The darts

1 Mcnamara

That time of year again . Fireman and Scotsman from Arbroath Alan Soutar currently one set up against Gurney.
Quite an open event this year , I think a new face might win it this year.
Might put a few quid on Michael Smith.
Great tournament , but seems to be inhabited by complete fannies . That yaya song is such a pain in the arse. Brown men in their hundreds doing all the actions . Tragic 😐

I went to see a Grand Slam night during the recent run at Wolverhampton (was down for a work thing so we did that in the evening).

Was great fun. Thought to be fair I was that many pitchers of ale in the annoying singing was quite enjoyable.

Cameron Menzies joins Peter Wright and Alan Soutar in the next round

That time of year again . Fireman and Scotsman from Arbroath Alan Soutar currently one set up against Gurney.
Great tournament , but seems to be inhabited by complete fannies . That yaya song is such a pain in the arse. Brown men in their hundreds doing all the actions . Tragic 😐
Wouldn't have thought a darts crowd would have been that diverse.

The darts are great to watch. I'm on MVG, Scott Williams @ 180/1 and Soots @ 290/1 with a view to trade 'when' lower priced.

I had a wee punt on Damon Heta as they were saying that his tour stats are right up there with the best, but he seems to struggle in TV tournaments. So as long as his arse doesn't collapse he could be in with a shout

Used to watch the darts back in the day; Jocky Wilson, the Crafty Cockney, Bobby George.......

Haven't watched it for years since. Tried it a couple of times but all the dafties holding up notices to the cameras......... no ta.

I used to play darts at a fairly good standard until I got dartitis (google it if you don't know) Couldn't stand being in the crowd at an event nowadays though.

My dad is/was a good darts player. I mind him coming home from an amateur v pro charity tournament when I was younger absolutely beaming because he beat Bobby George.

Get a few whiskeys in him and he'll hit out with the "could've gone pro" laments. "Weeeeell... your maw was pregnant with you and I couldnae be a young father and live oot a suitcase, ken."

My dad is/was a good darts player. I mind him coming home from an amateur v pro charity tournament when I was younger absolutely beaming because he beat Bobby George.

Get a few whiskeys in him and he'll hit out with the "could've gone pro" laments. "Weeeeell... your maw was pregnant with you and I couldnae be a young father and live oot a suitcase, ken."
I played Bristow, Jocky and Keith Deller 1001 each time. Closest I got was against Jocky when I got down to 102. Mate of mine beat him.

Group of us went to Manchester for my stag do in April and we went to the Premier League darts, it was brilliant! Made better by all the players staying at the same hotel as us. They were all very approachable and happy to have a blether or pose for selfies etc.

Agree this a very open tournament, looking forward to Barney v Price in the next round. Hope Anderson does well but he doesn’t seem to play regularly enough these days.

Jocky frae kirkcaldy, the wheatsheaf was one of the pubs he frequented, stayed in chinatown for a while 👍

Great strategist and reader of the (front) room your Dad, I would say 😉

Gary Anderson was playing an exhibition in Loudens and he throws his first dart, right in the treble 20, throws his second dart and hits a single 20, throws his third dart and it bounces of the wire, hits the marker right in the eye and he drops tae the floor. The scorers shouts …
ONE HUN DEAD AND EEIGGHHHHTTTTYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

Alan Souter in the last 16. Couldnae hit a coo in the erse wi a banjo first 2 sets but won nearly every game in the next 4 sets.

Peter Wright awful last night, what's happened to him, end of the road stuff recently

Think his missus isnae keeping well, might be that on his mind. He was as you say shite right enough. Souter started off like that tae, but came good.Fuckin fell asleep when Anderson was on.🙈

Have you ever seen anything like it?! 🎧🎯😂😂😂

View attachment 10117
Series 12 Cyberman GIF by Doctor Who

Darts seems to be full of unlike able a- holes these days , Price , Smith , Dobey, Clayton , Van den Berg , and a few more I’ve absolutely no time for.

Price is a prick but darts fans seem to be utter arseholes these days. Regurgitate the same 5 or 6 songs they were singing 10 years ago with "Scotland get battered everywhere they go" thrown in when s Scotsman is up on stage. Gammons

I can't think of any live sport I'd hate to be at more than the darts. What a bunch of fucking morons! Not ruling out that I could just be a moaning faced old *&*^ now though 🤷🏻‍♂️

It was a novelty and quite entertaining when they sung about Yaya toure in 2010 didn't think they'd still be at it in 2023 though

The sports seems to have gone down the WWE route with villains and heroes, people pay money to go and boo players like Price who build up an image and reputation based on their onstage persona

That was incredible, never have and probably never will again see anything like it.
Aye because under normal criteria both would miss - Beefy went against the throw then won the leg.

And guess who never 😣😣