The European Championship

Starts Friday and no thread on here!

Are we all so embarrassed by Scotland being the only home nation not to book a place en France?

Is anyone on here going?

For those that give a shit, which teams or games might have ze va va voom factor?

I think the Spanish will be strong but you can discount the Germans. You can't get a much safer statement than that!

Other, perhaps, interesting things to look out for away from but affecting or affected by the fitba may be civil unrest in France; strikes upto and including a general strike; terrorism; the effects of football results on the UK referendum; drugs and sex scandals and a host of other things.

Are we all so embarrassed by Scotland being the only home nation not to book a place en France?

Is anyone on here going?

For those that give a $#@!, which teams or games might have ze va va voom factor?

I think the Spanish will be strong but you can discount the Germans. You can't get a much safer statement than that!

Other, perhaps, interesting things to look out for away from but affecting or affected by the fitba may be civil unrest in France; strikes upto and including a general strike; terrorism; the effects of football results on the UK referendum; drugs and sex scandals and a host of other things.
Spanish beat by Georgia tonight. No bad team that Georgia mind.......

Im looking forward to it.

Think its only 8 teams that go out in the group stages so there is potential for a few shocks in the first knock out phase.

France are the team to beat.

The England team on paper is good, but will they do their usual at tournaments.

Fancy Wales to be the team the causes a few upsets.

I think England have as good a chance now as they ever have. I reckon they might even do it.

France are pretty formidable but other than that it is as wide open a tournament as I can remember.

As long as the English get fucked, not bothered.

I think this could be a pretty open tournament: I don't think the likes of Germany, Spain and France are as strong as they have been in the past, which perhaps opens to door for someone like England, Portugal or Italy to win it. I also wouldn't rule out and "outsider" like Croatia or Switzerland winning the tournament.

Either way, it should be entertaining!

Is anyone on here going?

For those that give a shit, which teams or games might have ze va va voom factor?

My oldest son and his Hibby mate will be at Germany Ukraine on Sunday. Look behind the goals for the green and white Hibs saltire.

It's France for me.

Germany to win, don't think France are as good as made out and Engurland have a leaky defence.

It's a wide open tourney this time round and I was gonna have a decent bet on France but I'm not overly impressed with the price, obviously they do have home advantage but is it really an advantage granted they won the world cup as hosts but apart from Argentina I'm struggling to find winners of the the big two tourneys that were the host nation, plus France haven't played a competitive game for two years which might be a good thing or as I suspect could work against them
So I'm going to lump on the Belgians who on paper have a squad of players who could get into most international starting eleven, I'm just hoping that the individuals they have can put it together and play as a team if they do then the 10 or 12/1 could be worth a look

France should be favourites, but I reckon Germany will be European Champions.

I think England could reach the semis...much depends on keeping their better players fit. Sturridge for example is a key player for them in big matches but the guy is very injury prone.

Scotland not qualify? I thought all they had to do was beat Poland at Hampden and that was a nap.....

Looks like the English have arrived then..

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...eers-Marseille-ahead-opening-game-Russia.html

"ISIS, Where are you?" :rollfloor

Who the fuck do they think they are? Some kind of national defence force out for vengeance? "ISIS where are you?".

Wonder if the French were thinking, "bloody foreigners coming over here and causing mayhem"...

Anyway, i`m sure that every decent England supporter out there will be heartily chuffed to know, that if there are any terrorists in France at the moment with no particular plans, these morons may have just made every one of them a target.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...eers-Marseille-ahead-opening-game-Russia.html

Who the $#@! do they think they are? Some kind of national defence force out for vengeance? "ISIS where are you?".

Wonder if the French were thinking, "bloody foreigners coming over here and causing mayhem"...

Anyway, i`m sure that every decent England supporter out there will be heartily chuffed to know, that if there are any terrorists in France at the moment with no particular plans, these morons may have just made every one of them a target.

FWIW, the Tartan Army were also singing about ISIS a week ago when in France...

Who the $#@! do they think they are? Some kind of national defence force out for vengeance? "ISIS where are you?".

whoever thought of putting Engurland in a 50% Muslim city needs there head examined, was always going to happen.

England press conference - Russian press were brutal with Rooney.

"Wayne we in Russia think you're shite - what do you think?"

Ooooyah! :lookaround:

Is Dawn French? Is Johnny English? Is Defoe Germain?Will the Swedes turnup? Do Ireland play Iceland? Will the Czechs bounce out early? Is there a Northern Iceland? If Wales lose will their fans be Moby Dick? If Italy win, will there be a party in Romania? If Hungary finish Turkey off, will they still be Hungary?Should we Scots support ALBAnia?

Apparently De Gea has had a press conference where he's stated the story is all lies and he remains focused on the matches to come.
Time will tell I suppose.

France going forward are lovely to watch , but defensively suspect........
I think England in with a shout......Hibs won Scottish cup......nothing bothers me noo.:Sparkle_Cool:

more clashes tonight with Engurland fans who really are a bunch of twats. All the banning orders down south havnae worked.

French game was orite, still don't think they are good enough.

Not seen any of the reports yet of the trouble so I can't comment who was responsible - but I do know the Russians are radge so it wouldn't surprise me if it was them setting about the English instead of the other way around.

Not just the English who have troublemakers over there. Northern Irish kicked off last night as well:

Russian radges v English beer bellies in Muslim Marseille? Seems legit, bring on the festivities.

The fighting is disgraceful and pathetic. Given the current threat of terrorism I had not given holliganism much thought in relation to the tournament.

So the French authorities are busy dealing with riots and a terrorism attack takes place at the same time? Not saying it will happen but it's not impossible either, the scenario is not worth thinking about. These mindless thugs, whatever nationality they are, have no regard for anything. Scum of the earth.

On a more lighthearted note, Clive Tlydesley, what an annoying twat.

Russians in black hoods just piled in tae the English end and some serious damage I think.