The Red Arrows over Edinburgh

I know a few on here don't like military type stuff but surely everyone likes the Red Arrows. OK maybe not. For those that do like seeing this sort of stuff the Red Arrows will be flying up the Royal Mile at 11:29 am tomorrow.

If you want to see them don't be late - they won't be!

I know a few on here don't like military type stuff but surely everyone likes the Red Arrows. OK maybe not. For those that do like seeing this sort of stuff the Red Arrows will be flying up the Royal Mile at 11:29 am tomorrow.

Thanks for the reminder, I'd never thought of them as a unionist thing before but I do get that point. I still like seeing wee rid airies hooring aboot though.

They are a second line unit for pilot to train to a high level who will return to front line units.

Nope, keep them grounded and use the waste of fuel to feed people who are struggling. Distracting unionist pish.
Possibly agree with this, but I've loved them since a kid. Marking the victory over Japan in WWII is also something that's been highjacked by unionists, like jambos and WWI. Something that should be apolitical has become something tawdry

I am firmly of the opinion that one flypast of this type, particularly when the whole country is struggling to come terms with a pandemic, is totally insensitive and unnecessary triumphalism. If there was ever a time for healing and coming together, this is that time. Sadly, this event is further proof, if proof was needed, of the toxicity and division that blights the society we now find ourselves in.We have plumbed new depths by having a celebratory event such as a flypast. I, for one, will take no pleasure from such a day's celebration, and I am disgusted that one day should be set aside for it: every day should be Vanquished Jambos day!

Possibly agree with this, but I've loved them since a kid. Marking the victory over Japan in WWII is also something that's been highjacked by unionists, like jambos and WWI. Something that should be apolitical has become something tawdry
I was trying to find out how to track them so I looked on Twitter. You're not wrong about tawdry, it's all "pride of Britain" this and "patriot" that. I'm still going to look out for them though, the kid in me still finds them impressive.

Woke up, seen this thread, dragged the bird up Arthur seat for it to be cancelled.
She wasn't too impressed ?

Ah well

Whats VJ day? When the Americans bombed Japan?

Woke up, seen this thread, dragged the bird up Arthur seat for it to be cancelled.

Ah well

when Japan signed their surrender was like a few month ish after the second bomb

Ah well

Yeah, I'm sorry I posted it now.

I had dragged my lardy arse up to the Castle and was positioned next to a couple of Historic Scotland people when it came over their radios it had been cancelled. I heard them talking later saying that they were running late and skipped Edinburgh.

I'm hearing now they cancelled because of low cloud. Now I'm no fecking meteorologist and neither do I have a 2,000 foot measuring tape but I am quite often in the Grassmarket area and witnessed the Tattoo flyovers. They've all been lower than the cloud cover today and the clouds themselves have been lower on some occasions. Just saying likes! I'm not suggesting Red Arrows are a bunch of whooses.

Feeble excuse low cloud. ???

These *&*^ can fly in the dark ffs

I looked at the flying weather today for Edinburgh it was 96% cloud cover and low lying for them to get in under cloud cover would have been a very low pass over Edinburgh. They probably cancelled for safety they definitely could do the flyover but it would have had a higher risk factor the lead pilot would have taken a judgement call mid flight.

Makes me feel proud

The people of Edinburgh should feel privileged getting to see such a fine showing of Britishness in a splendid British city.

They're a bunch of fannies who are inflated on their own self worth, never met a Red Fred yet I would want to have a beer with:852:

I met one about 30 years ago on holiday in France. He was a decent bloke and sent my laddie a whole load of Red Arrows souvenirs which he was delighted with.
Fair play to that bloke.

The fair weather flyers are coming back to apologise at 7.00 tonight.

FB_IMG_1598282942239.jpg

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

A symbol of the elusive "britishness" and the last vestiges of imperialist britain. They can get lost and stay lost as far as I'm concerned.

I met one about 30 years ago on holiday in France. He was a decent bloke and sent my laddie a whole load of Red Arrows souvenirs which he was delighted with.
Fair play to that bloke.

And look at how you turned out.

A symbol of the elusive "britishness" and the last vestiges of imperialist britain.

Dub amigo maybe a ship sailing in the waters of the Forth three years ago epitomized this better than the circus in the skies
The treatment of workers in uniform and workers in the armaments industry are a side effect of that decline.