We think our officials are bad

how on earth could that happen and no-one noticed. I’d expect the other team or the teams fans to be noticing it and raising it. If it had happened at a youth game - I’d be noticing it.
The stand side linesman / 4th official will be in trouble - that’s their job at any sub (although ref has responsibility) .

Edit: it’s not clear from the article how long they had 12 men for or who noticed it.

how on earth could that happen and no-one noticed. I’d expect the other team or the teams fans to be noticing it and raising it. If it had happened at a youth game - I’d be noticing it.
The stand side linesman / 4th official will be in trouble - that’s their job at any sub (although ref has responsibility) .

Edit: it’s not clear from the article how long they had 12 men for or who noticed it.
I read it a couple of days ago and if memory serves I think it was late in the game.
It lasted a minute apparently before Van Persie noticed and told the ref.

The complaint (apart from the obvious) is that with 12 players they got an attacking throw in. The extra player then left the pitch but they scored from the throw in.

Played doon at Newcraighall for a pub Sunday amateur team back in the day and ended the game with 13 on the pitch.
We got beat 5-2!!!

Aye but in those days you made up two of the players
The auld Libby Locals. Couple of pints then off tae wherever our game was. Back tae the Libby after the game. Nae midweek training either. 😂

Ice hockey has an offence 'Too many men on the ice', which is not uncommon and results in a two-minute bench penalty.

Maybe one of the players was that rubbish it was like playing with 2 men short.