The Cult. Sonic Temple.

no chance

though at 2.30 a.m. wi a body full of any range and quantity of stimulants i'd reckon that even wham would sound better than ac/dc at that moment in time

The Cult are barry. She Sells Sanctuary, Love Removal Machine, Lil Devil. All solid gold classics.

Brilliant live too. I've seen my share of serious artistes and other precious auteurs. The Cult, along with Big Country were just brilliant straight up unironic fun.

The Cult are barry. She Sells Sanctuary, Love Removal Machine, Lil Devil. All solid gold classics.

aye i do like the cult, classic 80s band for sure

and i also like big country i had a wee trip doon memory lane wi them the other day :thumbgrin

Love (pardon the pun) The Cults first three albums - not a trace of ACDC till the third of them

I suppose now I think of it Electric had a little acdc to it, but sonic temple was more a poppier led Zep I would have thought

Automatic blues - my favourite off it - is certainly more the latter than the former. Likes of edie ciao baby are neither.

You should hear The Manor Sessions, that was the way Electric was 'going' to sound. It was horrendous over produced sluggish pish.

Rick Rubn alone saved them from obscurity.

Electric is a brilliant, complete album. In fact, I love all their stuff. Although, upon hearing Edie Ciao Baby the other month there, I felt it had dated very badly. Easily the worst track off that album.

Edit; and, Electric is pure AC/DC. No one can even remotely suggest otherwise.

You should hear The Manor Sessions, that was the way Electric was 'going' to sound. It was horrendous over produced sluggish pish.

Rick Rubn alone saved them from obscurity.

Electric is a brilliant, complete album. In fact, I love all their stuff. Although, upon hearing Edie Ciao Baby the other month there, I felt it had dated very badly. Easily the worst track off that album.

Edit; and, Electric is pure AC/DC. No one can even remotely suggest otherwise.

Not heard Electric for nigh on 30 years. Lil Devil is ACDC - I don't remember love removal machine as being and can't mind much else. Sonic Temple was played much more by the young EGB.

Great band, before they switched to that sort of comedy metal, She Sells Sanctuary is one of the best, ahem, 'alternative' rock riffs ever, if not the best.

Not heard Electric for nigh on 30 years. Lil Devil is ACDC - I don't remember love removal machine as being and can't mind much else. Sonic Temple was played much more by the young EGB.

Great band, before they switched to that sort of comedy metal, She Sells Sanctuary is one of the best, ahem, 'alternative' rock riffs ever, if not the best.

The thing is, I don't think The Cult can be accused of ripping AC/DC off or even being inspired by them that much. It was all Rick Ruben, he was the one that totally stripped back their sound and saved them from abject failure in the classically difficult third album. You'll see what I mean if you have a listen to the Manor Sessions. It was like a continuation of Love but done really badly. All the right elements were there, but they were all individually mince and, even worse together.

Some say, ye cannae polish a turd. Rick Ruben proved that to not be an empirical rule.

Sonic Temple is a beauty too. They learned their lesson and although they used Bob Rock to produce, they knew they couldn't trust their own judgement!

Only ever liked the odd song after Electric - suspect the first three albums was a time n place for me. Having said that Ive seen the cult a few times in recent years and really enjoyed them - although an hour and a half in Edinburgh was much better than 3 hours in Madrid the previous week!

The thing is, I don't think The Cult can be accused of ripping AC/DC off or even being inspired by them that much. It was all Rick Ruben, he was the one that totally stripped back their sound and saved them from abject failure in the classically difficult third album. You'll see what I mean if you have a listen to the Manor Sessions. It was like a continuation of Love but done really badly. All the right elements were there, but they were all individually mince and, even worse together.

Some say, ye cannae polish a turd. Rick Ruben proved that to not be an empirical rule.

Sonic Temple is a beauty too. They learned their lesson and although they used Bob Rock to produce, they knew they couldn't trust their own judgement!
Wow just listened to lil devil demo. Weird - sort of muddled up doesn't know what it is hybrid between layered goth stylists of previous outings, and what it became. See what you mean K. Then I checked the actual version for first time in forever - much improved by stripping it back like you say. However Ih this case the look of the band is n that hybrid stage - astbury is trying to do Rock god but still half mincing goth, lol

Totally. The layers are mainly what kills it. The effects, sickening amounts of delays, reverbs, chorus etc. It's like a drunk goth admitting he really like the more cheery side of rock but kinda getting it all wrong.

Yep, have a look at the state of Astbury mincing about in the Love Removal Machine video. He's in full new romantic garb with a really weird massive coos lick like he's trying to be in Mtley Cre or something. Basically got to America and got all confused. Bangin' track though.

Then have a listen to the Manor Sessions version.

Thank fuck for Rick Ruben.

Love is the album that sticks out for me. Not a duff track, decorated my house to that album on repeat and 'found' the cd recently and it hasn't dated (much).

Saw them play live at the QMU just after they changed name from Southern Death Cult and before any kind of fame. They were fantastic even though Billy Duffy challenged me and my mate to a fight cos we shouted 'you'd better be
f$king good' after they had closed the bar(for 45 minutes, we were just about to be served) to let them come onstage.