Wimbledon

I'm surprised [MENTION=10402]Hattie[/MENTION] hasn't started a thread.

Anyway, I'm not a big fan of tennis but the match between Brown and Nadal is absolutely immense.

I'm surprised [MENTION=10402]Hattie[/MENTION] hasn't started a thread.

Anyway, I'm not a big fan of tennis but the match between Brown and Nadal is absolutely immense.

[MENTION=4263]Dub[/MENTION]
I just came on to post exactly what you wrote...apart from the "Surpised Hattie....."
Yeah the usual well played Andy etc, really think he will win it again this year, playing so different these days, and IMO better.
Anyway, yeah what a match Brown is playing eh
Nadal seems a bit lost sometimes, his confidence is clearly not there as his game all over the place.

[MENTION=4263]Dub[/MENTION]
I just came on to post exactly what you wrote...apart from the "Surpised Hattie....."
Yeah the usual well played Andy etc, really think he will win it again this year, playing so different these days, and IMO better.
Anyway, yeah what a match Brown is playing eh
Nadal seems a bit lost sometimes, his confidence is clearly not there as his game all over the place.

I don't know much about tennis but it seems to me that Nadal is a bit on the back foot due to the speed the other guy is playing at. He's also a bit unorthodox which looks to be puzzling Nadal

Oh and he serves his second seve like he does the first, full pelt.

I don't know much about tennis but it seems to me that Nadal is a bit on the back foot due to the speed the other guy is playing at. He's also a bit unorthodox which looks to be puzzling Nadal

Oh and he serves his second seve like he does the first, full pelt.

Agree mate, he's pulling off and playing some outrageous wining shots.
But Nadal is a genius on the court, but he's just not coping

Brown had two match points there.....he left a shot thinking it was going out.....but it was in.
Hope it doesn't come back to haunt him.
Brown serving for the match

Game over. Well played to Brown. First time in the third round.

Brown's a great player on his day, always been one of my favourites on the tour to watch, made up for him

Heather Watson's got Serena on the run here. A break up in the third and playing really well.

Two breaks up now. This would be incredible.

Serving for the match at 5-4. Exciting stuff.

Blew it though.

A bit harsh perhaps but 3 brussel up in the last set, she should have won it.

Blew it though.A bit harsh perhaps but 3 brussel up in the last set, she should have won it.
Yup - thought her serve kind of let her down at the crucial moments. With a little bit of work on that she could maybe progress a bit. Serena's a beast though - far too powerful for most of the women.

Rarely *seen la Serena put to the test so much in recent years (* I haven't seen most of her games so that's all relative) but she is some machine. And I cannae stand all the faux shouting and greeting she gets on with every game, the life-threatening pleasure she seems to get from pasting away a volley or drive at the f'n net even.

But I am totally impressed with Heather Watson. She fights her end and is ready to run like a fecker to retrieve the tough ones. Is she really young? She's fae Guernsey, ffs. I'm amazed she isnae a lawyer instead of a pretty decent tennis player who reacts pretty well to stressy situations. They dinnae come much stressier than la Serena.

For someone whose name comes from an ancient Indo-European word for 'dry' (by most accounts) she sure puts in an extra effort where needed on the bone-dry courts of Wmdn. Might be interesting if the weather takes a turn for the unexpected next week...?

So really? Ladies tennis is not just about watching tottie?

I'd feel quite embarrassed if I didn't know you sad fcukers were just kidding on.
Who was that lass Shapri something? Or something ova.
Russian or Eastern Eurosomewhere.
She was class. Got me excited anyway. New balls indeed.

Best tennis since that poster of some bird rubbing her arse with a tennis ball or something.

Djokovic has lost the first two sets against Anderson. :shock:

This match won't finish tonight unless Anderson cleans him out in straight sets.

Djokovic has lost the first two sets against Anderson. :shock:

This match won't finish tonight unless Anderson cleans him out in straight sets.

I find myself wondering how much the French has fucked with Djokovic's head? His sense of invincibility?

All good news for Muzza though. Djokovic having to go five sets, and looking as vulnerable as I've seen him for ages.

Routine stuff for Muz. Friday a totally different occasion.

Womens Final is Serena Williams against Spain's unseeded Garbine Muguruza.

BBC 2 just now. Murray No1 Son winning in the semi finals of the Mens Doubles. 2 sets to 1 up, already broken the opponents' serve in the fourth set. :thumbgrin

Let's go Jamie, let's go :yeah:

Hope Jamie can win on Saturday.

Nice guy and good Hibee, he was nice enough to get up and do a wee speech pre game in hospitality a few years back when we beat hearts in the Scottish. :applause::applause:

Ach well. Trust the big (Swiss) cheese to bring his very very best A game :sadwalk:

Mon Jamie!

Ach well. Trust the big (Swiss) cheese to bring his very very best A game :sadwalk:

Mon Jamie!
I have to say in my view it underlines that brilliant though Andy is,
Fed and Djokovic are on another level entirely. Their steeliness of mind and ability to consistently bring out their A game when required puts them above the mere mortals amongst home Andy is top of the heap.

I have to say in my view it underlines that brilliant though Andy is,
Fed and Djokovic are on another level entirely. Their steeliness of mind and ability to consistently bring out their A game when required puts them above the mere mortals amongst home Andy is top of the heap.

Federer has won 1 slam tournament in 5 years? He was good today, but Murray just wasn't as good as he can be. He didn't do an awful lot wrong, but he's played better imho.

Fair enough B - you've handed me my backside with understated grace and revealed me for the Wimbledon tennis fan I am.

I am genuinely surprised by that, but I continue to believe that Fed and Jocko and Nadal are at a higher level. I only hope that Andy can add to his haul when - surely - Federers physical ability must wane. Djokovic, from my laymans perspective, is the most intimidating however.

I think the greatness of Andys Wimbledon win is exactly in holding together his more tempestuous psyche against folding in the face of Djokovic terminator remorselessness. If he never wins another slam that will still make Andy Murray one of the all time great Scottish and British sportsmen. But I hope he wins a lot more.