Two Tier Policing At Notting Hill Carnival

Scenes of folk openly swearing at police. Openly smoking drugs. All minor of course but with 7000 metropolitan police deployed for the 2 day event there was 3 stabbings.

Imagine if this was a white working class carnival....

Imagine if this was football supporters...

Scenes of folk openly swearing at police. Openly smoking drugs. All minor of course but with 7000 metropolitan police deployed for the 2 day event there was 3 stabbings.

If it was it would be carnival of the far right

Already posted this on the stabbing thread K:

A retired Chief Inspector reckons it’s a two tier event.

“Mr Neville claimed that police at the carnival “are told only to arrest in the most extreme circumstances” because of community sensitivities.”

Sounds quite quiet this year, 80 police assaulted last year it seems

Already posted this on the stabbing thread K:

A retired Chief Inspector reckons it’s a two tier event.

“Mr Neville claimed that police at the carnival “are told only to arrest in the most extreme circumstances” because of community sensitivities.”

Sounds quite quiet this year, 80 police assaulted last year it seems
Sorry M I didn't see it.

That wasn’t my point….it was more that here is a former polis corroborating your suspicion
And quite rightly so.

If only eh it was just the good few giving the old bill profanities in their ear....

Imagine if it's attendance, which it was equivilant to 11, yes 11 Glastonburys, where dope has never been smoked openly, imagine if there was not so called two tier policing in Glasgow that I've experienced following Hibs in the 60's, 70's,80's,90's etc, etc.
Stop these borderline racist daft tropes Kenny, it does not become you. I wish that I could have been astute enough to have put a fiver on with a bookies who would be the next 4 posters who followed your silly post. Obvious really and no surprise to anyone on here, nor the dugs on the streets of Leith.

Imagine if it's attendance, which it was equivilant to 11, yes 11 Glastonburys, where dope has never been smoked openly, imagine if there was not so called two tier policing in Glasgow that I've experienced following Hibs in the 60's, 70's,80's,90's etc, etc.
Stop these borderline racist daft tropes Kenny, it does not become you. I wish that I could have been astute enough to have put a fiver on with a bookies who would be the next 4 posters who followed your silly post. Obvious really and no surprise to anyone on here, nor the dugs on the streets of Leith.

"Borderline racist" dearie me.

Carnival aside the police are kept busy the remainder of the year with all the stabbings and violent crime. Per head of ethnicity the volume for non white individuals committing crime is considerable in the UK. Scotland has been brought to shame with drug deaths (and rightly so), this should no different for criminal acts.

Number 5. Late to the game son.

You called me a far right racist and never explained. I’m sorry but I won’t forget that.

I would suggest you are a lot more bigoted than anyone on the bounce.

You will conclude there is an issue with two tier policing if and when some party ‘analysis’ decides it to be the line to take.

As the strategy of the moment appears to be fellow travelling with global capitalism in the hope that that is the thing that brings the roof down - a not unreasonable thesis tbf - clearing the way for the new dawn, you can probably take comfort that this will not be imminent.

Tomorrow may or may not belong to you guys, in the meantime some of us will continue to think for ourselves.

And hey, if the new dawn doesn’t happen, a lot of people will still have turned a nice coin, even if not footsoldiers like your good self. Same as it ever was.

At least you haven’t gone full Milton Friedman like whoever Findlay gets his marching orders from.

Using the stats I used the other day it appears there are on average about 41 stabbings a day in London each day.

Only 3 at the festival with 2m in attendance seems an absolute bargain! Fag packet calculation suggests there should be about 20 over the 2 days!!

You will conclude there is an issue with two tier policing if and when some party ‘analysis’ decides it to be the line to take.

As the strategy of the moment appears to be fellow travelling with global capitalism in the hope that that is the thing that brings the roof down - a not unreasonable thesis tbf - clearing the way for the new dawn, you can probably take comfort that this will not be imminent.

Tomorrow may or may not belong to you guys, in the meantime some of us will continue to think for ourselves.

And hey, if the new dawn doesn’t happen, a lot of people will still have turned a nice coin, even if not footsoldiers like your good self. Same as it ever was.

At least you haven’t gone full Milton Friedman like whoever Findlay gets his marching orders from.
Fuck off.Cheap shot at me for no fucking reason.

It’s not for no reason. I am making a point about the increasingly confused ideology of you and Gordon. You’re so busy trying to keep up with all the daffy nonsense that comes from various ‘analyses’ that you don’t seem to stop, take a breath, and appreciate that these student grant dafties have led you to campaign for completely the opposite of what you once stood for.

So you support the open borders policies of the capitalist ultra right (what the point referred to); yous like to think of yourself as anti Nazis while cosying up to anti semitic lslamists; yous regurgitate the racist politics that allow the working class to be exploited and demonised; yous support the bourgeois liberal flights of fancy that ravage the less affluent and destroy working class communities.

That’s what slavish deference to ‘analyses’ gets you.

I mentioned your new found respect for Friedman simply because it’s the most pure and extreme example.

Using the stats I used the other day it appears there are on average about 41 stabbings a day in London each day.

Only 3 at the festival with 2m in attendance seems an absolute bargain! Fag packet calculation suggests there should be about 20 over the 2 days!!
There is no way there is 41 stabbings a day in London. Not a chance. Almost all knife crime will be possession.

I think that 60-70 stabbing homicides is about typical for London annually. I’d be very surprised if only one out of 200 stabbings is lethal, which implies the rate is nowhere near 41 a day.

There is no way there is 41 stabbings a day in London. Not a chance. Almost all knife crime will be possession.

I think that 60-70 stabbing homicides is about typical for London annually. I’d be very surprised if only one out of 200 stabbings is lethal, which implies the rate is nowhere near 41 a day.
Sorry, yes knife crimes.

Youve tried to be s smart arse about a song frae a film.... about Nat Socialists.

It was never one of the "party tunes", it was written for the film 😆

yip... been on the end of a few from him of late. I was tugging my forelock apparently, recently for stating a fact about the e democrats handling of the US economy versus the last Rep innings.
His standards have dropped dramatically of late.
A shame actually, still, I very much hope he stays.

yip... been on the end of a few from him of late. I was tugging my forelock apparently, recently for stating a fact about the e democrats handling of the US economy versus the last Rep innings.
His standards have dropped dramatically of late.
A shame actually, still, I very much hope he stays.
From the board’s #1 sniper from the sidelines that’s a bit rich.

You have quite a thin hide given how much you dish out.

He’s full of shite. Ignore mate.
I have a lot of time for BIG G. And water off a ducks back when I get told what I am or what I'm not.... Bottom line we all know within ourselves what we are or what we're not. My 51 years on this planet I've been called all sorts. "Sticks & stones...." was implanted in me growing up in Niddrie so I kind of look beyond the names etc. The BIG G's of the world are playing into the hands of those they oppose. Most don't read communist propaganda and have any interest in politics. They form their opinions on what they see, hear and experience in their day-to-day lives.

I met a lovely educated couple from Florida the other day in Edinburgh. We discussed politics here in the UK and over the pond. They both highlighted the characteristics of Donald Trump. They don't like him. But they'll vote for him. Why I ask. They tell me to look at the absolute societal breakdown in every big city in the US. Not completely to blame they say but a huge contributing factor is having lost control of their borders. They have friends back home from ALL backgrounds and of all colours. Race they told me has nothing to do with it. And they further highlighted the attempt by Biden & Harris and the Democrats to twist the reality to be about race makes them so angry that they're more determined to vote Trump...

And so it is here. Folk look at their own lives. Of the struggle to get to the end of each month financially. They see our public services on their backsides. Not able to get appointments for health care. Seeing their kids and grandchildren in schools with hungry kids. And knowing that as a country we are spending BILLIONS of pounds on folk (usually always male) illegally enter the country and we provide hotel accommodation, clothing, transportation, healthcare and lots of other costly assistance. Understandably they look at that and don't think it's right. To not feel comfortable with that has fuck all to do with race.

The recently widowed woman I met who returned back to live in Edinburgh after nearly 50 years living in London wasn't racist when she said she felt uncomfortable with the goings on in her London area now populated in the main with folk who speak very little if any English. Crime she felt was out of control. The police stayed away. Now she could be statistically and factually incorrect but it's how she *felt*. She wasn't racist and again had a friendship circle built up over years of living in London with folk of all faith's and backgrounds. She spoke of how it used to be that folk were integrated into society but now they seeked to be isolated within their own communities.

I watched a documentary on Cyprus recently and I was struck by how that society was absolutely integrated just as North of Ireland was with folk of different cultures, religion and heritage living side by side. And then increasingly so they built their own isolated communities apart from the others. And then it's 'Them and us'. That's exactly what London has become. And with these communities now setting up their own political representation....

It isn't racist to have and share such concerns. The majority know that.

I have a lot of time for BIG G. And water off a ducks back when I get told what I am or what I'm not.... Bottom line we all know within ourselves what we are or what we're not. My 51 years on this planet I've been called all sorts. "Sticks & stones...." was implanted in me growing up in Niddrie so I kind of look beyond the names etc. The BIG G's of the world are playing into the hands of those they oppose. Most don't read communist propaganda and have any interest in politics. They form their opinions on what they see, hear and experience in their day-to-day lives.

I met a lovely educated couple from Florida the other day in Edinburgh. We discussed politics here in the UK and over the pond. They both highlighted the characteristics of Donald Trump. They don't like him. But they'll vote for him. Why I ask. They tell me to look at the absolute societal breakdown in every big city in the US. Not completely to blame they say but a huge contributing factor is having lost control of their borders. They have friends back home from ALL backgrounds and of all colours. Race they told me has nothing to do with it. And they further highlighted the attempt by Biden & Harris and the Democrats to twist the reality to be about race makes them so angry that they're more determined to vote Trump...

And so it is here. Folk look at their own lives. Of the struggle to get to the end of each month financially. They see our public services on their backsides. Not able to get appointments for health care. Seeing their kids and grandchildren in schools with hungry kids. And knowing that as a country we are spending BILLIONS of pounds on folk (usually always male) illegally enter the country and we provide hotel accommodation, clothing, transportation, healthcare and lots of other costly assistance. Understandably they look at that and don't think it's right. To not feel comfortable with that has fuck all to do with race.

The recently widowed woman I met who returned back to live in Edinburgh after nearly 50 years living in London wasn't racist when she said she felt uncomfortable with the goings on in her London area now populated in the main with folk who speak very little if any English. Crime she felt was out of control. The police stayed away. Now she could be statistically and factually incorrect but it's how she *felt*. She wasn't racist and again had a friendship circle built up over years of living in London with folk of all faith's and backgrounds. She spoke of how it used to be that folk were integrated into society but now they seeked to be isolated within their own communities.

I watched a documentary on Cyprus recently and I was struck by how that society was absolutely integrated just as North of Ireland was with folk of different cultures, religion and heritage living side by side. And then increasingly so they built their own isolated communities apart from the others. And then it's 'Them and us'. That's exactly what London has become. And with these communities now setting up their own political representation....

It isn't racist to have and share such concerns. The majority know that.
95% of the abuse on this board, now and always, flows in one direction.

It seems to happen when unexamined arguments get examined and found wanting. It's the same in the wider world; the bigger the nonsense the more aggressive the gatekeeping.

As for some of your anecdotes I was reading about Alum Rock in Brum which has been in the news for no whites allowed graffiti. One of the residents was complaining it's like living in Pakistan or Afghanistan... himself apparently of Pakistani or Bangladeshi descent.

Others were complaining of house prices going up as more want to move in to be 'among their own people'. Diversity rhetoric is absolutely mismatched with reality.

How many other stabbings happened around the country? Have you checked and commented?

For wee bit o balance likes. None that i can see in Piagnton, so thats pleasing.
Unlike yourself i have unblinkered eyes, show me one post on this subject where I haven't condemned or I have condoned white racist/ rioting

So whats your point on posting about stabbings at a carnival which perhaps isnae predominately white or your other hysterical postings on these subjects. What point wre you making that there is nothing to see here? Was that directed at Big G? Are you insinuating that stabbings are somehow reported different if its whites doing it rather than ethnic subjects? Whats your angle? You posted about all the stabbings that have been happening elsewhere? I think your a bit obsessed mate.

Whats white rascists and rioting got to do with this carnival?

ouch that hurt.
Wasn't meant to. Straight down the line; looking forward to a straight answer of the kind you try and achieve from the bold R.

I mean it's not clear to me why you're operating a 'nothing to see here platform' but we shall find out I guess.

I mean it's absurd in the context of an event that like clockwork sees scores of police assaults and multiple stabbings each year. But I guess you have your reasons for strange whataboutery.