Your English team?

blue toon hibby

If you have a favourite English team, who is it and why do you follow them?

Mine has always been Liverpool due to a distant family connection to the Shankly brothers and later when Peter Cormack played for them. It was always an ambition to see them play at Anfield but never got round to it.

As a laddie it was Man united because of Charlton, Best and Law. Superb! Loved them, first football top I ever had was Man U.
Through the years I've had brief spells flirting with other teams but no more than checking their results and always because they had a player or players I liked. Never anything to do with the club.
Couldn't give less of a fuck now unless I've had a bet.

As said in another thread, Sunderland is my team due to a childhood pal who came from the area and supported them. Honourable mentions to both Liverpool clubs, simply because its one of my favourite city's.

As a laddie it was Man united because of Charlton, Best and Law. Superb! Loved them, first football top I ever had was Man U.
Through the years I've had brief spells flirting with other teams but no more than checking their results and always because they had a player or players I liked. Never anything to do with the club.
Funnily enough my first football top was Coventry City away (green and black stripes) because I couldn’t find a Hibs one!

Was Man city ( Aguero ) and now Haaland
ATM , Newcastle ( Isac )
Others Villa ( SJM )
I tend to go with players rather than teams 🤣
Quite a few I dinny like 😩

In a very very nominal way, Arsenal. When I say nominal, I mean to the extent that I might pick them if my son and nephews rope me into a Christmas FIFA tournament. It is because they have the same white sleeves we do, and are one of the English teams that once drew the Irish immigrant community that founded our club.

Over the years I’ve also had soft spots for Everton (still got a Hibs / Everton ski cap) and Oldham.

But I don’t really give a toss.

In a very very nominal way, Arsenal. When I say nominal, I mean to the extent that I might pick them if my son and nephews rope me into a Christmas FIFA tournament. It is because they have the same white sleeves we do, and are one of the English teams that once drew the Irish immigrant community that founded our club.

Over the years I’ve also had soft spots for Everton (still got a Hibs / Everton ski cap) and Oldham.

But I don’t really give a toss.
In the days of black and white tv arsenal looked like hibs 👍

Newcastle. When I was a bairn my dad used to work doon the road which was a term at the time for going down to England.

He worked with Scottish and Newcastle breweries and took loads to Newcastle all week.

So he used to watch out for the Newcastle results and so I used to watch out for them as well. Still do.

Sheffield Utd ⚔️

I never had one growing up, but when I was living in England a lot of the best folk I bumped into happened to be Blades, including occasional poster on this board @Uncy, so I've adopted them.

Weirdly, I never actually lived in the steel city itself but kept bumping into Blades fans in Manchester, Leeds and Crewe.

If you have a favourite English team, who is it and why do you follow them?

Mine has always been Liverpool due to a distant family connection to the Shankly brothers and later when Peter Cormack played for them. It was always an ambition to see them play at Anfield but never got round to it.
Arsenal, because they played in red and white Hibs strips.

Sheffield Utd ⚔️

I never had one growing up, but when I was living in England most of best folk I bumped into happened to be Blades, including occasional poster on this board @Uncy, so I've adopted them. Weirdly, I never actually lived in the steel city itself but kept bumping into Blades fans in Manchester, Leeds and Crewe.
I can only apologise....

Leeds I'm afraid, lived near there a while and my family are mostly Leeds fans. I don't really care though to be honest, don't really watch the English game! Too formulaic and too much money involved

Birmingham City. My Grandfather played for Blues 1938-1939 after leaving Hibs. My dad was also born in Small Heath.

Felt for you yesterday, Blues not turn up?

Rochdale my hometown club , couldn't possibly be interested in any teams in the money mad overrated (copyright joe) premier league

Did you not have soft spot for Man City when they were shite?

Pretty much the same for me with Man Utd.

Recently I keep an eye out for the Villa results purely because they have SJM.

I don’t gamble and I’m pretty ambivalent about the English leagues.

I don't like Chelsea, Man City or Millwall.Apart from that I have no real allegiances.As a kid I had a Man U strip a Crystal Palace top and later a Liverpool top .

Honorary Geordie here.

Hibs man first and foremost, and wont ever refer to Newcastle as "we" or "us". Best mate a geordie, and went to first game around 1992/93, and pretty much have taken in 1 or 2 games a season since, bar covid.
(got a wee soft spot for the hammers due to a couple of things and ragely millwall. !!.... also keep an eye on SJM tae ))

Howay

I don't have an English team as such - just a Scottish one. I do enjoy seeing my local teams, Notts and Forest do well though (not Mansfield though, that's a step too far). Always had a soft spot for Manchester United, mainly due to the days when Denis Law and George Best played for them. None of them feel remotely like Hibs.

Honorary Geordie here.

Hibs man first and foremost, and wont ever refer to Newcastle as "we" or "us". Best mate a geordie, and went to first game around 1992/93, and pretty much have taken in 1 or 2 games a season since, bar covid.
(got a wee soft spot for the hammers due to a couple of things and ragely millwall. !!.... also keep an eye on SJM tae ))

Howay
They also have Grays C. Mare chance of a lumber there than at Hibs tae 😂

I remember when I was on the fb sodjers site, before I got kicked off it, there was a blind guy who supported sunderland and hibs who came up to ER for some games . Can’t believe he couldny see how underachieving sunderland were 😩
Macar. Also formerly of this parish too. Got bounced out IIRC