cstkto
So they are having a VAR Meeting is this another way that they can make sure the ugly sisters can get everything and when they look at anything else ignore it?
That’s exactly what’s gonni happen.. Think it’s 3 people daein the VAR, Dinnae ken if the FA in England pay the VARefs or the teams but itll no make a difference, it’ll be a licence tae get/ no giveaway penalties and offsides for the 2 cheeks.So they are having a VAR Meeting is this another way that they can make sure the ugly sisters can get everything and when they look at anything else ignore it?
Scottish Premiership clubs discuss VARIt's going to cost each top flight club £100,000 a season I heard!
Having seen how the compliance officer works (or doesn't) when it comes to dealing with the The Hun - the lack of a red or retrospective action on Ryan Kent, why on earth would we want to pay £100k a season for more decisions to go their way?
It's not the VAR that will be meaningful, it's the folk deciding which decisions are needing to be 'looked at'.
I think we all know how this will pan out.
And of course every dodgy decision that the Smellies get will have to be 'balanced' by an equally dodgy one for the The Huns.
*big assumption I know. But the one thing about VAR is that officials really wouldn’t have anywhere to hide.
It’s Scottish football, the compliance officer ignoring the hun tackle shows they do not care and hide behind their anonymity.I assume that the introduction of VAR would eliminate the need for the compliance officer, so provided the officials using it were competent* we’d not have anymore of these nonsense and imbalanced cases.
*big assumption I know. But the one thing about VAR is that officials really wouldn’t have anywhere to hide.
I’d feel much more reassured during a game v the Huns knowing we had the impartiality of Brother Beaton and Nick Walsh back in the VAR studio…I assume that the introduction of VAR would eliminate the need for the compliance officer, so provided the officials using it were competent* we’d not have anymore of these nonsense and imbalanced cases.
It’s Scottish football, the compliance officer ignoring the hun tackle shows they do not care and hide behind their anonymity.
VAR will not change that, in fact imo it will get worse
I’d feel much more reassured during a game v the Huns knowing we had the impartiality of Brother Beaton and Nick Walsh back in the VAR studio…![]()
Apart from being “a made up position” and “operating without clear standards” they have little in common.The compliance officer is a made up position that doesn’t seem to operate to any clear guidelines or standards, they’re not comparable to VAR in the slightest.
Apart from being “a made up position” and “operating without clear standards” they have little in common.
I admire your confidence that VAR will be a fair and independent system that treats all teams equally, and I wish I had some of it.
And you know the Compliance officer is meant to be totally independent exactly like VAR is? Like who decides it goes to VAR, who decides the decision? Just more secrets hence more corruption. I really am amazed anyone thinking VAR will change any off thisThe compliance officer is a made up position that doesn’t seem to operate to any clear guidelines or standards, they’re not comparable to VAR in the slightest.
Yep, you see the Huns pushing for VAR and you think: they have to realise they would not be the net beneficiaries of such a system. Or would they?According tae the retard one of the biggest refereeing talking points was fashion sakala getting pulled down and getting nothing for it. Not a mention of the possible leg breaking challenge by the hun.
I somehow think those decisions on VAR will only go the way of the gruesome twosome as it'll be the same arseholes sitting in the VAR studio.
They dinnae need anywhere tae hide, like the Tory government they dinnae care who kens they’re corrupt.I assume that the introduction of VAR would eliminate the need for the compliance officer, so provided the officials using it were competent* we’d not have anymore of these nonsense and imbalanced cases.
And you know the Compliance officer is meant to be totally independent exactly like VAR is? Like who decides it goes to VAR, who decides the decision? Just more secrets hence more corruption. I really am amazed anyone thinking VAR will change any off this![]()
The SFA are a law unto themselves, they will run VAR the way THEY see fit, therein is the problem.Do they have compliances officers in other countries? Can’t say I’ve heard of that, pretty sure it’s some nonsense the SFA came up with. It’s not very clear what their remit actually is or how they chose cases to review.
Other countries do have VAR, and the usage of that is very clear. Who decides etc is already established. Our officials will have to follow that, they can’t pretend they didn’t see things.
Really don’t get how it is remotely comparable to the compliance officer.
There’s lots of problems with the officiating in Scotland, one of the biggest of which is them not having to declare who they support and not being allowed to referee “their” team. The other is that they’re not full time professionals and paid as such.
These things even themselves out Doc, you know that.Having seen how the compliance officer works (or doesn't) when it comes to dealing with the The Hun - the lack of a red or retrospective action on Ryan Kent, why on earth would we want to pay £100k a season for more decisions to go their way?
It's not the VAR that will be meaningful, it's the folk deciding which decisions are needing to be 'looked at'.
I think we all know how this will pan out.
And of course every dodgy decision that the Smellies get will have to be 'balanced' by an equally dodgy one for the The Huns.
@Zab I'm less confident.
Goals against the bigots will be overly scrutinised, and you'll find important goals getting chalked off because of a random push or bump off the ball resulting in freekicks to them.
Games like the Porto red card game against Hunco will still see Porto sent off and the hun challenge on Doig won't get looked at (I'm not convinced either were reds btw)
That challenge at the weekend, I've not seen the foul, but I've seen the picture, of that doesn't get mentioned post game, it's not going to get pulled during the game.
Things like offsides might get better, but for the other decisions I can still see the decisions being skewed in their favour.
Also, VAR is good in the top euro leagues because there are always 10 or more cameras on the action, in Scottish football for your every weekend games, there's only 2 or 3 and those won't give all the views and angles required to make the correct decisions all the time.
If we're gonna do it up here, we need to hire outsiders to sit in the booth and judge these decisions otherwise you'll have the same biased *&*^ making the decisions imo.
This was amazingThis. It harks back to the heady days of yesteryear when the refs went on strike for a week and furners came in and reffed our games fairly.
@Zab I'm less confident.
Goals against the bigots will be overly scrutinised, and you'll find important goals getting chalked off because of a random push or bump off the ball resulting in freekicks to them.
Games like the Porto red card game against Hunco will still see Porto sent off and the hun challenge on Doig won't get looked at (I'm not convinced either were reds btw)
That challenge at the weekend, I've not seen the foul, but I've seen the picture, of that doesn't get mentioned post game, it's not going to get pulled during the game.
Things like offsides might get better, but for the other decisions I can still see the decisions being skewed in their favour.
Also, VAR is good in the top euro leagues because there are always 10 or more cameras on the action, in Scottish football for your every weekend games, there's only 2 or 3 and those won't give all the views and angles required to make the correct decisions all the time.
If we're gonna do it up here, we need to hire outsiders to sit in the booth and judge these decisions otherwise you'll have the same biased *&*^ making the decisions imo.
Depends who is operating it does it not . You hear them saying VAR is looking at it , so it is they who decide whether to look at it . Imagine if it is a bigot sympathisor operating itThe usage of VAR is pretty established at this point, the controversies and inconsistencies have been largely ironed out. I’d imagine some Scottish officials are dreading its implementation, as the days of hiding behind “mistakes” will be a thing of the past.
The person operating VAR can’t ignore things as they’re literally watching an incident over and over, and that footage is available to anyone. FIFA are all in on VAR, they won’t allow any country to make a mockery of it.
Depends who is operating it does it not . You hear them saying VAR is looking at it , so it is they who decide whether to look at it . Imagine if it is a bigot sympathisor operating itwe might be saying in future wtf , why is var not looking at that ? Ah right it’s brother beaton’s brother who’s the var operator . That explains it . Can only work if the operator is above reproach , is that likely , doubt it
Which is fair enough, but this is Scotland and the sfa, do you honestly think guidelines will be adhered to?I know what you mean, but the point I’m making is there will be clear guidelines of what types of incidents have to be reviewed, regardless of the team involved.
A bit like the complience officerI know what you mean, but the point I’m making is there will be clear guidelines of what types of incidents have to be reviewed, regardless of the team involved.
A bit like the complience officer
Not sure Norn Oirland would make a huge improvement.Instead of wasting money on VAR set up 10 pro referees and get people from anywhere but Scotland. Will cost less and give us an overall better refereeing outcome imo
lol too true, The reff's we had when they were on strike lets get them againNot sure Norn Oirland would make a huge improvement.
Peirluigi colluna is available to run it![]()
Instead of wasting money on VAR set up 10 pro referees and get people from anywhere but Scotland. Will cost less and give us an overall better refereeing outcome imo
Anybody but the sfa , no chance they would allow itI think that would be a great idea.
Well the compiance officer saw nothing amiss with (in my opinion) 2 red cards in the Utd v Huns game . I assume it was looked at from various angles over again , why would var be different ?Is it though? I’ve nae idea what guidelines the compliance officer works to, but I can see how VAR is used in the leagues which have implemented it.