The visceral power of Sunshine on Leith

Archie

I know - another SoL thread. But I wanted to pick up something about the song that is really connecting with the wider public. In the last couple of weeks I've had loads of messages with links to us singing SoL after the Celtic and Hearts game, including from the US and Oz.

But what really brought it home to me was this week when I was in a taxi in London. The driver asked the usual who do you support question. I said not Rangers or Celtic as that's usually what the mean. I sure all here have experienced this.

But no. He had seen the clips of fans singing SoL and thought it was the best thing he'd seen. Wanted to go to Easter Road etc. He asked about the background to it which I gave.

I asked him what he liked about it? He said he'd never heard of the Proclaimers but had since listened on Spotify. He thought it was such a beautiful song but didn't understand how it became a football anthem. He loved the crowd singing it and the fact that it's a lovely song without a hint of badness in it.

I realised that we have something you can't buy. Something that connects with people beyond fans. Something amazing that we are associated with around the world. And it's organic. It's not part of a marketing strategy. The fans have turned it into a phenomenon. And it's a wonderful thing to be part of.

Nice one Archie. If you look at the comments next to YouTubes of various renditions, the comments they attract from old school and hardcore supporters from across the world are great. I think it really has recognition with these cohorts in particular, more than your sky tv subscriber - though they’re not immune either.

Aye I mind reading the comments after the great day against Der Huns and the Sunshine on Leith rendition.

Ordinary football fans world wide commented on how good it was.

Apologies if already said, but the football songbook chat between pat Nevin and colin Murray on radio 5 is good. Nevin says its thd best one there is and they didn't interview one of the twins, can't remember which

Correct me if I'm wrong but I always thought it was written as a love song although you could argue that it still is. A love of Hibs. Have the Proclaimers ever said it was written with Hibs in mind or has it just been adopted by us.

Oi you. Enough awkward questions 🙄

It seems to reach the parts other don't as in the old Heineken ads. It is sung with such passion and love for the club.It is indeed a thing of utter joy. Never tire of any rendition but the 2007 version was amazing followed by the stands shaking to Chelsea dagger. We can be some of the grumpiest fans around but this song unites us in an unbelievable way. I doubt Craig and Charlie can quite believe how its become such an iconic anthem around the globe. 3.8m is a staggering figure for a club our size. The gordons must be immensely proud to own us when we have days like the last 2 home wins. Surely makes it all worthwhile seeing the unity and joy on the terraces. Just a magical piece of music.
Ggtth

Ah, so your saying the proclaimers wrote the song about some bird one of them fancied fae Leith, is that likely 🤣

It seems to reach the parts other don't as in the old Heineken ads. It is sung with such passion and love for the club.It is indeed a thing of utter joy. Never tire of any rendition but the 2007 version was amazing followed by the stands shaking to Chelsea dagger. We can be some of the grumpiest fans around but this song unites us in an unbelievable way. I doubt Craig and Charlie can quite believe how its become such an iconic anthem around the globe. 3.8m is a staggering figure for a club our size. The gordons must be immensely proud to own us when we have days like the last 2 home wins. Surely makes it all worthwhile seeing the unity and joy on the terraces. Just a magical piece of music.
Ggtth
Well said Sir 👍👏

It was released in 1988. The Proclaimers are the people to ask about its origins. They will probably say, it can be anything you want it to be.

In 2008 i say them perform at Edinburgh Castle, great concert and quite a few Hibs players there too. Wnen they sang SOL, the Violin was being played by a lovely lady with red hair, wearing a black dress and long green gloves which stretched up to her elbow's. :lovey:

Erica Nockalls.

Class violinist.

Ah, so your saying the proclaimers wrote the song about some bird one of them fancied fae Leith, is that likely 🤣
Legend has it that the twins were having a wee session one Sunny Sunday afternoon sitting at the door of the Doakers Club

Charlie,cap in hand,to shield the Sun from his eyes, raised his glass towards the Sun and said
"your beauty and brightness
This beers cured my blindness"!
Craig, burped on his pint, looked at Charlie and said
"I think you might have something there ,bro !!"

I know - another SoL thread. But I wanted to pick up something about the song that is really connecting with the wider public. In the last couple of weeks I've had loads of messages with links to us singing SoL after the Celtic and Hearts game, including from the US and Oz.

But what really brought it home to me was this week when I was in a taxi in London. The driver asked the usual who do you support question. I said not Rangers or Celtic as that's usually what the mean. I sure all here have experienced this.

But no. He had seen the clips of fans singing SoL and thought it was the best thing he'd seen. Wanted to go to Easter Road etc. He asked about the background to it which I gave.

I asked him what he liked about it? He said he'd never heard of the Proclaimers but had since listened on Spotify. He thought it was such a beautiful song but didn't understand how it became a football anthem. He loved the crowd singing it and the fact that it's a lovely song without a hint of badness in it.

I realised that we have something you can't buy. Something that connects with people beyond fans. Something amazing that we are associated with around the world. And it's organic. It's not part of a marketing strategy. The fans have turned it into a phenomenon. And it's a wonderful thing to be part of.
I think the songs put Hibs in a global place. I hoped the club would've tried to take advantage of it by giving free shipping on the kits or something like that.

Do you think we're in danger of overdoing it? I love the song, love hearing it sung by our fans, but we've done it twice this season so far and I fear if it becomes run if the mill it might lose it's impact on the wider world.

No. Repeat: Liverpool et al do YNWA EVERY GAME, and no one asks that question of them.

Reactions: Dub
So ( as still pretty much an outsider ) I was sat thinking what is this SOL all about? I best investigate, so off to Youtube and I watched about ten versions including two from outside the ground ( one from Arthurs Seat ) and OMG that is amazing. sends shivers down the spine of a neutral, It's unique to Hibs as well. Whilst being Liverpools own, YNWA has been sung by nearly every UK club, whereas I cant see any other clubs singing SOL. Brilliant song to celebrate a win with.

This is as good as we've been in forever, and there's a lot of context. Enjoy it.

Home derby wins, cup wins, specific big results at ER or Hampden. If we're getting those often enough that SOL is regularly overplayed then what a nice problem to have.

So ( as still pretty much an outsider ) I was sat thinking what is this SOL all about? I best investigate, so off to Youtube and I watched about ten versions including two from outside the ground ( one from Arthurs Seat ) and OMG that is amazing. sends shivers down the spine of a neutral, It's unique to Hibs as well. Whilst being Liverpools own, YNWA has been sung by nearly every UK club, whereas I cant see any other clubs singing SOL. Brilliant song to celebrate a win with.
It is nigh impossible for others to even try to adopt/adapt SOL
They could adopt it in Ireland...." Sunshine on Meath "!!😁
The probably have done !!

Of course in Scotland ,YNWA is associated with Celtic.
Though others use to also sing it back in the day.
The hun would never have sung it ,as equally as Celtic would not sing the old chant of "We'll support you evermore"
They would have viewed that as a"proddy hymn" and would loudly boo it when others chanted it.
It was mostly a hun song, though Hibs fans and others did use to sing it too.
And at Scotland games. I mind it nearly took the roofs off Old Wembley in 1977 !
In the words of Max Boyce " I was there"

As YNWA became more "celtic " it mainly drifted out the song book of other clubs fans.
The official Celtic Song (Grand old team to play for) has been sung by Hibs fans as far back as the 60s .
(It was written and recorded by singer Glen Daly in 1960)
Wee change of a line or two for us though .
Celtic's "What the hell do we care" is sung as "All for goals and glory" by us
Although we use to sing the original line .
YNWA dropped out our song sheet.
But i did find one short clip from the Hands OFF Hibs Rally documentary
Source : Joxer 1875
Click on YouTube link

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I want it sung every game we win of importance, so for this season I will be delighted to hear it every week.

I'm pretty sure I remember YNWA being sung at the end of the Skol cup final 1991.
Yes i think you are right.
We were still singing it frequently in that era.
We did sing "we'll support you evermore" straight after the final whistle,with scarfs aloft like YNWA
Of Course,that final was not long after the HOH campaign win !!
Maybe others can recall when it kinda faded out.
Maybe late 90s 🤷‍♂️