What Choons Yi Listening To?

barney

Atlanta Hibs Radge
As a fan of all three I would like to see that show...
went to see Joel at madison square last year, it was fantastic.
couldnt really turn down the chance when he was here, especially with those support acts......should be a brawsome night

EH17 Jimmy

This looks very interesting. The film is released today....

Have any of yous read the book
Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk*

It starts in the mid-1960s with the birth of the Velvet Underground in New York, gives a taste of Detroit and the musicians who would become MC5 and the Stooges/Iggy Pop, then comes back to New York for the emergence of the New York Dolls, the Ramones, Patti Smith, Richard Hell, Television, and more.

*i have said book as a PDF and epub file.
Anyone wants a copy pm me with an email addy and I'll forward it on.

This is worth a read as well....

THE OTHER HOLLYWOOD: The Uncensored Oral History of the Porn Film Industry

Jack K

The film looks good from the trailer ... not sure wtf Billy Idol is doing there though

Sancho Panza

Real Life by Magazine. Finest post-punk band imho. Kind of forgotten now but their first 3 studio albums are all stone cold classics and Shot By Both Sides maybe one of my favourite singles of all time.

Jack K

Real Life by Magazine. Finest post-punk band imho. Kind of forgotten now but their first 3 studio albums are all stone cold classics and Shot By Both Sides maybe one of my favourite singles of all time.
Interestingly "Shot By Both Sides" and another of the best tracks from that 1st album (The Light Pours Out of Me") were co written by Pete Shelley from The Buzzcocks and off course Howard Devoto was in the Buzzcocks at the time of the Spiral Scratch E.P.

Bangkokhibby

Watched The Beatles Get back documentary recently and still blown away by it. In my opinion the greatest band ever. Seen hundreds of concerts, missed many I wish I was at but oh to be on the roof that day. McCartney absolutely immense here.

Rocky

I'm a metal boy at heart but turning into a bit of a folkie as I get auld - this combines both imo, plenty energy.

Rocky

I refuse to believe anyone can watch this without tapping their taes

Two Headed Boy

I've been enjoying Elvis Costello's new album. A bit of return to form for the auld yin. Worth checking out if you were a fan of the My Aim is True, This Year's Model era. There's nothing quite as iconic as Pump it Up but some great pop-punk, new wave bangers on this.

greencol

Big G. For you and I. And one or two others.

EH17 Jimmy

Any of yous heard of this lassie before. Back in the 30's. So What by The Anti Nowhere League pales in comparison.....

Lucille Bogan was a singer who began her career recording vaudeville songs in 1923, but by 1930 she had transitioned herself into a blues singer whose lyrics focused on then-risqué themes like sex, prostitution, drinking, adultery, and lesbianism.

In March 1935, Lucille (along with her long-time collaborator, pianist Walter Roland) recorded one of her final and best-known songs, the infamous

“Shave ‘Em Dry.”

I got nipples on my titties, big as the end of my thumb,
I got somethin' between my legs'll make a dead man come,
Oh daddy, baby won't you shave 'em dry?

Or the all time classic

Till The Cows Come Home

I got a man I love
I got a man I like
Every time I fuck them mens
I give 'em the doggone clap
Oh, baby
Give 'em the doggone clap

But that's the kind of pussy that they really like

This thread has been viewed 232043 times.