Who now?

Media speculation will probably become slight better informed in the next few days and there may be applications or there may be someone the board has already identified.

So who do you want, or don't want, or think might be a call?

I'm not convinced Gordon Strachan would want the job

I'm not convinced that Jack Ross has that great a record

I'd be quite tempted by Darren Fletcher

I'm not feeling it for any number of northern Irish managers - Robinson, O' Neil, O' Neil, Wright etc etc

I'd have quite liked Lambert but apparently he has a job. I think Alex Neil would be good too, but he's rocking it at Preston just now.

Despite the once bitten of a manager who's not experienced up here, I'd like to see us appoint Paul Tisdale or Martin Rennie.

We need a experienced manager to get us out of the relegation zone not a young manager trying to cut his cloth.

Don't understand why folk would want Strachan. Did pretty much heehaw with teams outwith Celtic in a management capacity.

A lot of folk doubting Jack Ross based on his time at Sunderland, need to remember that Chris Coleman couldn't get them going and he got Wales to a European Championship semi-final. Poisoned chalice is an understatement, Sunderland as a club are still fucked and the pressure obviously gets to their managers when they're literally expected by the fans to win every game.

That said I would still prefer Robinson. The Daily Shiterag has Shefki Kuqi supposedly in the running :lauff:

Jack Ross worries me slightly, another who doesn’t play two up top and his record at Sunderland wasn’t great. Wouldn’t go for Stubbs as I don’t think he could turn this round and would hate to see his legacy ruined.
Best shout I’ve seen so far is Strachan with Fletcher as assistant who would eventually take over but I couldn’t see that happening in a million years.
The issues lie a lot further than the manager I think we need a clear out of these “scouts” and coaches who we never see or here much of but should take some responsibility for what has happened recently.

I actually don't care. This campaign has really changed the level that I care any more. Strange feeling.

My gut feeling is Jack Ross will be the next manager. Soon see.

Strachan.

I'm another in the dubious about Ross camp. I just don't see what he offers that is that special? Getting St Mirren up is not a remarkable achievement they are a classic yo-yo club and he had a good squad. So you really have to focus on his Sunderland stint... If it is to be him I'd love to be proven wrong but I really think Ross is a bigger risk than some would believe.

I've mentioned Martin O'Neill on a few of these threads before as my ideal appointment, but anyone who has played, managed and achieved at a high level is a must and they must understand the stature of the club they are coming to.

Whoever it is I hope we appoint someone fairly quickly to give them a good shot at getting up to speed during the international break

I want John Collins as manager and strachan as assistant both want the best for our amazing football club

Despite the once bitten of a manager who's not experienced up here, I'd like to see us appoint Paul Tisdale or Martin Rennie.
Martin Rennie would end up being our very own Cathro. I saw enough Whitecaps games when he was coaching them to form the opinion that he is honking. I get your point but can we afford another leftfield appointment right now ?

I’ve seen some shite written about who we should go for - we need to be realistic. Are we going to pay money to take someone from a club that is performing? Probably not.

People writing Jack Ross off because of his time at Sunderland - any manager on the market at the moment is out of work for a reason, sometimes roles don’t work out or you can also be found out. I find it weird that the Stubbs Brigade would welcome him back but by using their own logic, he should be written off after his time at Rotherham.

I hope LD does things properly this time. She can’t be blinded by PowerPoint presentations and good chat. See who is interested, get them in to discuss their plans but also tap into some trusted sources for feedback. Hopefully we can get someone that fits in with the traditions of the club and the style. I’d love to see us playing decent football again, taking some chances and having a go instead of the turgid shite we’ve seen recently.

The issues lie a lot further than the manager I think we need a clear out of these “scouts” and coaches who we never see or here much of but should take some responsibility for what has happened recently.
I assure you I understand why you would say get rid of so-called scouts and coaches but if we did that then we'd be leaving ourselves wide open to allowing every other club to get well ahead of us because they have no intention of clearing out their scouting and coaching staff. Up until the PHB debacle, we have had a good return from our scouts and coaches, imo. George Craig and his squad were responsible for getting Stubbs and Lennon; aye, okay, Leanne as well. Coaches-wise, May, Murray, Makel and their squad of Combe, Evans, Nishy and others are all well respected, as our youngsters are still amongst the best, and now that the inflexible PHB had gone, I would expect the likes of Fraser Murray, Innes Murray, Ben Stirling and one or two others to be pushed towards the first team squad. I'm not an apologist for our scouts and coaches, but I do think PHB's tenure has tarred everyone with the same brush. As others have said elsewhere in the discussions on the amount of staff we have, a lot of very good work goes on by people who get little or no praise or recognition for what they do.

I have no idea where Hibs are gonna go next but like a few others I don't want Stubbs. His league performance wasn't great.

After hearing Sunderland fans tell us Jack Ross is negative and play's one up front and gets mainly draws. Just had and got rid of that so no thanks.

Strachan I think can sometimes be a wee dick tae. I remember watching him in after game interviews and he came accross an arrogant wee fudd. His record ain't great either beyond Celtic.

John Collins I say why not? One thing we will get is fitness plus "passing, moving and tempo". But I feel he has unfinished business and knows the Scottish game.

My outsider would be Scott Gemill. Currently at Scotland u21s and surely knows a few hungry young Scottish players we could scoop up. A risk maybe worth taking.

John Hughes can GTF

The guy at murderwell , was my first thought. But people are right why spend a fee on a gamble. So now i am turning towards Collins , Rod is now out the picture , so that wouldn't be a issue , it's getting the right assistant along side him is the problem, maybe the guy's that were with Stubbs, a wee mish mash of personality's keep JC's ego in check

A lot of folk doubting Jack Ross based on his time at Sunderland, need to remember that Chris Coleman couldn't get them going and he got Wales to a European Championship semi-final. Poisoned chalice is an understatement, Sunderland as a club are still fucked and the pressure obviously gets to their managers when they're literally expected by the fans to win every game.

That said I would still prefer Robinson. The Daily Shiterag has Shefki Kuqi supposedly in the running :lauff:
Don't think Kuqi could run anywhere.

I want John Collins as manager and strachan as assistant both want the best for our amazing football club
Agreed great shout an intelligent and articulate guy who played and understands classy football ??

I have no idea where Hibs are gonna go next but like a few others I don't want Stubbs. His league performance wasn't great.

After hearing Sunderland fans tell us Jack Ross is negative and play's one up front and gets mainly draws. Just had and got rid of that so no thanks.

Strachan I think can sometimes be a wee dick tae. I remember watching him in after game interviews and he came accross an arrogant wee fudd. His record ain't great either beyond Celtic.

John Collins I say why not? One thing we will get is fitness plus "passing, moving and tempo". But I feel he has unfinished business and knows the Scottish game.

My outsider would be Scott Gemill. Currently at Scotland u21s and surely knows a few hungry young Scottish players we could scoop up. A risk maybe worth taking.

John Hughes can GTF
F k Jack Ross no thanks - I want positive management , winning yes of course but entertaining play JC please

I would take Collins back the guy wants to see fitba played the right way .

Jack Ross was highly thought of at Hertz which should automatically make him unsuited to what we are after. Thankfully Davie Moyes isn’t interested either, Davie I can assure you the feelings mutual.

We should see who’s interested, might be a decent surprise name pop up. Stubbs and Collins a no for me, very rarely in Fitba does a 2nd stint at a club go well.

Whoever we appoint is a risk.

No chance it will be Collins

Martin Rennie would end up being our very own Cathro. I saw enough Whitecaps games when he was coaching them to form the opinion that he is honking. I get your point but can we afford another leftfield appointment right now ?

Ahh, i get your point, and bow to your first hand experience. Tbh he somehow came to the fore a few years ago (prob when he got the VW job) - and an internet search looked like a good manager. But that's the problem, it's only on the web I know of him....never seen his team live.

And you're right, we need someone who knows what they're doing here

our Last 2 cup winning managers played for Celtc and Everton. Is Thomas Gravesen a manager these days?

Mo Johnston..

Robinson: Hearts are after him...apparently in the frame for the Hibs job as well. He has done a good job at Motherwell and at times they look a really good side, but for me are inconsistent. I quite like the guy and would be quite happy if he ended up at Hibs, I just get the feeling he is a bit of a flavour of the month type manager though. I get the impression Hearts are really keen and will approach Motherwell soon. Not convinced he will be tempted by either Edinburgh club to be honest...probably sees his next move down south.

Stubbs; Hibs legend..but I don't ever think it's a good idea to bring previous managers back. His coaching team at Easter Road were a big factor in him doing such a good job before, and of course his entire time at Hibs was in the Championship. I have a lot of time for Alan Stubbs, he is enshrined in Hibernian folklore forever for winning the Scottish Cup, and he brought some great players to the club, but we really have to move on now as a club and get a new era up and running.

Strachan: Fits the bill completely for me if he is interested. Vast experience at a high level, brought up a Hibs fan, motivator and good tactician. Along with a younger coach like Ian Murray or Kenny Miller IMO that's the sort of thing we need just now to give the whole club a lift.

Ross; If we go for a younger manager again then Jack Ross fits the bill. He is very highly rated in the scottish game. I know a St Mirren fan and he says he was idolised there for the job he did in difficult circumstances, and they plummeted after he left. Good eye for a player and tactically very astute. After his fall out with Levein I can't see him going back to Tynecastle so he IMO will be favourite for the Hibs job. Far more experienced and qualified managers than Jack Ross have failed at Sunderland over the years so I wouldn't read too much into his time there.

Collins/Yogi etc; They have had their time and have both been out the game too long. I like them both but as I said for me we have to start looking forward as a club and not backwards...I think we spend too much time looking backwards to be honest.

We may end up with someone completely obscure but I really hope we don't. We need someone we can identify with, who knows the scottish game inside out, has experience of working here preferably with some degree of success, can motivate and inspire players, and who appreciates that he is in a great job at the joint third biggest club in the country, and has the ambition to succeed at Hibs, in other words win honours. In the first instance though he has to hit the ground running. We need wins badly. Whoever it is will be arriving at a club in crisis and facing a relegation battle. He must be up for that fight and the fans will rally behind him. We are entering a new era with a new owner and a new management team. I really hope we can all pull together when we appoint the new man, and if we do who knows we can yet still salvage something out of what has been a hellish season so far, and then move on to much better times.

I like the idea of Strachan & a younger coach like Boozy/Murray, but can see why most folk want Jack Ross. Wee bit concerned about his style of football- Levein was a fan?- but prepared to listen to folk that maybe know better.

JC/Boozy would be magic, but can't see that.

I think Wee Gordon is happy where he is.

BUT if he was interested I'd appoint him until the end of the season....he would do the job required as even with a new manager we are stuck with a truly shit team

The guy at murderwell , was my first thought. But people are right why spend a fee on a gamble. So now i am turning towards Collins , Rod is now out the picture , so that wouldn't be a issue , it's getting the right assistant along side him is the problem, maybe the guy's that were with Stubbs, a wee mish mash of personality's keep JC's ego in check
Rod wasn't the problem. It was the players who didn't get on with JC. You really want to go through that again?

You can say that again :gigglle:

But in all seriousness you're right. And one way or another some section of fans will be left dissapointed.

Robinson: Gunts are after him...apparently in the frame for the Hibs job as well. He has done a good job at Motherwell and at times they look a really good side, but for me are inconsistent. I quite like the guy and would be quite happy if he ended up at Hibs, I just get the feeling he is a bit of a flavour of the month type manager though. I get the impression Gunts are really keen and will approach Motherwell soon. Not convinced he will be tempted by either Edinburgh club to be honest...probably sees his next move down south.

I disagree in that I think both jobs would appeal to him. Downside is the compensation.

Stubbs; Hibs legend..but I don't ever think it's a good idea to bring previous managers back. His coaching team at Easter Road were a big factor in him doing such a good job before, and of course his entire time at Hibs was in the Championship. I have a lot of time for Alan Stubbs, he is enshrined in Hibernian folklore forever for winning the Scottish Cup, and he brought some great players to the club, but we really have to move on now as a club and get a new era up and running.

Agreed. That said if other approaches fail not a bad option until the end of the season. As long as he is backed in January to get players in and out.

Strachan: Fits the bill completely for me if he is interested. Vast experience at a high level, brought up a Hibs fan, motivator and good tactician. Along with a younger coach like Ian Murray or Kenny Miller IMO that's the sort of thing we need just now to give the whole club a lift.

My preference. It would give the club a shot in the arm.

Ross; If we go for a younger manager again then Jack Ross fits the bill. He is very highly rated in the scottish game. I know a St Mirren fan and he says he was idolised there for the job he did in difficult circumstances, and they plummeted after he left. Good eye for a player and tactically very astute. After his fall out with Levein I can't see him going back to Tynecastle so he IMO will be favourite for the Hibs job. Far more experienced and qualified managers than Jack Ross have failed at Sunderland over the years so I wouldn't read too much into his time there.

My second preference. And I would add that his Sunderland experience makes him a better manager.

Collins/Yogi etc; They have had their time and have both been out the game too long. I like them both but as I said for me we have to start looking forward as a club and not backwards...I think we spend too much time looking backwards to be honest.

We may end up with someone completely obscure but I really hope we don't. We need someone we can identify with, who knows the scottish game inside out, has experience of working here preferably with some degree of success, can motivate and inspire players, and who appreciates that he is in a great job at the joint third biggest club in the country, and has the ambition to succeed at Hibs, in other words win honours. In the first instance though he has to hit the ground running. We need wins badly. Whoever it is will be arriving at a club in crisis and facing a relegation battle. He must be up for that fight and the fans will rally behind him. We are entering a new era with a new owner and a new management team. I really hope we can all pull together when we appoint the new man, and if we do who knows we can yet still salvage something out of what has been a hellish season so far, and then move on to much better times.

Who ever we appoint needs backed in January. In my conversation with Leeann on Saturday she acknowledged that January requires action and it'll have to be better than the summer.

What’s Lennon up tae these days?

Danny Lennon ?

I don’t have a specific preference other than to say I don’t think bringing former managers back ever works out that well.
On paper Ross or Robinson seem fairly sound options but you never know with a different club, board and players.
The difficult part for any new manager will be steadying the ship and trying to get the best out of a team and players severely lacking in confidence.
I agree with those who want someone with experience, we can’t afford a managerial experiment.
Hopefully we appoint a new manager quickly, as in within a fortnight at the latest.

I don’t have a specific preference other than to say I don’t think bringing former managers back ever works out that well.
On paper Ross or Robinson seem fairly sound options but you never know with a different club, board and players.
The difficult part for any new manager will be steadying the ship and trying to get the best out of a team and players severely lacking in confidence.
I agree with those who want someone with experience, we can’t afford a managerial experiment.
Hopefully we appoint a new manager quickly, as in within a fortnight at the latest.

International break coming gives us extra time I reckon.

Big Sam ? relegation avoidance specialist

Why does no one suggest Brian Rice?

He has done a good job at Hamilton, for whatever reason though i don't think he will be in the frame.

This thread has been viewed 18701 times.

£57.50