The fans????

SkyeHibs

Formerly known as Lanarkhibs
I for one feel let down by the performance of the team today. However did we help?:dunno:

I could not believe the lack of atmosphere in the Hibs end when I got there about 11:30.

It did seem that the Hertz fans were up for it but we were not.:dunno:

I wonder if our unease was transmitted onto the players?:dunno:

It was a massive occassion for all of us. If we had one today we had won the cup.

We were we as fans not up for it?:dunno:

Did we let Hibernian down collectively?:dunno:

Thought the atmosphere was shocking. I joined in with every song that was sung by the Hibs fans but felt uneasy as there was a lack of singing from supporters around me:banger:

There was more atmosphere at my auld man's funeral. They were quiet as church mice until they scored.

LanarkHibs said:
I for one feel let down by the performance of the team today. However did we help?:dunno:

Nope, our f**cking goalie and defence did.

Thought it was hard for either set of fans to get a full song going before the game with the Hampden PA System making our ears bleed, I could not hear the guy next to me, let alone attempts to get the crowd singing as one.

LanarkHibs said:

I could not believe the lack of atmosphere in the Hibs end when I got there about 11:30.

It was a massive occassion for all of us. If we had one today we had won the cup.

Have you not felt this way every appearance at Hampden? I have. Not once have I come home saying that the atmosphere was good:dunno: with the exception of the Huns game. Maybe its Hampden, Maybe its us. To be fair its hard for us to get fired up for it when we are watching such a dire performance. Thought we made an effort to be honest but had little to work with.

Where were you lot like???????

There was nothing but singing cheering and chanting from my end:dunno:

Anyway, it was hibs who let us down, we didnt give away a penalty, we didt stand on another mans back and we didnt have 4 forwards on the park at the same time :banger:

GloryGlory said:
Have you not felt this way every appearance at Hampden? I have. Not once have I come home saying that the atmosphere was good:dunno: with the exception of the Huns game. Maybe its Hampden, Maybe its us. To be fair its hard for us to get fired up for it when we are watching such a dire performance. Thought we made an effort to be honest but had little to work with.

Been there twice with my 'Well supporting missus and I have to say by god to they support their team. Today I thought was very quiet and perhaps our unease at our chance of progress was behind it. Before the game the yams were doing their usual ridiculous looking scarf twirling, we appeared to have a few flags fluttering but not much else.

you lot where obviously not sitting near me. a little section of the east stand was bouncing. hardly sat down all game. done more singin than watchin the game.

CadgeMac said:
the hearts end was quiet until they scored and even after that it was quiet.

Dont you mean the stuck record at the other end from us.:hmmm I'm sure it was stuck on that brilliant song.

LanarkHibs said:

To be fair, i think nerves come into alot, i actually didn't think we were that bad, doesn't help that there was aboot 64,000 empty seats behind the goal.:sad

Hibee_angel said:
All they sung was the hibees are gay.... nuffin impressive from them either

I ken! they sang that throughout the whole game :sad it was really annoying me :banger:

LanarkHibs said:

The Yams were there in slightly greater numbers but from the outset (I was one of the first in the National Stadium) they totally outsung us. They were up for it and believed it was their day.

Why were we not up for it collectively as a support?

Smurf said:
The Yams were there in slightly greater numbers but from the outset (I was one of the first in the National Stadium) they totally outsung us. They were up for it and believed it was their day.

Why were we not up for it collectively as a support?

I haven't missed a derby home or away since the age of 10 and as i've got older i've came to realise that no matter what team is having the better season or is in the best form,we as a club are frightened when we play Hearts.I obviously can't speak for everyone because we all have different ways of approaching derbies but IMO there is a fear factor in the Hibs support whenever we come up against the un-washed from Gorgie:banger:

Broxburn_Hibby said:
I haven't missed a derby home or away since the age of 10 and as i've got older i've came to realise that no matter what team is having the better season or is in the best form,we as a club are frightened when we play Hearts.I obviously can't speak for everyone because we all have different ways of approaching derbies but IMO there is a fear factor in the Hibs support whenever we come up against the un-washed from Gorgie:banger:

I am afraid i have to agree:sad

Landells said:
yeah i know what you meen they should have just sung katy or cal is gay not all of us are gay:tuttut:

Nut Landells :sad that was uncalled for :sad

Broxburn_Hibby said:

I agree with you and Smurf. I have to say I could not believe it when I entered the seating area. Hibs were in a cup semi FFS. If we won today we had all but won the cup. I expected folk to be bouncing about roaring on our team. As I looked at the faces around me you could have been mistaken in thinking you were at a funeral.

We have our part to play in encouraging. It was noticeable at one point in the second half that Benji was encouraging the fans to get behind the team.

LanarkHibs said:
I agree with you and Smurf. I have to say I could not believe it when I entered the seating area. Hibs were in a cup semi FFS. If we won today we had all but won the cup. I expected folk to be bouncing about roaring on our team. As I looked at the faces around me you could have been mistaken in thinking you were at a funeral.

We have our part to play in encouraging. It was noticeable at one point in the second half that Benji was encouraging the fans to get behind the team.

In fairness i think there were more than a few who were roaring on the team,myself included but you could sense the fear,its something that we as a club need to overcome or we will be forever in the shadow of Hearts:banger:

LanarkHibs said:

I joked to my Dad that we were all saving our voices for when the game got under way..

First 20 minutes we were marginally IMO the better team but stilll we were behaving as if - as you say - at a funeral.

Maybe we look on at our defence etc and are too scared to sing in case it further knocks their oh so feckin fragile concentration..:sad :sad :sad :sad

Like i said I've never once been to hampden except the Huns game and experienced an atmoshphere youd expect from Hibs fans.

this is chicken and egg stuff - who knows? did our lack of confidence seep through to players? but I for one am fcuked off at having gone through to every Hibs match at hampden since 1979 and seen some dire fcukin nonsense time and time again. Today started badly on the 10am football special which was quieter than Leith Walk library, you could literally smell the fear, and then in the ground, a few chants round me, then team read out and i swear not a peep after. I don't think I've ever started a chant in ma puff but at one point I stood up to have a go and realised why I haven't bothered before. I shall stick to ma prawn sarnies in the West lower and probably avoid Hampden.

LanarkHibs said:

Totally agree i expected an electrifying atmosphere for a game between us that should have matched the old firm games,sadly we have prooved that we can't match the passion shown by other major clubs in britain ,europe or otherwise,to my dismay :sad :sad :sad :sad

Broxburn_Hibby said:
what our support is afraid of is irrelevant but our team should not be afraid of anyone or why bother turning up.

CadgeMac said:
i would agree with that:sad we always seem to be nervous of derby's but the yams are always arrogant and confident:sad

Aye there is the rub.......Confidence. The players are ordinary folk just like us. If we were not confident why should the players be any different.:dunno:

Yesterday was 90 minutes against our closest rivals. We all had to raise our game. Sadly we did not. We had to inspire those on the park with our confidence and belief. The fact that it was our debut boy who was trying to encourage the fans to get behind the team says it all.

Hampden on balance has been a bad experience for us for decades and we have to turn this around. If we have to gain more self belief and yes perhaps a degree of arrogance and a swagger than all well and good.

LanarkHibs said:
Aye there is the rub.......Confidence. The players are ordinary folk just like us. If we were not confident why should the players be any different.:dunno:

Yesterday was 90 minutes against our closest rivals. We all had to raise our game. Sadly we did not. We had to inspire those on the park with our confidence and belief. The fact that it was our debut boy who was trying to encourage the fans to get behind the team says it all.

Hampden on balance has been a bad experience for us for decades and we have to turn this around. If we have to gain more self belief and yes perhaps a degree of arrogance and a swagger than all well and good.

The manager was far from confident in his pre match SKY report i hear.

The studio in SKY were stunned by his downbeat manner.

Maybe the manager had more of a part to play?

Wolfetone Hibee said:
doesn't help when you've got tossers who won't sing but are perfectly happy to boo our own songs:sad

Out of interest, whats this about. :dunno: Were Hibbys Booing other Hibbys yesterday:dunno:

Where were these "unsingin tossers" booing fellow Hibbys:dunno:

They weren't in the North Stand because I was there and I can hardly speak today!

Also respect to the fans at the top of the south stand (towards behind the goal) as they were fantastic IMO. :thumbgrin

The worst derby atmosphere i have experienced in my life the team didnt turn up and nither did we,we couldnt even sell all our tickets now thats a joke!!as much as i hate to say this that was the final straw for me i wont pay any more of my hard earned cash to hibs again not unless we stop bein a feeder club,i mean whats the point if their is no silverware for us to cheer about at least!!we are a massive club and performances like that is just not acceptable!!!GRETNA FOR THE CUP

NGP said:
Thought it was hard for either set of fans to get a full song going before the game with the Hampden PA System making our ears bleed, I could not hear the guy next to me, let alone attempts to get the crowd singing as one.

Exactly!! That drives me nuts!

At a big game like that, the singing usually builds up the nearer to the start of the game. The PA guy seemed to be doing his damnedest to prevent it, though he probably didn't set out to. He's most likely just a night club DJ wannabee.

The Hibs fans were actually the first ones to get good song going about 40 mins from the start of the match but that was before 'DJ BurstYirDrums' got properly started.

A derby will never be a good experience unless you are winning it It was the worst I had been at.