The Positive Case for Independence

Keepitgreen

Hanover Frederick Castle Radge
I hear web servers will be far less prone to crashing in an independent Scotland..

:yeah:

On a serious note, good luck to Jamie getting things sorted and well done on getting moved and back up and running so quickly :thumbgrin

On topic, and did anyone see those stats the other day about the disparity of life expectancy between Scotland's rich and poor? Biggest gap in the whole of Western Europe!

report-highlights-health-gap-between-rich-and-poor-scots/

How has the Union failed our wee country so badly? :hmmm

I hear web servers will be far less prone to crashing in an independent Scotland..

:yeah:

On a serious note, good luck to Jamie getting things sorted and well done on getting moved and back up and running so quickly :thumbgrin

On topic, and did anyone see those stats the other day about the disparity of life expectancy between Scotland's rich and poor? Biggest gap in the whole of Western Europe!

report-highlights-health-gap-between-rich-and-poor-scots/

How has the Union failed our wee country so badly? :hmmm
This is the moral case for a smaller state, less welfare. In the US, where welfare has been ladled into communities, their conditions have gone backwards.

Scotland will not turn the corner on these things while it's plugged into westminster's largesse. Unfortunately it's going to be a major instance of cold turkey, but this is how the union has failed us; it has made us a dependent child.

http://www.scotland.gov.uk/News/Speeches/better-nation-031212

a perfectly decent, and some are saying best (for SNP), statement of the case for independence. Although details will be important, the basic case doesn't require those details, any more than you would expect any political party to set out all the micro details before an election.

A smashing statement indeed.

It pretty much sums up exactly how I feel about independence and the reasons why I changed my mind from a former unionist stance.

So many people need to read this.

No, no we can't have independence because we'll lose British music!!

How feckin pathetic are the bogey man scare stories going to get over the next two years?

http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/scottish-independence-scots-will-lose-british-culture-warns-darling-1-2625817

god, that article really is pathetic....

British sporting success will be someone elses to celebrate if Scots vote yes in the 2014 referendum.

well we don't particpate as "Britain" in every sport anyway, does anyone seriously get upset because we can't call England "ours" at the rugby or fitba world cup

lead to relatives of Scots in other parts of the UK becoming foreigners overnight.

and what difference does this make to anything? I left Scotland and moved to the Republic of Ireland and became a "foreigner" overnight, my relationship with friends and family back home didn't change one wee bit

Mr Darling warned that Nato may block Scotlands membership because of the SNPs opposition to nuclear weapons as he said the alliance might not accept these strings

so every country thats currently in NATO has nuclear weapons on their soil?

pathetic Alistair Darling, truly pathetic