Thinking you look cool

Bangkokhibby

Just chillin'
I really try not to judge anyone on the clothes they wear. I only need to think back to my long hair, headband, Afghan coat, patchwork flares and denim boots with gold camels embroidered on each side. Coolest *&*^ in Leith eh?
Was there a thread on here about people wearing Ramones t-shirts and never heard any of their stuff or did I imagine that?
Over here the current fashion seems to be guys coming out of bars wearing Harley Davidson vests, putting on their German army style crash helmets then jumping on their Honda Click 125 scooters 😂😂😂 As I say I try not to judge but it's comedy gold.

I really try not to judge anyone on the clothes they wear. I only need to think back to my long hair, headband, Afghan coat, patchwork flares and denim boots with gold camels embroidered on each side. Coolest *&*^ in Leith eh?
Was there a thread on here about people wearing Ramones t-shirts and never heard any of their stuff or did I imagine that?
Over here the current fashion seems to be guys coming out of bars wearing Harley Davidson vests, putting on their German army style crash helmets then jumping on their Honda Click 125 scooters 😂😂😂 As I say I try not to judge but it's comedy gold.
Ever heard of a Bouncer by the name of Bartok?
Coolest guy in here.
Shrink hankers for one of his shirts to this day.

Ever heard of a Bouncer by the name of Bartok?
Coolest guy in here.
Shrink hankers for one of his shirts to this day.
Nope sorry. Apart from funerals and weddings I haven't worn a shirt for probably 30 years. Awful things!

Not quite on topic but someone mentioned motorbike and duplicity
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I've never really changed the way I dress since I was a teenager - t-shirt/plaid shirt, jeans and trainers/Dr Martins with additional hoodie if it's cold. The clogs and cut of jeans have changed with fashion to a degree. There's a few dress shirts and two suits on the rail in case I have to go anywhere "nice".

Not sure if the look still works as well as it did when I was a skinny young thing with flowing grungey blond locks. My wife said to me the other day that I look like someone's dad who used his redundancy to buy a record shop.

Nirvana t-shirts everywhere just now. I was at the park with my wee one the other day and she pointed out two other kids who "have your shirt on dad".

I've never really changed the way I dress since I was a teenager - t-shirt/plaid shirt, jeans and trainers/Dr Martins with additional hoodie if it's cold. The clogs and cut of jeans have changed with fashion to a degree. There's a few dress shirts and two suits on the rail in case I have to go anywhere "nice".

Not sure if the look still works as well as it did when I was a skinny young thing with flowing grungey blond locks. My wife said to me the other day that I look someone's dad who used his redundancy to buy a record shop.
I read somewhere that men will always wear what they wore at some age (cannae mind what but it was somewhere between 20 and 30 I think).

I think there’s truth to it. I mind looking at old boys in suits - or at least trousers and shirt and tie - when I was young and looking forward with foreboding to the time I would have to. But I won’t ; it’s cos they wore them when they were young, often cos they had nothing else.

That said I have made a conscious effort to grow up a wee bit in the last few years. Nothing dramatic, but some things are best left to the younger chap.

Nirvana t-shirts everywhere just now. I was at the park with my wee one the other day and she pointed out two other kids who "have your shirt on dad".
Yup. Age thing but I don’t get this either if you don’t like the band. I know it’s illogical - it’s a graphic design like any other printed tee - but it’s ingrained it seems.

I read somewhere that men will always wear what they wore at some age (cannae mind what but it was somewhere between 20 and 30 I think).

I think there’s truth to it. I mind looking at old boys in suits - or at least trousers and shirt and tie - when I was young and looking forward with foreboding to the time I would have to. But I won’t ; it’s cos they wore them when they were young, often cos they had nothing else.

That said I have made a conscious effort to grow up a wee bit in the last few years. Nothing dramatic, but some things are best left to the younger chap.

I was still dicking about in bands well into my mid twenties before settling into career mode so that makes sense I guess.

I'm fine with my indie dad vibes but I have seen a few more shirts creeping in as "going out for a nice meal" and "seeing a show" have become more common social activities. So concessions to getting older have been made/forced upon me.

Yup. Age thing but I don’t get this either if you don’t like the band. I know it’s illogical - it’s a graphic design like any other printed tee - but it’s ingrained it seems.

I try not to be too sniffy about it, but it is amusing. I think I mentioned it on here before, but some wee fanny on the checkout at Tesco tried to catch me out when I was wearing my Ramones t-shirt a while back. He got a whole conversation about how I think Rocket to Russia is better than their first album that he wasn't expecting.

When I was at Trnsmt festival I noticed a lot of the young team were kicking about in retro fitba tops, seemed to be a bit of a "thing"? Stuff that would've been worn by the respective teams before they were born. Judging by how much 80's and 90's Hibs kits go for it must have cost them a fair whack as it all seemed to be genuine gear. A rare trend/fashion from the young team that I actually liked!

Yes that was a thing - my lad was into it and leaving me nameless for not keeping my own Hibs shirts from back in the day.

Weird thing is how fashion has slowed down or maybe stopped. Growing up in the eighties, the 70s seemed laughably different. I'm sure it was the same in previous decades, 60s seems massively different from 50s and so on.
Photos from the 90s look a little dated, and 00s slightly dated but not nearly to the same extent as previous decades.

Weird thing is how fashion has slowed down or maybe stopped. Growing up in the eighties, the 70s seemed laughably different. I'm sure it was the same in previous decades, 60s seems massively different from 50s and so on.
Photos from the 90s look a little dated, and 00s slightly dated but not nearly to the same extent as previous decades.
I think you are bang on and have thought the same. In some cases it’s more than that - you could go to ER tomorrow and see some guy in a Lacoste polo , 501s and green gazelles. And you could have seen exactly the same in 1985. The point is not whether it’s a good look or not; it’s that it hasn’t changed.

Now that’s an outlier and more ‘out there’ fashions don’t have the same longevity. But, while acknowledging that I am well past it myself and so perhaps am out of touch (though do have kids square in the age zone as a yardstick), fashion trends do seem to have stopped somewhere in the 1990s. Everything since then is just recycling it seems to me.

Maybe it’s commercialisation, maybe it’s homogenisation via social media, but there has been no new youth movement since the 80s that I can think of (those being drivers of street fashion in many cases) and no really new looks (maybe variations on a theme but no more). Maybe, like pop music which I also thing is stagnant, there really is only so much you can do and it’s all been done.

Ps the annoying thing is fashion stopping hasn’t stopped consumption. My kids are always after new stuff, it’s just exactly like the old stuff.

I mind my lassie would wear anything.

Then secondary school it was designer city.

I love finding old vintage stuff at the charity shops. I found a pristine condition Swiss wool military jacket for $20. Thing is really good quality.

1000011652.jpg