The BBC and the license fee, and no this isn't about polticial bias

egb_hibs

I was reading an article which mused on the sustainability of the license fee in our changing world - live tv accounts for 69% of viewing and dropping.

In this context, and irrespective of my usual bugbears, is it tenable that the license fee continues. An illustrative anecdote was on a the non hibs football board tonight as someone asked for a stream of the bayern barca game as they don't have a license. Well it was on STV player live - but you need to pay the BBC to watch STV streaming on the Internet ... I mean, what?!

Secondly, even bbc allies like the guardian have a dog in this fight. The license fee pays for the BBC news site which absolutely nobbles the newspapers attempts to survive in a digital era, as they either charge and are starved by the free 'competition' or don't charge and lose money by the shed load. In effect, the BBCs funding model is challenging the existence of a varied amd independent media.

Is this right and can it go on (two distinct questions)?

For the life of me I can't think why anyone would pay a license fee any more.
I live in the US and I can stream all the uk channels in real time.
The days of holding folk to ransom are surely over?

The loss of top gear alone is, I think, equivalent to about 4% of license revenue. Which just illustrates the best of both worlds scenario they enjoy. They can make tax funded programmes and then sell them for monster profits. Now from a license payer point of view that's fine because it subsidises other content, but in terms of competition with others it's grossly unfair. You'll (barney) be used to seeing bbc sites festooned with ads as they are abroad. Again a Mixed model like the above which is just hugely damaging to the rest of the media (I know that's stretching anyone's sympathies but you know what I mean).

It's impact ripples outward - the quality newspapers have descended into click bait to generate online revenues where they cannot compete on charging for serious content as the Beeb brutally undercuts them. I go on about the guardians torrent of bile but when I occasionally read the printed edition which is absent much of it, I am reminded how much, sadly,this is driven online by the drive to promote clicks. The argument - with whch I ajve sympathy - that the BBC can fly above such grottiness (much of the time anyway) is reversed by such effects in the wider media.

For the life of me I can't think why anyone would pay a license fee any more.
I live in the US and I can stream all the uk channels in real time.
The days of holding folk to ransom are surely over?

And if everyone did that the BBC would be no more!

I lived in a house for a year , quite remote which did not receive a tv signal. Even with a 5m mast for the aerial.
This was about 15 years ago.
I then read the my licence " rights" which said if you have a tv , you need this licence or otherwise break the law. It quite clearly states you do not need a signal to pay for the privilege. Basically it's a goverment tax.

God bless the British way

If the BBC starts showing Ads instead of a Sub then you'll end up with way less channels to choose from as advertisers flock to the UKs most popular media outlet(by viewer numbers) and the other channels die from lack of funding.

Take your pick.

If the BBC starts showing Ads instead of a Sub then you'll end up with way less channels to choose from as advertisers flock to the UKs most popular media outlet(by viewer numbers) and the other channels die from lack of funding.

Take your pick.
i don't think that would happen at all, not to mention most alternatives are not reliant on UK advertisers

I no longer have a tv license. I don't watch live tv, lets be honest its pretty much wall to wall pish. I have Now TV and occasionally Netflix. Only thing worth watching on BBC in Have I Got News For You and the occasional documentary, which you can watch on iPlayer. Its good to know none of my cash goes to BBC Glasgow and its awful football/AberdeenRanticjizzfest coverage, esp Derek eh Ferguson and Chick sodding Young.

Buy a box set or read. Its better than watching BBC.

i don't think that would happen at all, not to mention most alternatives are not reliant on UK advertisers

TV wise in the UK,it's exactly what would happen.
The BARB figures show there's a load of chs on Freeview that are wholly reliant on advertising to keep them going.

TV wise in the UK,it's exactly what would happen.
The BARB figures show there's a load of chs on Freeview that are wholly reliant on advertising to keep them going.

They would go where the viewers are and what the price point is - it would sort itself out pretty quickly. If the BBC maintained its current reach it would be a different price point than, say, Dave. The existence of ITV doesn't preclude others from existing - the most obvious diluting effect would be bbc and ITV competing for the (current) core audience

A first step for me would be to Make the license a license for watching bbc. It's nuts you need to pay it to watch other channels ie to own a telly or watch live Internet streaming

To me some of the problem is the term "license". You should need a license to own a gun, drive a car etc....not to watch the telly. I've read some of the agitators online advice about the TV license and I have to say that I'm pretty convinced that you don't have to pay it (although I do!). Noel Edmonds hasn't paid it for years and he's never been pulled for it.

They would go where the viewers are and what the price point is - it would sort itself out pretty quickly. If the BBC maintained its current reach it would be a different price point than, say, Dave. The existence of ITV doesn't preclude others from existing - the most obvious diluting effect would be bbc and ITV competing for the (current) core audience

A first step for me would be to Make the license a license for watching bbc. It's nuts you need to pay it to watch other channels ie to own a telly or watch live Internet streaming

BBC has 35-40% audience share,can see it affecting Drama and Cowell TV on ITV. I reckon Dave,the Ch4-Ch5 offshoots and the like would go...

Agree with Sub for internet etc

The BBC is one of the finest institutions in this country.

Not even including the world class radio service just taking prime time TV tonight as an example the BBC has on brand new comedy, a gardening program, documentary about Caribbean British war heroes, a series examining stories from the bible, Scottish championship relegation play off and a program about mountain gorillas.

Itv offer us a spitting image knock off, a us film that's been on a 100 times, a us canned laughter comedy, a celebrity quiz show, inspector morse and a shock doc about botched vaginas.

Take your pick.

To me some of the problem is the term "license". You should need a license to own a gun, drive a car etc....not to watch the telly. I've read some of the agitators online advice about the TV license and I have to say that I'm pretty convinced that you don't have to pay it (although I do!). Noel Edmonds hasn't paid it for years and he's never been pulled for it.
It's a criminal offence and people can get the jail for it

BBC has 35-40% audience share,can see it affecting Drama and Cowell TV on ITV. I reckon Dave,the Ch4-Ch5 offshoots and the like would go...

Agree with Sub for internet etc
the advertisers are already paying for the eyes watching cowell etc. The bbc would have to reduce the number of eyes on them to change to commercial value of it

It's a criminal offence and people can get the jail for it- - - Updated - - -the advertisers are already paying for the eyes watching cowell etc. The bbc would have to reduce the number of eyes on them to change to commercial value of it
You don't get the jail for not having a license. You get the jail for not paying associated fines. I won't labour the point but there are some quite persuasive arguments and advice on ways to deal with the TV licensing dudes who chap the door.

Not a problem paying the equivalent of one pint of beer, or an Easter Road pie and Bovril, or a Day Saver on an Edinbugh bus, a week, for the BBC TV and all the peripherals. Nae adverts is a bonus. Nae Clarkson is a bonus.

The BBC is one of the finest institutions in this country.

Not even including the world class radio service just taking prime time TV tonight as an example the BBC has on brand new comedy, a gardening program, documentary about Caribbean British war heroes, a series examining stories from the bible, Scottish championship relegation play off and a program about mountain gorillas.

Itv offer us a spitting image knock off, a us film that's been on a 100 times, a us canned laughter comedy, a celebrity quiz show, inspector morse and a shock doc about botched vaginas.

Take your pick.
There's no arguing with the fact (not from me anyway) the beeb produces programmes that we benefit from and which might not be so readily provided by a commercial alternative. I also think this is generally where it's public service remit is most obviously fulfilled - I expect that, ironically, in many cases these will be less expensive to produce than light entertainment that could easily come from elsewhere.

But it seems to me untenable that you have to pay the bbc to watch others and to fund a potential state media monopoly in british provided Internet news services.

I refused to pay this year. Took a phonecall from the BBC telling me I hadn't paid. Gave them no information about myself, and the lady then stating she couldn't fix the problem If I didn't confirm my details over the phone.

A few days later, I got a letter for auntie beeb saying that looking at my past payments, I was entitled to a free 6 months license :giggle:

The bbc and the fee to watch TV charged in this country are a complete joke. Regardless of the price.

at least the bbc news tell it like it is - worth the licence fee

[video=youtube;IkB33oR3e4w]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkB33oR3e4w[/video]

:rollfloor

at least the bbc news tell it like it is - worth the licence fee

[video=youtube;IkB33oR3e4w]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkB33oR3e4w[/video]

:rollfloor
:giggle: :giggle: :giggle:

Although it's probably a freudian slip exposing internal BBC elitist attitudes to the people's party.

I no longer have a tv license. I don't watch live tv, lets be honest its pretty much wall to wall pish. I have Now TV and occasionally Netflix. Only thing worth watching on BBC in Have I Got News For You and the occasional documentary, which you can watch on iPlayer. Its good to know none of my cash goes to BBC Glasgow and its awful football/AberdeenRanticjizzfest coverage, esp Derek eh Ferguson and Chick sodding Young.

Buy a box set or read. Its better than watching BBC.

Me as well , just cancelled my Direct Debit , and advised TV licensing by phone that i no longer watch live TV and only watch on demand channels, also cancelled their right of access to my home for BBC ,TV licensing or any of their subsidiaries, so i will never get anyone at my door either , all perfectly legal and above board , wish i had done it years ago .

Can you explain the bit in bold please?

No problem , when people let their TV license run out the TV licensing authority have whats called the legal right of access to your property , so they will always be able to come to your home and harass you about your license , But you have the legal right to withdraw their right of access to your property so BBC , TV licensing authority or subsidiaries of said companies can actually get taken to court if they breach it and arrive at your door , sounds unreal i know, but its true , I made the phone call to them just the other day withdrawing their right of access and they are going to confirm it in writing in next day or so .

you couldnae pass the number on you called could you?

The licence fee and her enforcers can all take a running fucking jump.

They have NEVER had my name right and I've had a licence for over 10 years. When I immediately tried to get them to correct it, they wouldn't / said they didn't need to (I forgot what biscuit arsed response I got).

Anyway, I cancelled it last year (you can guess why) although with the way you pay them, I was covered until 31st March 2015.

I no longer watch live broadcasts. We got rid of Sky (our subscription coincidentally came to an end around the same time) and watch Netflix instead.

But the bastards have sent me a letter (a generic one but they're bastards all the same) to say my home is under investigation. Well fuck them. And fuck their detector vans that have never been used as evidence in court. And fuck their clipboards.

I really cannae wait until they come to the door and ask for the person they have on their records because they'll be getting told he doesn't live there. And they're not getting in. And they're not getting my name.

you couldnae pass the number on you called could you?

0300 790 6068. If you no longer watch or record
programmes as they're being shown
on TV, you don't need a license.

We may visit to confirm this. This last part is the important part , as long as you tell them that you no longer watch live TV and only watch On demand or streaming on your computer , And importantly tell them you are revoking their right of access to your property , they must adhere to your request by law .

Hope this helps , from memory it was the last option option 5 all the time and then you get through to a real person . have your tv license number handy if you have one .

They have NEVER had my name right and I've had a licence for over 10 years. When I immediately tried to get them to correct it, they wouldn't / said they didn't need to (I forgot what biscuit arsed response I got).

Anyway, I cancelled it last year (you can guess why) although with the way you pay them, I was covered until 31st March 2015.
I no longer watch live broadcasts. We got rid of Sky (our subscription coincidentally came to an end around the same time) and watch Netflix instead.

But the bastards have sent me a letter (a generic one but they're bastards all the same) to say my home is under investigation. Well fuck them. And fuck their detector vans that have never been used as evidence in court. And fuck their clipboards.

I really cannae wait until they come to the door and ask for the person they have on their records because they'll be getting told he doesn't live there. And they're not getting in. And they're not getting my name.

Detector vans are the biggest con on this planet , they never worked and were only put on streets to frighten people into thinking they worked , as long as you phone them and revoke their right of access to your property they cannot by law come near you .

Z-O-O-M-E-R How fukking difficult is that man. I'm not surprised you got pissed off. :smoke:

Just caught up with 'Shark' that was shown on BBC One last week. That's justification for the license fee right there. Can safely say the BBC has shown a better nature documentary in the past 5 days than ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, Discovery Channel, National Geographic or Animal Planet have screened in their entire history.

I have always had a license but it said on the box today 1 in 50 people do not. I think it is worth the money.

Meanwhile back at the ranch, 49 don't... :glassraise:

Ignore me mate, I'm bored and just waiting for the game to start :read:

Just caught up with 'Shark' that was shown on BBC One last week. That's justification for the license fee right there. Can safely say the BBC has shown a better nature documentary in the past 5 days than ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, Discovery Channel, National Geographic or Animal Planet have screened in their entire history.

Brilliant piece of television Proccie. The last episode is on tonight. I'm looking forward to it.