What politics are you?

Davy

I can honestly say I am not tied to one party or any chain of thought. If you sped some time with me and dissect my beliefs you might try to categorise me. Anyway I would be interested to find out what other Hibbies think...and also if it is important for us to be united in poilitics as in football,,,as they say in spain. Apologies in advance for typos and spelling mistakes im under influence. I think I am socialist in general terms but do not believe that we have a viable party to impement it, therefore I veer to capitalism, however it would take pages and pages to explain myself...ps I think it would be boring if we were all the same

Labour Party member for 50 years, Marxist for 45 years, Scottish Labour Party Young Socialists Executive, GMWU /GMB Union Scottish Committee, Convenor of Shop Stewards SAI Leith Docks.

Believer in Independence for Scotland,Ex Labour voter.
Tend to split my vote between SNP and Greens though obviously they don’t represent all my views,no party can do that for folk.

Big supporter of Scotland for independence.
As far as party support goes, I’ve voted for a lot of different ones over the years depending on a number of factors - SSP, Greens, SNP and a handful of Independents.

I come from a solid Labour family, and for many years I was a Labour supporter and voter. I was quite politically minded during the 80's and at that time I was on the BEC of my union branch and I joined my local Labour Party and was actively involved in helping out in the 2 general elections during that decade. I eventually got disillusioned with politics in general. I am still interested in how the country is being run and I listen in to the odd political debate etc but I really have no passion for any political party any more.
I must admit I have become more leaning towards Scottish independence in the last few years, and to be honest I would probably vote yes in any future Scottish independence referendum now having previously been unconvinced by the economic argument for it. I'm still not totally there yet though.
I am very pro-Europe and voted remain in the Euro referendum. The whole Brexit disaster has finished me in terms of any confidence or belief in Westminster politics and Scotland continuing to be treated as the poor relations in this so called island of equal nations.

I always considered myself to be left-libertarian.

Basically in my opinion its a governments job to look after its people (health, education, law, public services, funding for culture and arts). This includes proper policing of private enterprise to combat exploitation by businesses.

I also believe that governments should have little to with peoples personal lives when they at not directly hurting anyone else (ie breaking the law).

I tend to vote Green (though they are far from perfect), support Scottish independence, was keen to remain in the EU and I believe proportional representation and more powers for local councils would eliminate a lot of the political tribalism that has poisoned UK politics.

Big supporter of independence so vote SNP but in a independent Scotland would vote for whoever I thought was best.

Again a supporter of Scottish independence, a socialist who once voted labour. Now SNP member although I see them as a means to a beginning. I am also pro Europe.

When I was really young I joined the Union and soon became an office bearer, low level one in Scotland. I was sent on all sorts of courses where I was surprised to find a lot of the Union activity was two factions fighting it out for control. I wasn't really in either camp, made friends in both maintaining my stance I was there for the members. The longer I was there the more pressure there was to join one of these factions and after thinking long and hard I said fuck it, neither was where I wanted to be and resigned from the position.

Pre devolution I worked with both the big parties, low level stuff, and have to say wasn't really impressed with either from a Scottish perspective. Scottish legislation was Westminster stuff with English references cut and Scottish references pasted in. The Torys I met were generally arrogant pricks, the Labour folk generally a happy lot happy to leave legislation responsibilities to down south and enjoy the role of Minister.

That changed after devolution although when it was Labour in both parliaments the changes were negligible, Departments in Scotland worked closely with their English counterparts. There were old school Ministers who were a pleasure ish to work with but the new boys were a bit arrogant.

I was against Scottish independence at this point and was an avid Labour voter.

Que the SNP getting in at Holyrood. The SNP had a very different approach. Instead of imposing legislation there was a collaborative approach with folk and it worked better! There as a clear divergence from Westminster and to all intents and purposes their officials stopped working closely with us.

Scotland is now quite different to what it used to be. The needs of Scotland are very different to to what's on offer from Westminster. The latest Scottish Labour leader doesn't seem to get this. To me it's almost like the days of Braveheart when English Lord's were imposed on Scotland, the "Rebellious Scots to crush".

Don't even get me started with the lying, self serving Tory bastards.

I'm now a SNP voter and fully behind the independence cause.

Snp member for the last 17 years, but I’ve never been taken with the salmond/sturgeon wing of the party. I’m a fundamental nationalist first and foremost and left leaning. I find myself distanced from the direction of travel of the snp.

Looking forward to the election I don't feel obliged to vote for The SNP, but there's only one thing that will make that happen.

Have voted LibDem, Labour,Green,SNP...can't see a scenario when I'll vote LibDem or Labour again, especially in Scottish elections.

If The Common Weal had a candidate in my constituency, I'd be voting fore that person.

Would add to that that I find my SNP MP to be pretty dreadful, and the Labour person he deposed pretty sound. Which is annoying.

Live in Ingerland so the SNP aren't an option. I've had some spectacularly unimpressive Labour bods to vote for and some tremendous ones too and overall I'm pretty happy to grit my teeth and wave the Blairites through. Getting frustrated with Manchester City Council but nowhere near as frustrated as Andy Burnham is, which is heartening i guess.

Labour man traditionally. Though I have reservations on Mr Corbyn. A softer left is my preferred position.
I live in a mainly Conservative area historically . Agriculture in the south west generally ploughs that furrow.
I have voted for the SNP once, due to frustration with Labour.
On defence I'm somewhat right wing, but knowing my history that is not surprising.
Enjoy policical programmes, think Micheal portillo train programme is magic.... Great presenter.
But when Ive got the curtain closed, pencil in hand, wavering...... Labour is 99% where my X goes.

Pro Europe, pro Independence SNP member. Voted Lib Dem in my early years

I travel a lot to Ireland for work purposes and have relations who live in Norway, friends who live in Denmark or Finland and have visited nearly all the nearby small European countries and I have no doubt whatsoever that small countries work best of all and are much happier when they are run by the people who live there.

The standard of living in nearly all these countries is just so much higher than in Scotland or its catching up very fast such as in the Baltic states and its not hard to guess the reasons why.

Everywhere you travel or live in the world many people and I would include English people in this are a bit incredulous that the majority of Scottish people prefer others to run the country for them as its a highly unusual system of governance that is almost without parallel in the world.

I’ve voted SNP all my life, I’m a member of the party and believe 100% that Scotland is being fleeced and held back by being part of an unequal union.

Are you a member because they're the main vehicle to independence? Do you agree with their polices too? They get a free ride on certain things I think..

I’m definitely a member because of independence, but their policies are also mostly aligned to how I think. Getting rid of nuclear weapons and remaining in the EU are two other policies I’m in favour off. I’m not so blinkered in my politics that I agree with everything they do. I thought the OBFA was a poor piece of legislation and I’m totally against the parking charges for workers that’s being brought in, although I do realise that it was a condition for the greens to support the budget.

Again a supporter of Scottish independence, a socialist who once voted labour. Now SNP member although I see them as a means to a beginning. I am also pro Europe.

Pretty much describes me, too. Will never return to Labour while they continue to be Westminster shills, but could easily imagine doing so in an independent future.

I'd like Scotland to be an independent republic. Is there any party that will make this happen?

Not yet, lets get over the line first.

None as far as I can see.

Whats on offer is Independence via SNP or Greens and then another referendum further down the line as to whether a Queen/King should be the ceremonial heid bummer.

Not yet, lets get over the line first.
Which is why the SNP have always been my choice then we could maybe get down to business.

My thoughts exactly.

Like most of my family have not voted Labour since 1997 and never will again. SNP member until such time independence is delivered, what an opportunity passed up in 2014.

If it hasn't been clear from my posts, I'm a Socialist and a Marxist. I don't think Corbyn is left wing enough for me! I despise the Tories and Capitalism. Sorry I love Scotland, but am not a nationalist. I believe in revolution, where Capitalism is overthrown. Most of my family are not political, but definitely working class. There is a huge Socialist tradition in Scotland, but then the same can be said about Geordies, Scousers, Mancs

So many Labour Hibbies here. I was just out for a faaaaaaag and I was humming the Red Flag for no good reason!

Then I vaguely remembered there was a Hibs song to the same tune and a green flag. So I might have been humming that or a Christmas tune!

Am I going nuts?

Or does anyone remember the Hibs version?

So many Labour Hibbies here. I was just out for a faaaaaaag and I was humming the Red Flag for no good reason!

Then I vaguely remembered there was a Hibs song to the same tune and a green flag. So I might have been humming that or a Christmas tune!

Am I going nuts?

Or does anyone remember the Hibs version?
Really lots? Labour are a busted flush only independence could make them relevant again. Maybe they should support it rather than siding with the Tories!

Yeah lots, just look at this thread! And almost all the SNP folk are former Labour voters.
I'd love Labour to get over their hatred of the SNP because they're not going to make any inroads anytime soon and a pound to a penny says they'll need a Scottish backup to govern in these modern times, assuming that is what they want rather than being a party of permanent protest.

Anyway di ye ken the tune? More importantly the words?

Yeah lots, just look at this thread! And almost all the SNP folk are former Labour voters.
I'd love Labour to get over their hatred of the SNP because they're not going to make any inroads anytime soon and a pound to a penny says they'll need a Scottish backup to govern in these modern times, assuming that is what they want rather than being a party of permanent protest.

Anyway di ye ken the tune? More importantly the words?
The one I know is forever and ever we’ll follow the boys the embra hibess the timaloys and not being mastered by no orange bastards etc and keeping the green flag flying.

That's it!
Canny see it going down too well these days, maybe needs a makeover.

None as far as I can see.

Whats on offer is Independence via SNP or Greens and then another referendum further down the line as to whether a Queen/King should be the ceremonial heid bummer.
Do not kid yourself amigo the SNP have declared that her Majesty or Bonnie Prince Charlie will be the regal knobs in an Independent Scotland to placate the sectarian mob. Pretty pathetic in my opinion.

I think you are exactly right as thats the initial plan and then the people of Scotland then have the choice to ditch the "regal knobs" further down the line.

It does seem quite a practical policy and a more likely way to rid Scotland of "regal knobs" sooner rather than later as the sensible majority of the Scottish electorate will override the wee pockets of hate or elite priveledge that still exist in Scottish society and help dilute both their awful cultures still further which must make Scotland a happier, less divisive and therefore a better and more tolerant country.

Scottish society then moves on to a meritocracy with a head of state we actually elect just like any normal European country rather than this undercurrent of tugging the forelock.

Even for a party representing British Unionism there used to be a strong positive republican tinge to the Labour party in Scotland and Labour movement such as Willie Hamilton and Mick Mcgahey.

All that seems long gone swept away by such a strong monarchist as Blair and the huge pay offs now available in the House of Lords for Scottish Labour party retirees as Life peers.

Lord McConnell of GlenScorrodale (Wee Union Jack), Lord Watson of Invergowrie (Mike the Firestarter, twisted firestarter), Lord Brown of Ladyton (Des to his mates), Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke (Oor wee Helen), Baron Foulkes of Cummnock (George the Jambo pish slaverer), Baron Darling of Roulanish (Alistair the Red via Loretto) and many more besides understand exactly what Scottish Labour party MP's and MSP's need to do in order to keep themselves in the land of milk and honey and there sure ain't any sop to republicinism these days.

More than one stage to any revolution.

Sell out BA86EB6F-0B63-480B-A701-7BD8940665A4.jpeg

Scottish independance supporter, probably leaning to the left.
I really can't get my head around people in Scotland happy to be ruled by the Westminster elite.
Forever we will be known as the generation that shat it .

Corbyn gonnae bin them in the new socialist republic, like?

I think you are exactly right as thats the initial plan and then the people of Scotland then have the choice to ditch the "regal knobs" further down the line.

It does seem quite a practical policy and a more likely way to rid Scotland of "regal knobs" sooner rather than later as the sensible majority of the Scottish electorate will override the wee pockets of hate or elite priveledge that still exist in Scottish society and help dilute both their awful cultures still further which must make Scotland a happier, less divisive and therefore a better and more tolerant country.

Scottish society then moves on to a meritocracy with a head of state we actually elect just like any normal European country rather than this undercurrent of tugging the forelock.

Even for a party representing British Unionism there used to be a strong positive republican tinge to the Labour party in Scotland and Labour movement such as Willie Hamilton and Mick Mcgahey.

All that seems long gone swept away by such a strong monarchist as Blair and the huge pay offs now available in the House of Lords for Scottish Labour party retirees as Life peers.

Lord McConnell of GlenScorrodale (Wee Union Jack), Lord Watson of Invergowrie (Mike the Firestarter, twisted firestarter), Lord Brown of Ladyton (Des to his mates), Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke (Oor wee Helen), Baron Foulkes of Cummnock (George the Jambo pish slaverer), Baron Darling of Roulanish (Alistair the Red via Loretto) and many more besides understand exactly what Scottish Labour party MP's and MSP's need to do in order to keep themselves in the land of milk and honey and there sure ain't any sop to republicinism these days.
Blairites to a man and woman. Looking forward to madatory reselection so their kindred spirit in the Parliamentary Labour Party and Scottish Parliament can be replaced by Socialists. Abolishment of the anachronism of the unelected House of Lords would be another step on the right direction.

A mix of Gramsci, Luxemburg and Connolly, with a touch of Lukacs, Lenin and Trotsky.Sort of Kollontai with a touch of Radek.

I'm Clara Zetkinist.

This thread has been viewed 5479 times.