The SNP & The A9

The__Proclaimer

LEGEND!!
Would like to point out I'm not an anti-SNP zealot, I like to give credit where it's due. Just seen on news that the entire A9 between Inverness and Perth is getting made into dual carriageway in the next 10 years, first work started today. Didn't know this was happening, brilliant achievement by SNP to start the job which should have been completed decades ago. I'm not a driver and rarely travel up north but there has been far, far too many people killed on that stretch of road - good on the current SNP administration for being the first govt to find funds for this project.

It is about time, very dangerous road, the parts where it is dualled for a mile or two is the worst, most drivers speeding at the end desperate to get by lorries etc makes it even more so.
The extreme weather you get on it can cause chaos as well, seen some scary sights lots of times, wind and snow can make it treacherous.
And for the main road north it was a disgrace to be mostly single lanes.
I have driven the full stretch of this road over 250 times, but only once in the last few years, absolutely beautiful scenery, thankfully it is getting the road it deserves for safety reasons.

It is about time, very dangerous road, the parts where it is dualled for a mile or two is the worst, most drivers speeding at the end desperate to get by lorries etc makes it even more so.
The extreme weather you get on it can cause chaos as well, seen some scary sights lots of times, wind and snow can make it treacherous.
And for the main road north it was a disgrace to be mostly single lanes.
I have driven the full stretch of this road over 250 times, but only once in the last few years, absolutely beautiful scenery, thankfully it is getting the road it deserves for safety reasons.

How's that ?? arseholes who can't stand to be behind someone are the only danger . No such thing as a dangerous road , just dangerous users

Well yes, I agree.
But it's the way of the world these days, everybody in so much of a hurry, their journey is more important than the rest etc.
Life in the fast lane....

Already had one queen serenaded today, maybe next time Hattie darling xxxxxxx

Don't get Mixu started, won't be happy if he doesn't get an invite

Well yes, I agree.
But it's the way of the world these days, everybody in so much of a hurry, their journey is more important than the rest etc.
Life in the fast lane....

Aye exactly , i love that road . Dualling it will kind of ruin it for me

The A9 is dangerous. The design is poor. Long stretches of single road then dual carriageway going back to single road. Folk not wanting to be stuck behind lorries/buses are suddenly caught out by the road narrowing.

Sure there's idiot drivers, but the road is dangerous.

Aye exactly , i love that road . Dualling it will kind of ruin it for me

I know what you mean, I've driven it at 5am and driven back down it at 10 pm... Daylight, dawn and dusk and dark, but the quiet and even solitude early mornings with the scenery it is a beautiful drive..
Thick snow all around, road clear and no maniacs about and it is a glorious drive and dualling it would take that serenity away maybe a bit.... But needs must and it will still have the scenery

The A9 is dangerous. The design is poor. Long stretches of single road then dual carriageway going back to single road. Folk not wanting to be stuck behind lorries/buses are suddenly caught out by the road narrowing.

Its they exact parts I'm talking about, ESP the drivers who unexpectedly arrive at the narrowing without taking notice of the signs.
Some of the dualled parts are lucky if a mile long...

How can you be caught out though ? there are signs warning you of dual going to single .
Its like going North onto the FRB , there are signs warning you that the outside lane closes but the usual arses insist on going to the very end before pushing their way in

I know what you mean, I've driven it at 5am and driven back down it at 10 pm... Daylight, dawn and dusk and dark, but the quiet and even solitude early mornings with the scenery it is a beautiful drive..
Thick snow all around, road clear and no maniacs about and it is a glorious drive and dualling it would take that serenity away maybe a bit.... But needs must and it will still have the scenery

Its they exact parts I'm talking about, ESP the drivers who unexpectedly arrive at the narrowing without taking notice of the signs.
Some of the dualled parts are lucky if a mile long...

Not the roads fault really though

Aye, too many deaths on that road over the years, so very glad it is getting an upgrade.

....what I really want to see is the M8 being made into a 4 lane motorway, both directions. Its a disgrace of a road, and even worse, the main artery for the 2 biggest cities!

Stop singing shit songs and sort it oot Nicola :pullhair:

Aye, too many deaths on that road over the years, so very glad it is getting an upgrade.

....what I really want to see is the M8 being made into a 4 lane motorway, both directions. Its a disgrace of a road, and even worse, the main artery for the 2 biggest cities!

Stop singing shit songs and sort it oot Nicola :pullhair:

And the Edinburgh bypass , seems to accidents on it every other week :tuttut:

I have a couple of friends who now live in Inverness and Nairn, and I was seeing a lady from Nairn for a few years, so I know the A9 well. Dualling is well overdue, the worst part for fatal accidents used to be the Ballinluig junction, but they sorted that out a few years ago.

There was a really good documentary about the A9 on the BBC earlier in the year, they had in-car recordings of locals and tourists driving it. One of my favourite parts was an older American couple on holiday, wondering why there were so many cars on the road displaying Arnold Clark stickers. They eventually surmised that; "He must be running for Office or something!" :smilie_flagge13:

Just wait till the Forth Replacement Crossing comes in early and under budget.

You know I think the SNP are doing this deliberately ... for the benefit of the Scottish people!

How dare they :giggle:

Just wait till the Forth Replacement Crossing comes in early and under budget.

You know I think the SNP are doing this deliberately ... for the benefit of the Scottish people!

How dare they :giggle:

Cannae click like but I do. Bloody nationalists giving a shite about our country tae. lLefty bastards.

As someone who has to drive up and down the A9 more often than i`d like to, i welcome the upgrade. Managing to overtake a slow moving vehicle just to wind up behind another one a mile further down is exasperating and while i acknowledge the magnificence of the passing scenery, when you`ve driven the road a million times all you want to do is get to where you`re going.
The beautiful landscapes that pass you by can just fuck off when i`m trying to get to Fife for the pub with my mates or Edinburgh for an early kickoff and i`m stuck behind a Morrisons lorry or a Vauxhall Meriva full of fuckin tourists who refuse to pull over into a layby and let the fifty motors crawling behind their arse go past.

The upgrade gets the thumbs up fae me and about time i say. :thumbgrin

I generally agree, but not with the road narrowing, although that's an irritation! I think there's ample warning.

I've driven it in powerful cars and not so powerful cars, getting stuck behind slow moving traffic on any road leads to drivers taking chances. Anyone driving along on the other side of the road is an innocent victim.

The number of right turns, although reduced over the years, is also 'deaths highway' material. There are parts of that road that don't conform to current thinking on safe roads.

And dare I say it ;-) the scenery is a fecking distraction! I don't think I've ever been on that road for any distance without someone, probably a tourist but maybe even me, wandering while admiring. Which is the basis for my long thought thought that, particularly foreign drivers, in hire cars, should have some sort of plate on the car to warn others to keep their distance!

As part of the upgrades I'd also like to see machine gun nests and light artillery set up at regular intervals to destroy caravans.

It's worst at night. I once had to drive right off the road to get out of the way of someone coming straight at me at a hundred miles an hour oblivious to the fact that they were on the wrong side of the road - caused £1200 damage to my car but saved my life.

Sent by telepathy.

I don't think people realise it's no the road it's the speed that some people like to travel,unfortunately I work on the roads and it's the speed that will kill me

Lots of accidents though , was there not a bad one the other morning ? My point is you'll always have accidents due to bad driving

You'll always get serious accidents on roads from time to time, but not making the A9 a dual carriageway will cause more accidents and deaths as opposed to say the M9.

It's not practical to rely on drivers just to be sensible when driving or there wouldn't be accidents at all. I know i've took the odd chance when overtaking a tractor or a slow lorry on a single stretch of the A9 and being faced with an on coming car doing something similer on the other side.

You'll always get serious accidents on roads from time to time, but not making the A9 a dual carriageway will cause more accidents and deaths as opposed to say the M9.

It's not practical to rely on drivers just to be sensible when driving or there wouldn't be accidents at all. I know i've took the odd chance when overtaking a tractor or a slow lorry on a single stretch of the A9 and being faced with an on coming car doing something similer on the other side.

Which is fair enough but its still the driver at fault rather than the road ? I agree with what you say about upgrading the road but i just don't subscribe to this "killer road" type of thing otherwise we'd have to make almost every road dual carriageway . The Standing Stane road Kirkcaldy - Leven road has loads of bad accidents and its almost dead straight

I absolutely agree with you. No road is dangerous if every motorist on it drove sensibly. Problem is that doesn`t happen. Every road is choc full of selfish, wreckless maniacs who care not a single fuck for other drivers on the same road and who seem to think that speed limits dont apply to them.

Even after the installation of the average speed camera system on the A9, i`ve watched nutters race past me and others overtaking on chevrons, blind bends and stretches of road where you can barely see 100 yards ahead. It`s insane.

There is also the frustration of driving behind people who think that 40 miles an hour is plenty. Those same people who utterly ignore the numerous signs asking them to allow other , faster moving traffic to pass them safely. Frustration causes a lot of the accidents. You have to exert a considerable amount of self-restraint at times and that is another reason why the road must be dualled. I NEVER speed on the A9 but i want to drive at the speed limit or just below it. I really dont want to turn what is already a 3 hour journey into a 4 hour one because of having to sit in one half-mile convoy after another while doing 45 miles an hour for most of the way.

Point is that until every driver on the A9 suddenly becomes an understanding, tolerant motorist who cares about the safety of other people then the next best thing for those of us who just want to reach our destinations intact and without killing other road users, is to dual the road.

Imo. :lookaround:

I think they`re going to lower the speed limit on the Standing Stane. That is a notorious road for accidents. Dont see it stopping maniacs who dont give a fuck about speed limits anyway though. I always hated driving it.

It's worst at night. I once had to drive right off the road to get out of the way of someone coming straight at me at a hundred miles an hour oblivious to the fact that they were on the wrong side of the road - caused £1200 damage to my car but saved my life.

Sent by telepathy.

If telepathy is your thing Bofahibee, you should have known to slow down earlier & avoid the £1200 of damage.

&are you sure it 100mph ,or are you exaggerating?

It may have been 99mph, or 98mph?

Don't trust telepathy!!!!!!!

If telepathy is your thing Bofahibee, you should have known to slow down earlier & avoid the £1200 of damage.

&are you sure it 100mph ,or are you exaggerating?

It may have been 99mph, or 98mph?

Don't trust telepathy!!!!!!!

My telepathy works fine on the bounce and it was definitely 100mph..

Sent by telepathy.