The theme is great cities

egb_hibs

@Purple & Green thread title reference in your court :wink:

As I write egb jnr is bumbling around Eastern Europe sending frequent requests for beer money, and doing something I wished I had done if I knew interrail was a thing when I was his age.

He’s gone east as it’s cheaper (he seems to think this is a benefit for him when in fact it’s a small grace for me - he seems to have a poor grasp on what ‘his’ beer money is). I digress.

In return I get snaps of lots of smashing cities, and I do love a great city - so the point of the thread is, which are your favourites and why?

Mine are not very original, principally for the above reason, never had the opportunity or reason to go to less mainstream places. Actually that spawns a second question, where have you not been but would like to.

Favourites (Edinburgh doesnae count though I believe we are luckier than we often realise - or maybe that’s just me - to bide in one of the true greats)

Rome - by a country mile. All the usual reasons; the world city, on which the history is western civilisation is carved in stone. London, Paris, NY, suck it up.

San Francisco - was a bit edgy when I was there and I believe it’s taken a turn for the worse since, but what a fabulous place. Lovely setting, attractively misfit persona. Liked it.

Montreal - I was wtf’ing my way round here. Old town is like Paris and just generally not what I expected to find on the North American continent.

Verona and Valleta - bracketed together as not really memorable for experiences or stuff to do, but with some places that are just stunning looking. Plus it’s my lame attempt to be less obvious.

Bangalore - tbh a stand in for India generally - just boiling with life force. Colour, noise, spice laden air. So so different from the sanitised and dead atmos in some of Europe’s cities.

Where I’d like to go;

Ljubljana - looks stunning. The ‘unspoiled Prague’ according to some nobs

Buenos Aires - @1875 and @Doc Shrink beat me to it so I guess it’s sloppy seconds given Shrink’s presence

Tokyo - blade runner

Honourable mentions (fuck, category three)

Bristol - a strange mix of hippies and psychos - not really seen anything like it in the UK

Salzburg - lovely wee gaff overseen by a castle on a rock…. But second best on that score

Manchester - shadiest and friendliest place I’ve been to in the UK; suck it up on both counts, weegies

As I write egb jnr is bumbling around Eastern Europe sending frequent requests for beer money, and doing something I wished I had done if I knew interrail was a thing when I was his age.

He’s gone east as it’s cheaper (he seems to think this is a benefit for him when in fact it’s a small grace for me - he seems to have a poor grasp on what ‘his’ beer money is). I digress.

In return I get snaps of lots of smashing cities, and I do love a great city - so the point of the thread is, which are your favourites and why?

Mine are not very original, principally for the above reason, never had the opportunity or reason to go to less mainstream places. Actually that spawns a second question, where have you not been but would like to.

Favourites (Edinburgh doesnae count though I believe we are luckier than we often realise - or maybe that’s just me - to bide in one of the true greats)

Rome - by a country mile. All the usual reasons; the world city, on which the history is western civilisation is carved in stone. London, Paris, NY, suck it up.

San Francisco - was a bit edgy when I was there and I believe it’s taken a turn for the worse since, but what a fabulous place. Lovely setting, attractively misfit persona. Liked it.

Montreal - I was wtf’ing my way round here. Old town is like Paris and just generally not what I expected to find on the North American continent.

Verona and Valleta - bracketed together as not really memorable for experiences or stuff to do, but with some places that are just stunning looking. Plus it’s my lame attempt to be less obvious.

Bangalore - tbh a stand in for India generally - just boiling with life force. Colour, noise, spice laden air. So so different from the sanitised and dead atmos in some of Europe’s cities.

Where I’d like to go;

Buenos Aires - @1875 and @Doc Shrink beat me to it so I guess it’s sloppy seconds given Shrink’s presence

Tokyo - blade runner

Bristol - a strange mix of hippies and psychos - not really seen anything like it in the UK

Salzburg - lovely wee gaff overseen by a castle on a rock…. But second best on that score

Manchester - shadiest and friendliest place I’ve been to in the UK; suck it up on both counts, weegies
Wisnae me guv.

I had a brilliant time in Florence, from becoming an accidental hero in foiling a mugging by being Scottish and only dimly aware of proceedings - my guttural confusion being enough to inadvertently scare off some stereotypically bold tallys - and getting baked at the hands of some canny shopkeeper who kept serving me shots of his ‘home made’ to stop me getting bored of mrs egb’s tour of his establishment.

Speaking of which even she helped me resinsert my eyeballs more than once at an absolute ten of a bin (wo)man going about her business with overalls hanging off her in a way the fashion houses couldn’t reproduce if their lives depended on it, and some bored looking strumpet - also drop fucking dead - curling her lip at the Versace leathers she tried out with nothing underneath (somewhat clearly).

tldr; great place, I’m off to lie down and engage in some quite contemplation.

Florence, hands down.
Fuck no. Firenze is too busy with (ironically) tourists. More Japanese there than fucking Tokyo, all pulling their wee suitcases along in hordes of a hundred at a time. Then they decide to stop in the middle of a narrow street. Just stop oil could learn from them in clogging up a city.

Anyhoo, tops for me are Siena, Salzburg and Freiburg im Breisgau.

Fuck no. Firenze is too busy with (ironically) tourists. More Japanese there than fucking Tokyo, all pulling their wee suitcases along in hordes of a hundred at a time. Then they decide to stop in the middle of a narrow street. Just stop oil could learn from them in clogging up a city.

I spent my 20th birthday on a trip to Austria, being paid to play music along with 3 mates. We had a night off and took a taxi to visit Salzburg. It was about a 45 minute drive and we had to briefly pass back into Germany during the trip.

Anyway, on arriving at Salzburg we walked around sightseeing for more than 1½hrs before looking for out first beer.

If ever there's confirmation that a place is impressive thats it...

Favourites for me are Copenhagen, New York, San Diego, Singapore, Berlin, London and Melbourne. I’ve had the good fortune of spending some time living and working in the last three.

The next cities I’d like to visit are Rome & Paris - two famous places that I should really have gotten around to visiting by now! I’m heading to Toronto later in the year for the first time, so they’ll be after that.

Honourable mentions: Las Vegas, Gold Coast, Köln, Prague.

Back in May 1992 when I was 27, I got on my backpack and bought my copy of "the Cheap sleep guide to Europe" and I set off myself on a near 4 week interrailing trip around the continent and visited eight cities in Europe. I stayed about 2 or 3 days in each city which think is long enough to work out just how good or bad you think each city to be. It's never too late to do this though, so EGB there is still time to take part in this great right of passage....although I accept in later life it's more difficult to contemplate with various ties and responsibilities. I doubt I could muster up enough courage or energy to do inter-railing round Europe now, mainly because I just can't be bothered much anymore with travelling. Travelling just seems so much hassle now. Back then inter-railing was an exciting if somewhat scary at times experience as travelling from city to city and arriving in somewhere like say Paris or Milan with nowhere booked to stay that night and having to walk around a strange city on my own looking for cheap hotels/hostels/pensiones etc that are open to find a place to kip down is quite an eye opener. Managed it though and i'm glad I did it when I did. Anyway, on to the question of how I rated some of the the cities I have been lucky enough to visit in my life at various times. I would say;

Great; Paris, Rome, Berlin, San Francisco, Sydney, New York, Hong Kong, Barcelona, Liverpool, London.

Good: Chicago, Prague, St Louis, Las Vegas, Melbourne, Auckland, Toronto, Venice, Lisbon, Krakow, Madrid, Dublin.

Disappointing; Brussels, Milan, Vienna, Amsterdam.

Swithered about including Los Angeles somewhere...but couldn't think where to include it. I've been there twice and it's in many ways an incredible city to visit but so vast it can hardly be called a city. Parts of it are great, Santa Monica, Venice Beach and visiting Hollywood and just being in the music and entertainment capital of he world was something else. However it's so huge you need a car or some transport just to get anywhere at all. Been to quite a few more cities (some I liked, some I didn't) but the above is just a cross section of my views on some of the cities of the globe I have been lucky enough to see so far.

Where I’d like to go;

Tokyo - blade runner

Florence and Bologna are lovely too, Ljubljana is stunning as is Almaty in Kazakhstan if you get a chance Tirana in Albania. Always had a soft spot for Valleta. Riga and Tallin not to be missed. Best journey ever, Copenhagen to Malmo by train to watch the Hibbees. Worst, Antwerp to Leuven to watch the Hibbees.

Marrakesh, Palermo and San Sebastian. Part of that is time and people as well as place but all three were fuckin great to visit. I too would like to got to Buenos Aires and Tokyo, but also Beirut, Osaka, Ho Chi Minh and Oaxaca

Las Vegas. Flash, brash and give us your cash. The whole place is in your face. Do a couple of shows along the Strip. Take a helicopter excursion going over the hoover dam and along the Grand Canyon where the word 'awesome' becomes an understatement.
Zanzibar City. Stopped off here on a 3 night cruise while on a safari holiday in Nairobi. Unbelievably 'old worldy' like some of the bustling towns in the Indiana Jones movies.
Been to lots more cities but time has dimmed my recollections. By the time I recollect a few more everyone will have moved on from this post.

Marrakesh, Palermo and San Sebastian. Part of that is time and people as well as place but all three were fuckin great to visit. I too would like to got to Buenos Aires and Tokyo, but also Beirut, Osaka, Ho Chi Minh and Oaxaca
Always wanted to visit Marrakesh, mainly because of my short Hippy period in the 60s (and what I smoked at the time).
San Sebastian was my first stop in Spain when myself and two pals drove an old van from London to Africa. Nice city but the sea was baltic. Algeciras, way down south in Spain (where we got the ferry across to Cueta in North Africa) was a very pretty town with lots of parks and fountains everywhere. This was the nearest I ever got to Marrakesh.
If my lottery numbers ever come up I have a list of cities to visit that's as long as my arm (and I have very long arms).

Top picks:
New York
Jerusalem
Moscow
Bombay

Underwhelming:
Las Vegas
London

Like to go:
Beijing
Buenos Aires

Worth a visit but wouldn’t go back:
Cairo
Bangkok

I would like to go to Jerusalem and Isreal in general. Don't know why. Something about the place.

Yeah, it’s that City that’s got something about it, we were in Tel Aviv for the Scotland game and the tour around the Christian and Arab quarters of Jerusalem was brilliant.

Been to so many but my travelling days are over.
Favourites so far, Marrakesh, San Francisco, Bangkok, Kracow.
One thing I have never really understood is why people return time after time to the same place. The world is such an interesting place. If you can afford to travel why not see different places?

Munich beer fest back in the Transalpinio days.

Werl also i Germany where boozers were segregated to British/French or German/American patrons only.

Perpignan doon in the South of France.

Belfast. Top notch

Siena is indeed a jewel.

Firenze has everything, even though busy.

I've been to many places mentioned.

San Francisco was a favourite in 2003, not bad in 2005 but when I went in 2017 it was a bit crap.

I agree about Los Angeles (twice), great bits and crap bits. Mrs Jackie didn't like very much of it, thought overall it was a bit tacky!

Sydney is just marvellous.

We both liked Napier (New Zealand), is it a city though? A wee Art Deco haven.

Rio de Janerio, the beaches, Sugar Loaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer, the favelas ... from a distance. We were spoiled with a fantastic guide.

Buenos Aries already covered.

Numerous cities in Spain.

Honolulu, Venice were pretty disappointing and Durban is a shit hole.

A bit of a random given the type of cities mentioned so far but as a sorta favourite I'm going for the Lost City of Petra! I found it ... absolutely amazing.

And it's always great to come back to Edinburgh.

I am lucky to be well travelled like a fair few on here:

Best
Cadiz
Donostia
Rome
Madrid
Paris
Edinburgh
Carcassonne
Yogyakarta
Berlin
Palma

Decent
Dublin
Sydney
London
Koln
Perth WA
Malacca
Barcelona
Buenos Aires
Liverpool
Bristol
Prague
Santander
Lisbon
Hong Kong
Salzburg

Nothing to write home about
Jakarta
Surabaya
Bangkok
Lampung
Denpasar
Bilbao
KL
Singapore
Brussels
Malmo
Belfast
Manchester

Love to see
Naples
Havana
Rio
New Orleans
Boston
New York
Munich

I am sure I could think of a few more.

Best
Edinburgh
Hamburg
Dusseldorf
Rome
Copenhagen
Nice
Manama
Bergen
Oslo
Lisbon
Limoges.

I see nobody has mentioned Dubai, just for wow factor it is out of this world, the Skyline is amazing and just goes to show what you can do if you can throw money at things .

Best
Dublin
Liverpool
New Orleans
Miami (South Beach not the rest)
Santa Cruz
London (in the 1980s)
Hà Nội
Syracuse (Sicily)
Turin
Munich
Amsterdam

OK
New York
Jo’burg
Tripoli
Paris
Salt Lake City (was a real surprise)

Meh
Los Angeles
Phoenix, AZ
London (now)
Bangkok

Some great shouts on here that remind me of other places I'd love to go. I'd love to birl around San Sebastian in an open topped car doing my best Audrey Hepburn impression.

Jerusalem and Beirut absolutely want to go to.

Carcassonne and all those old medieval French bits would be ace.

I'd love to go to Africa as well, though I can't say any cities jump out. I'd love to go on safari - a seeing things not shooting things one , I hasten to add.

I'd love to go to Moscow an all but I suspect that is fecked for a long long time now

Some great shouts on here that remind me of other places I'd love to go. I'd love to birl around San Sebastian in an open topped car doing my best Audrey Hepburn impression.

Jerusalem and Beirut absolutely want to go to.

Carcassonne and all those old medieval French bits would be ace.

I'd love to go to Africa as well, though I can't say any cities jump out. I'd love to go on safari - a seeing things not shooting things one , I hasten to add.

I'd love to go to Moscow an all but I suspect that is fecked for a long long time now

Me, Shrink and three other Hibby's will be taking in the sights of Carcassonne on Friday efty and Saturday morning post our trip to Andorra. Cultured bunch us.

Donostia/ San Sab is superb, although the confusing road signs and one way system will have you more like Mr Bean than Audrey Hepburn.

Me, Shrink and three other Hibby's will be taking in the sights of Carcassonne on Friday efty and Saturday morning post our trip to Andorra. Cultured bunch us.

Donostia/ San Sab is superb, although the confusing road signs and one way system will have you more like Mr Bean than Audrey Hepburn.
More cultured than me M. While i have always wanted to go to those parts of France I thought Carcassone was a region rather than a city lol.

I went with my boys for a day trip when they were teens, I wished I had stayed another day. Templar central!

Been fortunate to have been all over the world with my work, as well as lots of places with friends and family.

Some of my favourites:

Valparaíso (Chile) - Was there in January an incredible, colourful place. Incredible murals and funicular railways everywhere.

Baku (Azerbaijan) - Been there a few times. It's obviously a bit of an oil money-pumped facade compared to the rest of the country but it has a bit a bit of character and charm to it nevertheless, an East meets West feel in some bits and a Parisian feel in others.

Munich and Hannover (Germany) - Munich is an obvious one and I'd recommend anyone who likes a bevvy to experience the Oktoberfest at least once in their life. Hannover is a personal one as I have family there and must have visited it 20+ times. The Schützenfest in June/July is worth a visit for a smaller scale Oktoberfest without the tourists. Thinking of basing myself there next summer if Scotland make the Euros as all major cities are accessible within a 2 hour train journey.

New York City and Portsmouth, NH (USA) - Been to NY 3 times but not been since Hibs won the cup in 2007! Portsmouth is just a lovely picture postcard small city I visited doing a road trip of Canada and the USA.

Seoul (South Korea) - Got to travel all over South Korea in 2016-18 with work and we had plenty time off to explore. Spent most of my time on Geoje Island but also stayed in Ulsan and Busan. Just great to experience a very different culture.

Petra (Jordan) - OK it's an historic/archaeological city but what a place. Stayed in Aqaba when I was in Jordan but glad I did the day trip to Petra. If you've never heard of it it's the resting place of the Holy Grail at the climax of 'Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade'.

Honourable mentions to: Liverpool, Singapore, Dublin, Galway, Newcastle, Dubai, Doha, Las Vegas, Halifax, Perth and Cancun.

I stayed in Israel for a couple of years.
After I left gorgie natch.
Hope you get a chance to go, but be warned, they don’t take kindly to wee wannabe keyboard hardmen wankpot types.
Safe travels 🤣

Wasn't to keen on New York.

Chicago was a lot better.

Bruges was an excellent trip.

Paris was no very nice.

Well the city was the folk were like Londoners or New Yorkers.

Dubai, meh.

Orlando mmm ok

Loved Salzburg

Loved Barcelona

Quire liked london

I quite like all English cities, apart from Newcastle which is wildly over rated.

If I’d gone to Port Louis in Mauritius before I had kids I don’t think I’d ever have come back.

New York is ok, if a bit expensive now.
San Francisco was nice.
Dublin is great but also a bit on the expensive side.
Paris was nice.
Antwerp was nice.
Utrecht was lovely.
Amsterdam was interesting.
Brussels was also interesting.
Washington was fleeting.
Edinburgh, cannae beat it.

Used to go on a ‘boys’ trip to NYC every year. Made some great friends and lasting memories. Including an all day & night bevy sesh with the NYPD. Dancing with the BA female flight crew in a dingy NY bar and the log cabin up near Woodstock. Fab city & may take my wife next year.