The gymnasium

egb_hibs

one of more regrettable things I have taken up post work, is following lycra clad poseuers into the gym.

I thought I was doing ok, then egb jnr came home and has been putting me through my paces for the last three days. Ahm completely fucked. Went for a few messages after today, and had to get him to carry them as I could barely lift my keys to elbow height. Sadistic wee bar steward.

Anyone else partake in this vice?

Booooo for the misleading thread heading there eegie. My eyes lit up and I expected to see you extolling the virtues of this album below.

The Velvet Underground Live At The Gymnasium.

But it wasn't 🤬

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

one of more regrettable things I have taken up post work, is following lycra clad poseuers into the gym.

I thought I was doing ok, then egb jnr came home and has been putting me through my paces for the last three days. Ahm completely fucked. Went for a few messages after today, and had to get him to carry them as I could barely lift my keys to elbow height. Sadistic wee bar steward.

Was gonna be starting to try and get in better shape especially as the building I'm in had a 24 gym inside. Long covid put paid to that for now

Nope and doubt I ever will 👍

Well I used to go to the Jim. That's Jim's bar that was on Cockburn Street.

Used to go and er.... admire some of the young ladies working out. However, sitting on a weight training machine and only lifting my phone for the odd video soon got me a life ban.

I go about 4 times a week, just for an hour and get 10,000 steps a day. My health was piss poor 5 years ago and diabetes numbers off the charts. I turned it around with "diet" and exercise and just feel better all round now. Don't love it, but get it done.

I was the same but hate gyms. Lotta walking, decent diet had me drop 4 stone. Feel much better 👍

Was going down the gym to get in shape for my holidays.However whilst being away I didnae get much exercise in apart from one day in Kingston when I did a walking tour round Trench Town.Basically did the walk that Bob Marley sings in Trenchtown Rock including taking in 'The Government Yard' as mentioned in No Woman No Cry. I'm going to go back to Viccy Baths Gym next week as my doctor gave me a bit of a health scare by puting me on statins.

Did you know Marley wrote that about a girl he knew? She couldnae have kids and she never had any tear ducts.;))

Trying to get myself back into it.
I don't like the gym though, prefer to swing my kettlebells around at home.

The title conjured up pictures of Leithy school gym.Climbing ropes that I couldnae, a vault horse straight out the Great Escape ,yon plank things and bars going up the walls and two basketball nets.
Could NEVER get to the top of that fuckin rope

3/4 times a week followed by a sauna if I can. It’s maybe slightly narcissistic subconsciously but more that I’ve read of how unhealthy sarcopenia is as we age.

Am in way competing with the young team who’re, for better or worse, all bulked to UFC standards for reasons that escape me (there’s substantially less fist fights than in my day and forklifts are more prevalent) but am in no way knocking them as I’m in no doubt it’s as good for mental health as it is the physical.

It’s a social hub too in light of the dwindling pub life (ever for myself) so can’t criticise at all. Different times.

3/4 times a week followed by a sauna if I can. It’s maybe slightly narcissistic subconsciously but more that I’ve read of how unhealthy sarcopenia is as we age.

Am in way competing with the young team who’re, for better or worse, all bulked to UFC standards for reasons that escape me (there’s substantially less fist fights than in my day and forklifts are more prevalent) but am in no way knocking them as I’m in no doubt it’s as good for mental health as it is the physical.

It’s a social hub too in light of the dwindling pub life (ever for myself) so can’t criticise at all. Different times.
Sauna. That's a great shout. Untold benefits of a sauna

I went to the gym regularly for a year whilst working offshore - it was my muster point for lifeboat/fire drills etc. As for using any of the equipment there, I’d rather have walk or a cycle in the fresh air. Even a busy day in the garden does more for me, especially in terms of mental wellbeing.

At my age I have become restricted in what I can do. Wear and tear on my knees prevents any impact exercises like star jumping (although there are a few stars I wouldn't mind jumping) and running.. I go to the gym 3 times a week and just do 20 minutes rowing and a further 20 minutes total on either crunchies, leg extensions or other sitting down stuff. This is an attempt to keep me as flexible as possible. I like going to the gym as once I'm there I'm fine whereas if I decide to do exercises at home I find it difficult to motivate myself. I've been going long enough now not to get (too) distracted by the females ..... sorry, got a bit distracted thinking about getting distracted. ....I go to the gym above Sainsburys at Murrayfield, it's The Gym Group and I get the old fart's rate of roughly £4.50 a week (off peak which means any time except between 16:30 and 20:30) and they are open 24/7 - no contract either, you can leave and rejoin as you like.

The title conjured up pictures of Leithy school gym.Climbing ropes that I couldnae, a vault horse straight out the Great Escape ,yon plank things and bars going up the walls and two basketball nets.

And those paper think blue mats below. Looking back, those fucking things were never preventing any form of injury from happening 🫡

Worked out in the gym regularly since my early 20's, but stopped a couple of years ago as it was just getting too much and to be honest I was bored with it.
However I have done fitness classes almost every week for the last 20 years or so, and whilst I still enjoy them, the high energy ones I still do are beginning to be too much these days.
At 60, I am beginning to feel it more, and it's a massive effort just to get through them, but they do become addictive.
Best thing to do regarding going to the gym is to get a personal trainer or coach (there will likely be one at whatever gym you go to) to work out a programme specific to the person and what they want to achieve.

Worked out in the gym regularly since my early 20's, but stopped a couple of years ago as it was just getting too much and to be honest I was bored with it.
However I have done fitness classes almost every week for the last 20 years or so, and whilst I still enjoy them, the high energy ones I do are beginning to be too much these days.
At 60, I am beginning to feel it more, and it's a massive effort just to get through them, but they do become addictive.
Best thing to do regarding going to the gym is to get a personal trainer or coach (there will likely be one at whatever gym you go to) to work out a programme specific to the person and what they want to achieve.
My gym (see post 30) does all that for free, one on one and group classes. I just told them what I couldn't manage and they work around it. I would think most gyms will offer similar, especially to newcomers.

That's where I messed up. Was never top heavy! Strong legs mind!
Could NEVER get to the top of that fuckin rope
I'm no athlete and definitely not in my school days, but I found rope climbing to be one of the easier exercises. If you get shown how and where to put and use your feet you'll find there's very little strength involved. You just use your arms to take your weight while you raise your legs, then push up once your feet have gripped. Rinse and repeat. Honestly I was in the lower reaches of my gym class but I outclimbed the bigger built guys just by listening properly to the gym teacher and getting my feet right. I may have had an advantage through being skinny but there were more muscles on a seafood platter than on my frame.

Did they ever get everybody lined up holding a chair at arms length?
Got us to do that one day and I got told off for putting it down when I'd won. Bastards never told us it was getting timed. If they had I would've beat the record then put it down.

Welcome back Haruki, Where the fuck have yo been?

I was the same but hate gyms. Lotta walking, decent diet had me drop 4 stone. Feel much better 👍
4 stone ffs you were a mere slip of a lad the last time I cast eyes on you. Mind you, the sight of you topless on the Hampden pitch was a sight to behold.

Clearly a lookalike as I wisnae there 👍

I'm no athlete and definitely not in my school days, but I found rope climbing to be one of the easier exercises. If you get shown how and where to put and use your feet you'll find there's very little strength involved. You just use your arms to take your weight while you raise your legs, then push up once your feet have gripped. Rinse and repeat. Honestly I was in the lower reaches of my gym class but I outclimbed the bigger built guys just by listening properly to the gym teacher and getting my feet right. I may have had an advantage through being skinny but there were more muscles on a seafood platter than on my frame.
Sounds a bit ropey to me 🤷‍♂️