Wheres all the mongrels?

Davy

Bit misleading as. A lot of so called pedigrees are just different breeds, bred together and given a fancy name like cockapoodle or something. But when I was young there were dogs everywhere. Tons of little terrier cross breds. When the dog license came in and dog patrols then shops stopping selling them, they all seemed to dissappear. But it wasn't like everyone back then bought mongrels from shops, you just got word that someones dog had a litter and asked for one.

So where have they all gone?

The cockapoodle owners are going to go rage! The labradoodle folk won't think you're talking about them 😆

I agree with you though. It seemed back in the day there were hunners of healthy dugs running about mental chasing sticks while now there's all these posh dogs wheezing and limping getting pushed about in converted kids push chairs that canny walk the length of themselves!

I've nothing against dogs but I'd never have one.

Used to have cats but ...

The last wee dug I had she was a jack whippet.

Fantastic times with her walking over the fields where the hossie is now and across the no road to the jack kane centre.

I've got a mutt. Best kind of dug in my opinion.

She was sold to us as a staffy/collie but as she's got older you can tell there is definitely more to the mix.

I do quite enjoy the looks I get when I'm asked what breed she is by other dog walkers and I just shrug my shoulders and say "could be anything mate".

My last dog out here was a heinz 57, poor dog got taken back to the shelter twice because he was unruly, when I got him he was so placid, totally different from what was told to the shelter. Unfortunately he passed last year very sudden.
We know have a Bernese Mountain Dog, totally the wife's pet, last weighed at 120pounds, loves the winter of course and hates the heat of course.

There is an argument that the Kennel Club has got an overbearing influence on dog ownership in the UK. They have pushed the "pure bred" line for dogs and droned on about breed standard. The ironic thing is that many of the said pure breds have other bloodlines from other breeds in their make up.

I've always had a dog, wouldn't be without one, and I do currently have a so called pure bred dog. But there are a lot of things the Kennel Club does I'm not impressed by.

I don't really understand the pure breed thing. We have a Jack Russell. His mother was short haired and his dad was long haired so he's somewhere in the middle. Is that just a variation within a breed or is he technically not pure breed? 🤷‍♂️

Don't suppose it matters really as long as he's not brown breed.

I don’t get it either. Pure breed dogs seem a bit up themselves to me, and the whole preoccupation has a certain whiff about it ….

3F75ADDC-2F3F-430E-ACEF-8EE5238B1654-18821-00001232353A8320.jpeg

Keep dancing on that minefield.

Reilly is a pedigree Irish Red Setter. She is named after a great Hibernian
Bloody hell Beagle, it’s a joke. But you are doing nothing to dissuade me that there is no resemblance to ‘purists’ generally

IMG_1008.webp

When i was a lad dugs ran about in gangs 😳. and their always seemed to be a 3 legged one in every gang 🙈. there was that many puppies you would hear about the remainder getting taken to the canal for there final walk 😔. and the often mentioned white dug shite has done a rangers and disappeared.

No idea about dugs B. I actually assumed she was a Beagle, and hence your name!
It’s my nickname. My mate, who is a bit of a Del Boy type in that he gets all his phrases wrong, kept referring to me being in the polis as the Legal Beagle instead of Legal Eagle and it just stuck. There’s folk in Bathgate still dinnae know my name except for The Beagle 🤣