingly, maybe you should apply for the job :wink:

maybe shes just self loathing (so called) liberal, theres plenty of them around. Her past may be in no way relevant to what she is now.

Thats a terrible thing to say about an old Jewish woman who lost her family in the Holocaust. I think you're a closet anti-Semite...

i dont think i made any definative comment about her as im in no position to do so as i know nothin about her.

What he said was that it would be difficult for the Israeli Government's Propaganda Department to portray her as an anti-semite. I'd imagine it would be pretty hard for them to do that convincingly, maybe you should apply for the job :wink:
It seems to be a property of liberal societies, that they throw up people consumed by hatred of the community that produced them. I daresay it happens under other social models, but it seems particularly prevalent where people are relatively privileged and politically and socially free.

This may or may not be the case here, I don't know, but Buckie is right about the existence in the phenomena. Amongst the white population of the west this presents as a craven, self flagellating, loathing of the self and one's own culture. Amongst jews, it presents as a form of anti-semitism, and so on. But the underlying neurosis is, I expect, the same; I think it's a variant of the neurosis common on the left, where humanity as a whole is despised for failing to live up to some fantastic set of ideals, and typically hated with an intensity that is proportionate in terms of proximity to the neurotic; so the closest are hated the most, the most alien are hated least.

Self loathing? So if you hate something about your society it translates that you hate yourself? That sounds like a load of crap tbh.
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

Self loathing? So if you hate something about your society it translates that you hate yourself? That sounds like a load of crap tbh.
when you hate what shaped you, and what is a reflection of your own identity, then that is imho a form of self loathing.

When would it not apply though? If you disagreed with the poll tax/falklands war/Thatcher per se (ie) are you self loathing or just disagreeing with policies that you find wrong. I suppose im saying self hatred to me sounds like doublespeak.

"Self-loathing" is the standard issue psychobabble of smug conservatives. It must be the only phrase from the Freudian psychological repertiore that they ever bothered to memorise which might explain why it gets wheeled out so often.

If you were born into say a Nazi family in Germany in the 1930s and rejected that whole you know, genocidal lifestyle you'd be "self-loathing" according to the Nouveau Gauche one-size-fits-all pyschobabblers. If you were the lovechild of Tom Cruise or John Travolta and rejected the scientologists bammy brainwashing you'd be considered "self-loathing". If you were born a Jew and rejected the idea of stealing land from your neighbours and/or bombing them back into the stone age, ditto.

Basically, if you put self-respect and respect for those around you before superstition, selfishness or knuckledragging violence then by an Orwellian sleight of hand you become "self-loathing".

I suppose its just one of those lazy insults applied unthinkingly to anyone who chooses to think for themselves rather than adopt the most backward aspects of the faith/culture/politics of an older generation.

It seems to be a property of liberal societies, that they throw up people consumed by hatred of the community that produced them. I daresay it happens under other social models, but it seems particularly prevalent where people are relatively privileged and politically and socially free.

This may or may not be the case here, I don't know, but Buckie is right about the existence in the phenomena. Amongst the white population of the west this presents as a craven, self flagellating, loathing of the self and one's own culture. Amongst jews, it presents as a form of anti-semitism, and so on. But the underlying neurosis is, I expect, the same; I think it's a variant of the neurosis common on the left, where humanity as a whole is despised for failing to live up to some fantastic set of ideals, and typically hated with an intensity that is proportionate in terms of proximity to the neurotic; so the closest are hated the most, the most alien are hated least.

Or it could just be a convenient way for contrarians to win arguments.

Get over it, this is one too far.

"Self-loathing" is the standard issue psychobabble of smug conservatives. It must be the only phrase from the Freudian psychological repertiore that they ever bothered to memorise which might explain why it gets wheeled out so often.

If you were born into say a Nazi family in Germany in the 1930s and rejected that whole you know, genocidal lifestyle you'd be "self-loathing" according to the Nouveau Gauche one-size-fits-all pyschobabblers. If you were the lovechild of Tom Cruise or John Travolta and rejected the scientologists bammy brainwashing you'd be considered "self-loathing". If you were born a Jew and rejected the idea of stealing land from your neighbours and/or bombing them back into the stone age, ditto.

Basically, if you put self-respect and respect for those around you before superstition, selfishness or knuckledragging violence then by an Orwellian sleight of hand you become "self-loathing".

I suppose its just one of those lazy insults applied unthinkingly to anyone who chooses to think for themselves rather than adopt the most backward aspects of the faith/culture/politics of an older generation.
Older generation :rollfloor

Sorry GS, but quite apart from anything else, and irrespective of merit or demerit, it is the worldview of old lefties that is disappearing into the pages of history.

As for 'thinking for themselves'. Sorry GS, again, the world has moved on. It is 'self loathing' liberalism that is the establishment, the unquestioned orthodoxy of the day. And it's almost cute the way the left, from centre to extremity, are brought together (as they so seldom otherwise are) by the continued need to see themselves as the outsiders, the daring and the freethinking; despite being in fact the worn out old dogmatists of the day.

For heaven's sake; the education system, the arts, the media, the civil service and local government - all arms of the establishment parrot a wishy washy left wing cant; but hey, this is 'thinking for oneself'.

Not to worry though, all the evidence is that the people are growing weary of this patrician caste. We may yet live to see the liberal mandarins following the old socialists into the wilderness, robbed of the ability to forcibly impose their marginal views on all and sundry, and thus doomed to irrelevancy. But hey at least by then they'll truly be outsiders again.

Anyway, back to the point; I disagree with you. When the charge is made of self-loathing, part of what people are getting at is a point of view that is so distorted it cannot objectively view the good in one's own culture. In particularly extreme examples it can lead to the inability to delineate between, say, liberal democracy and it's malcontents, and the most shitty regimes in human history and those who bravely opposed them. It's that very failure to differentiate based on any rational criteria, that points to a pathology at work.

In living memory, in this country, this has led to some of the most privileged people in human history deploring the free society they gained so much from, while at the same time disdaining people people campaigning against the horrors of the communism that they lived under.

You can deploy Freud all you like, but it doesn't disguise moral bankruptcy and some of the oldest and ugliest aspects of human nature.

Or it could just be a convenient way for contrarians to win arguments.
I take it this launch of rhetorical chaff means you can't contest my logic?

Get over it, this is one too far.
What is? How is it? Is the holocaust back to being a sacred cow then? Anyone who suffered from it, somehow a de facto saint?

Ironic given how often the jews are equated to the nazis these days, in and around discussion of this topic.

To repeat; There is nothing so far presented that would allow one to comment on this woman's motives. However to rule out anti-semitism based on emotional appeal to her past suffering, is irrationalist bullshit of the first order.

Older generation :rollfloor

Sorry GS, but quite apart from anything else, and irrespective of merit or demerit, it is the worldview of old lefties that is disappearing into the pages of history.

As for 'thinking for themselves'. Sorry GS, again, the world has moved on. It is 'self loathing' liberalism that is the establishment, the unquestioned orthodoxy of the day. And it's almost cute the way the left, from centre to extremity, are brought together (as they so seldom otherwise are) by the continued need to see themselves as the outsiders, the daring and the freethinking; despite being in fact the worn out old dogmatists of the day.

For heaven's sake; the education system, the arts, the media, the civil service and local government - all arms of the establishment parrot a wishy washy left wing cant; but hey, this is 'thinking for oneself'.

Not to worry though, all the evidence is that the people are growing weary of this patrician caste. We may yet live to see the liberal mandarins following the old socialists into the wilderness, robbed of the ability to forcibly impose their marginal views on all and sundry, and thus doomed to irrelevancy. But hey at least by then they'll truly be outsiders again.

Anyway, back to the point; I disagree with you. When the charge is made of self-loathing, part of what people are getting at is a point of view that is so distorted it cannot objectively view the good in one's own culture. In particularly extreme examples it can lead to the inability to delineate between, say, liberal democracy and it's malcontents, and the most shitty regimes in human history and those who bravely opposed them. It's that very failure to differentiate based on any rational criteria, that points to a pathology at work.

In living memory, in this country, this has led to some of the most privileged people in human history deploring the free society they gained so much from, while at the same time disdaining people people campaigning against the horrors of the communism that they lived under.

You can deploy Freud all you like, but it doesn't disguise moral bankruptcy and some of the oldest and ugliest aspects of human nature.

I take it this launch of rhetorical chaff means you can't contest my logic?

What is? How is it? Is the holocaust back to being a sacred cow then? Anyone who suffered from it, somehow a de facto saint?

Ironic given how often the jews are equated to the nazis these days, in and around discussion of this topic.

To repeat; There is nothing so far presented that would allow one to comment on this woman's motives. However to rule out anti-semitism based on emotional appeal to her past suffering, is irrationalist bullshit of the first order.

1) you and Buckie continue to use this self loathing argument, I don't loathe myself! I don't loathe all that is of the west either! Like most socialists I think it could be improved and made more equal.

2) You describe all aspects of the establishment as quote parroting a wishy washy left wing cant. Yes they have bought into the PC agenda but are equally dogmatic about the market.

3) Does campaigning for TU representation at GCHQ count as deploring free society. Or fighting against the spread of the Murdoch press, or the support we had for Solidarity in Poland, or the campaign against Aparthied, were these all examples of a self loathing campaign against freedom.

4) The Jew/nazi argument is an over emotional simplistic stance to take, but regrettably some on the left do. It is the mirror image of the charge that support for the Palestinian cause equals anti semitism. I believe Isreal comes in for so much stick because like our own country it could be so much better and so much fairer and no amount of arguing that they are only defending themselves can alter the body count and the amount of land taken over the years.

I have tried to be balanced here, what I do glean form the actions of the old woman is that she is part of a long fair minded liberal tradition in Isreal which they will need if they are to survive.

1) you and Buckie continue to use this self loathing argument, I don't loathe myself! I don't loathe all that is of the west either! Like most socialists I think it could be improved and made more equal.
Noone charged you with it.

2) You describe all aspects of the establishment as quote parroting a wishy washy left wing cant. Yes they have bought into the PC agenda but are equally dogmatic about the market.
How are they 'dogmatic about the market'? We have anything but a free market. I humbly suggest that it's only from the a rather obscure left perspective that the accomodation with reality that is a mixed market could be seen as market dogmatism.

Even Lenin and Trotsky abandoned marxist economics. They do not work. The centre left has thus long since pursued corporatism, which has a left wing pedigree going back at least to Mussolini.

3) Does campaigning for TU representation at GCHQ count as deploring free society. Or fighting against the spread of the Murdoch press, or the support we had for Solidarity in Poland, or the campaign against Aparthied, were these all examples of a self loathing campaign against freedom.
TU at GCHQ I don't know much about, but sounds like the TUs doing their best to support the soviet bloc again. Fighting against the spread of the Murdoch press? I'd concentrate on the BBC first, as a coercively funded mouthpiece for minority political views, versus the Murdoch products which give people (alas) what they want. Support for Solidarity was a minority pursuit. Anti Apartheid, fair enough, I'll give you that 1 out of the 4; though were it a country where white people were excluded by blacks (or anyone else), I doubt there'd have been the same enthusiasm. The focus on SA with the relative silence over the communist world was telling of concerns other than the moral one.

How many left wing councils created a mandela street or square? How man Walesa Avenues are there?

4) The Jew/nazi argument is an over emotional simplistic stance to take, but regrettably some on the left do. It is the mirror image of the charge that support for the Palestinian cause equals anti semitism. I believe Isreal comes in for so much stick because like our own country it could be so much better and so much fairer and no amount of arguing that they are only defending themselves can alter the body count and the amount of land taken over the years.
Israel is the focus of wholly disproportionate attention and double standards. Anti semitism has been a recurring theme in the firment of leftist thought; this is it's latest incarnation. Not all opponents on israel are anti semites of course. But as with the BNP, the hardcore are rabid anti semites, surrounded by a lot of easily led dummies.

I have tried to be balanced here, what I do glean form the actions of the old woman is that she is part of a long fair minded liberal tradition in Isreal which they will need if they are to survive.
She may well be. But the radical and disproportionate nature of her form of protest speaks to me of a fanaticism that suggests other traditions before it suggests liberalism.

I don't understand why she's so concerned about Paul Gascogne.

Noone charged you with it.

How are they 'dogmatic about the market'? We have anything but a free market. I humbly suggest that it's only from the a rather obscure left perspective that the accomodation with reality that is a mixed market could be seen as market dogmatism.

Even Lenin and Trotsky abandoned marxist economics. They do not work. The centre left has thus long since pursued corporatism, which has a left wing pedigree going back at least to Mussolini.

TU at GCHQ I don't know much about, but sounds like the TUs doing their best to support the soviet bloc again. Fighting against the spread of the Murdoch press? I'd concentrate on the BBC first, as a coercively funded mouthpiece for minority political views, versus the Murdoch products which give people (alas) what they want. Support for Solidarity was a minority pursuit. Anti Apartheid, fair enough, I'll give you that 1 out of the 4; though were it a country where white people were excluded by blacks (or anyone else), I doubt there'd have been the same enthusiasm. The focus on SA with the relative silence over the communist world was telling of concerns other than the moral one.

How many left wing councils created a mandela street or square? How man Walesa Avenues are there?

Israel is the focus of wholly disproportionate attention and double standards. Anti semitism has been a recurring theme in the firment of leftist thought; this is it's latest incarnation. Not all opponents on israel are anti semites of course. But as with the BNP, the hardcore are rabid anti semites, surrounded by a lot of easily led dummies.

She may well be. But the radical and disproportionate nature of her form of protest speaks to me of a fanaticism that suggests other traditions before it suggests liberalism.

I really shouldn't reply here because it has gone so far from the original point. but here goes.

1) they are dogmatic about the market inasmuchas they have continued the agenda of privatisation since the 80's dispite glaring examples of its inadequacy.

2) Corporatism was the order of the day from 45 - 79 but we have had a monetarist economic policy drive since!

3) Clearly you don't know about it and make the same offensive point that the Tory government of the day did. I.E. that trades unionists are not to be trusted with national security and that they could be working for the other side. (it should be noted that at the time the Govt. supported the Mujahideen) the inference that trades unionism equals treachory is not exactly the action of a democratic government.

4) & 5) Support for Solidarnosc was almost universal and only opposed by the CPGB which was tiny at the time. There were not streets etc. named after Walensa because he was never seen as a secular leader and was viewed most to be too much into the catholic church (make of that what you will!) Mandela on the other hand has proven to be an enduring statesman and global figure. I should point out that there are no De Clerk streets and he did a huge amount to end Apartheid, its just the way the ball bounces.

6) she's an auld wifie FFS, you have to ask yourself what is it that makes someone of her age motivated enough to do this? I would suggest it is more than what she might have read in old copies of the Socialist worker.

I really shouldn't reply here because it has gone so far from the original point. but here goes.

1) they are dogmatic about the market inasmuchas they have continued the agenda of privatisation since the 80's dispite glaring examples of its inadequacy.
As opposed to the glittering successes of state run industry?

2) Corporatism was the order of the day from 45 - 79 but we have had a monetarist economic policy drive since!
Labour have moved back in that direction; they used monetarism to pump prime the finance industry as the private wealth generator to underpin a vast statist programme.

3) Clearly you don't know about it and make the same offensive point that the Tory government of the day did. I.E. that trades unionists are not to be trusted with national security and that they could be working for the other side.
Call it offensive if you like, but given the recently exposures of how in bed with KGB the labour party and union pooh bahs were, giving offence is somewhat secondary to being correct.

(it should be noted that at the time the Govt. supported the Mujahideen)
No they didn't, they opposed the USSR.

the inference that trades unionism equals treachory is not exactly the action of a democratic government.
I'm afraid the unions had long since sold the pass to leninist nutjobs. you reap what you sew.

4) & 5) Support for Solidarnosc was almost universal and only opposed by the CPGB which was tiny at the time.
Mmmm. I'll defer to your experience as I'm a little young to talk with authority here. Certainly solidarity have not been feted since, never mind fetished as south africa is, despite poland's journey to modernity and south africa's back into the dark ages. the whole commemoration of 1989 has been decidely muted this year; darwin got more attention ffs. my recollection such as it is was things were ever this way; highly ambivalent towards those opposing socialist tyranny.

There were not streets etc. named after Walensa because he was never seen as a secular leader and was viewed most to be too much into the catholic church (make of that what you will!)
by the same token Mandela was a communist leader. the fact one is unacceptable and the other acceptable to our town hall commissars makes my point for me.

Mandela on the other hand has proven to be an enduring statesman and global figure. I should point out that there are no De Clerk streets and he did a huge amount to end Apartheid, its just the way the ball bounces.
absolute nonsense. Mandela was surrounded by scandal which was ignored. He was no more a politician than walesa, and his statesmanlike reputation proceeds entirely from a priori devotion to him; the same mentality that has led to barack obama receiving the nobel prize for peace having done sweet FA yet.

6) she's an auld wifie FFS, you have to ask yourself what is it that makes someone of her age motivated enough to do this? I would suggest it is more than what she might have read in old copies of the Socialist worker.
I don't know, and you don't either. Age is no barrier to political mentalism. Witness the coffin dodging quakers who liked to present themselves to saddam as human shields for his military facilities.

it's certainly no excuse either unless accompanied by dementia. the woman has as many years of life experience as you and me combined ffs. she has less excuse, not more.

As opposed to the glittering successes of state run industry?

Labour have moved back in that direction; they used monetarism to pump prime the finance industry as the private wealth generator to underpin a vast statist programme.

Call it offensive if you like, but given the recently exposures of how in bed with KGB the labour party and union pooh bahs were, giving offence is somewhat secondary to being correct.

No they didn't, they opposed the USSR.

I'm afraid the unions had long since sold the pass to leninist nutjobs. you reap what you sew.

Mmmm. I'll defer to your experience as I'm a little young to talk with authority here. Certainly solidarity have not been feted since, never mind fetished as south africa is, despite poland's journey to modernity and south africa's back into the dark ages. the whole commemoration of 1989 has been decidely muted this year; darwin got more attention ffs. my recollection such as it is was things were ever this way; highly ambivalent towards those opposing socialist tyranny.

by the same token Mandela was a communist leader. the fact one is unacceptable and the other acceptable to our town hall commissars makes my point for me.

absolute nonsense. Mandela was surrounded by scandal which was ignored. He was no more a politician than walesa, and his statesmanlike reputation proceeds entirely from a priori devotion to him; the same mentality that has led to barack obama receiving the nobel prize for peace having done sweet FA yet.

I don't know, and you don't either. Age is no barrier to political mentalism. Witness the coffin dodging quakers who liked to present themselves to saddam as human shields for his military facilities.

it's certainly no excuse either unless accompanied by dementia. the woman has as many years of life experience as you and me combined ffs. she has less excuse, not more.

you're getting worse!

Well thank f*ck for self loathers everywhere then for without them. Men would be indentured in slave like conditions to their employers(Masters) Women would not have the vote. Men would be working 60 hour weeks. Slaves would still be in use. Press gangs still in operation. Hangings common place. Prison ships sailing off and dumping people all over the shop. Black people being unworthy of education and sharing a water fountain with whites. apartheid in operation in all western civilisations.

Viv loathers d'individu

Well thank f*ck for self loathers everywhere then for without them. Men would be indentured in slave like conditions to their employers(Masters) Women would not have the vote. Men would be working 60 hour weeks. Slaves would still be in use. Press gangs still in operation. Hangings common place. Prison ships sailing off and dumping people all over the shop. Black people being unworthy of education and sharing a water fountain with whites. apartheid in operation in all western civilisations.

Viv loathers d'individu
That isn't true El B.

These achievements were not those of the self loathers antecedents, who where they are present at all, remain at the periphery while hard things are resolved. As noted above, the whole thing tends to be a symptom of cloistered privilege - it doesn't really emerge when life is rawer so to speak. there are exceptions; there always are, but in general this is the way of it.

But as also previously noted, very much an identifying criteria is the inability to differentiate between struggles against tyranny and the oedipal hissy fits of cossetted white liberals.